PDA

View Full Version : Information Bar for Guests


Slapyo
05 Aug 2006, 15:15
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=72279 - Original hack for 3.0.x
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=97150 - Hack for 3.5.x

What is this?
This will display an information bar across the top of the browser window that appears to be like the Information Bar that is from Windows XP SP2. When the user clicks it they will be sent to the registration page for your forums. This is not a popup.

If the user is logged in then this will not display at all. This only appears on the page for people who are not logged in.

http://www.veteransresources.org/forums/index.php? - Example Site

How many changes?

Uploads: 4

infobar.css
infobar.wav (optional)
warning.gif
warning2.gif

File edits: 0
Template edits: 2

headinclude
header

New templates: 0
Queries: 0


Version History

1.05

fix for Firefox (Bytecon)

1.04

added info bar sound (Lionel)

1.03

no javascript required now
works in Firefox

1.02

removed information bar any browser other than IE

1.01

removed information bar from login and registration pages (Lionel)

1.00

initial release



Screenshots
Guest on forums (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=22033)
Guest hovering over info bar (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=22034)

Please click Install this Modification if you like it.

Posof
05 Aug 2006, 16:07
:)


Nice just what i need..


Thanks

project-Buckfas
05 Aug 2006, 16:54
Reserved.

Snake
05 Aug 2006, 17:39
Thank you! :)

rmxs
05 Aug 2006, 21:56
I ask beffore in the old version byt nothing..

I try again here Its poosible the bar follow the screen??

Slapyo
06 Aug 2006, 08:35
I'm sure there is a way but I haven't looked into it. The last time I did it would work in 1 browser but not the other. I couldn't get it working the same in both. If anyone can, post the code and I'll include it.

PersianImmortal
06 Aug 2006, 11:59
Looks good.

Just a question before I install - does this allow you to set the usergroup for which the bar appears?

In my case, I'd prefer for the bar to appear for new registrants, prompting them to read the forum rules first before posting.

So I guess it might be a different mod, but if you could do the same thing so that all Registered Members see this popup until they click to go to the relevant link (forum rules in my case), and after that it doesn't appear again. I think something along those lines would be in even greater demand :)

Slapyo
06 Aug 2006, 15:55
You could probably set something up ... just change the IF statement around. Right now it looks for guests.

tpzone
07 Aug 2006, 06:07
installed, very nice. thank you.

one question. using CMPS with it on vB3.6 and the 'home' page it just shows up as a link and not with the fancypants box around it. is there a way to get it to display on the main portal page as well? i don't mind the plain text link asking people to register but the box version that's on all the other pages does look nicer.

thanks!

Slapyo
07 Aug 2006, 13:39
You will need to adjust the style sheet and where it points to for images ... maybe point the sheet to http://www.domain.com/forums/infobar.css and then open that up and point the images to the same ... include the full url to the image.

tpzone
07 Aug 2006, 15:30
Slapyo,

Thanks bro, I edited the css and the headerinclude with the full links and everything works like a charm now!!

iran.gs
07 Aug 2006, 16:46
thanks so much, l was looking for this for a long time..

ghostsoft
13 Aug 2006, 19:43
i think if u but the php code that show the forum name
eg " register in (forum name )

thank u

Triggerhappy
14 Aug 2006, 03:54
Nice little hack thanks

SaN-DeeP
30 Aug 2006, 01:42
thanks for the addon, i was searching for this for all prior versions never knew it was there ;)

Kuimera
31 Aug 2006, 05:31
Seems to have a prob with Opera, it gives a uge spaca beetween the bar and the logo... Any ideas? Im using a costum theme.

lanc3lot
01 Sep 2006, 04:20
Nice Addon, i remember that back in 3.5.4, it had an addon to appear the same bar, for users that havent post a thread since a while and also for users that havent any post at all...Can u please add them here too?

Ty in advance

Slapyo
03 Sep 2006, 06:18
condition="$bbuserinfo[posts]<1"
Just add that into the conditional statement.

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=97150&page=2

The last few posts on that page talk about this. Should be the same.

TCB
03 Sep 2006, 16:13
it may be a bit annoying for people that it keeps popping, but it's a real nice looking feature. Thanks :D

Slapyo
15 Sep 2006, 05:31
Updated to 3.6.1 and it works just fine.

Slapyo
08 Oct 2006, 14:28
Updated to 3.6.2 and it works just fine.

Mecho
08 Oct 2006, 20:04
tnx .. installed .

great and work fine :)

AdmiralSpock
12 Oct 2006, 22:09
Seems to have a prob with Opera, it gives a uge spaca beetween the bar and the logo... Any ideas? Im using a costum theme.

A search in the 3.5.x version thread said that removing the embed code from the hack will take out that space. I am also an Opera user, and I know that would have bothered me. :)

So this is what I put in my header template:

<if condition="($show['guest']) AND (THIS_SCRIPT != 'register') AND (THIS_SCRIPT != 'login')">
<div id="infobar"><a href="<my site url>/register.php?referrerid=1"><p>It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...</p></a></div>
</if>

And it works fantastically.

*installed*

Red Matrix
16 Oct 2006, 08:43
Aak, this looks like a virus message. Uninstalls.

Avensen
16 Oct 2006, 16:23
Cool hack. Thank you!

imported_infitech
16 Nov 2006, 21:30
i get some weird clear box on the top left, a large gap and something asking me about a plugin in forefox and internet explorer.... i will attach the screenshots.

i will also post the code to my header and navbar

header
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
function log_out()
{
ht = document.getElementsByTagName("html");
ht[0].style.filter = "progid:DXImageTransform.Microsoft.BasicImage(grayscale=1)";
if (confirm('$vbphrase[sure_you_want_to_log_out]'))
{
return true;
}
else
{
ht[0].style.filter = "";
return false;
}
}
//-->
</script>
<if condition="($show['guest']) AND (THIS_SCRIPT != 'register') AND (THIS_SCRIPT != 'login')">
<div id="infobar"><a href="$vboptions[bburl]/register.php?referrerid=1"><p>It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...</p></a><embed src="infobar.wav" autostart="true" loop="0" hidden="true"></embed></div>
</if>
<!-- right_column_hack -->
<a name="top"></a>
<table valign="top" border="0" width="950px" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" align="center">
<tr>
<td valign="top">
<!-- /right_column_hack -->
<!-- logo -->
<a name="top"></a>
<table valign="top" border="0" width="$stylevar[outertablewidth]" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" align="center">
<tr>
<td width="160" valign="top" class="page" align="$stylevar[left]"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]"><img src="$vboptions[bburl]/images/misc/inf_sin_logo.jpg" border="0" alt="$vboptions[bbtitle]" /></a></td>
<td height="39px" class="page" align="$stylevar[left]">
<br /><ul id="maintab" class="shadetabs">
<li <if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'index'">class="selected"<else /></if>><a href="index.php" rel="ajaxcontentarea">Home</a></li>
<li <if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'faq'">class="selected"<else /></if>><a href="$vboptions[bburl]/faq.php" rel="ajaxcontentarea">FAQ</a></li>
<li <if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'memberlist'">class="selected"<else /></if>><a href="$vboptions[bburl]/memberlist.php" rel="ajaxcontentarea">Member List</a></li>
<li <if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'ppindex'">class="selected"<else /></if>><a href="$vboptions[bburl]/gallery/" rel="ajaxcontentarea">Gallery</a></li>
<li <if condition="ALTSEARCH == 'true'">class="selected"<else /></if>><a href="$vboptions[bburl]/search.php?do=getnew" rel="ajaxcontentarea" rel="ajaxcontentarea">New Posts</a></li>
<li <if condition="ALTSEARCH == 'true'">class="selected"<else /></if>><a href="$vboptions[bburl]/search.php" rel="ajaxcontentarea">Search</a></li>
<if condition="$show['member']">
<li><a href="login.php?$session[sessionurl]do=logout&amp;logouthash=$bbuserinfo[logouthash]" onClick="return log_out()" rel="ajaxcontentarea">Logout</a></li><else />
<li <if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'register'">class="selected"<else /></if>><a href="register.php$session[sessionurl_q]" rel="ajaxcontentarea">Register</a></li></if>
<li <if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'calendar'">class="selected"<else /></if>><a href="$vboptions[bburl]/calendar.php" rel="ajaxcontentarea" rev="content.css, content.js">Calendar</a></li>
</ul>
<br />


</tr>
</table>
<!-- /logo -->

<!-- content table -->
$spacer_open

$_phpinclude_output

navbar
<if condition="is_array($navbits)">
<table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
<tr>
<td>$phpAds_raw3[html]</td>
</tr>
</table><br />
<table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
<tr>
<td><span class="navbar"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="1">$vboptions[bbtitle]</a></span> $navbits[breadcrumb]&nbsp;><a href="$scriptpath"></a>
<strong><span class="smallfont>">$navbits[lastelement]</span></strong></td>
</tr>
</table>

<br />
<else />

</if>

imported_infitech
17 Nov 2006, 19:06
anyone?

Smoothie
18 Nov 2006, 03:45
Just checked your site and it displays fine for me.

firefox100
22 Nov 2006, 12:01
Installed, very nice.

Hanks. ;)

Terminatoronly
25 Nov 2006, 11:10
nice hack installed ;)

taydu
25 Nov 2006, 17:03
Imported Infitech,

I looked at your screen shots and saw that you have a give away running on your forum. If you don't mind, what mod are you using.

Thanks

Slapyo
27 Nov 2006, 14:33
Updated to 3.6.4 and it works just fine.

mlotziii
08 Dec 2006, 03:41
thanks! This is a great mod for boards with high traffic!

imported_infitech
09 Dec 2006, 14:44
Imported Infitech,

I looked at your screen shots and saw that you have a give away running on your forum. If you don't mind, what mod are you using.

Thanks
It's probably because you had the plugins installed.
I'm sure anyone else installing this mod that is on a freshly installed OS will get the same problem.

Has anyone heard of this before?

djlotus
19 Dec 2006, 03:46
This hack is prerfiect for my site. Subtle, yet blends into the browser. Thank you.

Dead End Society
27 Dec 2006, 21:28
You will need to adjust the style sheet and where it points to for images ... maybe point the sheet to http://www.domain.com/forums/infobar.css and then open that up and point the images to the same ... include the full url to the image.

Slapyo,

Thanks bro, I edited the css and the headerinclude with the full links and everything works like a charm now!!
I have the same problem but need someone to be a little more clear for me as to what to do. Sounds like an easy fix.

-----

I got it taken care of, thanks.

adonfun
27 Dec 2006, 23:39
Thank you, I was looking for this one :)

Installed it

mrkhm
24 Jan 2007, 17:46
sweet *installed

Chris 96 WS6
27 Jan 2007, 23:11
I installed this yesterday. I usually average about 5 new members/day. Yesterday I had only 1 from 12AM to 5:30PM when I installed this hack. From 5:30pm to midnight I got 9 new members.

I'll let everyone know if the trend continues, but I think this definitely gets guests' attention.

The only drawback is I have a couple of people that are members that insist on logging in/out every visit, and they are annoyed by the popup. I don't think there is any way to help them.

Chris 96 WS6
31 Jan 2007, 12:06
Just a quick update. I've had this installed for 5 days now, and received 53 new members in that time. For the 5 days preceeding I had 36. This modification increased visitor-to-member conversion about 33% on my board.

WhyDoesItMatter
11 Feb 2007, 12:29
Any chance of having this in valid xhtml? :D

SidelineSports
12 Feb 2007, 17:18
The info bar comes up great, but where is the warning icon? What did I do wrong? How might I fix this?
Thanks for all help!

SidelineSports
26 Feb 2007, 02:53
Any idea why the icon is not appearing? Did I add the image to the wrong file maybe? I'm not sure why.

Smoothie
26 Feb 2007, 16:03
Any idea why the icon is not appearing? Did I add the image to the wrong file maybe? I'm not sure why.Appears for me. :)

SidelineSports
27 Feb 2007, 12:01
That's weird. When I get to the site, before logging in, the Bar is up there, but I do not see the warning image.

Masked Crusader
05 Mar 2007, 05:03
Reserved for future use.

Slapyo
08 Apr 2007, 17:05
This works on 3.6.5 no problem.

ragnar21583
02 May 2007, 11:09
This hack is great!!! Installed! :up:

Slapyo
14 May 2007, 02:01
This works on 3.6.6 no problem.

Khashayar581
23 Sep 2007, 19:37
great idea. i installed and it works fine...
... but i want to make the whole things right aligned, would u please help me how???

nnjj.net
24 Sep 2007, 16:45
is this mod. work on 3.6.8?

Khashayar581
24 Sep 2007, 20:01
yes, it works fine on 3.6.8

Khashayar581
24 Sep 2007, 22:34
great idea. i installed and it works fine...
... but i want to make the whole things right aligned, would u please help me how???

so, where's the support??

yoyoyoyo
25 Sep 2007, 01:08
so, where's the support??you can't expect coders to be on 24 hour call - that is wrong.

Try this in your header template (instead of the code indicated in the install info) to align it to the right:
<if condition="($show['guest']) AND (THIS_SCRIPT != 'register') AND (THIS_SCRIPT != 'login')">
<div id="infobar" align="right"><a href="$vboptions[bburl]/forum/register.php?referrerid=1"><p>It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...</p></a><embed src="infobar.wav" autostart="true" loop="0" hidden="true"></embed></div>
</if>

the above assumes that your forum is in the "forum" directory - if it is not then change the URL accordingly.

Khashayar581
25 Sep 2007, 09:49
<if condition="($show['guest']) AND (THIS_SCRIPT != 'register') AND (THIS_SCRIPT != 'login')">
<div id="infobar" align="right"><a href="http://www.forum.persianfinance.net/register.php?referrerid=1"><p>
content goes here</p></a></div>
</if>

as u see, i add the align="right" to the div, but just my texts goes to right, what should i do to make the info icon to right too???!!!

yoyoyoyo
28 Sep 2007, 21:41
<if condition="($show['guest']) AND (THIS_SCRIPT != 'register') AND (THIS_SCRIPT != 'login')">
<div id="infobar" align="right"><a href="http://www.forum.persianfinance.net/register.php?referrerid=1"><p>
content goes here</p></a></div>
</if>as u see, i add the align="right" to the div, but just my texts goes to right, what should i do to make the info icon to right too???!!!
that is defined in the CSS - off the top of my head, without testing it try this:

body {
margin: 0 !important;
padding: 0 !important;
}

/* A fake IE information bar */
#infobar {
font: message-box;
}

/* Please adjust the values if the infobar is not looking good */
#infobar a, #infobar a:link, #infobar a:visited, #infobar a:active {
display: block;
color: #000;
width:100%;
background: #FFFFE1 url(warning.gif) no-repeat right top .3em .3em;
border-bottom: .16em outset;
text-decoration: none;
cursor: default;
}

#infobar a:hover {
color: #FFF;
background: #3169B6 url(warning2.gif) no-repeat right top .3em .3em;
}

#infobar p{
margin:0px;
padding: .45em 0em .45em 22px;
font-size:11px;
}

HeRmAn'S
29 Sep 2007, 15:37
Installed, :up: very nice.:erm:

Pete C
07 Oct 2007, 14:17
*Installed* This is an excellent little hack. I've changed the wording a bit, and added a custom .wav file. This will either improve the registration rate, or annoy the heck out of those who can't be bothered LOL

Thank you, just what my site needed!

Incidentally, the sound plays in both Firefox & IE, which is more than I'd hoped for. A great job, keep up the good work. :up:

Pete C
07 Oct 2007, 15:33
For anyone who may have concerns that the "warning" image gives the false impression of a security risk, you might like to use these instead (see attached). They're just a simple letter "i" in a circle, which I'm sure most folks would interpret as an information logo.

noppid
30 Oct 2007, 14:47
One of the pitfalls of this hack that has been pointed out is that the first thing a search engine sees is this...

<!-- ADDINFO BAR PLUGIN -->
<div id="infobar"><a href="http://www.example.com/forums/register.php"><img style="vertical-align:middle;margin:3px 5px;border:none;float:left;" src="http://www.example.com/forums/images/misc/warning.gif" alt="" /><span>Welcome to <strong>Greatest Forum</strong> - please click here to register. If you are already a member, please log in.</span></a></div>
<!-- END ADDINFO BAR PLUGIN -->


And as a result, many times when you see a site with a welcome message indexed in the search engines with a listing like...

The Greatest Forum
Welcome to Greatest Forum - please click here to register. If you are already a member, please log in.

Not very informative.

So anyway, here's a suggestion.

in the CSS file find:

/* A fake IE information bar */
#infobar {
font: message-box;
}


Change to:

/* A fake IE information bar */
#infobar {
font: message-box;
position:fixed;
left:0px;
top:0px;
}


If you have this mod installed, remove the header edit and install this in the footer instead. This goes at the end of the footer template.

<if condition="($show['guest']) AND (THIS_SCRIPT != 'register') AND (THIS_SCRIPT != 'login')">
<div id="infobar"><a href="http://www.example.com/forums/register.php?referrerid=1"><p>It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...</p></a><embed src="infobar.wav" autostart="true" loop="0" hidden="true"></embed></div>
</if>


Now the first thing a guest sees is still your welcome message. But the SEs parse the code and the message is the last thing they see before the closing body tag. You'll also notice that the infobar stays at the top even when the member scrolls.

Of course your mileage may vary with the CSS positioning settings thus requiring you to make some adjustments. This can cover stuff up depending on your style. But this is tested on IE and FF and appears to work on a validated XHTML page.

Pete C
02 Nov 2007, 23:47
noppid, your changes work well in Firefox, but a substantial percentage of my visitors are still using IE (IE6 & 7). Viewing it in IE, the message either appears at the bottom of the board (depending on the style in use) or it remains at the top but still disappears when scrolling down.

You are quite correct about the search engines picking it up of course, and it would have been an excellent tweak to prevent that. I'm now using your CSS changes noppid, but leaving the code in the header due to the probs it causes in the footer. It's a reasonable compromise for both Firefox & IE users, although it's not going to help with the indexing. I guess it's still a trade-off as to whether folks sign up when they get there.

shcchief
20 Nov 2007, 04:59
Any chance this works with different styles? I installed the mod and it works fine with the default theme but when I apply the theme that I use, it does nothing (even though I'm applying the changes to the theme files - as well as the default ones - which is why it works with that).

The Notorious
27 Mar 2008, 03:57
Installed.

class101
28 Mar 2008, 13:19
uninstalled me, this used to change search engine results in a bad bad way

htscpl
10 May 2008, 21:31
While I got this mod to work, I started getting a lot of spam-bots registering... something I didn't have before. Since they all were refered by my id I am guessing this mod was the reason so I've uninstalled it.

Sorry, it is a good idea...just not for my site.

tr03bor
13 Sep 2008, 15:12
will this work on 3.7.3?

l2ride55
18 Mar 2009, 05:46
Took me forever to find this header ribbon! Just installed it on vBulletin 3.6.9. Works and looks great! BTW, I changed the little shield gif to a red square X (clear png).

Installed! Thanks!

Telepresence Forum (http://www.telepresenceforum.com)

L2

Sweeks
21 Mar 2009, 14:38
will this work on 3.7.3?

Works fine on 3.8.1 ;)
________
Straight-4 engine (http://www.chevy-wiki.com/wiki/Chevrolet_Straight-4_engine)

NThomas
27 May 2009, 02:44
Any way to keep it "following" a user when they scroll down the page like this site: www.that-forum.com (http://www.that-forum.com/index.php)

Faizan
18 Aug 2009, 15:39
look nice very good....