PDA

View Full Version : Major Additions - Global Announcements


Marky
18 Aug 2006, 18:54
Global Announcements
+ Current Version: 1.3 Beta 1
+ Created By: Marky

What is "Global Announcements"?
Global Announcements is a modification that adds an announcement to most pages on your vBulletin board!
It contains many different features to enhance your forum announcement!

Current Features
* Announcement Status - Turn your announcement On and Off.
* Announcement Title and Text Settings - Edit the title and text of your announcement, as well as the size, colour AND alignment of both!
* Usergroup Settings - Edit which usergroups see the announcement.
* "More..." Link Settings - Turn a "More..." link on and off, as well as editing what it says and where it links too.
* Collapsability + Switch - Turn collapsability of your announcement on and off.
* Border Thickness - Edit the thickness of your announcement border.
* HTML Ready - Ability to use HTML in your announcement

Beta Information

Because Global Announcements is in Beta 1 (vB 3.6), you must remember to use it at your own risk. However, this version is supported!

Support

Support on this modification, will be given at vBDiscussion.com AND in this thread!
You must remember to post any problems or bugs that occur whilst using this modification to help improve it!
If you have any suggestions, be sure to post them in this thread also!

Next Version?
The next version will be version 1.3 Beta 2. The current additional feature list is:

* BBCode Parsing (This includes Smilies) - The ability to use BBCode and smilies in your announcement!

Special Thanks

I'd like to give a Special Thanks to Zero Tolerance (Scot). He's been great in helping me with production and a great help with all things vB related! So Thanks :D!

Other Information

Be sure to click 'Install (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/vborg_miscactions.php?do=installhack&threadid=124329)' if you have installed this modification!

Do you like this modification? If so, be sure to vote it this month's Modification of the Month!

This modification was created by Marky. It is for use on your forum and should only be available on vBulletin.org and vBDiscussion.com.
You may not edit, copy or re-distribute this modification in any way without Mark Spiers' permission.

Thanks,

Marky

Last Updated: 25th August 06

pauloo
18 Aug 2006, 19:00
Very good! Thanks

Work very well !

Snake
19 Aug 2006, 11:11
I shall install this on my other forums. Thank you, Marky! :)

EnIgMa1234
19 Aug 2006, 14:15
thx, nice hack

dudewtfdie
19 Aug 2006, 14:22
Thank you this will become very handy.

wii
20 Aug 2006, 12:32
Installed - works fine on 3.6

Had to delete an </if> at the bottom of the template, and edit the text size to small, but no problems.

pauloo
21 Aug 2006, 18:08
Yes, just one error in the template with </if>.

Edit template globalannounce

Find


</if></if>
<!-- End Global Announcement - Version 1.2 - Created by Marky -->


replace with:


</if>
<!-- End Global Announcement - Version 1.2 - Created by Marky -->


Thank you Marky

wii
22 Aug 2006, 08:08
Thanks pauloo for making the edit a little easier for everyone.

Marky
22 Aug 2006, 10:08
Installed - works fine on 3.6

Had to delete an </if> at the bottom of the template, and edit the text size to small, but no problems.
Sorry about the extra if. I do tend to go if mad :p
Text size will be added into the next version.
And of course the extra If will be destroyed ;)

wii
22 Aug 2006, 12:36
Thanks

bigsbydapicka
23 Aug 2006, 02:22
Works Great. How can the font size be changed?

wii
23 Aug 2006, 08:16
That will be added in the next version.

Works Great. How can the font size be changed?

wii
23 Aug 2006, 08:37
I just edited the template in mine to have the smallfont. I can show you where, if you like.

bigsbydapicka
25 Aug 2006, 16:38
That would really help!

Marky
25 Aug 2006, 17:54
Global Announcements Version 1.3 Beta 1 Released!
New features include:
* Bugs Fixes
* Title and Announcement Size Option Added
* Collapsability + Switch Added
* "More..." Edit option
* Usergroup Settings
* Box style uses style CSS
* Alignment options easier to use (Dropdown boxes)

Check it out and tell me what you think ^^

bigsbydapicka
25 Aug 2006, 18:53
Installed in 3.6.0 but Sizes do not change when changed in the ACP?? :surprised: Here's the end portion of my navbar. Is something amiss? I had 1.2 installed. I removed it and installed 1.3.

Brian

style="display:none">
<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
<tr>
<td class="thead" nowrap="nowrap">$vbphrase[go_to_page]</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option" title="nohilite">
<form action="$vboptions[forumhome].php" method="get" onsubmit="return this.gotopage()" id="pagenav_form">
<input type="text" class="bginput" id="pagenav_itxt" style="font-size:11px" size="4" />
<input type="button" class="button" id="pagenav_ibtn" value="$vbphrase[go]" />
</form>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>

<!-- / PAGENAV POPUP -->
$globalannounce
</if>

zafrir
25 Aug 2006, 19:10
Can I creat announcement with variables? I'm trying to creat a generic announcement that will appear in all subforums but will include the subforum name in it, putting it as global or parent forum.

thanks

zafrir
25 Aug 2006, 19:40
Sorry,

Installed, everything looks OK,
al menu options set,
but don't get any announcements:cross-eyed:

Marky
25 Aug 2006, 21:37
Sorry,

Installed, everything looks OK,
al menu options set,
but don't get any announcements:cross-eyed:
Did you add $globalannounce to the navbar template?

Have you set the usergroup permissions?

Do you have the announcement switched to on?

Installed in 3.6.0 but Sizes do not change when changed in the ACP?? Here's the end portion of my navbar. Is something amiss? I had 1.2 installed. I removed it and installed 1.3.

Brian

style="display:none">
<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
<tr>
<td class="thead" nowrap="nowrap">$vbphrase[go_to_page]</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option" title="nohilite">
<form action="$vboptions[forumhome].php" method="get" onsubmit="return this.gotopage()" id="pagenav_form">
<input type="text" class="bginput" id="pagenav_itxt" style="font-size:11px" size="4" />
<input type="button" class="button" id="pagenav_ibtn" value="$vbphrase[go]" />
</form>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>

<!-- / PAGENAV POPUP -->
$globalannounce
</if>

Not sure why that is...
Try putting the $globalannounce right at the bottom of the template.
I won't have time to look into any problems tonight, but tommorow, I will install the thing right from the start and test everything to see if it's all in order and I'll post an update if there is a problem.

bigsbydapicka
25 Aug 2006, 21:54
Everything works fine and everything configured as needs to be but the text size has no affect. I'll try and move to the very bottom.

bigsbydapicka
25 Aug 2006, 21:57
No Change. Font size remains the same.

pauloo
26 Aug 2006, 09:53
Nice ! thanks

Marky
26 Aug 2006, 14:39
Unfortunatly, I installed it on my Test board again and it works perfectly well...

If you'd like me to take a look personally, send me your MSN addy through PM and I'll take a look at the problem.

NoKz
26 Aug 2006, 18:28
Works great, thanks!

brvheart
31 Aug 2006, 20:11
will this be out of beta soon Marky?

azarl
01 Sep 2006, 10:58
Unfortunatly, I installed it on my Test board again and it works perfectly well...

If you'd like me to take a look personally, send me your MSN addy through PM and I'll take a look at the problem.
Sorry Marky, I get the same problem as Zaprhir, no announcement. Ytried placing it everywhere.

Marky
01 Sep 2006, 19:58
Sorry Marky, I get the same problem as Zaprhir, no announcement. Ytried placing it everywhere.
Send me your MSN if you have one and I'll have a go for you :)

will this be out of beta soon Marky?

I'd like to get it working one people's forums first. I'd really like to take a look at azarl's forum because I'd like to know what the problem is.
I will then, once the bug is fixed, release a Version 1.3 Beta 2, this will include BBCode and smiley parsing, so you are able to use BBCode and Smilies in your announcement.

Then it will come out Beta. If you have any worries about installing the beta, and wish for me to install it for you, just send me a PM with your MSN and Ill do it for you :)

brvheart
01 Sep 2006, 20:10
works great for me :)

jazde86
03 Sep 2006, 19:39
1st, thanks!

2nd, please make it possible to define for every style individual font colours or the complete settings.

wii
04 Sep 2006, 19:14
Installed, and works, just 2 issues:

1. Fontsize should be in px or pt, so that it can match the forum fontsize.
2. Error in template:

Error Line 751 column 51: document type does not allow element "tbody" here.
<tbody id="collapseobj_forumhome_announce" style="">

azarl
07 Sep 2006, 16:47
Did you get a chance to have a look?

Nathan2006
20 Sep 2006, 21:30
Thank you Marky

Glad I upgraded to 3.61 now I can have this great hack:banana:

Install ;)

wii
21 Sep 2006, 09:07
It works great on 3.6.1

pds
01 Oct 2006, 01:33
How can I include all usergroups without typing them all in?

azarl
17 Oct 2006, 16:10
Did you get a chance to have a look?
.. no response despite 2 requests. Oh well.

JamieLee2k
20 Oct 2006, 15:01
I have this working on 3.6.2 perfectly and does everything I need to do, can you tell me how to add a url and a name instead of the full url showing?

I know in the old vb it used to be like this
[ url=http://www.yoursite.com/link.php]Your name[/ url]

Without the spaces above

JamieLee2k
20 Oct 2006, 15:07
.. no response despite 2 requests. Oh well.

Have you got it turned on in the options, it should work just add $globalannouncement to the bottom of navbar and your set to go, did you install the .xml file, if you get completely stuck try the Read-Me.txt file inclosed and then install it from scratch and remove all traces of the $globalannouncement.

I have installed this on 6 styles and never had a problem, What version do you have?

Thanks
JamieLee2k

azarl
22 Oct 2006, 08:22
Thanks JL2K, I'll give that atry Monday

tugŠ
02 Nov 2006, 14:47
I'd like to know how to do this too :)

I have this working on 3.6.2 perfectly and does everything I need to do, can you tell me how to add a url and a name instead of the full url showing?

I know in the old vb it used to be like this
[ url=http://www.yoursite.com/link.php]Your name[/ url]

Without the spaces above

UncoderMom
04 Nov 2006, 15:43
Since I installed this last week. I have NOT been able to stop using it!! Its a GREAT addition! and extreamly flexible!! It really gets ones attention!

WTG! MOTM!

TonyGau
05 Nov 2006, 09:30
I have this working on 3.6.2 perfectly and does everything I need to do, can you tell me how to add a url and a name instead of the full url showing?

I know in the old vb it used to be like this
[ url=http://www.yoursite.com/link.php]Your name[/ url]

Without the spaces above
Not work with me ! 3.6.2
Can u help me ? :tired:

A_V
14 Nov 2006, 11:29
How i can do for have 2 Global Announcement, one after other??? (with different messages of course!)

UncoderMom
14 Nov 2006, 18:06
This is working great on my 3.6.3 BTW

JamieLee2k
16 Nov 2006, 14:30
Not work with me ! 3.6.2
Can u help me ? :tired:

You have to use the <a hef= command, I figured it out after I posted.


I have a question, I have vbshout installed and I am wanting to put the global announcement below the navbar which is above the forums, now is there a way I can change the code in order to have it sitting above the forums and not below the navbar?

Marky
16 Nov 2006, 16:04
Greetings all!

I'm back! :p
Anyways, vBDiscussion was pretty much a bum deal seeing as I hardly ever updated it due to school etc. But im finding that Im getting quite a bit of free time to work on it. So temporarly vBDiscussion.com has been closed until the 1st December where it will reopen.

Im writing loads of tutorials, and writing many new modifications / updates to previous modifications and they will all be released on here and at vBDiscussion.com. They will also be all released ON 1st December :)

So for now, all support for all of my modifications will have to be dealt through vBulletin.org.

I will be updating all of my current vBulletin modifications for 3.6 to the latest vBulletin version to avoid any bugs etc.

For now any bugs you come across, I would recommend you PM me and I will deal with any problems you have.

Since I'll be updating things, be sure to PM me with any requested features or modifications! I will be very happy :)

Cheers,

Marky

JamieLee2k
22 Nov 2006, 23:07
I have PM'ed you, can you please help me

Kadi
28 Nov 2006, 11:20
I have this working on 3.6.2 perfectly and does everything I need to do, can you tell me how to add a url and a name instead of the full url showing?

I know in the old vb it used to be like this
[ url=http://www.yoursite.com/link.php]Your name[/ url]

Without the spaces above

I'd like to know too.

Mr Pink
28 Nov 2006, 18:28
Great mod!

Shazz
28 Nov 2006, 19:11
Still working well on all 3.6 Thanx

dmsride
30 Nov 2006, 16:51
I must say that I like very much :) Here are some suggestions for future versions that you may consider implimenting.

1) Adding multiple announcements instead of just one.
2) The text box can be small when there is a rather large announcement. What about a popup window for a larger box? For example, the same technique that VB uses for editing templates.
3) This one is a bit of a stretch, but what about a WYSIWYG editor?

Just some thoughts. Please feel free to use any of the suggestions or none of them as you see fit.

*installed*

Ev!L ErN!E
15 Dec 2006, 20:48
Has this mod been updated yet? I would like to know if it has the BBcode features and smilie features you had planned to include.

vspro
18 Dec 2006, 03:04
Why don't have version full :(

Marky
30 Dec 2006, 11:09
I appologise guys, my vBulletin licence has run out (Leased) and I don't have enough money to buy a new one right now. So since I no longer have a licence, I am unable to continue production on this modification. I will post once I have a licence but that might not be for some time.

Thanks,

Marky

UltimateOreo!
11 Feb 2007, 21:08
I thought this came default in vb?

Shazz
11 Feb 2007, 21:22
I thought this came default in vb?

Thats a announcment in forums
This is a Global Announcment where it appears on every page

ZapFlash
12 Feb 2007, 13:44
hi, i hope you you can get your license back sometime soon, this was the very first thing i needed to add to my board.

i know you might not answer soon, but i'm gonna put this

i'm having a weird error only in Firefox, every morning all the dates of the posts show as %11-%b-%2007 %0:%Feb %p.. but if i go to the global announcements and save again, it fixes and shows like 02-12-2007 08:16 AM, do you know what could correct that?

thank you :)

pauloo
15 Aug 2007, 13:55
When 1.3 Beta 2 ?

thanks

Neska
16 Sep 2007, 22:06
Seems it's not supported anymore :)

q22inc
18 Sep 2007, 23:35
Question...

Great installation, by the way. But is there any way to make the font in the actual announcement scroll?


I would love to use this feature and add in updates / reminders into the announcements area. Where it will scroll across the top of my forums.

Joey805
03 Oct 2007, 17:03
I imported the XML, set the user groups to 1,2,6 and 7. Then turned the announcement online and it still does not show up. What am I doing wrong?

Marky
21 Oct 2007, 17:56
Hey all,

Just got myself a brand SPANKING new vBulletin licence, that I intend to use at:
http://www.mgarcade.com

Nevertheless, I also intend to start supporting my previous mods, as well as starting new ones!

To that extent... if you feel that a feature that you wish for hasn't been included in Global Announcements, say it loud and proud NOW! And I will work on 'Global Announcements Version 1.4' which will be available for the latest vBulletin versions and will be completly supported!

Thanks,
Marky

LouiseWilson
23 Oct 2007, 08:38
ill mark it and come back when its 1.4 :) nice thou

Shanj
12 Nov 2007, 09:58
Marky great to see you back.
I would like
- Multiple announcements
- Set colour of the box background for each.
- Did you ever get the positioning sorted below the navbar? I guess you add it to the page template.
- Wonder if it would be possible to have 2 columns so they'd be more boxes than strips?
- Or just be able to use an html table in it. That would cover doing colours as well. If inserting a table would be workable could supply a brief code guide for those who don't do html like a table with 1 td (column) note on where to put colour codes, some sample colour codes; table with 2 cols, tables one col or 2 cols with borders. (I can do that for you)

Prince
28 Nov 2007, 02:23
does this work in vB 3.6.8?

Prince
28 Nov 2007, 04:23
it does work on 3.6.8, but after upgrading I had to add the $globalannounce back to the navbar template manually even after re-importing this mod.

Kadi
26 Apr 2008, 21:31
Since upgrading to 3.6.10 the announcements are on every page and on every thread.

I need it on forumhome only.

What happened to updating this mod?

cupra
01 Jul 2008, 16:02
great work, i will try that one , thx a lot!

dying4004
26 Aug 2008, 08:03
does it work in vb 3.7.2???

Konstantinos
29 Aug 2008, 10:00
Since upgrading to 3.6.10 the announcements are on every page and on every thread.

I need it on forumhome only.

What happened to updating this mod?

if u need it on forumhome then add the code to forumhome template instead of navbar. but it is supposed to be in all pages thats why its called global announcement

4yBak
06 Mar 2009, 14:45
does it work in vb 3.7.2???
yes.. and with 3.8.1 too

rjayXD
10 Mar 2009, 13:40
are u guys sure its working well with 3.8.1??

RedHacker
09 Apr 2009, 11:41
I have install now and it work fine with 3.8.1 but i havent it beta