PDA

View Full Version : Need help finding a new server for my board.


COBRAws
30 Aug 2006, 18:38
--EDiT--
I bought a dedicated server, thanks for the help guys!

I would really really like if you could help me out finding a new server for my board.

Some specs about my board:

vb3.6 running on a VPS with
Apache v1.3.36
PHP 5.1.4
MySQL 5.0.24
Dual Dual-Core Opteron 270 with 768Mb Ram and a big fat HD.

Our board has around 120-150 members online at any time, with peaks up to 200 some days.
Holding 4.000 unique visitors everyday and with a bandwidth of 500GB /mo

Can you please recommend me a new server so we can move? Because the actual specs arent working at all for us. Any special server configuration for the DB?


Thank you,
Jack

Erwin
01 Sep 2006, 02:20
2 choices - get a better server by increasing RAM to at least 4 Gb and faster HDD (15k SCSI is good) OR split web and database. It may be cheaper to upgrade the current server as your forum is not really that busy.

COBRAws
01 Sep 2006, 06:12
2 choices - get a better server by increasing RAM to at least 4 Gb and faster HDD (15k SCSI is good) OR split web and database. It may be cheaper to upgrade the current server as your forum is not really that busy.
Thanks Erwin!

BigSoccer Tech.
02 Sep 2006, 14:20
check out iweb. they are great hosts for us (8 servers), have learned a ton about vb because of us, and then can pursue either option for you. in the long run, splitting is the best move.

COBRAws
03 Sep 2006, 00:44
Im thinking about buyin this dedicated and managed server, seems pretty good.

Processor: Dual Opteron 244
Memory: 4GB DDR Registered ECC
Hd1: 120GB 7200RPM SATA / 8MB Cache
Hd2: 120GB 7200RPM SATA / 8MB Cache
RemoteBackup: 50GB Remote Backup
OS: Linux - CentOS 4
ControlPanel: CPanel / Web Host Manager
Monthly Fee: $264 Setup Fee

I am also looking at the possibility of switching to SCSI drives on RAID as Erwin suggested. But appart from the HD's, What do you think?

Thanks!

Erwin
04 Sep 2006, 04:23
Definitely upgrade the drives to at least 10k SCSI, if not 15k - your MySQL database will thank you.

Otherwise looks okay.

dbembibre
06 Sep 2006, 10:43
How is posible that the dual dual opteron no cant catch 150 constants users, if i can catch 700 constants with a dual dual xeon 2.8 ?

Excuse my broken English :)

jason|xoxide
06 Sep 2006, 16:52
How is posible that the dual dual opteron no cant catch 150 constants users, if i can catch 700 constants with a dual dual xeon 2.8 ?

Excuse my broken English :)

It's because that's a VPS, not a dedicated server, and he's limited on the available RAM.

COBRAws
07 Sep 2006, 00:23
It's because that's a VPS, not a dedicated server, and he's limited on the available RAM.
yep, that sucks. I cant upgrade to a full server because ASO doesnt provide them at the moment. So Im going to liquidweb.com, great prices in my opinion (i need managed server thats why).

I'll be making the transition next monday I believe, just hope it doesnt take a lot of time. heh

DevilYellow
07 Nov 2006, 20:06
You need way more RAM. I have 10,000 RPM SATA drives on my web box and 15,000 RPM SAS drives on DB box....

If you were in the US I'd offer to buy your 270's off you to replace my 246's ;)

COBRAws
09 Nov 2006, 05:10
You need way more RAM. I have 10,000 RPM SATA drives on my web box and 15,000 RPM SAS drives on DB box....

If you were in the US I'd offer to buy your 270's off you to replace my 246's ;)
4Gigs is doing great for now, my server load never goes upper than 1 with almost 500 users online :D

crashtd
17 Nov 2006, 21:10
you don't nearly need that much CPU/RAM, just get off the VPS and go dedicated. We push similar numbers on our boards, and have barely touched our 3ghz Xeon, with 2GB of RAM. Its still very snappy too. VPS is cheaper sure, but god knows how many other sites you're sharing the box with.

VBUsers
17 Nov 2006, 21:32
tonhosting.com is a great server and is VB friendly.

ninjamaster
20 Nov 2006, 11:55
this is the best i found around

http://www.fasthostingdirect.co.uk/

Price for 1 Year Hosting 19.99

All These Features Included!
No Limits UK Webspace
No Limits Data Transfer
No Limits MySQL Databases
No Limits Email Mail Boxes
No Limits Email Forwarders
No Limits Junk Mail Filters
No Limits FTP Accounts
No Limits Sub Domains
No Limits Shared SSL Webspace
FrontPage Extensions & SSH Access
Perl, PHP4,5, Python, Miva, Sun ASP
Fast Hosting Direct Control Panel
Free Fully Featured Website Builder
Free Web Tools & Graphical Statistics
30 Day Money Back Guarantee
99.99% Uptime Guarantee
Cancel Anytime!
Price Freeze Guarantee
24 x 7 Technical Support by Email
Sign-up Now! Real Time Activation!

orban
20 Nov 2006, 14:26
Host with "No Limits" are bad by definition.

kylek
21 Nov 2006, 08:05
--EDiT--
I bought a dedicated server, thanks for the help guys!

I would really really like if you could help me out finding a new server for my board.

Thank you,
Jack

Hi COBRAws: Just curious, who did you end up going to for the server? If it was Liquidweb how are they so far in regards to service and help? They are on my shopping list for a dedicated server.

ninjamaster
21 Nov 2006, 11:30
Host with "No Limits" are bad by definition.

what u meen ?

Paul M
21 Nov 2006, 11:37
Shame it's Cpanel - that means you are stuck with apache 1.3, you really want to move to apache2.

orban
21 Nov 2006, 13:34
what u meen ?

No host can offer you "no limit". There is always a limit, after all their servers are connected with x mbit. they have hard drives. they probably have 1000 other customers on the server.