PDA

View Full Version : Add an advert into your redirect page


Move-Along
04 Sep 2006, 12:29
Time taken: 2 Minutes
Difficulty: Easy as pie
What it does: This will basicly just add an advert in the redirect screen. There is a screenshot attatched to show you what i mean.

You can also use this for Vb 3.5.x too :)

Thanks to Icheb - You shouldn't use AdSense here, because redirection pages wouldn't really count as content pages.


Go to:

Style manager --> [Style you want to edit] --> Edit templates --> STANDARD_REDIRECT

Now find:

<noscript>
<meta http-equiv="Refresh" content="2; URL=$url" />
</noscript>
And replace it with this:

<noscript>
<meta http-equiv="Refresh" content="10; URL=$url" />
</noscript>
This will make it so the redirect takes longer so you can see the advertisement. If you would like to change the amount of time it takes just edit the number in this bit of the code:

content="10
After find this code:

<p class="smallfont"><a href="$url">$vbphrase[click_if_browser_does_not_redirect]</a>
After add:


<br>
<br>
<a href="http://www.adminpath.com" target="_blank"><img src="http://www.adminpath.com/delisiosso/misc/banner_right.gif"></a>

Obviously change the url's to your desired url's.

Copyright to www.adminpath.com 2006

fuzionpoker
04 Sep 2006, 13:34
great mod!

Thanks... installed!

JoRd

Icheb
04 Sep 2006, 13:43
You should probably mention that you shouldn't use AdSense there, because redirection pages wouldn't really count as content pages.

Move-Along
04 Sep 2006, 14:06
Ok thanks Icheb i will add that now :)

King Kovifor
04 Sep 2006, 15:51
Nice first mod. :)

mIRCnet
04 Sep 2006, 18:37
nice mod , it would be better to make it with more otions
* Group ID
* No. Of Posts More/Less of number of posts
* Enable / Desable the Ads in the redirect page

Brandon Sheley
04 Sep 2006, 18:52
good idea :)
I'll install this later

Move-Along
05 Sep 2006, 07:34
nice mod , it would be better to make it with more otions
* Group ID
* No. Of Posts More/Less of number of posts
* Enable / Desable the Ads in the redirect page
I will try and implement this in the future :)

BamaStangGuy
05 Sep 2006, 07:42
Damn good idea

Hornstar
05 Sep 2006, 10:02
Thanks heaps, ive been looking for this for a while as i saw it on some site once b4.

Move-Along
05 Sep 2006, 11:28
No problemo guys :). Any ideas on my next random one? :p lol

karlm
05 Sep 2006, 16:26
Looks good, I'd been wondering how to ad content to the redirect pages.

I'm not a coder, but am I right in understanding that if i were to add:
<if condition"$bbuserinfo['groupid'] != xx"> to your hack, i could then have it so paying members get a 2 second redirection whereas nonepaying/guests have a 5 second ad-infested redirection?

Move-Along
06 Sep 2006, 07:44
Lol "ad-infested" :p And yes i am pretty sure that would work :)

karlm
07 Sep 2006, 03:25
cool potatoes! I might look into this further....
/me dons his thinking cap

King Kovifor
08 Sep 2006, 01:28
Anything too advanced I might be able to help.

Move-Along
09 Sep 2006, 08:04
Sure Jeremy :) Any help is always appreciated :)

King Kovifor
09 Sep 2006, 14:59
Just talk to me online.

kether1
10 Sep 2006, 00:34
Hey this is cool, but the timer info is a bit different than what you list.

This can stay as it is:
<noscript>
<meta http-equiv="Refresh" content="2; URL=$url" />
</noscript>

but this:
var myvar = "";
var timeout = 20;
exec_refresh();
//-->
</script>

can be changed to extend the amout of time. For example, when testing this, I changed var timeout = 20; to var timeout = 40; and my redirect lasted twice as long.

I hope this helps!
Kether

R1lover
17 Sep 2006, 23:30
I have it working, but the redirect takes you to the image and not the URL I have put in there. ??

Any Help?

R1lover
17 Sep 2006, 23:50
I got it .......... :)

Move-Along
18 Sep 2006, 13:14
Did you just forget to change the url link to the url instead of the image url :p lol

heroia
19 Sep 2006, 08:58
"You should probably mention that you shouldn't use AdSense there, because redirection pages wouldn't really count as content pages."

So, basically AdSense doesn't accept clicks/page views for this kind of pages ?

GrendelKhan{TSU
01 Oct 2006, 18:27
"You should probably mention that you shouldn't use AdSense there, because redirection pages wouldn't really count as content pages."

So, basically AdSense doesn't accept clicks/page views for this kind of pages ?

I believe its agains their TOS. so you if you got "caught" you'd get your adsense banned from google. :confused:

heroia
01 Oct 2006, 19:53
Ok, so can annyone suggest me some ad systems to be used instead of AdSense (accepting redirects), good for forums also...

Icheb
01 Oct 2006, 23:34
You want to use a different ad network just because you can't use AdSense on non-content pages?

heroia
02 Oct 2006, 07:55
Not sure if completly a new network.

There are in fact two questions here:
1. An add network which support pages with redirect
2. If anyone has some good results (income) for forums with other ad network than AdSense

mrkhm
20 Jan 2007, 17:46
hi, is there any way to have random ads load in this redirect?

mrkhm
26 Jan 2007, 11:28
vb 3.6.4 works a treat! *installed

midirtrider
28 Jan 2007, 20:35
Any idea on how to get the advert to apear randomly from a list of banners?

that would be awsome..

nnjj.net
27 Sep 2007, 16:14
does this work on 3.6.8?

masterweb
27 Sep 2007, 17:53
Nice, changes were easy and faster than i tought... thanks mate

powerful_rogue
11 Nov 2007, 20:41
Any idea on how to get the advert to apear randomly from a list of banners?

that would be awsome..

I agree, this would be really great if anyones able to assist :D

NNJJ
18 Apr 2008, 08:53
any one can do this as product where we can put random abnners?

jasonyetter
11 Aug 2011, 18:48
I have changed the number from 2
to 4
and now to 10.

The redirect time is still the same.
Is the number in millisecs or what?

How could I add:

Press "any key" to continue..................