PDA

View Full Version : Show Thread Enhancements - Mini Navbar: Breadcrumb at Bottom of Thread


randominity
04 Sep 2006, 17:03
Description
There's no quick way to jump back to a forum when you've reached the bottom of a thread, so this adds a breadcrumb to the bottom of a thread.

Install / Upgrade
Download the attached XML file, and import it at
Admin Control Panel > Plugins & Products > Manage Products > Add/Import Product

Remember to "Allow Overwrite" if you are upgrading.

Mod Info
0 - Queries
0 - Phrases
2 - Plugins
1 - Template
0 - Template Edits


v1.0.4
After snooping around for a little bit on these forums, I found a neat way to avoid template edits. Big thanks to PaulM and his method of doing this ^^.
Now this mod no longer requires a template modification!
I have removed the non-inline display method, so now it will only be "inline"
v1.0.3
Initial vB 3.6.x version

Please click "Install" if you have installed this mod! Thanks!

vBFreak
04 Sep 2006, 17:08
Nice idea, I was missing that since ages, I'm your first hack installer :)

I think my users will like it also.

randominity
04 Sep 2006, 17:14
Thanks :)

I made this for 3.5.x; been busy and haven't had the chance to play with my forums :(

vBFreak
04 Sep 2006, 17:26
Could you also release your 3.5.X version? On my 3.6 testboard your Hack works fine but I've not yet updated my other board to 3.6.X, so it isn't working :(

Thought that it would hopefully work with 3.5.X aswell as I've seen it and clicked install ;)

If you don't want to release it, no problem, I'll update to 3.6.X in those days, I'm just waiting for some hacks to become compatible.

randominity
04 Sep 2006, 17:57
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=98485

SaN-DeeP
04 Sep 2006, 23:19
Nice idea, I was missing that since ages, I'm your first hack installer :)

I think my users will like it also.
thanks installed :)

Kirk Y
04 Sep 2006, 23:26
Good idea.

Hornstar
05 Sep 2006, 08:44
Great idea, this will help navigate the site more.
Maybe you should request this to be defauly in VB as well.

btw does this add any queries to the site or anything like that.

thanks.

randominity
05 Sep 2006, 09:48
Doesn't add any queries, just adds one template

davelacey
08 Sep 2006, 12:02
Very useful mod - should be default in vB imho.
Thankyou :)

WeArab
12 Sep 2006, 08:28
Great one, installed, thank you!

vBFreak
15 Sep 2006, 06:19
Indeed, should be vB default, I like this much more than some larger hacks because it is simply useful :)

How can I get that table around the mini navbar like on the screenshot? In my forums it's just the text below the reply button

spesh
15 Sep 2006, 17:40
Nice :)

Mines just text also - no border/box around it

vBFreak
15 Sep 2006, 19:23
But I personally think that the border around it would look nicer ;)

YabbaDabba
16 Sep 2006, 15:50
First off, I think this is a super idea

Second, Jelsoft ought to include this in the vB base package.

Question:
Does this use its own unique breadcrumb code, or does it use the vB breadcrumb code? Can it be made to look like VB's standard breadcrumb display? (E.g., VB's breadcrumbs have the bold forum title, the folder icon, etc.)

JGNYC
16 Sep 2006, 18:18
Thanks for the hack.
Unfortunately the bar is only text with no frame around it.
Is there a way to fix this?

randominity
18 Sep 2006, 06:13
hmm for the people having problems with the border, are you all using 3.6.1?

First off, I think this is a super idea

Second, Jelsoft ought to include this in the vB base package.

Question:
Does this use its own unique breadcrumb code, or does it use the vB breadcrumb code? Can it be made to look like VB's standard breadcrumb display? (E.g., VB's breadcrumbs have the bold forum title, the folder icon, etc.)

It uses vB's breadcrumb code, modified a bit; I didn't like the way with the folder icons and such, I can help you out to show the more default vB breadcrumb in a days if you'd like.

*edit* for some reason, part of the template code was removed... not quite sure what happened, but be sure to download + reinstall the new XML file to get the border back.

redlabour
18 Sep 2006, 22:30
@randominity - please use Update-Notifier-Mail next Time you update ! ;)

oberheimhaven
18 Sep 2006, 22:47
Installed THXS great hack
Worked without error's!!!3.6.0

Pottsy
18 Sep 2006, 22:57
Look how you satisfied a user:
http://www.civinfo.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1221&page=4

Thank you!

|oR|Greg
18 Sep 2006, 23:09
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/'D

Ultimative
19 Sep 2006, 01:42
Very nice. Helps my users navigation my forum.

Thanks :)

jw00dy
21 Sep 2006, 07:02
Very nice. I will use this ALL THE TIME!

*installed*

iran.gs
23 Sep 2006, 23:49
wow this is so kool thanksssssssssssssssss its really a big help on big forums save time

Jealousy10312
24 Sep 2006, 18:05
http://www.blabsource.com/showthread.php?p=1905#post1905

For some reason, it shows up as white! How do I change this? Thanks

Limerick
26 Sep 2006, 21:25
Hello Randominity,

Thanks for your hack I'm trying.
In your screen above, the navbar is centered in a red line, bud mine is not. How do you change this? Is it an additionnal change in the code ?

randominity
28 Sep 2006, 18:26
Hello Randominity,

Thanks for your hack I'm trying.
In your screen above, the navbar is centered in a red line, bud mine is not. How do you change this? Is it an additionnal change in the code ?

Do you have a link to your forums so I can look at it?

Limerick
28 Sep 2006, 20:43
Do you have a link to your forums so I can look at it?


Yes, see your PM ;)

randominity
28 Sep 2006, 23:54
http://www.blabsource.com/showthread.php?p=1905#post1905

For some reason, it shows up as white! How do I change this? Thanks

Changing the text can get kinda messy, an easier way is to change the background... go to your admin panel --> Styles & Templates --> Style Manager --> Navigation/Breadcrumb templates --> navbar_mini

find
<td class="alt1">

change it to

<td class="alt1" style="background-color: #000000;">

where #000000 is the color you want to use.

Jcee
29 Sep 2006, 08:53
Excellent!!!!

jilly
01 Oct 2006, 06:50
with quick reply enabled, it is between the end of the thread and the quick reply box..

how could I make it show up under the quick reply box?

detalhe
11 Oct 2006, 19:03
Working clean :)

JustinBr
14 Oct 2006, 04:35
Excellent code! Installed perfectly.

I use the 468x15 adsense code in my upper navbar and would like to do the same in this mininavbar. Where exactly do i add the code?

Thanks again for a great hack!

Justin Brand
http://www.ruleoneforum.com

randominity
14 Oct 2006, 16:53
Excellent code! Installed perfectly.

I use the 468x15 adsense code in my upper navbar and would like to do the same in this mininavbar. Where exactly do i add the code?

Thanks again for a great hack!

Justin Brand
http://www.ruleoneforum.com

you can add the code in the navbar_mini template.

eMMeMM
21 Oct 2006, 16:36
Great little hack. Thanks! :)

Tru2Chevy
28 Oct 2006, 01:35
with quick reply enabled, it is between the end of the thread and the quick reply box..

how could I make it show up under the quick reply box?

I too would like to know how to do this. Anyone know how?

- Justin

cavyspirit
04 Nov 2006, 17:57
I would like this to appear in forum displays of sub-forum listings and the list of threads in a forum.

Because I want to remove the standard top breadcrumb thing entirely. I've got my navigation in a left column and I want this breadcrumb both at the top and bottom as appropriate. Big savings on dead space at the top of the forum, which is just too dang valuable. I've never liked all that dead space for really unimportant stuff.

apiasto
06 Nov 2006, 22:04
very gud thnx I needed something like this

sunnycher
14 Nov 2006, 03:45
Thank you!!

beansbaxter
28 Nov 2006, 00:38
installed on 3.6.3 and works great, perfect and easy.

thanks.

tobybird
28 Nov 2006, 06:05
very nice! Thanks!

RetroDreams
09 Dec 2006, 04:16
For those of us that have redesigned the navigation, this is an excellent hack.

Mupetz
17 Dec 2006, 15:29
Nice one , thank you
Working , installed

nocte
01 Jan 2007, 19:33
sorry, wrong thread.

kdemonte
03 Jan 2007, 02:08
Everytime I try to upload it from my computer in the admin I get this error

XML Error: Reserved XML Name at Line 1


Anyone know what I'm doing wrong?? vB 3.6.4

Nevermind.I got the issue solved now!

dirty68
12 Feb 2007, 19:26
sweet hack

AndyA
15 Feb 2007, 14:38
Good idea, thanks.

2 FN LOW
03 Mar 2007, 04:34
using it now and i love it...

hotwheels
04 Mar 2007, 16:28
Quick question on this mod, is there a way to put your default home page in this navbar, as the first item you can click? Right now it is set up for the forum only, which is kewl, but if you have a portal and people would like to go back to the main portal page, would you have the code to accomplish this?

Thanks, hotwheels

Top Nurse
11 Mar 2007, 04:44
Nice hack that kicks ass!

What can I say except:


Easy to install! If you have problems with this install go back and play with your tinker toys.
Totally fits the bill.

NaughtyStud
11 Mar 2007, 07:09
Clicked Install,Works perfectly on 3.6.5.Thanks ;)

blue_genjutsu
16 Mar 2007, 04:30
Thank you!

rjmjr69
16 Mar 2007, 09:42
Nice works fine in 3.6.5 thank you

It would be nice to have it display below the quick reply. And also to always show Forum Home

SirFlash
16 Mar 2007, 10:09
Installed, thanks! Works in 3.6.4 perfectly!

Thx1133
16 Mar 2007, 19:58
Installed !
Nice improvment

Ultimative
29 Mar 2007, 12:35
Anyway to move it to above the banner? As I'm trying to create a pathway using this coding. I tried using the code straight into the header template. Didn't work it just placed a link directly back to the homepage and wouldn't show anything else.

rjmjr69
16 May 2007, 03:07
How can I add a new button? I looked at all the code and I do not see any reference to particular buttons/links Like I want to add one to the arcade

Mrdby
18 May 2007, 21:51
works fine for 3.6.7 PL1

Saviour
23 May 2007, 16:11
Installed and working on 3.6.7.

Works great, but realized it isn't really necessary due to the forum "Jump Box" at the bottom of each page.

However, I do like it...installed it...and am currently using it.

Nice job!

halcyoncmdr
23 May 2007, 18:39
It may not be necessary, but I like it. I personally enjoy having the same breadcrumb look at the bottom to easily see where I am in comparison to the forum at-a-glance, without having to open the jump box if I want to go up two levels in a 5-level forum :)

random1
24 May 2007, 02:10
disreguard newbie error :D

Outbackmark
21 Jun 2007, 14:51
Great Thanks!!!

momo2
26 Jun 2007, 03:23
i was looking for this thanks so much worked fine with my 3.6.7 pl1

redlabour
29 Jan 2008, 19:10
i was looking for this thanks so much worked fine with my 3.6.7 pl1

Anyone tested with 3.7?

nectons
16 Feb 2008, 01:44
works perfect @ my 3.6.8 ... thanks man

installed

RaceJunkie
02 Mar 2008, 04:07
3.7 Beta5 Anyone?

mikkitine
06 Mar 2008, 01:09
3.6.8 PL 2: Simple and effective. Works fine. Thanks.

symptome
10 Mar 2008, 21:28
This is amazing.
It would be perfect, if there was a "take-me-to-the-top"-Button on the right hand side.

Lots of people are looking out just for this button ...

DieselMinded
15 Mar 2008, 07:50
with quick reply enabled, it is between the end of the thread and the quick reply box..

how could I make it show up under the quick reply box?

I would like to move below Quick reply also

DieselMinded
16 Mar 2008, 20:36
3 Posts about asking how to move below Quick Reply ,

Please dont use auto template editing as we dont know where the code went or what to look for

DieselMinded
29 Mar 2008, 06:44
Have you had a chance to look at this for us?

1quick1
14 Apr 2008, 02:33
Hey I also was wondering if anyone had a chance to test with 3.7

Kanustep
18 Apr 2008, 15:56
It works on 3.7 RC 3

1quick1
20 Apr 2008, 09:47
It works on 3.7 RC 3

Yea I went ahead and kept it installed on my 3.7rc3 and have found no problems.

BigDog56
20 Apr 2008, 15:02
Very nice! Thank you! "Clicks installed."

Kanustep
22 Apr 2008, 03:57
Anybody knows how to change the position of the breadcumbs? I have try to change the place of the variable that navbar mini looks for, but no result.

Thank you

DieselMinded
09 May 2008, 04:29
/me uninstalls , a mod is only as good as its support

0ptima
11 May 2008, 04:58
Works with 3.7.0...

Deadly Assassin
11 May 2008, 06:30
Sweet, thanks

;)

peterle1
12 May 2008, 21:53
3 Posts about asking how to move below Quick Reply ,

Please dont use auto template editing as we dont know where the code went or what to look for

Take a look in the xml. There you find: $vbulletin->templatecache['SHOWTHREAD']
This shows you, where the code will be installed.
You can change the hook, with the find clause, which follows.

HTH

randominity
26 May 2008, 07:11
Sorry, been MIA again, just upgraded to 3.7, so I'll see about updating this soon...

Gonna see what new goodies there are to add more options for this.

botlrok8
26 May 2008, 19:14
Very nice! Should be default. Installed

steve1966
17 Jun 2008, 13:47
thanks

PoetJA-1975
26 Jun 2008, 14:42
Thanx,

Jacquii.

usmansabir
27 Jun 2008, 23:03
nice tool .. thankx working for 3.6.8

dt_truck11
30 Jun 2008, 01:56
*installed*

works with 3.7.2

there is a template mod like this, but decided to go this route so wouldnt have to go through and edit all my styles

Quads
06 Sep 2008, 22:00
Install on 3.7.2 Pl2
Works.

Why this isn't part of vB core, I have no idea..

patrick1110
29 Sep 2008, 06:55
I'd Really like to have this Mod if anyone has it could you please upload it and send to me thanks!

davit1979
12 Feb 2009, 02:15
Working great in 3.8.1!!!!
Awesome mod!!!

SirHappy
20 Jun 2009, 17:18
thx. works in 3.8.3.

Fergal C
16 Jul 2009, 07:30
Installed and working in 3.8.3 on my forum.

goxy63
12 Sep 2009, 01:42
how to change where mini navbar should be placed, lets say under "Quick Reply " just below " Previous Thread | Next Thread "
???

AusPhotography
15 Sep 2009, 05:29
All good on 3.8.4

Also tweaked it to do this... | New Posts | Top

<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%">
<tr valign="bottom">
<td>&nbsp;</td>
<td width="100%"><span class="navbar"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php?$session[sessionurl]" accesskey="1">$vboptions</a></span> $navbits[breadcrumb]
[B] <span class="navbar">| <a href="search.php?do=getnew">New Posts</a> | <a href="#top" onclick="self.scrollTo(0, 0); return false;">Top</a> </span>
</td>
</tr>
</table>

Arkham
28 Dec 2009, 21:05
Installed. Great mod, but I would love to see a version that mimics the look of the original breadcrumb using the default icons.

BTW, installed in latest vB version, 3.8.4 PL2.

Also, it would be a fantastic addition to be able to add this to the other pages as well. e.g. forumdisplay, search results, ... basically all others too. :)

I'd like to see the actual thread title in the nav too, but I'm going to try to add that on my own.

edit-again:

I added "&gt; <strong>$navbits[lastelement]</strong>" here:

<span class="navbar"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php?$session[sessionurl]" accesskey="1">$vboptions</a></span> $navbits[breadcrumb][B] &gt; <strong>$navbits[lastelement]</strong>

So now the last element is the thread-title, in bold. That's one less thing on my list to do, now. ;)

Arkham
28 Dec 2009, 22:29
Take a look in the xml. There you find: $vbulletin->templatecache['SHOWTHREAD']
This shows you, where the code will be installed.
You can change the hook, with the find clause, which follows.

HTH

In layman's terms, how could we add new templates to this? e.g. to add it to forumdisplay, or any other template?

Arkham
21 Jan 2010, 00:24
1: How can I add this to the top of the page

2: How do I edit the "prefix" section of the navbar. Right now, the prefix is shown without any separators, so it reads like this "Prefix Thread Title Here". I'd prefer it to read "[Prefix] Thread Title Here" or even remove the prefix entirely.

EDIT: Great mod, but I've uninstalled it on the site in question. I just added two copies of the default navbar where I needed it.

Evoklub
14 Feb 2011, 19:55
Great feature, isn't it available for 4.1.1?