PDA

View Full Version : Statistics Modifications - Live Forum Statistics on All Pages in Forum Header


Neutral Singh
12 Oct 2006, 02:13
Live Forum Statistics on All Pages in Header Template
Plugin Keywords: Member info,Statistics, Members, New Members, Forum, Statistics, Member Info, Forum, Stats,

Please Don't Forget to Click Install

Requested by :
Myself :devious:

Context :
Searched through vb.org but could not find a similar plugin/hack. I wanted to show all vital forum stats like total posts, total threads, total members and newest member on each page of my forum (http://www.sikhphilosophy.net/) as well as vBa CMPS, in header template and this plugin performs exactly the same function.

What this plugin does ?
This plugin uses the 'global_start' hook and stores the desired information from your forum database into php variables and when called in 'header 'template, produces the desired results.

Utility :
Imagine... an unregistered/guest visits your website for the first time via a search engine link (95% of times its not the homepage that is found via a search engines link) and the first thing s/he notices is the forum header information and says wow!! this forum has got xxxx members, xxxxx threads, xxxxxx posts, why not get registered with this community and see what this forum has got in store for me. LOL!! quite true actually. ;)

Demo : http://www.sikhphilosophy.net

Any Screenshots : Demo is self-explanatory.

Warning : This plugin executes 5 queries per pageload.

Installation Instructions : (Also attached alongwith the plugin.)

Step by Step Instructions:
1. Ofcourse, download the Plugin.
2. Go to 'Plugin System' module in vb admin panel and click 'Download/Upload Plugins'.
3. Towards the botton of next screen, you will see a box table - 'Import Plugin Definitions XML File'. Click the 'Browse' button and select the Plugin Definitions XML File downloaded and saved somewhere on your computer. Click the 'Import' button and well... you are not quite yet done. LOL!!
4. Ok, Now go to Styles & Tempalte --> 'Styles Manager' and select the 'Common Templates' option from drop down menu and click the 'Go' button.
5. In the header template:

Find: (ususally at the end of the template file)
<!-- content table -->
$spacer_open

$_phpinclude_output



Add Above:
<!-- Forum Stats in Header Template -->
<table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
<tr>
<td>
<div align="left"><span class="smallfont">| <b>Discussions:</b> $totalthreads | <b>Messages:</b> $totalposts | <b>Members: </b>$numbermembers | <b>Online: </b>$totalonline </b> | <b>Newest :</b> <a href="$vboptions[bburl]/member.php?u=$newuserid"><b>$newusername</b></a> (Welcome!)
</span></div>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
<!-- Forum Stats in Header Template -->


Ofcourse you can customise this code to suit your website setup. ;)

9. And, now finally you are done! :)


Enjoy!!

Please Don't Forget to Click Install

Shazz
12 Oct 2006, 02:18
Looks very cool, would be nice for big forums :)

Barakat
12 Oct 2006, 06:04
installed >>>>>>>

eXtremeTim
12 Oct 2006, 06:25
there are much better ways to accomplish this without having 5 extra queries per page.

shadowevil
12 Oct 2006, 06:49
*Installed*

Snake
12 Oct 2006, 09:41
Thanks.

Acido
12 Oct 2006, 12:32
there are much better ways to accomplish this without having 5 extra queries per page.

But this is the only way published as vb add-on.
Quite strange :rolleyes:

Kihon Kata
12 Oct 2006, 13:47
Get to work, Tim ;)

there are much better ways to accomplish this without having 5 extra queries per page.

Neutral Singh
12 Oct 2006, 14:25
oh! i would love that if queries could be eliminated in live update of statistics... :) Thanks.

phpdevrus
12 Oct 2006, 21:35
hmmm why do you need to requery for this information when it is already done by vb? cant you just pull those variables into the header? that was they only need to be done once and will not add queries to show the same information twice.

just an idea.

Neutral Singh
13 Oct 2006, 01:23
I am yet to find ways to show that information in the header... if we could do that it would fine. :)

Acido
13 Oct 2006, 06:16
May be using a cron each X Minutes to store the variables?

yesfans
13 Oct 2006, 14:14
Only thing I did not like on this one is that it put the info on my main forums page also which I didn't want. Anyway to out on all pages but the main front page?

Neutral Singh
19 Oct 2006, 02:01
Only thing I did not like on this one is that it put the info on my main forums page also which I didn't want. Anyway to out on all pages but the main front page?
Simple cover the code with the following conditionals like below:

<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT != 'forumhome'">

<!-- Forum Stats in Header Template -->
<table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
<tr>
<td>
<div align="left"><span class="smallfont">| <b>Discussions:</b> $totalthreads | <b>Messages:</b> $totalposts | <b>Members: </b>$numbermembers | <b>Online: </b>$totalonline </b> | <b>Newest :</b> <a href="$vboptions[bburl]/member.php?u=$newuserid"><b>$newusername</b></a> (Welcome!)
</span></div>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
<!-- Forum Stats in Header Template -->

</if>

rareclownfish
05 Nov 2006, 01:05
I'm trying to get your hack to work on phpportals, do you have any idea how to?

iran.gs
13 Dec 2006, 15:28
Very nice Installed 3.64 vb

spazz191
11 Feb 2007, 20:31
This is a great hack. I installed it but the counts don't match up to my VB stats. It looks like it is counting hidden and deleted posts too. Is there a way around this or a fix in the future.
I will uninstall till then, if fixed will click installed.

shete
12 Feb 2007, 05:14
Very nice ... one minor bug though ... when i click on " New Posts "

the information becomes blank on that page .... weird

superluks
14 Feb 2007, 23:06
One tiny bug - it shows softly deleted messages and topics in static.

akulion
25 Feb 2007, 23:14
thanks man this is just sweet!! works for 3.6.4 perfectly

installed :D

Invalid ID
01 Mar 2007, 16:10
Sardar Jee, tussi great ho :)

rezapci
01 Mar 2007, 16:41
good good good

Jason Black
21 Oct 2007, 12:43
screen shoots please?

JohnBee
22 Nov 2007, 16:46
there are much better ways to accomplish this without having 5 extra queries per page.
I for one would love to see this. Based on your response to others following your fantastic claim, I guess we can assume the validity of your statement.

yuriy
26 Dec 2007, 22:07
This just like makes your forum look so awesome! :D i made a link to WHOS ONLINE for the Online: :p looks awesome! thank you!!

ReaperUK
17 Jan 2008, 10:18
cheers nice mod

legionofangels
24 Jan 2008, 18:58
Have you tried using different fonts with this yet to see if it's compatible as far as it's table dimensions with other fonts?

Or does your plug in allow us to modify the dimensions of the Stats table as well?

XxBuLLeTz
01 Feb 2008, 02:54
how come the stats on another vb page are different than my default stats on the forumhome.

codershark
03 Mar 2008, 07:46
any screenshots available ? running also on 3.7 ?

ericdesmontagne
24 Mar 2008, 16:36
Hello, your mod seems to extra, but can we use it with the 3.6.8 and 3.7 version of vB ? Thanks.

testebr
09 Apr 2008, 20:56
Read this topic (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?p=1486280) for you understand how to save that five querys of your plugin.

testebr
11 Apr 2008, 13:13
Create new plugin:

Hook Location: init_startup

Plugin PHP Code: $datastore_fetch[] = "'userstats'";

And done, all variables enable in any template with ZERO new query.

amirlol
12 Apr 2008, 18:56
thanks

w1z4rd
05 Aug 2008, 10:54
any screenshots available ? running also on 3.7 ?

Runs using 3.7x on my test board.

Create new plugin:

Hook Location: init_startup

Plugin PHP Code: $datastore_fetch[] = "'userstats'";

And done, all variables enable in any template with ZERO new query.

Thanks for that :up:

Scovic
07 Dec 2008, 14:29
Create new plugin:

Hook Location: init_startup

Plugin PHP Code: $datastore_fetch[] = "'userstats'";

And done, all variables enable in any template with ZERO new query.

I cant get this to work.
How do I call "userstats"?

$totalthreads
$totalposts
$numbermembers etc

doesnt show anything.

Thanks

Qleb
14 Oct 2009, 00:16
i love u man

Qleb
14 Oct 2009, 00:27
to show pictures total in any where, use this in to the same plugin

add this to

admincp --> edit plugins

add it above every thing


$pictures = $db->query_first("SELECT COUNT(*) AS picture,MAX(pictureid) AS max FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "picture");
$allpictures = number_format($pictures['picture']);



in template any where :

Total pictures : $allpictures

;)