PDA

View Full Version : CMPS on main domain ?


radarhunter
29 Oct 2006, 12:57
I want to install this on it's own domain. I have my cmps at:

www.stepheniansonline.com/forum/home.php

And forums at :

www.stepheniansonline.com/forum/index.php


I want the cmps to be on the domain like when someone opens the site it should come on the main domain i.e. : www.stepheniansonline.com

Can anyone guide me on how to do that

Thanks in advance!

Mike

il-logical
21 Nov 2006, 04:39
I would like to know the same thing.

touba
09 Dec 2006, 19:43
you put your cmps_index.php at the root of your www folder in your ftp server

i'm french, maybe i didn't understood the question...

KW802
10 Dec 2006, 01:13
you put your cmps_index.php at the root of your www folder in your ftp server... ... and then rename it from cmps_index.php to index.php (or whatever else your server recognizes as the default file index). Just make sure that you modified your cmps_index.php file to have the correct path in it to your forums.

vectra-c.com
12 Dec 2006, 00:20
I'm trying to do the same, and I've now got a renamed cmps_index.php file in my root folder (now called index.php) and still have the default vBulletin index.php in the /forum folder - but when I go to www.mydomain - which now starts off the cmps file, I get these error messages. Is there some other twiddling I need to do?

The error is....

Warning: main(/xxxxxx/public_html/includes/init.php) [function.main]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /xxxxxx/public_html/forum/global.php on line 20

Fatal error: main() [function.require]: Failed opening required '/xxxxxx/public_html/includes/init.php' (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /xxxxxx/public_html/forum/global.php on line 20

vectra-c.com
13 Dec 2006, 00:36
Anyone? :)

vectra-c.com
14 Dec 2006, 16:59
Is there a fundamental reason why I can't have the cmps_index.php (renamed to index.php) in the root directory and yet still have the default VBulletin index.php (and all other files) in the /forum directory?

Initially I get this error message if I have the cmps_index.php file in the root directory...

Warning: main(./includes/vba_cmps_include_template.php) [function.main]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /xxxxxx/public_html/index.php on line 44

Fatal error: main() [function.require]: Failed opening required './includes/vba_cmps_include_template.php' (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /xxxxxx/public_html/index.php on line 44

Where line 44 and 45 are

require_once('./includes/vba_cmps_include_template.php');
require_once('./global.php');

The obvious reason for the error is that it's not looking in the /forum folder for those files - so if I add /forum to those lines I then get the error I had in post #5...

Warning: main(/xxxxxx/public_html/includes/init.php) [function.main]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /xxxxxx/public_html/forum/global.php on line 20

Fatal error: main() [function.require]: Failed opening required '/xxxxxx/public_html/includes/init.php' (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /xxxxxx/public_html/forum/global.php on line 20

where line 20 is

require_once(CWD . '/includes/init.php');

Is it just not possible to get it to work if you have the cmps_index.php and VBulletin index.php files in different folders? If it is possible, am I missing a setting? What exactly should I have typed into the CMPS CP for the CMPS URL?

Thanks for any help.

KW802
14 Dec 2006, 18:56
Is there a fundamental reason why I can't have the cmps_index.php (renamed to index.php) in the root directory and yet still have the default VBulletin index.php (and all other files) in the /forum directory? ... Is it just not possible to get it to work if you have the cmps_index.php and VBulletin index.php files in different folders? If it is possible, am I missing a setting? What exactly should I have typed into the CMPS CP for the CMPS URL?CMPS works wonderfully in the root folder. Did you edit the cmps_index.php so that the forum folder variable is correct?

vectra-c.com
14 Dec 2006, 23:15
The line in the cmps_index.php file is pointing to the forum folder....

$forumpath = '/xxxxxx/public_html/forum';

KW802
15 Dec 2006, 04:05
The line in the cmps_index.php file is pointing to the forum folder....

$forumpath = '/xxxxxx/public_html/forum';And is that the correct full path? If you're not sure then inside of the vBa CMPS download package is a folder called "Extra (do not upload)" and inside of that folder is a file named "forumpath.php" -- Upload that file to your forums folder and run it. That script will attempt to determine the value you want put in the cmps_index.php file.

After that go into you ACP and check vBa CMPS => Default Settings => CMPS URL to make sure that the correct value is in there.

After that go into ACP => vBulletin Options => Site Name / URL / Contact Details and make sure the various URL & path values are correct.

vectra-c.com
15 Dec 2006, 10:57
Thanks for the reply Kevin.And is that the correct full path? If you're not sure then inside of the vBa CMPS download package is a folder called "Extra (do not upload)" and inside of that folder is a file named "forumpath.php" -- Upload that file to your forums folder and run it. That script will attempt to determine the value you want put in the cmps_index.php file.Yes, it's correct. I ran that script when I first installed CMPS to determine the full path.After that go into you ACP and check vBa CMPS => Default Settings => CMPS URL to make sure that the correct value is in there.This may be where I've gone wrong. Given that my cmps_index.php is in the root, and all the other forum files are in /forum - what value should be in here now? When I first installed CMPS it set itself to ..index. That was when the cmps_index was in the /forum directory. Now that it's in root, I expect it needs to change, but what to?After that go into ACP => vBulletin Options => Site Name / URL / Contact Details and make sure the various URL & path values are correct.They've remained unchanged since I installed the forum way back and I assume have no need to be changed due to installing CMPS. The forum itself is working fine.

Thanks

KW802
15 Dec 2006, 15:37
... This may be where I've gone wrong. Given that my cmps_index.php is in the root, and all the other forum files are in /forum - what value should be in here now? When I first installed CMPS it set itself to ..index. That was when the cmps_index was in the /forum directory. Now that it's in root, I expect it needs to change, but what to? ...I've see a few conflicting answers but at least what works for me in that value is the URL to where the cmps_index.php file is. For example, at Cool SciFi with CMPS in the root I renamed cmps_index.php to index.php and then in the ACP for the vBa CMPS settings I changed the location to http://www.coolscifi.com/index.php and at least on all of my sites that works fine.

vectra-c.com
15 Dec 2006, 16:15
I've see a few conflicting answers but at least what works for me in that value is the URL to where the cmps_index.php file is. For example, at Cool SciFi with CMPS in the root I renamed cmps_index.php to index.php and then in the ACP for the vBa CMPS settings I changed the location to http://www.coolscifi.com/index.php and at least on all of my sites that works fine.Thanks Kevin - off to try that now......


Edit: .......and realises that I already had that typed in that setting i.e - http://mydomain.com/index.php when I posted above in #7. This is doing my head in now!

GruntHalo
28 Dec 2006, 17:51
... and then rename it from cmps_index.php to index.php (or whatever else your server recognizes as the default file index). Just make sure that you modified your cmps_index.php file to have the correct path in it to your forums.

I didnt even edit the cmps_index.php file and mine works perfectly fine. lol. :)

vectra-c.com
28 Dec 2006, 18:22
I found out what the problem was!!.....

Embarrassingly it was down to something I had accidentally deleted! When I did a modification that required a slight edit of the cmps_index.php file, I somehow managed to delete this line of code that was above the line being modified......chdir($forumpath);which was kinda crucial in the grand scheme of things!! :nervous: :nervous: :nervous: :nervous: :nervous:

So sorry for all the endless questions and tearing out of my hair when it was down to a slip of the backspace key!

Works perfectly now! :)

catastrope
02 Jan 2007, 11:02
I am facing a strange problem...

on my webserver, the default page tat opens when i type in www.mydomian.com is 'index.html'

I have index.php(CMPS PHP file) in root directory itself and when i say www.mydomain.com/index.php, it open up CMPS page.

how do i redirect index.html to index.php??

any help is greatly appreciated...
Thanks!

vectra-c.com
02 Jan 2007, 14:11
how do i redirect index.html to index.php??If you want the index.php to be the default page, then all you need to do is delete or rename your index.html to something like indexold.html. Then when you go to www.mydomian.com it will start with the CMPS page.

rungok
27 Mar 2007, 17:26
When I lay the portal page at root some of the images get wrong (It expects them to be in root/images instead of the full path/forums/images). How can I correct that?