PDA

View Full Version : xFire Status in Postbit


Kru
09 Nov 2006, 15:01
xFire allows you:

* See when your friends are online & what game they're playing
* See where they're playing and join them with one click
* See what games the friends of your friends are playing

and so on. More informations and the download link for the free software can be found here: http://www.xfire.com (http://www.xfire.com/)

This modifications show your Xfire Miniprofiles in the postbit. So your friends can see if you are online and what kind of games are you playing and maybe join you.

Modifications:
1 extra Field
1 Template modification

Add 2 New Fields:

1st new userfiled
Go to AdminCP -> User Profile Fields -> Add New User Profile Field
Profile Field Type: Single-Line Text Box
Title: xFire Game Status - www.xfire.com (http://www.xfire.com/)
Description: Please enter your xFire username here.
Click Save.

Note the field ID, which you will need in the template code.

2nd new userfiled
Go to AdminCP -> User Profile Fields -> Add New User Profile Field
Profile Field Type: Single-Selection Radio Buttons
Title: xFire style
Description: Choose a xFire style: Default (bg), Fantasy (os), Combat (co), Sci-Fi (sf)
Options:


bg
os
co
sfSet Default: Yes
Field Editable by User: Yes
Allow user to input their own value for this option: No
Click Save.

Note the field ID, which you will need in the template code.

Find:

<if condition="$post[icqicon] or $post[aimicon] or $post[msnicon] or $post[yahooicon] or $post[skypeicon]"><div class="pibu"><div class="pib">$post[icqicon] $post[aimicon] $post[msnicon] $post[yahooicon] $post[skypeicon]


Add this below:

<!-- XFire Hack -->
<if condition="$post['fieldx1']"><a href=http://profile.xfire.com/$post[fieldx1]><img src=http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/$post[fieldx2]/type/3/$post[fieldx1].png width=149 height=29 border=0></a>
<br>
<a href="xfire:add_friend?user=$post[fieldx1]" rel="nofollow">Add to xFire Friends List</a>
</if>
<!-- / End XFire Hack -->

Of course you can put it on a different place in your postbit, too.

When you create the new field make a note of the field ID you will need to substitute the X1 for the 1st new userfield and X2 for the 2nd new userfield with the xFire username field ID number and xFire style field ID number.

Now edit your profile and enter your xFire username.


If you use this mod please click Install (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/vborg_miscactions.php?do=installhack&threadid=131143) - cheers! :)

jcfuller
10 Nov 2006, 15:24
Clicked install. ;) Thanks for the great Mod :D

cdnbacon
22 Nov 2006, 22:00
Installed and it's looking good. Is it possible to change the icon size or anything? Sorry, still new to all of this.

Regards,
Jeff Piper

bandare
22 Nov 2006, 23:39
for some reason it doesn't work for me and all I see is a text line and link that says:

Add to xFire Friends List

KURTZ
30 Nov 2006, 17:04
unfortunately i cannot find that line in my postbit templates ... :(

any suggestion?

<if condition="$post[icqicon] or $post[aimicon] or $post[msnicon] or $post[yahooicon] or $post[skypeicon]"><div class="pibu"><div class="pib">$post[icqicon] $post[aimicon] $post[msnicon] $post[yahooicon] $post[skypeicon]

rasp187
03 Dec 2006, 04:21
Kurtz, just ctrl+f and put "ICQ" into your search criteria and you'll find the line.

Anyway, this is pretty neat. Thanks.

KURTZ
03 Dec 2006, 11:22
thx rasp now i've installed the hack but i still have a trouble, i cant see the xfire's image in my postbit ...

the ids of my new fields are 5 and 6 ... i substituted the x1 with the 5 and the x2 with the 6 is correct?

this is what i see:

https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/ (http://img329.imageshack.us/img329/7334/pick001rm7.jpg)

bandare
04 Dec 2006, 03:57
thx rasp now i've installed the hack but i still have a trouble, i cant see the xfire's image in my postbit ...

the ids of my new fields are 5 and 6 ... i substituted the x1 with the 5 and the x2 with the 6 is correct?

this is what i see:

http://img329.imageshack.us/img329/7334/pick001rm7.jpg (http://img329.imageshack.us/img329/7334/pick001rm7.jpg)

yup. same issue!

KURTZ
04 Dec 2006, 11:22
nobody can help us? :/

bandare
10 Dec 2006, 12:55
*bump* I did PM the maker of the hack but no PM back....... strange!

GFX Brands
11 Dec 2006, 02:52
did you guys pick a skin from your cp ?

also change the field #s of the makers code to your field #

KURTZ
11 Dec 2006, 13:26
now runs!! :D

so finally INSTALLED!

GFX Brands
11 Dec 2006, 23:03
great that it installed

bandare
15 Dec 2006, 23:45
did you guys pick a skin from your cp ?

also change the field #s of the makers code to your field #

you, I put in my fields and also chose a skin... still nothing :(

digibluez
31 Dec 2006, 11:08
LOOK <a href=http://profile.xfire.com/eve4ever><img src=http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/0/eve4ever.png width=440 height=111></a> at the code and go figure it did not work for me 1 either but i got it working myself

Deep-X
31 Dec 2006, 16:35
View mine cause this works...

global-fortress.com to view profile's

<if condition="$post['joindate']"><div>$vbphrase[join_date]: $post[joindate]</div></if>
<if condition="$post['field2']"><div>$vbphrase[location_perm]: $post[field2]</div></if>
<if condition="$post['age']"><div>$vbphrase[age]: $post[age]</div></if>


<div>
$vbphrase[posts]: $post[posts]
</div>
<if condition="$show['infraction']"><div>$vbphrase[infractions]: $post[warnings]/$post[infractions] ($post[ipoints])</div></if>
<if condition="$show['reputation']"><if condition="$show['reppower']">$vbphrase[reppower]: <span id="reppower_$post[postid]_$post[userid]">$post[reppower]</span> </if><div><span id="repdisplay_$post[postid]_$post[userid]">$post[reputationdisplay]</span></div></if>
<div>$post[icqicon] $post[aimicon] $post[msnicon] $post[yahooicon] $post[skypeicon]</div>

<!-- XFire Hack -->
<if condition="$post['field5']"><a href=http://profile.xfire.com/$post[fieldx1]><img src=http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/$post[field6]/type/3/$post[field5].png width=149 height=29 border=0></a>
<br>
<a href="xfire:add_friend?user=$post[fieldxx]" rel="nofollow">Add to xFire Friends List</a>
</if>
<!-- / End XFire Hack -->
</div>

Gabriela.B
18 Jan 2007, 15:11
I got it working.


I had it as now

<!-- XFire Hack -->
<if condition="$post['field5']"><a href=http://profile.xfire.com/$post[field5]><img src=http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/$post[field6]/type/3/$post[field5].png width=149 height=29 border=0></a>
<br>
<a href="xfire:add_friend?user=$post[field5]" rel="nofollow">Add to xFire Friends List</a>
</if>
<!-- / End XFire Hack -->

Kru
25 Feb 2007, 08:09
I am sorry for the confusing. The main problem happened because I listed it as.


bg
os
co
sf


In the text file it appears as * bg and so on. The * was just the symbol for the listing and never was a part of this hack. Again I am sorry for this confusing from my side here.

I made a small change for my forum which you can use by yourself, too if you want.

Find

<!-- sig -->
<div>
__________________<br />
$post[signature]
</div>
<!-- / sig -->

Add this below:

<!-- XFire Hack -->
<p align="center"><if condition="$post['fieldx1']"><a href=http://profile.xfire.com/$post[fieldx1]><img src=http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/$post[fieldx2]/type/2/$post[fieldx1].png width=450 height=34 border=0></a>
<br>
<a href="xfire:add_friend?user=$post[fieldx1]" rel="nofollow">Add to xFire Friends List</a>
</if></p>
<!-- / End XFire Hack -->

This will add automatically a bigger Xfire banner in the user signature after they entered their Xfire name in the forum profile.

e.g. can be see here: http://forum.cabalonline.com/showpost.php?p=48598&postcount=14

Note: When you create the new field make a note of the field ID you will need to substitute the X1 for the 1st new userfield and X2 for the 2nd new userfield with the xFire username field ID number and xFire style field ID number.

porscheman170
31 Mar 2007, 02:15
Hi everybody,

I just tried installing this xfire hack but it is not displaying anything when you make a post. In the user control panel everything looks good there it just doesn't display anything. Does this work with 3.6.5 or am I going crazy, lol

Thanks in advance,

Porsche

mikeylikesitz
31 Mar 2007, 14:40
i had the same issue until i realized that i missed editing one of the "fieldx1", id go back over and check to make sure you didnt miss one as well



*clicks install*

Dr.NoTime
31 Mar 2007, 15:21
Nice hack. Question. Everything is working except the "add to xfire friends list" link. Double checked all of the code and everything is as listed. Anyone know what I could have done wrong?

Thanks,

Rob

sava700
28 Mar 2008, 01:07
I tried this and no matter what I do the xfire box will now show up... suggestions?

K4GAP
28 Apr 2008, 17:20
Any chance at all this will work in 3.6.8 ? I'm such a chicken and don't won't to try it.. :)

I'm also new to this.

headmetal
29 Apr 2008, 19:40
works on the new 3.7 :)

thanks and installed

sava700
01 May 2008, 00:13
works on the new 3.7 :)

thanks and installed

How did you get it to work in 3.7??

I've got it to work or show up ONLY if I put in some msn,aim or yahoo etc ID... then it shows up. If I remove one of those above ID's it disappears again??

I've double checked everything.. I'm editing both postbit and postbit_legacy templates with no luck in having either one make a difference.

sava700
02 May 2008, 12:42
Ok i figured it out.. you need to move this whole thing up above the im icons for it to work for some odd reason.

Amm0
05 May 2008, 20:16
Erk, even when putting it between here:

<if condition="$post['joindate']"><div>$vbphrase[join_date]: $post[joindate]</div></if>
<if condition="$post['field2']"><div>$vbphrase[location_perm]: $post[field2]</div></if>
<if condition="$post['age']"><div>$vbphrase[age]: $post[age]</div></if>


<div>
$vbphrase[posts]: $post[posts]
</div>
<if condition="$show['infraction']"><div>$vbphrase[infractions]: $post[warnings]/$post[infractions] ($post[ipoints])</div></if>
<if condition="$show['reputation']"><if condition="$show['reppower']">$vbphrase[reppower]: <span id="reppower_$post[postid]_$post[userid]">$post[reppower]</span> </if><div><span id="repdisplay_$post[postid]_$post[userid]">$post[reputationdisplay]</span></div></if>
<div>$post[icqicon] $post[aimicon] $post[msnicon] $post[yahooicon] $post[skypeicon]</div>

<!-- XFire Hack -->
<if condition="$post['field5']"><a href=http://profile.xfire.com/$post[fieldx1]><img src=http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/$post[field6]/type/3/$post[field5].png width=149 height=29 border=0></a>
<br>
<a href="xfire:add_friend?user=$post[fieldxx]" rel="nofollow">Add to xFire Friends List</a>
</if>
<!-- / End XFire Hack -->
</div> [/QUOTE]

It still shows absolutely nothing on the postbit for me.

Damn....do you need to put it above the ICQ etc icons on 3.6.8?

sava700
21 May 2008, 15:22
Erk, even when putting it between here:

<if condition="$post['joindate']"><div>$vbphrase[join_date]: $post[joindate]</div></if>
<if condition="$post['field2']"><div>$vbphrase[location_perm]: $post[field2]</div></if>
<if condition="$post['age']"><div>$vbphrase[age]: $post[age]</div></if>


<div>
$vbphrase[posts]: $post[posts]
</div>
<if condition="$show['infraction']"><div>$vbphrase[infractions]: $post[warnings]/$post[infractions] ($post[ipoints])</div></if>
<if condition="$show['reputation']"><if condition="$show['reppower']">$vbphrase[reppower]: <span id="reppower_$post[postid]_$post[userid]">$post[reppower]</span> </if><div><span id="repdisplay_$post[postid]_$post[userid]">$post[reputationdisplay]</span></div></if>
<div>$post[icqicon] $post[aimicon] $post[msnicon] $post[yahooicon] $post[skypeicon]</div>

<!-- XFire Hack -->
<if condition="$post['field5']"><a href=http://profile.xfire.com/$post[fieldx1]><img src=http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/$post[field6]/type/3/$post[field5].png width=149 height=29 border=0></a>
<br>
<a href="xfire:add_friend?user=$post[fieldxx]" rel="nofollow">Add to xFire Friends List</a>
</if>
<!-- / End XFire Hack -->
</div>

It still shows absolutely nothing on the postbit for me.

Damn....do you need to put it above the ICQ etc icons on 3.6.8?[/QUOTE]


I moved the whole hack above the IM icons to work... not just ICQ

blackwolf1962
03 Jun 2008, 00:49
It never worked for me aswell but i messed around with it and this is what i used in the end

<!-- XFire Hack -->
<if condition="$post['field10']"><a href=http://profile.xfire.com/$post[fieldx11]><img src=http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/co/type/3/$post[field10]/type/3/$post[field10].png width=149 height=29 border=0></a>
<a href="xfire:add_friend?user=$post[field10]" rel="nofollow">Add my xfire</a>
</if></div>

<!-- / End XFire Hack -->

this is the line i changed

miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/co/type/3/

which i got from my xfire i also added </div> to give me a space under it

UNFAITHFUL
06 Jun 2008, 16:13
i added this same thing as blackwolf and i never got the picture to work just got the thing to add user to xfire. that is it

Just remember the field#'s you change to where you added the profile fields. don't put what everyone else has. you have to do where you had your own. I know that most of you all know that but some dont and that is out there for them.

So i am assuming this is a no go on getting the image to work?

digibluez
14 Jun 2008, 14:08
there are two templates postbit and postbit_legacy, be sure to make the modifications on both templates. What ever you use. Thats' why it is not showing up for you.