PDA

View Full Version : Favicon Icon [GIF] on bookmark of your Site.


bolly.beats
10 Nov 2006, 09:04
This is my first thread on vBulletin.org .... Well i really dont know where to Post this thread. Admin can Move or Remove this thread as per there will.

Installation 1 : Installing "favicon.ico"

Step 1 : Make ur own favicon.ico, you need to have a software to convert your .jpg, .jpeg or .gif image to .ico. If u dont have, use this link http://www.chami.com/html-kit/services/favicon/.

Step 2 : After making your own "favicon.ico" upload it to the root directory of your forum. It must show your own favicon icon in your site's title.

Step 3 : If it doesnot appear,

Paste this line into your header OR headinclude Template
<link rel="shortcut icon" href="favicon.ico" />

And your are done with it...


Installation 2 : Installing "favicon.gif"

Step 1 : Make ur own favicon.gif using this link http://www.chami.com/html-kit/services/favicon/.

Step 2 : After making your own "favicon.gif" upload it on your server ( Any path u want ).

Step 3 : Edit templete header OR headinclude-template :

Paste on top :

<link rel="icon" href="http://your-site's-path/favicon.gif" type="image/gif" >


Bolly.Beats

Paul M
10 Nov 2006, 10:37
Moved to General Articles.

bolly.beats
10 Nov 2006, 21:27
Awww... ok ok :)

Barakat
20 Nov 2006, 16:25
yes thanks a looooooooooooot

chkdgate
23 Dec 2006, 10:29
Dude, you rock!

letsjoy
24 Dec 2006, 21:46
coooooool ;) thanks

BigJimTheLug
24 Dec 2006, 22:58
This is so cool!

I've done it!

Very easy mod!

Sexified Ninja
25 Dec 2006, 05:42
wow, thanks

BigJimTheLug
25 Dec 2006, 08:22
Hey, my favicon does not appear when a browser is using Internet Explorer.

Is there a way to fix this minor problem?

Thanks.

chkdgate
25 Dec 2006, 08:46
Hey, my favicon does not appear when a browser is using Internet Explorer.
Same here. Man, IE's the worst imho.

RedTyger
26 Dec 2006, 21:55
IE is, in true IE style, one of the worst browsers at making use of favicons. Bookmarking a site should force it to pick up on the icon, but don't count on it.

cyberphr
27 Dec 2006, 13:19
You do not need software to convert images to icons, simply upload the favicon to your server using an FTP Client, then rename the file extension to .ico.

MrPHD
28 Dec 2006, 02:06
This is my first thread on vBulletin.org .... Well i really dont know where to Post this thread. Admin can Move or Remove this thread as per there will.

Installation 1 : Installing "favicon.ico"

Step 1 : Make ur own favicon.ico, you need to have a software to convert your .jpg, .jpeg or .gif image to .ico. If u dont have, use this link http://www.chami.com/html-kit/services/favicon/.

Step 2 : After making your own "favicon.ico" upload it to the root directory of your forum. It must show your own favicon icon in your site's title.

Step 3 : If it doesnot appear,

Paste this line into your header OR headinclude Template
<link rel="shortcut icon" href="favicon.ico" />

And your are done with it...

DEMO : Click Here (http://forums.bollyjaan.com/).



Installation 2 : Installing "favicon.gif"

Step 1 : Make ur own favicon.gif using this link http://www.chami.com/html-kit/services/favicon/.

Step 2 : After making your own "favicon.gif" upload it on your server ( Any path u want ).

Step 3 : Edit templete header OR headinclude-template :

Paste on top :

<link rel="icon" href="http://your-site's-path/favicon.gif" type="image/gif" >

DEMO : Click Here (http://bollyjaan.com/).


Bolly.Beats

Hi, can you please where can i find this Hack or script? Please
Send a example.

Staxed
18 Jan 2007, 18:29
how do you get a transparent favicon like here at vborg?

tankaya61
20 Jan 2007, 18:48
thanks

ociosos
20 Jan 2007, 23:08
THANK YOU

any fix to make it work in the most stupid browser in the world ?? (IE)

mrkhm
28 Jan 2007, 09:30
you are a gem!!!

i know it was obvious to just replace the existing favicon.ico with whatever you custom favicon you made, but i wanted extra pizzazz with the animated favicons you can make and didn't know where to add the extra bit of code!

If anyone wants animated favicons go here: http://www.htmlkit.com/services/favicon/

when you upload your custom pic, they also generate an animated version of it which you can use optionally as well, but it requires an extra line of code beneath the usual one, and i didnt know where to put it in vb.

Thanks!

stan111
01 Feb 2007, 08:51
how come i don't see that icon on your address bar?

amir86
24 Feb 2007, 17:28
works great in Firefox but not IE7, thank you.

RedTyger
28 Feb 2007, 12:08
IE can still only handle .ico files for favicons I believe.

rjmjr69
06 Mar 2007, 09:40
I still can't get mine to appear all I see is the vb default. Where is that file stored normally?

Princeton
14 Mar 2007, 14:21
clear your cache .. close the browser

giovannicosta
18 Mar 2007, 20:36
Great, fantastic

HeRmAn'S
23 Mar 2007, 11:47
Thanks! ...bolly.beats ;)

Luky
01 Apr 2007, 16:51
Ahh, be wondering about the GIF! :D

beduino
04 May 2007, 16:52
tks for share
joao barroca
aka beduino

Kaycee123
11 Aug 2007, 17:15
Thanks for these instructions - our new icon looks great!

cajunboy2208
30 Nov 2007, 22:57
Awesome!
How do I add this to vBadvanced CMPS?

Forum Lover
05 Dec 2007, 20:52
thanks for sharing.

cajunboy2208
09 Dec 2007, 03:57
Awesome!
How do I add this to vBadvanced CMPS?

Anyone?

baklash
11 Dec 2007, 18:36
thanks bro ill look at this when i get homee

cajunboy2208
12 Dec 2007, 13:52
Still waiting for some help

raja811
12 Dec 2007, 21:29
thanks

cajunboy2208
15 Dec 2007, 22:38
Awesome!
How do I add this to vBadvanced CMPS?

Still waiting

Reminisce32
15 Dec 2007, 23:57
I cannot get mine to show.. I put those codes in my headinclude and header... it only shows up on the .com, doesnt show up on the .com/forums =\

cajunboy2208
19 Dec 2007, 03:38
How do I add this to vBadvanced CMPS?

cajunboy2208
20 Dec 2007, 23:19
How do I add this to vBadvanced CMPS?

hfr-Neil
23 Dec 2007, 19:19
Just rename the image "favicon.ico.gif" and work fine, no modifications code is necessary ;)

REVHEAD
02 Jan 2008, 12:26
just a question guys

I got it to validate ,but its still not working ,its failing the Could not download favicon at: xxx xxx xx

all other tests pass

--------------- Added 1199280606 at 1199280606 ---------------

Never mind all working now

FRANKTHETANK 2
06 Jan 2008, 17:18
How do I add this to vBadvanced CMPS?



its works fine in cmps. at least on my site. forums and cmps show it

dplevy
17 Jan 2008, 14:42
how do you get this to work in the shortcut tab in firefox?

XnaMe
01 Mar 2008, 14:13
I've Some Problems! I can't view it on VBAdvanced CMS and ... on the forum with IE! Anyone knows why?
THanks

mariocaz
14 Mar 2008, 18:35
Also is not working for me in IE, help!! :(

And I have to put the complete URL to works and appears in my forum, example:

<link rel="shortcut icon" href="http://www.myforum/VB/favicon.ico" />

--------------- Added 1205535548 at 1205535548 ---------------

I did a fix and now is working also in IE.

First I rename the icon file, instead of favicon.ico for example vbulletin.ico or whatever and then I upload the icon in the images folder of my forum and in the headinclude template i Put this code in the top.

<LINK REL="SHORTCUT ICON" HREF="/forum/images/XXXXX.ico" type="image/x-icon">
<LINK REL="SHORTCUT" HREF="/forum/images/XXXXXX.ico" type="image/x-icon">

And wow it works!!

I hope this help somebody ok.

intricatic
17 Mar 2008, 00:24
Okay, I did this and it didn't work. Conversely, when I view the forum index, and look at the source (on Firefox: View > Page Source), I see this;

<link rel=?shortcut icon? href=?http://www.christcenteredforums.com.com/forum/favicon.ico? mce_href=?http://www.christcenteredforums.com/forum/favicon.ico?/>

:confused:

mariocaz
17 Mar 2008, 05:37
Did you use my solution ?

IRANCITY
18 Mar 2008, 12:39
Thank you
installed

Parabellum
06 Apr 2008, 22:44
How do I add this to vBadvanced CMPS?

The way I got mine to work with vBadvanced was to put one favicon.ico in my main website root directory and another in the forum root directory then add code to header.

Also if you change your favicon with a new image you can clear your browser cache so that it will display the new favicon.

htscpl
08 Apr 2008, 11:56
--------------- Added 14 Mar 2008 at 17:59 ---------------

I did a fix and now is working also in IE.

First I rename the icon file, instead of favicon.ico for example vbulletin.ico or whatever and then I upload the icon in the images folder of my forum and in the headinclude template i Put this code in the top.

<LINK REL="SHORTCUT ICON" HREF="/forum/images/XXXXX.ico" type="image/x-icon">
<LINK REL="SHORTCUT" HREF="/forum/images/XXXXXX.ico" type="image/x-icon">

And wow it works!!

I hope this help somebody ok.


Your little fix works great, thanks for the info! :D

IamLoBAS
02 Aug 2008, 09:10
Thanks you for your sharing.

Atlantean
04 Aug 2008, 19:50
I added this to my forum (http://opelownersclubireland.com/forum/index.php) today. It works sometimes. I have cleared the cache but the icon only appears in the URL window after I click Reload. I am using Safari 3.1.1.

Could it be that I have entered the code on the wrong place?

swindsor
05 Oct 2008, 11:52
Hi.
Iv added this great code
<LINK REL="SHORTCUT ICON" HREF="/forum/images/vbulletin.ico" type="image/x-icon">
<LINK REL="SHORTCUT" HREF="/forum/images/vbulletin.ico" type="image/x-icon">
<link rel="shortcut icon" href="http://www.theexpat.me/VB/vbulletin.ico" />
<link rel="shortcut icon" href="vbulletin.ico" />

to the top of header and incheader and uploaded the image ... In the forum page it shows my icon but in IE it doent show up so once people are in the forum its lost.

Can any one help please.. pleaseeeeeeeee

abqtj
25 Jan 2009, 05:50
Thanks for this tip!

creative-friend
12 Apr 2009, 00:25
Great
Thanks Alot...

mariocaz
22 Apr 2009, 01:44
is this working in the final version of IE ?

edytwinky
19 Jun 2009, 05:39
Works great. Thanks!

mmmender
21 Jul 2009, 21:40
I still can't get this to work, can anyone help me??

http://www.cocteautwinsforums.com

Merlinii
11 Mar 2010, 18:48
I put the favicon.ico file in the website root and the forums folder.

I added these lines to the top of header and headinclude and the favicon.ico now shows up in IE!

<link rel="icon" href="favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon">
<link rel="shortcut icon" href="favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon">