PDA

View Full Version : 2 new servers (help with php config)


Mickie D
25 Nov 2006, 14:30
i have one dual xeon 2800 and just added these 2 new servers:

a woodcrest dual cpu (2GB ram) machine for webserver

and dual xeon 2800 raid10 4x 250gb hard drives in stripe for the MYSQL (2GBram)

i need help because this is my first time i am going to setup 2 servers to run a forum as my site is getting large with 700K posts and sometimes MAX-1000 users on in 15mins (but normally around 300-450 at peak times)

do i need to compile php with mysql support if i am going to run mysql on a diff server ?

i have got my hosts to cross connect the servers do i just edit the config.php and it will work once mysql is setup ?

i am going to use lighttpd because everyone is talking about it and being better than using apache.

can anyone confirm the above questions please

thanks very much

snakes1100
26 Nov 2006, 00:30
Hi
1. Yes, you still need to compile php with mysql support, just do a normal compile like you was only using 1 server, nothing changes there.

2. If you are using external/internal network, just edit the config.php and enter the external/internal IP address of the mysql server.

3. lighttpd isnt that good, i have ran it, no major improvement over apache and not worth the extra time to setup.

Mickie D
28 Nov 2006, 11:58
amen to number 3)

jesus what a time consuming load of bollox that was (no offence) apache is fine for me.

what is better sapi or cgi to compile ?

thanks for the reply im nearly there just got tar everything up and ssh it and should be ready to rock and roll ;)

Cheers again i will recompile php now and waiste less time

Regards
Mickie

jason|xoxide
04 Dec 2006, 22:41
amen to number 3)

jesus what a time consuming load of bollox that was (no offence) apache is fine for me.

what is better sapi or cgi to compile ?

thanks for the reply im nearly there just got tar everything up and ssh it and should be ready to rock and roll ;)

Cheers again i will recompile php now and waiste less time

Regards
Mickie

If lighttpd wasn't noticeably faster then you didn't configure it correctly. As to it being difficult to use, I don't really know anything about the problem you had but it works pretty much out of the box. The only options you have to set are the root document path and the user/group.

In any case, as far as PHP speed goes, it's SAPI > FastCGI > CGI. Always use the native filter if there is one, if not Fast CGI. If you think you have to use CGI, you're going something wrong.

alexi
10 Dec 2006, 23:45
amen to number 3)

jesus what a time consuming load of bollox that was (no offence) apache is fine for me.

what is better sapi or cgi to compile ?

thanks for the reply im nearly there just got tar everything up and ssh it and should be ready to rock and roll ;)

Cheers again i will recompile php now and waiste less time

Regards
Mickie

I run litespeed not lightppd but it makes a HUGE difference. What's interesting is that it is fairly simple to switch back and forth between apache and litespeed and the difference is amazing