PDA

View Full Version : Mini Mods - Moderation menu (Navbar Dropdown)


Roms
19 Dec 2006, 22:19
Moderation menu (Navbar Dropdown)

Moderation menu (Navbar Dropdown)
By: Roms
Easy, about 1-2 mins


This simple modification adds a dropdown menu to the navigation bar
with moderation links. The main link is only visible to staff members.

Only those staff members who can use the Moderator CP can see the main link, only Admins can see the Admin links (Admin CP, Users) in the drop down...

Please remember to click Mark as Installed if you use this modification. (See Mod Options >)

Please make sure you click INSTALL if you use it. :cool:

Hornstar
20 Dec 2006, 00:53
nice and handy, nice work.

Roms
20 Dec 2006, 01:40
nice and handy, nice work.

Thank, please click install if you end up using it. :)

djlotus
20 Dec 2006, 11:22
Another mod perfect for my board. Thanks CLICKS INSTALL

Roms
20 Dec 2006, 21:51
Another mod perfect for my board. Thanks CLICKS INSTALL

Thanks :)

chick
20 Dec 2006, 22:13
Thanks CLICKS INSTALL

Roms
20 Dec 2006, 22:51
Thanks CLICKS INSTALL

Thanks for using it. :)

bplinson
01 Jan 2007, 19:36
Installed - Works Great

I had to change the code though since my AdminCP and ModCP are not using the default names.

Roms
02 Jan 2007, 01:31
Installed - Works Great

I had to change the code though since my AdminCP and ModCP are not using the default names.

Thanks for using it. :)

wengi
05 Jan 2007, 23:41
Installed thnks gr8 post nd hack

Roms
07 Jan 2007, 03:51
Installed thnks gr8 post nd hack

Thanks :)

TheFrienzNet
13 Jan 2007, 18:39
Thank you, that's great. :)

Roms
14 Jan 2007, 03:50
Thank you, that's great. :)

Thank you and thanks for clicking install. :)

stwilson
15 Jan 2007, 03:00
Installed and working like a charm. Thank you!

ST

Roms
23 Jan 2007, 22:57
Installed and working like a charm. Thank you!

ST


Glad you like it. :)

ShackMaster
29 Jan 2007, 05:51
Hey Roms... nice mod. I actually used it to get me a dropdown menu with a different menu.

I'm having a problem getting the dropdown box to dropdown directly below the dropdown link.

You can check it out at http://www.hometheatershack.com/forums ... it's on the bottom navbar row and the title is Shack Stores Shopping Mall. Clicking on the link the dropdown menu opens to the far left of the screen.

Any ideas on what might cause this?

Thanks,
Sonnie

Roms
29 Jan 2007, 12:16
Hey Roms... nice mod. I actually used it to get me a dropdown menu with a different menu.

I'm having a problem getting the dropdown box to dropdown directly below the dropdown link.

You can check it out at http://www.hometheatershack.com/forums ... it's on the bottom navbar row and the title is Shack Stores Shopping Mall. Clicking on the link the dropdown menu opens to the far left of the screen.

Any ideas on what might cause this?

Thanks,
Sonnie

That's normal. That's just the way VB's javascript popup is written, it will position itself in the most left of the cell. If you just want to move it you'll have to align that cell to the left or add more links to the navbar (the more links on the navbar the smaller the cells, then the dropdowns are forced next to the links...).

I hope that helps. :)

ShackMaster
30 Jan 2007, 00:13
What's the chances of getting the code to center it in the cell?

Thanks!

Roms
05 Feb 2007, 02:08
What's the chances of getting the code to center it in the cell?

Thanks!

You would need to play with the code and try adding align=center in the cell....

Thanks,
Roms

ChristDivers
21 Feb 2007, 18:33
I'd love to install this Mod but I already have enough links on my nav bar already. Does anyone here know where I need to go to add another nav bar above the original nav bar. A nav bar above the main login feature not directly above the original.
Example:

........................................................Navbar.................. .........................................
|............................New................................................ ..Navbar.............................|

|main |login area |

........................................................Navbar.................. ..........................................
|.............................Original......................................Navb ar...................................|

Sorry I don't have snapshot ..... lmoao !!!

Any help would be greatly appreciated

God Bless !!!

Gerry

ChristDivers
21 Feb 2007, 18:40
http://www.hometheatershack.com/

How can I get another nav bar like the one in the above website. My guess would be its located some where in the header or nav bar template. Any input would be helpful so I can not clutter my original with more links. I need this user friendly Mod for my site.

Thanks & God Bless !!!

Gerry

ChristDivers
22 Feb 2007, 02:08
I've went into the navbar template & copied the Nav bar section twice then pasted above breadcrumb section. I took out the unnecessary links like: Search, Faq Register, etc.

I seem to be answering my own questions :D

God Bless !!!

Gerry

kylek
25 Feb 2007, 01:54
Thanks for this, exactly what we were looking for.

Admins see the moderation link in the navbar and access works but when signed on as moderator it does not show in the navbar. Is there something to set or change for regular mods to see the moderation link in the navbar?

Thanks!!

Masiello
25 Feb 2007, 08:48
Thanks, great and usefull Hack :)

But this mod waste the w3c forum validation if anybody like me have, the code need to be fixed

Line 266, column 35: end tag for element "a" which is not open .
<tr><td class="thead">Moderation</a></td></tr>

The Validator found an end tag for the above element, but that element is not currently open. This is often caused by a leftover end tag from an element that was removed during editing, or by an implicitly closed element (if you have an error related to an element being used where it is not allowed, this is almost certainly the case). In the latter case this error will disappear as soon as you fix the original problem.

If this error occured in a script section of your document, you should probably read this FAQ entry.

Roms
28 Feb 2007, 02:09
Thanks :) Updated.

parabat
23 Aug 2007, 15:15
Thanks for this, exactly what we were looking for.

Admins see the moderation link in the navbar and access works but when signed on as moderator it does not show in the navbar. Is there something to set or change for regular mods to see the moderation link in the navbar?

Thanks!!

I'm having the same issues. Can anyone assist please??

-PB

Roms
01 Sep 2007, 21:35
I'm having the same issues. Can anyone assist please??

-PB

The only ones who can see that link is Admins, and super moderators unless you change the permissions... ;)

parabat
06 Sep 2007, 16:22
The only ones who can see that link is Admins, and super moderators unless you change the permissions... ;)

Thanx Roms and where do I change these permissions?

-PB

Roms
10 Sep 2007, 04:17
Thanx Roms and where do I change these permissions?

-PB

Anyone who you want to see the links needs to be a super moderator or an administrator.

You can change the permission statements but it wont do you much good if the member can't even use the Moderator CP. For more info search for facts on this site about changing the <IF> tags in my code. That's as much info as I'll give about this subject. Support is given for the modification in it's present state, not altered. This modification was meant for super moderators or administrators. They will be able to see the links.

Thanks :)