PDA

View Full Version : Mini Mods - Signature Legend, new signature look (V2)


Roms
19 Dec 2006, 22:41
Signature Legend

By: Roms, AN-net, and Sledgstone
Easy, 1-5 mins

This will add a simple legend (border) and members username around each members signature. Organize and make signatures look personalized for each user, easily.

(this adds the border, curved corners, and "username's sig:" around the users signature.)

Note: If you want the signature forced to the bottom of each post (Postbit Legacy) please use the second version (V2). I have left the old Version (V1) if you only want the signature enhanced.... Please Note it may not work on heavily moded sites...



Please remember to click Mark as Installed if you use this modification. (See Mod Options >)
If you use it please click INSTALL. Thanks :banana:

yoyoyoyo
19 Dec 2006, 22:52
thanks but how is this any different from the other hacks that do the same thing that have already been posted here?

Roms
19 Dec 2006, 22:58
thanks but how is this any different from the other hacks that do the same thing that have already been posted here?

Well if there are other hacks that do the same thing they shouldn't have been posted. AN-Net came up with this and I asked permission to port it (as you can see he made in 3.0 and myself in 3.5)

With that said it just adds a nice border and the says it's the users signature, if you don't like it I have a simple solution: Move on to the next post.

TTG
19 Dec 2006, 23:11
Clicked install .. thanks Roms

Roms
19 Dec 2006, 23:22
Clicked install .. thanks Roms

Thanks, I appreciate it. :)

fleshy66
20 Dec 2006, 00:08
Nice little hack, thanks.
I was just wondering if you know how to get rid of the small line above the signature? I just think it uglies it up a bit.
thanks :)

Roms
20 Dec 2006, 00:15
Nice little hack, thanks.
I was just wondering if you know how to get rid of the small line above the signature? I just think it uglies it up a bit.
thanks :)

Thanks for installing.

Just remove this part:

<HR>

fleshy66
20 Dec 2006, 00:42
thanks :)

Hornstar
20 Dec 2006, 00:56
Nice, this makes it look like its a sig, instead of nothing.

however what happens if a user does not have a sig? i think it will look a bit strange if it says users sig, with a box with nothing in it.

Thanks.

Roms
20 Dec 2006, 01:27
Nice, this makes it look like its a sig, instead of nothing.

however what happens if a user does not have a sig? i think it will look a bit strange if it says users sig, with a box with nothing in it.

Thanks.

Um no you are incorrect, if the user has no sig it displays nothing. ;) (unless you added my hack incorrectly...) Perhaps you are viewing the pictures incorrectly, both are showing a users signature only the first picture is more simple..

That's why these tags are in the postbit:

<if condition="$post['signature']">
that means: (if no signature, display nothing...)


I hope that helps, please click install if you end up using it and thanks. :)

Genjuro-Sensei
20 Dec 2006, 01:43
Installed ! Thx !

Roms
20 Dec 2006, 01:48
Installed ! Thx !

Glad you like it, thanks for installing. :)

yoyoyoyo
20 Dec 2006, 02:08
if you don't like it I have a simple solution: Move on to the next post.
why the pissy attitude? I just asked a simple question. sorry if it bugged you. geesh. If it is the exact same code as used in 3.5.4 then why bother re-releasing it? just put a note in the 3.5.4 version that it works for 3.6.4, also. I know it isn't up to you, but I don't understand why vb.org doesn't have an overlapping system to include the minimum and maximum vb version that the hacks will support.

DPSR
20 Dec 2006, 02:34
Very nice, installed :D

Roms
20 Dec 2006, 02:37
why the pissy attitude? I just asked a simple question. sorry if it bugged you. geesh. If it is the exact same code as used in 3.5.4 then why bother re-releasing it? just put a note in the 3.5.4 version that it works for 3.6.4, also. I know it isn't up to you, but I don't understand why vb.org doesn't have an overlapping system to include the minimum and maximum vb version that the hacks will support.

Like you said vBorg's system doesn't work the way it should so members don't realize that many modifications can sometimes be use in newer versions, so many coders and designers update thier hacks to new threads (but I'm sure you already know that..) :)

Thanks

Very nice, installed :D

Thanks a lot. :cool:

djlotus
20 Dec 2006, 11:20
Great little mod here Roms. A perfect way to clean up the sig area in a post. Most of my members use image sigs, as opposed to text, and this is perfect for my forum. Thanks again. CLICKS INSTALL

Ronak
20 Dec 2006, 17:29
Liked the hack :D

Roms
20 Dec 2006, 21:48
Great little mod here Roms. A perfect way to clean up the sig area in a post. Most of my members use image sigs, as opposed to text, and this is perfect for my forum. Thanks again. CLICKS INSTALL

Thanks, I like it for the same reason. :)

Liked the hack :D

Thanks, if you end up using it please be sure to click install. :)

firstrebel
21 Dec 2006, 08:12
This makes the post look a lot tidier, thanks. **Installed**

Bob

Oddjob
21 Dec 2006, 17:39
What would i have to do to make this compatible with this (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=128951&highlight=signature+bottom) hack?

It calls for all this to be deleted...


<if condition="$post['signature']">
<!-- sig -->
<div>
__________________<br />
$post[signature]
</div>
<!-- / sig -->
</if>

Roms
21 Dec 2006, 21:49
What would i have to do to make this compatible with this (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=128951&highlight=signature+bottom) hack?

It calls for all this to be deleted...


<if condition="$post['signature']">
<!-- sig -->
<div>
__________________<br />
$post[signature]
</div>
<!-- / sig -->
</if>

Update: This now forces the users signature to the bottom of each post.
Updated instructions (Download V2)

Please click install if you use this.

Thanks

Roms
21 Dec 2006, 21:51
This makes the post look a lot tidier, thanks. **Installed**

Bob

Thank you Sir. :)

Tulsa
23 Dec 2006, 14:41
Update: This now forces the users signature to the bottom of each post.
Updated instructions (Download V2)

Please click install if you use this.

Thanks

Hmm, didn't force it to the bottom on my site...

Roms
23 Dec 2006, 14:51
Hmm, didn't force it to the bottom on my site...

I tried viewing your site but you have it so guests can't view... so I'm not sure what the problem may be. It mainly works with the postbit legacy and it will not work properly with some styles. This mod was mainly made for people using the default vB style/ legacy and then customizing their site from there.

If you don't have any customizations already in your postbit you could revert the 'postbit legacy' template and then modify it with my code and it should work.

Thanks :)

Tulsa
23 Dec 2006, 15:03
I am using the legacy format but like most I would assume, that template is one of the most modified.

Tulsa
25 Dec 2006, 07:39
Well it's working now.

I have that plugin template cache set up and had to delete all the cache files for the sig's to start showing.

Roms
25 Dec 2006, 15:10
Well it's working now.

I have that plugin template cache set up and had to delete all the cache files for the sig's to start showing.

That's great to hear. :)

smoknz28
25 Dec 2006, 16:51
Hi there...I've installed this, but I'm looking over the code...and would like to know....I had installed a different hack not too long ago that was very simple and changed everyone's sig to use small font. I really like this cause some of my members have a bit much of wording that I really don't mind so long as the code forces all their text in their sig to small font.

I'm no coder by ANY means...so I'm not really sure here....but I do see the change that was made in my previous postbits.

<if condition="$post['signature']">
<!-- sig -->
<div class="smallfont">
__________________<br />
$post[signature]
</div>
<!-- / sig -->
</if>

How can I edit your hack code to force the member's sigs to go into small font?

Thank you so much,
Gonzo

Roms
25 Dec 2006, 20:17
Hi there...I've installed this, but I'm looking over the code...and would like to know....I had installed a different hack not too long ago that was very simple and changed everyone's sig to use small font. I really like this cause some of my members have a bit much of wording that I really don't mind so long as the code forces all their text in their sig to small font.

I'm no coder by ANY means...so I'm not really sure here....but I do see the change that was made in my previous postbits.

Try this:

<if condition="$post['signature']">
<!-- sig -->
<hr size="1" style="color:$stylevar[tborder_bgcolor]" />
<div class="smallfont" valign="bottom">
<fieldset><legend>$post[username]'s Sig:</legend>$post[signature]</fieldset>
</div>
<!-- / sig -->
</if>

Or this one:

<if condition="$post['signature']">
<!-- sig -->
<hr size="1" style="color:$stylevar[tborder_bgcolor]" />
<div valign="bottom">
<span style="font-size:small;">
<fieldset><legend>$post[username]'s Sig:</legend>$post[signature]</fieldset>
</span>
</div>
<!-- / sig -->
</if>

Please note I haven't tested the above codes....

Thanks

smoknz28
26 Dec 2006, 02:09
Roms, reporting back...

I used the first code you input and it worked with no dramas. ;) Thanks...

Also, I registered on your site today. I'm an 18 year active duty U.S. Marine. Looks like a nice site.

Thanks again for this code. :up:

Roms
26 Dec 2006, 13:25
Roms, reporting back...

I used the first code you input and it worked with no dramas. ;) Thanks...

Also, I registered on your site today. I'm an 18 year active duty U.S. Marine. Looks like a nice site.

Thanks again for this code. :up:

Glad you like it and Semper Fi Marine! :cool:

RaceJunkie
26 Dec 2006, 22:31
My borders are square and not rounded. Could you help me with this? See post here (http://www.localracechat.com/forums/showpost.php?p=55883&postcount=2)

Roms
27 Dec 2006, 00:16
My borders are square and not rounded. Could you help me with this? See post here (http://www.localracechat.com/forums/showpost.php?p=55883&postcount=2)

Looks round to me. :)

Your syle is customized from the default, if you want things to look exactly the same you would need to revert some of your CSS and the postbit legacy template to the default syle.

Please edit your post and remove the code for the postbit, it's not good to post that much of it.. ;)

Thanks

RaceJunkie
27 Dec 2006, 01:30
Looks round to me. :)

Your syle is customized from the default, if you want things to look exactly the same you would need to revert some of your CSS and the postbit legacy template to the default syle.

Please edit your post and remove the code for the postbit, it's not good to post that much of it.. ;)

Thanks

ok.. Looks round in IE but not Firefox my fault. I did not try IE as I don't use it..

Thank You

Roms
27 Dec 2006, 02:12
ok.. Looks round in IE but not Firefox my fault. I did not try IE as I don't use it..

Thank You

Good to hear it still works on your site.... :)

djlotus
28 Dec 2006, 22:54
Is there a way I control the size the size of the "box" or use the max demensions to control it?

Roms
29 Dec 2006, 02:28
Is there a way I control the size the size of the "box" or use the max demensions to control it?

It's basically going to take up the amount of space inside the postbit and that the signature takes up.. I'm sure there are ways of doing it but I'm not going to take it that far...

Thanks

anywares
30 Dec 2006, 08:48
nice. thanx :)

Roms
30 Dec 2006, 16:08
nice. thanx :)

Glad you like it, please click Install (first post, right side...)

Brew
04 Jan 2007, 17:48
For some reason my skin doesn't have this line:


<td class="alt2" width="175" style="border: $stylevar[cellspacing]px solid $stylevar[tborder_bgcolor]; border-top: 0px; border-bottom: 0px">


Any ideas what to do?

I've gotten the sig to the bottom but there is still a line above the sig:

http://www.politicalforums.net/forums/showthread.php?t=1541

Thank you for your help :)

UltimateOreo!
04 Jan 2007, 22:33
Does this work with vb 3.6?

jw00dy
10 Jan 2007, 07:59
Yes it does.

Very cool little trick. Thank you.

Installed.

Roms
13 Jan 2007, 04:04
Does this work with vb 3.6?

Yes. not sure why you are asking since this IS the 3.6 mod forums... :rolleyes:

For some reason my skin doesn't have this line:


<td class="alt2" width="175" style="border: $stylevar[cellspacing]px solid $stylevar[tborder_bgcolor]; border-top: 0px; border-bottom: 0px">


Any ideas what to do?

I've gotten the sig to the bottom but there is still a line above the sig:

http://www.politicalforums.net/forums/showthread.php?t=1541

Thank you for your help :)

My support is limited to the default VB version. I can't give support for every style that changes the postbit. If you want this to work correctly revert your postbit and then add the changes. (I'm getting multiple errors on your site as it is... ;) )

Click install, thanks

encryption
14 Jan 2007, 04:36
I was skeptical at first but boy am I glad to have installed this hack.

Btw is there a way to control the thickness of the border, although it appears ok in IE, its really fat in FireFox (which is what a majority of the board members, including myself use).

Masked Crusader
14 Jan 2007, 21:49
Installed. Nice template mod!

Roms
23 Jan 2007, 22:54
I was skeptical at first but boy am I glad to have installed this hack.

Btw is there a way to control the thickness of the border, although it appears ok in IE, its really fat in FireFox (which is what a majority of the board members, including myself use).

Not that I know of, you can try adding variables for it in your CSS and see if it works... I haven't tried.

Installed. Nice template mod!

Thanks :)

Nathan2006
02 Feb 2007, 09:59
Thank you very much Roms

Install :)

cuphongle
02 Feb 2007, 16:49
wonderful, thanks

Roms
03 Feb 2007, 13:12
Thank you very much Roms

Install :)

Thank you. :)

wonderful, thanks

Thanks, and please click install as well (first post, "mark as installed"). :)

sportsoutlaw
04 Feb 2007, 00:18
Nice template mod. I am not big into hacking up my forum, but never really liked how it was somewhat difficult at times to separate a sig from the rest of the post.

This looks nice!

Roms
04 Feb 2007, 19:21
Thanks and thanks for clicking install. :)

Rakehel
08 Feb 2007, 11:26
Roms, I've looked for an answer in this topic but haven't spotted it. I've installed the mod, but whenever I view it on a monitor that is less than 19" some of the signatures have an additional line running through some of the text that members have entered there. It's related to the fieldset tag. (?) Any ideas? (I hope this screenshot shows up OK.)

Thanks.

Rakehel
09 Feb 2007, 18:18
Would anyone else possibly have a suggestion?

Roms
28 Feb 2007, 02:06
It's the way the table is setup to force the signature at the bottom of the post. In some circumstances it will mess up the signature. You may want to try customizing the code or installing version 1.

Thanks :)

DieselMinded
28 Mar 2007, 06:01
Thanks I like this and even thos I already had edits in my templates in the areas you required edits i worked your edits in and it WORKED !

Thanks

DM

Roms
05 Apr 2007, 01:20
Great, thanks for installing! :)

rjmjr69
05 Apr 2007, 22:37
Thanks for installing.

Just remove this part:

<HR>


Delete that whole line? Cause I do not see anything with that except a whole line of code?

Thanks this is classy

ca2oom
07 Apr 2007, 21:32
Thanks Roms

This looks very nice.. Clicked install :)

UaeStar
08 Apr 2007, 09:43
:D thanks man

UaeStar
08 Apr 2007, 11:09
man i need useername with color group

can you given me the code??

Nathan2006
10 Apr 2007, 07:13
Delete that whole line? Cause I do not see anything with that except a whole line of code?

Thanks this is classy


I forgot how to do it too lol

Just remove this line of code in red

<!-- sig -->
<hr size="1" style="color:$stylevar[tborder_bgcolor]" />
<div valign="bottom">
<fieldset><legend>$post[username]'s Sig:</legend>$post[signature]</fieldset>
</div>
<!-- / sig -->

;)

Kalina
08 Jun 2007, 21:53
This is amazing! Looks so much better! Thanks so much!!

Roms
09 Jun 2007, 00:13
This is amazing! Looks so much better! Thanks so much!!

Thanks :)

Philipaclayton
10 Jun 2007, 10:18
looks good going to install cheers

Roms
18 Jun 2007, 00:03
looks good going to install cheers

Thanks, please click "mark as installed if you use it. :)

chiwexa
19 Jul 2007, 15:46
Thanks, but how can I get the curved corners?

Roms
20 Jul 2007, 21:22
Thanks, but how can I get the curved corners?

The corners are rounded in IE and may not show up the same way in Firefox...

AWJunkies
02 Dec 2007, 07:17
I have a question why would you do all that extra coding to put it towards the bottom rather then default top? All you have to do is add valign="bottom" in the div section. Let me show you to put it at the bottom all you have to do is:

Here is normal code within postbit_legacy

<if condition="$post['signature']">
<!-- sig -->
<div>
__________________<br />
$post[signature]
</div>
<!-- / sig -->
</if>


All you have to do is within the <div> is do this:
<if condition="$post['signature']">
<!-- sig -->
<div valign="bottom">
__________________<br />
$post[signature]
</div>
<!-- / sig -->
</if>

So to do both mods bottom and your new sig border is:

Open postbit_legacy
Find:
<if condition="$post['signature']">
<!-- sig -->
<div>
__________________<br />
$post[signature]
</div>
<!-- / sig -->
</if>

Replace with:
<if condition="$post['signature']">
<!-- sig -->
<div valign="bottom">
<fieldset><legend>$post[username]'s Sig:</legend>$post[signature]</fieldset>
</div>
<!-- / sig -->
</if>

turbo.:R
06 Dec 2007, 01:25
so does it work in firefox?

DieselMinded
25 Jan 2008, 00:57
I have Singnatures set to not show in PM's but the legend is still there how do i remove it

Ultimate Killer
02 Feb 2008, 04:30
Can you make it stay at the bottom of the post?

Ad1tya
02 Feb 2008, 08:37
Great little mod.

Is there any way to Round the edges?

tmiland
21 Apr 2008, 10:56
Howdy! :)

Great mod *installed*

I've been fiddelin with this for a few hours now, and as a firefox user it doesnt look quite as nice as it does in IE. Though, i found a way to atleast get the upper left, and bottom right corner rounded in firefox.
Use this: <fieldset style="-moz-border-radius-topleft: 8px; -moz-border-radius-bottomright: 8px;"> instead of <fieldset>You can also use -moz-border-radius: 8px; to round all corners, but since there are two lines that meet in the upper right and bottom left corner, it isnt really rounded.

*edit*
Found a even better one to use: border:1px solid #D0D0BF;padding:8px;-moz-border-radius:5px

Enjoy! :D

TRABZONLUKAPLAN
25 Apr 2008, 19:31
I will try this. Thanks

Baldilocks
26 Apr 2008, 16:27
Is there any way to make this work with the "Show sig only once per page" modification??

Nevermind..figured it out! :)

hohleweg
04 May 2008, 21:45
Hi
Thanks it works on 3.7 but i want delete the line
over the Sig: line.
Please look at the Picture

What must i do?
Thanks Joachim

Roms
05 Jun 2008, 01:29
Hi
Thanks it works on 3.7 but i want delete the line
over the Sig: line.
Please look at the Picture

What must i do?
Thanks Joachim

Please click install.

Remove this part of the code:

<hr size="1" style="color:$stylevar[tborder_bgcolor]" />


Thanks :)

hohleweg
05 Jun 2008, 05:41
thanks

dreads
08 Jun 2008, 01:14
sweet!
installed

Roms
20 Jun 2008, 03:27
sweet!
installed

Thanks, please click "mark as installed.

pooffck1
05 Jul 2008, 15:05
sorry its not working for me, i am using vbulletin v3.7.1 patch 2

Please help!!

powerful_rogue
16 Jul 2008, 10:18
Please click install.

Remove this part of the code:

<hr size="1" style="color:$stylevar[tborder_bgcolor]" />


Thanks :)

Hi,

Ive removed this bit of code and it takes away the line in IE, however leaves it showing in FF.

Here is a thread (http://www.doverlocals.co.uk/showthread.php?p=28836#post28836) for an example

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Charlie98902
16 Jul 2008, 16:23
Installed as well and a FYI it works on 3.7.2 PL1 as well.

Charlie98902
16 Jul 2008, 16:27
Hi,

Ive removed this bit of code and it takes away the line in IE, however leaves it showing in FF.

Here is a thread (http://www.doverlocals.co.uk/showthread.php?p=28836#post28836) for an example

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Put the code in it's original way as stated above and just remove the bold as I did it and it works for me. Here is my example on 3.7.2 PL1 : http://www.dvdnextcopysupportforum.com/showthread.php?t=4207

<br /><HR>
<fieldset><legend>$post[username]'s Sig:</legend>$post[signature]</fieldset>

<br /><HR>
<fieldset><legend>$post[username]'s Sig:</legend>$post[signature]</fieldset>

Roms
06 Oct 2008, 01:00
Thank you, glad it worked out for you. :)

haytham
24 Oct 2008, 11:59
used it on default style in 3.7.2 and worked but couldn't find the needed codes in my customised style. Too bad. Thanks.

funkmeister
06 May 2009, 06:15
Recently upgraded to 3.8.2 and this no longer works :( Anyone know how to get it working again with 3.8.2?

Thanks in advance.

funkmeister
01 Jun 2009, 06:00
*edit*
Found a even better one to use: border:1px solid #D0D0BF;padding:8px;-moz-border-radius:5px

Enjoy! :DMany thanks tmiland, your suggestion worked and I now have this working on 3.8.2, whereas the default install wasn't working at all. Many thanks.