PDA

View Full Version : New postbit or legacy postbit


FockerFGAA
10 Jan 2007, 03:58
I don't know if this has been posted yet or not. I couldn't find it when I was trying to find a solution to my problem. It could be very well posted on an earlier versions template mods.

3.6.4 defaults with the user info above the post. You can go through the admin cp and change it so that it is on the side. However there are some forums where it would be better to be on top (such as a picture forum on my forum) and some users just like that style better. I asked for help here and someone steered me in the right direction. This isn't a mod so much as just a helpful hint.

Here are the easy instructions to do this:

First, go into your Admin Cp and go to the Style Manager and click Add New Style.
Then, where it says parent style click which parent style you want your new one to mimic.
Save the style.
Now, go into the Style Manager and select that style you just made and go into the templates.
Go to the postbit template and copy all the code inside it.
Go back and go to the postbit_legacy template and delete all that code and paste the new code in.
Save and then check out your forum!

Hope this helps someone else because it took me forever to figure out such a simple thing.

thincom2000
10 Jan 2007, 04:25
Haha, I did this myself over the summer on a friend's board, except I didn't think to create a new template first.

I didn't even know there was a difference to postbit and postbitlegacy when I did it, or that there was an Admin Option to just switch to the one you wanted. Now his default style basically only has one postbit option. He probably could have just reverted the templates, though. So it's not like I destroyed the board.

Now that I have my own board I know better.

Cybershaolin
30 Jan 2007, 06:39
Interesting. Seems to work a lot better than the hack I tried.

A few questions though:

1- Is this possible to rename the styles?

Like instead of Default - I'd like to have "Profile at left" and for the one I added I'd like to have "Profile on top".

2- If I add more hacks later, for the changes I'm gonna do in all templates will I have to copy them in both styles or it will be applied automatically since it's a child style of the default one? I'm still concerned with this as I'm not really familiar with styles.

Smoothie
30 Jan 2007, 16:14
Now, using this method, how does one select which postbit to use?

FockerFGAA
01 Feb 2007, 02:34
Interesting. Seems to work a lot better than the hack I tried.

A few questions though:

1- Is this possible to rename the styles?

Like instead of Default - I'd like to have "Profile at left" and for the one I added I'd like to have "Profile on top".

2- If I add more hacks later, for the changes I'm gonna do in all templates will I have to copy them in both styles or it will be applied automatically since it's a child style of the default one? I'm still concerned with this as I'm not really familiar with styles.

1-if you go into style manager and then click on the box next to the style and go down to Edit Settings you can change the style name to whatever you want it to be.

2-it is inherent from parent to child style so the child style will reflect any change you place in the parent style. i even tested this out to make sure before i posted the response.

Now, using this method, how does one select which postbit to use?
This is assuming that you are using legacy mode in the parent style. If you are using the new mode it would just work the opposite way.

Cybershaolin
01 Feb 2007, 02:42
Thanks for your answers. Actually, I like this better than the hack I was using.

Smoothie
01 Feb 2007, 03:07
This is assuming that you are using legacy mode in the parent style. If you are using the new mode it would just work the opposite way.Don't quite understand. Does the end user have a choice for postbit or postbit_legacy? Or is this pre-defined?

FockerFGAA
01 Feb 2007, 14:15
Don't quite understand. Does the end user have a choice for postbit or postbit_legacy? Or is this pre-defined?

You would have postbit_legacy setup as the default for the Parent skin. then when you copy the regular postbit into postbit_legacy in the child skin then if someone wants to go to the new style they can.

karlm
19 May 2007, 02:15
This can also be used per forum by using the forum manager to specify a particular skin. So as the original poster made comment of, the members may be forced to postbit_legacy (left) for all forums except an images forum whereby the forum-manager (in admincp) has forced them to use a new skin with postbit (top) so as the images do not push the forum off the screen.

I probably won't make use of this tip, but it's certainly an impressively easy way to manipulate the forum.

ahsidky
29 May 2007, 09:05
I made it and it is a very nice hint.
thank you very much.
But, I have to ask about the database tables, will these changings make in conflicts in the database, I mean when a user uses the post bit and another uses the postbit legacy in the same time?