PDA

View Full Version : "To the top" link in every reply


StarBuG
15 Jan 2007, 13:59
Hi

Desc: This is a simple modification. It adds an image link next to every quick reply (or quote) button in every thread and reply that brings you back to top.
Time to install: About 1Min
Templates to edit: 1
Versions: All vB Versions

In postbit template search for:


<if condition="$show['moderated']">
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/moderated.gif" alt="$vbphrase[moderated_post]" border="0" />
</if>
after that add


<a href="#top" onclick="self.scrollTo(0, 0); return false;"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/top.gif" alt="$vbphrase[top]" border="0" /></a>
Now download the image I attached and upload it to /forum/images/buttons

I made you an image for the standard vBulletin Buttons but you can change it or add a different image.

Hope you like it.... and if you do donīt forget to click INSTALL

DEMO: http://www.elternfragen.net/showthread.php?t=107
Just view any thread you like to see the top button

StarBuG

Snake
15 Jan 2007, 17:41
Thanks for this. :)

StarBuG
15 Jan 2007, 18:04
You'r welcome ;)

efil
16 Jan 2007, 05:54
Thank you!

very useful.

richTV
22 Jan 2007, 04:34
works fine in 3.6.4 Kartel Style, also uploaded a pic that fits better with this style.

my question is:

this mod will take the user to the top of the page, but can this be adjusted so that it takes the user to the top of the thread if it is a multiple-page thread?

tnx for sharing this.

StarBuG
22 Jan 2007, 16:37
Adjust the onclick="self.scrollTo(0, 0) to what ever pixel height you want it to jump to (counted from the top beeing 0)

d8tabyte
22 Jan 2007, 16:44
I always have this in my forums, why it isn't a standard, I don't know. I hate having to scroll ALL the way to the bottom, just to click top. One could say, why don't you just scroll to the top then, and I answer - what's the point of convenience then? ;)

richTV
22 Jan 2007, 18:27
Adjust the onclick="self.scrollTo(0, 0) to what ever pixel height you want it to jump to (counted from the top beeing 0)

if i adjusted it so that it looks like:

<a href="#top" onclick="self.scrollTo(0, 10); return false;"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/top.gif" alt="Top of Page" border="0" /></a>

does this mean that if the thread was up to 10 pages long, it would take me to the beginning of the thread? or if was 30 pages long it would take me to page 20 of the thread?

i'm not a coder so i wanted to make sure i understood what u mean.

TIA

stomph
26 Jan 2007, 00:23
Perfect, thank you!

Eq4bits
01 Feb 2007, 17:43
ummm I have an English language only board... so I changed the *alt* 'nach oben' to 'To Top' as follows:
<a href="#top" onclick="self.scrollTo(0, 0); return false;"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/top.gif" alt="To Top" border="0" /></a>

Eq4bits
01 Feb 2007, 17:45
if i adjusted it so that it looks like:

<a href="#top" onclick="self.scrollTo(0, 10); return false;"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/top.gif" alt="Top of Page" border="0" /></a>does this mean that if the thread was up to 10 pages long, it would take me to the beginning of the thread? or if was 30 pages long it would take me to page 20 of the thread?

i'm not a coder so i wanted to make sure i understood what u mean.

TIA
after installing and 'trying it out' :wink: regardless of what page you are on it takes you to the top of the page you are viewing, not to any other page...

StarBuG
01 Feb 2007, 18:49
Ups, missed the german phrase ;)

the self.scrollTo(0, 10) is a pixel specification not a page specification ;)

ElNino
03 Feb 2007, 04:50
thanks for that little hack.

For those which use the old forum style, edit template postbit_legacy.
find:
<!-- / controls -->

add before:
<a href="#top" onclick="self.scrollTo(0, 10); return false;"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/top.gif" alt="Top of Page" border="0" /></a>

Nathan2006
04 Feb 2007, 22:05
Thank you StarBuG

Just what I always wanted :D

Install

DasCool
05 Feb 2007, 01:23
All right this is not working for me, i have the pic uploaded to button and the code where it is. Nothing is shwoing up though. Thanks

StarBuG
05 Feb 2007, 16:54
Then you have made something wrong.

Check the placement of the code in your template.

This is a simple link with an image, there is nothing in this code that can be wrong except your placement of the code. ;)

StarBuG

Smoothie
05 Feb 2007, 19:49
working in both postbit and postbit_legacy.

vspro
07 Feb 2007, 21:02
me too .this is not working for me, i have the pic uploaded to button and the code where it is. Nothing is shwoing up though. Thanks
anyone show me how to fix

StarBuG
08 Feb 2007, 05:31
If you want you can copy your postbit template into a txt file and attach it to your post, I will then have a look ;)

2meplie
09 Feb 2007, 22:40
I just installed it and it didn't work. I had to install it in both postbid and postbid_legacy for it to work. I have custom styles so maybe this is why I had to do that.

StarBuG
10 Feb 2007, 07:34
you can't use both postbit and postbit legacy at the same time.
For this there can't be any dependencies.

But maybe you installed it in postbit first but watched your forum in postbit legacy, which is why you did not see it.

Anyway the only thing that counts is that it is working now ;)

Tomek
10 Feb 2007, 07:44
It would be better to use the already existing phrase in vBulletin:
$vbphrase[top]

rjmjr69
10 Feb 2007, 11:08
It would be better to use the already existing phrase in vBulletin:
$vbphrase[top]

So with that one phrase you can but all that additional code out right? Can this be updated please

StarBuG
11 Feb 2007, 16:50
This phrase only replaces the alt text of the img, nothing more.

So you still need all the code above.

StarBuG

Eq4bits
14 Jul 2008, 01:18
works fine with 3.7.2

janelle00
28 Feb 2009, 04:12
Hi, does anyone know how can i also add also add a "to the bottom" button to each post? this "to the top" is very helpful--thank you!

DaSpyda
26 Dec 2009, 02:21
Hi, any tips on implementing this in 4.0?

I tried, but no change.

We miss it, terribly. :mad:

Thanks!