PDA

View Full Version : Dropdown Login Box on Navbar


Mudvayne
17 Feb 2007, 13:22
========================
Drop Down Login Box on Navbar
========================

+++++++++++++++++
Description
+++++++++++++++++

Well I know this is not that much usefull for them who aren't using modified skin with modified header/navbar template like me. Many forum have the login form only on forum home. So when a user get a subscription mail click the link & trying to reply, it forwarded him/her to login page. But with this simple modification the user can easily login from anywhere on the forum.

+++++++++++++++++
Live Demo
+++++++++++++++++

Golpo Community Forum (http://www.golpo.net/forum)

==================
In navbar template
==================

++++++++++++++++++++
Search for:
++++++++++++++++++++

<if condition="$show['registerbutton']">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="register.php$session[sessionurl_q]" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[register]</a></td>
</if>

++++++++++++++++++++
Add below:
++++++++++++++++++++

<if condition="$show['guest']">
<td id="userlogin" class="vbmenu_control"><a href="login.php$session[sessionurl_q]">Login</a> <script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("userlogin"); </script></td>
</if>

++++++++++++++++++++
Search for:
++++++++++++++++++++

<!-- / NAVBAR POPUP MENUS -->

++++++++++++++++++++
Add above:
++++++++++++++++++++

<!-- login form -->
<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="userlogin_menu" style="display:none">
<form action="login.php?do=login" method="post" onsubmit="md5hash(vb_login_password, vb_login_md5password, vb_login_md5password_utf, $show[nopasswordempty])">
<script type="text/javascript" src="clientscript/vbulletin_md5.js?v=$vboptions[simpleversion]"></script>
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="$stylevar[formspacer]" border="0">
<tr>
<td class="smallfont"><label for="navbar_username">$vbphrase[username]</label></td>
<td><input type="text" class="bginput" style="font-size: 11px" name="vb_login_username" id="navbar_username" size="10" accesskey="u" tabindex="101" value="$vbphrase[username]" onfocus="if (this.value == '$vbphrase[username]') this.value = '';" /></td>
<td class="smallfont" colspan="2" nowrap="nowrap"><label for="cb_cookieuser_navbar"><input type="checkbox" name="cookieuser" value="1" tabindex="103" id="cb_cookieuser_navbar" accesskey="c" />$vbphrase[remember_me]</label></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="smallfont"><label for="navbar_password">$vbphrase[password]</label></td>
<td><input type="password" class="bginput" style="font-size: 11px" name="vb_login_password" id="navbar_password" size="10" tabindex="102" /></td>
<td><input type="submit" class="button" value="$vbphrase[log_in]" tabindex="104" title="$vbphrase[enter_username_to_login_or_register]" accesskey="s" /></td>
</tr>
</table>
<input type="hidden" name="s" value="$session[sessionhash]" />
<input type="hidden" name="do" value="login" />
<input type="hidden" name="vb_login_md5password" />
<input type="hidden" name="vb_login_md5password_utf" />
</form>
</div>
<!-- / login form -->

________________________________________________________________________________

If you found this usefull then you can always feel free to donate here (http://www.golpo.net/forum/donate.html) :) or atleast click install ;).

Zia
20 Feb 2007, 17:59
:) nice work

Smoothie
22 Feb 2007, 20:55
Got this installed but for some reason when you click login the dropdown box appears well below the link in the header. Solution?

Mudvayne
23 Feb 2007, 08:12
This works fine for me. Show me a screenshot please.

Smoothie
23 Feb 2007, 14:52
This works fine for me. Show me a screenshot please.It may be because the link is in the header and the login code is in the navbar. Anyway, screenshot:

Zia
23 Feb 2007, 16:27
it works for me...at opera.

IE didnt try

Smoothie
23 Feb 2007, 16:33
Got it sorted out. Had to add the #userlogin_menu to the css. A big thanks to Dom for helping.

Mudvayne
23 Feb 2007, 16:41
This works for me on your site too. Both in IE 7 & Opera 9 & Mozilla 2.

Edit: Arghhhhhh. My connection creating weird problem. Glad to know that works for you :).

Smoothie
23 Feb 2007, 21:54
This works for me on your site too. Both in IE 7 & Opera 9 & Mozilla 2.

Edit: Arghhhhhh. My connection creating weird problem. Glad to know that works for you :).I appreciate your assistance, it was all on my end. Because my links are in my header and the code gets placed in the navbar and it's a custom skin, I had to add the code to the CSS file to get the correct alignment.

Thanks again and it's a very nice mod.

Mudvayne
24 Feb 2007, 03:21
Hmm you are most welcome bro. Mine also same. Link is in header template & the code is in navbar. Though I need to release this based on vB default skin.

Smoothie
24 Feb 2007, 03:34
This indeed is a good mod. That login box had to go. :) Now I need to figure out what to do with that navbar, wasted space IMO.

Grunt
02 Apr 2007, 04:59
Thanks for this - great mod!