PDA

View Full Version : Mobile/Cell Phone Style


Pages : 1 [2]

www.ir-gsm.ir
15 Apr 2008, 06:24
need this style
www.gsmhosting.com

mindfrost82
20 Apr 2008, 01:31
How can I make it so that a user's signature shows up when they make a post from their mobile device?

I saw the template changes to show sigs on the posts, but when someone makes a mobile post their sig doesn't show up (even when using the regular style).

tekguru
20 Apr 2008, 13:43
I still get vB reporting that the 'theadbit' template needs updating to 3.6.9 ...

J105C
21 Apr 2008, 01:08
Weird I get this error from ready.mobi:

Character Encoding:

FAIL
Character encoding in Content-type HTTP response header is not UTF-8. It was detected as: ISO-8859-1

NSeXcellent
21 Apr 2008, 18:09
Can someone direct me to the post that explains how to deactivate the vbadvanced side columns for this style? Everything else seems to be working good.

Thanks in advance

treasureman
25 Apr 2008, 17:39
I just tried to import this style for 3.6.10 and VB wouldn't allow me. Below is the error messsage:

This file was created using a different version of vBulletin from the one you are running.

Your version: 3.6.10
File version: 3.6.9


Any idea how I can use it for 3.6.10?

tekguru
26 Apr 2008, 12:01
It's not just that issue, on my site at least even if one has the template already installed and upgrades the forum to 3.6.10 then using the style one is not able to post using it as the template upgrade has not worked.....

We need some serious fixing by the author here to give a 3.6.10 compatible version!

dartho
30 Apr 2008, 07:22
Been away on holiday for a bit - will look into issues as soon as I get a bit of time...

treasureman
04 May 2008, 20:15
Yeah, the new security check in VB 3.6.10 will not allow a post from this style. I went ahead and installed it with 3.6.10 and can view the forum fine, but get the below error when trying to post:

Your submission could not be processed because a security token was missing or mismached.

Phaedrus
04 May 2008, 21:14
hmmm... It worked for me in 3.6.10 before the upgrade.

Does yours have the line:

<input type="hidden" name="securitytoken" value="$bbuserinfo[securitytoken]" />

in the "newreply" template?

treasureman
05 May 2008, 12:55
hmmm... It worked for me in 3.6.10 before the upgrade.

Does yours have the line:

<input type="hidden" name="securitytoken" value="$bbuserinfo[securitytoken]" />in the "newreply" template?

No mine does not have that in the new reply template for the Mobi style.

Is there an update that has that?

b-roll
06 May 2008, 20:12
This has been a great skin for me, but I'm in the same boat. After my most recent upgrade, I am unable to use this skin. I've placed the code described above - with no luck.

I look forward to being able to use this skin again.

kev

treasureman
06 May 2008, 21:34
Okay here is now I got it to work for me with 3.6.10

Open the xml file in a text editor (mobi-vbulletin-style-2.09.xml)

Find:
<input type="hidden" name="s" value="$session[sessionhash]" />

ON a new line under each instance of the above add:
<input type="hidden" name="securitytoken" value="$bbuserinfo[securitytoken]" />

Save the file. Delete the old Mobi style. Then import the saved XML file file as a new style. It will be a larger number than before so if you use the "Mobile Device Detection" mod you will need to change the style # for Mobi to the new #.

b-roll
06 May 2008, 21:57
Thanks for the idea treasureman, but that didn't work for me... I get the same error after replacing the lines...

I'm still looking for ideas...

kev

Tim.
07 May 2008, 21:40
This is a great mod, perfect for my Blackberry Curve!

However after applying it, I notice one problem:
The top forums are not displayed in the Mobile Version, however are displayed in the Full Version. Screen shot attached.

Webpage: http://www.wc3campaigns.net/forums.php

As you can see on the Full Version there are forums titled 'Developers Corner', 'Artists Corner,' 'Project Discussion,' 'Hosted Projects,' then 'Town Hall' and the rest. The Mobile Version skips straight to the 'Town Hall.'

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=80107&stc=1&d=1210196214

Any ideas?

Derek_Trotter
13 May 2008, 09:03
Dartho,
is it possible to edit this excellent 2.09 stile and make it work for version 3.7?
Thanks!

dartho
13 May 2008, 10:35
Hi Derek, this has been ported over to 3.7, check HERE

I've been pretty busy and quite possibly not as thorough as usual in testing, please report any probs in that thread.

many thanks

Derek_Trotter
20 May 2008, 10:27
Thanks Dartho, I will report bugs if I detect any.

SwissGuy
11 Jun 2008, 07:28
Thanks for the idea treasureman, but that didn't work for me... I get the same error after replacing the lines...

I'm still looking for ideas...

kev
I have the same problem. Any solutions would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

dartho
11 Jun 2008, 11:26
I'm sorry folks - I'll get a 3.6.10 version out by the end of the week. Security Token fixes is the only significant one I believe?

Tim - when I update to fix the security token issues, give it another go and see if you still have the same problems, however I think there may be external influences here - we'll see how it goes.

Again, my apologies - this version totally slipped my mind :(

SwissGuy
12 Jun 2008, 07:57
Maybe I missed it (happens :rolleyes:), new threads/threads with new posts are not highlighted (green, I read in the thread) on our forum. Any thoughts?

Edit: Stickies show up fine (yellow) by the way. So I guess the CSS is in the right place.

dartho
12 Jun 2008, 09:31
Green for new threads was from the original CSS. I think now new threads are only bolded..

You can change the colours around by editing the wireless.css file - look at all the classes with "new" or "unread" in the name...

dartho
12 Jun 2008, 09:39
New version release - only change is securitytoken added in for all forms..

This is a great mod, perfect for my Blackberry Curve!

However after applying it, I notice one problem:
The top forums are not displayed in the Mobile Version, however are displayed in the Full Version. Screen shot attached.

Webpage: http://www.wc3campaigns.net/forums.php

As you can see on the Full Version there are forums titled 'Developers Corner', 'Artists Corner,' 'Project Discussion,' 'Hosted Projects,' then 'Town Hall' and the rest. The Mobile Version skips straight to the 'Town Hall.'


Any ideas?

Hi Tim - I've just had a look at your forums, and the "missing" forums are somehow different to the rest... Your "Modding" Forums and sub forums are the ones not showing up. I notice the link to "Warcraft III Modding Forums" is /forums.php?ex=1 which is not standard vBulletin. There must be an addon installed messing with things....

SwissGuy
12 Jun 2008, 10:00
Great. Found the right places and made the changes .... and there we are. Many thanks!
Green for new threads was from the original CSS. I think now new threads are only bolded..

You can change the colours around by editing the wireless.css file - look at all the classes with "new" or "unread" in the name...

SwissGuy
12 Jun 2008, 10:01
New version release - only change is securitytoken added in for all forms.
Just tried it. Sadly, this hasn't completely fixed the issue.

I found out that I can post using the reply button and "normal editor". The quick reply returns the same error as before, though.

dartho
12 Jun 2008, 10:41
You're right! Should be fixed now (version 2.10a) Thanks!

SwissGuy
12 Jun 2008, 11:03
Works like a dream now. Many thanks for your efforts, Dartho. Much appreciated.

mariocaz
12 Jun 2008, 17:04
I have a problem I want to do the update but in the ACP panel said me that the specified file is invalid when I want to overwrite the other version.

dartho
12 Jun 2008, 22:51
Mario - this is the 3.6 version - you need the 3.7 version (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=174375)

mariocaz
13 Jun 2008, 02:29
Yes so sorry I was confused because I received a mail of updated advice for this mod, sorry also I have that one for 3.7 and updated.

incisor
18 Jun 2008, 12:16
You're right! Should be fixed now (version 2.10a) Thanks!

nope, not for me i get a Invalid File Specified error when i try to update with 10a

dartho
18 Jun 2008, 23:40
Are you installing via product manager or style manager?

incisor
20 Jun 2008, 12:02
as a style...

tried again tonite and it went fine, so it is clear it was something at my end..

not sure what but it worked fine....

Tralala
18 Jul 2008, 20:24
I'd love this skin, and am still on 3.6.x so can't (yet) use the 3.7 upgrade.

Any chance this version can get the update: "Added auto quoting when replying to a post"
(Cuz that's really the only thing my users are clamoring for.)

And I can't justify going through the hassle of upgrading my whole forum to 3.7 just yet, just to use that skin, just to get that feature.

Thanks for the consideration. :)

dartho
18 Jul 2008, 22:56
Changing your newreply template to the following should do the trick

$stylevar[htmldoctype]
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" dir="$stylevar[textdirection]" lang="$stylevar[languagecode]">
<head>
$headinclude
</head>
<body>
$header
$navbar
<div class="titlebg">Reply To: $threadinfo[title]</div>
<form action="newreply.php" method="post">
<div>
$vbphrase[message]:<br />
<textarea name="message" id="{$editorid}_textarea" rows="10" cols="15" style="width:100%; height:100px">$newpost[message]</textarea>
<input type="hidden" name="s" value="$session[sessionhash]" />
<input type="hidden" name="do" value="postreply" />
<input type="hidden" name="t" value="$threadid" />
<input type="hidden" name="p" value="$postid" />
<input type="hidden" name="posthash" value="$posthash" />
<input type="hidden" name="poststarttime" value="$poststarttime" />
<input type="hidden" name="securitytoken" value="$bbuserinfo[securitytoken]" />
<input type="submit" class="button" name="sbutton" value="$vbphrase[submit_reply]" accesskey="s" tabindex="1" />
</div>
</form>
$footer
</body>
</html>

Tralala
22 Jul 2008, 19:31
That worked just fine, thanks very much, dartho!

WichitaRacing
26 Jul 2008, 18:30
Very nice style!

Right now vBshout shoutbox displays on my PDA. Any way to disable the shoutbox for this style only?

dartho
26 Jul 2008, 23:35
I think you could revert all the forumhome_vbshout templates for this style (make sure you don;t do this on your otehr styles, only for styles you don;t want vbshout to show up for!

Alternatively you could wrap the plugin code for vbshout templates in conditionals.

Edit all the vBshout [Template Alteration] plugin and add a new line at the start:


if (STYLEID != xx){


replace the XX with the styleid number of this style

and a new line at the end


}

Ransack
15 Aug 2008, 00:37
How is a user to unset this style? Once using this skin, the UserCP => Select Skin option is no longer available :(
Or am I missing something?

dartho
15 Aug 2008, 01:53
Edit your navbar or footer template and add in a link back to you main page default style

<a class="navbar" href="$vboptions[bburl]/index.php?$session[sessionurl]styleid=xx>Full Version</a>

where xx is the styleid number of your default style

sunnylikbeckham
15 Aug 2008, 20:17
great man
installed
will it automaticaly redirect the mobile users to it?
does anybody confirmed?

dartho
15 Aug 2008, 22:58
see here :http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=130983 for redirection add-on..

viper357
10 Oct 2008, 16:33
Is there any way to allow users to quote posts in this style?

dartho
11 Oct 2008, 09:13
Clicking/Tapping "reply" in a post should automatically quote the post from memory ...

turbosatan
16 Oct 2008, 19:41
Nice Style :D (http://www.samsung-tocco.com/orange-tocco-deals/2.html):D

Thank you

wilson.dvb2
31 Oct 2008, 11:35
Installed succesfully ... , thanks ..


now i have a question , How can i allow picture in my forum load in this style on mobile ?

dartho
31 Oct 2008, 12:19
Removing all the replacement variables for this style will allow images to be displayed

edytwinky
03 Dec 2008, 20:35
Is there a way to add a template selector on this?

Some of my mobile users have phone browsers that are good enough to view the regular forum. I'd like for them to be able to switch back and forth as they please.

Krazeguy
12 Feb 2009, 02:46
I have come across a very annoying but presumably easy to fix issue;

Here (http://mobile.adultforum.co.nz/forumdisplay.php?f=2) on the forum index, the thread page selection works fine eg Page (1 2 3 ... ) points to mobile.adultforum.co.nz

But here (http://mobile.adultforum.co.nz/showthread.php?p=37340#post37340) within the thread, the page number links point to www.adultforum.co.nz

So we are loosing the mobile template upon page selection within threads ... can anyone point me to a fix please?

EDIT: More link issues, heres a quote from one of my members;

Oops, when you reply to a thread by clicking the reply link it goes back to the www.adultforum.co.nz version of the site.

Also, you are looking at a list of topics (e.g. from the "new posts" link) the "lastest messages" type button is missing so you can't go to the post just after the one you last read.

dartho
12 Feb 2009, 22:43
I no longer have a 3.6 site, but I couldn't reproduce this on my 3.8 site, and never encountered the issue previously when it was 3.6 or 3.7 I also use DDDS to switch styles. I'd hazard a guess that something else is at play here...

slehmann
03 May 2009, 23:26
does this style work with all versions of 3.6 or just 3.6.10? and do you have to use the mods to direct cellphone users or will it work without that?

dartho
04 May 2009, 02:34
should work with all 3.6 versions. It's just a style - if you want any 'smarts', you'll need to look at other add-ons.

slehmann
04 May 2009, 12:07
thanks for the reply.

princeedward
10 Jul 2009, 12:30
nice thing....to test this one...one questions is...if i click the Mobile Style...is there any way of possible to go back to the default style that i'm using?

also i am using cyb chatbox...but can't make my shout through...any way to make it work or if not...how can i remove the chatbox?

thanks and best regards...

;)

EDITED: figure it out now!

;)

flowermama
21 Jul 2009, 07:04
Just had to come here and say that it's working great on my board (I have version 3.8.3). Thank you so much! eta: Oh, wait, lol... I clicked on the wrong link. I meant to post this to this thread: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=174375 Sorry about that.

rushabh
15 Feb 2010, 05:17
Excellent style. Loads super fast. Rated 5 star & marked as installed (along with your mobile detection -> custom skin hack). Thanks for sharing, Dartho.

One question : Our users prefer to have the attachment option available. Now, your skin doesn't display attachments at all. Is it possible to add a link to the attachment (at the right place in the post)? Thus, the skin will still load quickly and those who want to see the photo attachment in a post, can click on the link to have the attachment open up.

dartho
15 Feb 2010, 07:42
Attachments were addressed in later versions which may still work under 3.6

3.7 http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=174375
3.8 http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=229238

I'd install these as new styles and test first!

rushabh
15 Feb 2010, 08:58
Thank you, Dartho. Your support is much appreciated :)

rushabh
15 Feb 2010, 10:19
Hi Dartho,

The mobile auto-detect hack does not work with this hack (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=182692&page=2)?

If I leave the mobile auto-detect on (from this hack (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=130983)), and display the style chooser from the "Extend and Customise "Mobile" Style Options" hack, it is not possible to change styles. Whatever style you choose, its only the mobile style that loads.

Just wanted to make sure I am getting this correctly.

dartho
15 Feb 2010, 11:29
They work together as such, but the mobile autodetect hack overrides all others as far as changing styles go so if you use both there is no point placing a link to your default style

rushabh
16 Feb 2010, 05:31
but the mobile autodetect hack overrides all others as far as changing styles go

Thanks Dartho.

So, just to confirm : If I have the mobile autodetect hack, there is no point in offering the style chooser on the mobile skin. The style chooser will get over-ruled anyways? That is, the mobile autodetect hack will continue to show the forum in the mobile skin ONLY.

And why is this option available in the "Mobile Style Options" Hack?

What is your Mobile style?
Which style do you display to mobile device users?

If its not going to offer a style automatically to mobile users (like the auto detector does), what is the purpose of this option in the adminCP?

dartho
16 Feb 2010, 06:51
This style is not compatible with the "Mobile Options" addon

Posting here is likely causing confusion. Please post in the correct thread for the add-on or style you are questioning and I'll answer there as I do not know what version of which you are attempting to use.

basketmen
30 Nov 2010, 20:43
Is there any way to allow users to quote posts in this style?

Clicking/Tapping "reply" in a post should automatically quote the post from memory ...


I am sorry guys, when i try clicking Reply link, no quoted message with it

is it really quoting in your installation? if yes please give some live forum


i already try add complete codes from default style (postbit template) to this mobi style postbit, already click all link, but still no one quoted

Gueldenstern
21 Aug 2011, 22:04
thanks for this style.