PDA

View Full Version : Administrative and Maintenance Tools - Add Search Engine Optimized Keywords & Description to each Forum


Neutral Singh
20 Jan 2008, 02:50
Add Search Engine Optimized Keywords & Description to each Forum
Keywords: SEO, Search, Engine, Optimization, Meta-tag, Keywords, Description, Meta, Tags

Context:
This plugin gives you the facility to add some special keywords and descriptions to each forum thus allowing you to optimize each of your forum for its relevant keywords. No need to inform you that Search Engine Optimized (SEO) keywords and description for your forums is essential to enhance your presence in search engines as well as increase your web traffic for relevant keywords.

How this Works?
http://www.sikhphilosophy.net (http://www.sikhphilosophy.net/) (View the source of each forum to realise the effect of this plugin on your forums.)

Recommended Usage:
Only Text based information should be added in keywords and description for maximum results.




*** Installation Instructions: (Also attached here)
*** -------------------------

1. Installing the Plugin:

Admincp > Plugin System > Manage Products
Click: Import Product
Browse: Your computer for downloaded file "product-forum_seo.xml"
After selecting the file, click Import button.

**********************************************************************
2. Only Template Edit: headinclude


i) Edit - headinclude Template:
**********************************************************************

Find:
<meta name="keywords" content="$threadinfo[title], $vboptions[keywords]" />
<meta name="description" content="<if condition="$pagenumber>1"><phrase 1="$pagenumber">$vbphrase[page_x]</phrase>-</if>$threadinfo[title] $foruminfo[title_clean]" />

Replace With:
<meta name="keywords" content="$foruminfo[forumkeywords],$threadinfo[title],$vboptions[keywords]" />
<meta name="description" content="$foruminfo[forumdescription]. <if condition="$pagenumber>1"><phrase 1="$pagenumber">$vbphrase[page_x]</phrase>-</if>$threadinfo[title] $foruminfo[title_clean]" />

**********************************************************************

Find:
<meta name="keywords" content="$foruminfo[title_clean], $vboptions[keywords]" />
<meta name="description" content="<if condition="$pagenumber>1"><phrase 1="$pagenumber">$vbphrase[page_x]</phrase>-</if>$foruminfo[description_clean]" />

Replace With:
<meta name="keywords" content="$foruminfo[forumkeywords],$threadinfo[title],$vboptions[keywords]" />
<meta name="description" content="$foruminfo[forumdescription]. <if condition="$pagenumber>1"><phrase 1="$pagenumber">$vbphrase[page_x]</phrase>-</if>$foruminfo[description_clean]" />

And you are done with modification !!

Now, simply Go to > Forum Manager > Edit a forum > Towards the bottom you will find the fields to enter your relevant keywords and description. You can play with the template modification to suit your needs.

Enjoy !!

If you installed this plugin, please click INSTALL for future support. :devious:

Thanks

bokmade
20 Jan 2008, 04:25
product-forum_seo.xml ..

not found ..

rainyleaves
20 Jan 2008, 07:29
Not found XML~ :)

SEOvB
20 Jan 2008, 07:32
I think he forgot to attach the plugin :)

FleaBag
20 Jan 2008, 17:22
Great work... If it's what I think it is!

Forum Lover
20 Jan 2008, 18:37
bro, where is that XML? :p

projectego
20 Jan 2008, 20:57
/me clicks install :)

Neutral Singh
21 Jan 2008, 16:38
Sorry!! Simply forgot to add attachments... Now Added!!

gwerzal
28 Jan 2008, 02:24
Why has this got such a low rating.

Id of thought this would be a good think for SEO purposes.

Traxdata
29 Jan 2008, 15:02
Screenshots?

BatMNet
30 Jan 2008, 01:47
Edit*** Wrong Mod :P

pxd
01 Feb 2008, 02:19
Great tool. Installed :)

ahmednadir
01 Feb 2008, 05:10
this was a great addon to 3.6.8 till 3.7 beta 3
but it does'nt work on beta 4 as they've added the tags phrase and others so you can't actually find and replace what you have written thier.
can you please update it for 3.7 beta4
anyway I've clicked install on both posts (in the 3.6 section and this one) as I have been using this since you bought this out! but am waiting for an update for 3.7 beta4 as this does'nt work or I have to search and replace different phrases.

thanks
kindest regards
Ahmed Nadir

logicuk
15 Feb 2008, 12:41
can you please fix this for vb 3.7 beta 5 i would love to use it

gwerzal
11 Apr 2008, 15:01
Any chance of updating this to work.

Really need it for my forum

gkaradagan
11 Apr 2008, 15:08
thanks

whitetigergrowl
11 Apr 2008, 15:42
can you please fix this for vb 3.7 beta 5 i would love to use it

Why on earth would someone still use beta when it's at the RC3 stage and close to going gold?! The RC3 version has many many bug fixes amongst other things over the beta version. Personally, I wouldn't support the beta versions. Time to get with the times.

Fırtına
15 May 2008, 23:47
Thanks, :)

x-death
18 Jul 2008, 10:49
thanks

Amenadiel
19 Jul 2008, 21:35
If I upgrade from the previous version:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=128920

Will it keep my per-forum-keywords?

Saudi Zoom
31 Jul 2008, 17:48
i can't find and replace that codes in headinclude, i am using default template of 3.7.2 !

purple99
01 Aug 2008, 09:27
i can't find and replace that codes in headinclude, i am using default template of 3.7.2 !

I'm using 3.7.2 also and you're right: the code isn't there. What should be replaced with what?

purple99
10 Aug 2008, 19:47
Bump

SEOvB
15 Aug 2008, 23:21
the code is pretty close to the same in the head include template, its not to hard to figure out what it used to be.

I'd give you the exact instructions, but i've already modified this to the point where i dont remember. :D

3DGirl
16 Aug 2008, 02:50
Thanks YOU for this. I do not understand why this is not flooded with installs.

I'm installing it on two VB's. Thank you very much! :)

purple99
20 Aug 2008, 07:13
the code is pretty close to the same in the head include template, its not to hard to figure out what it used to be.

I'd give you the exact instructions, but i've already modified this to the point where i dont remember. :D

Okey-dokey, I'll work it out. Thanks. :cool:

Nick Chiafullo
22 Aug 2008, 19:30
I'm using 3.7.2 also and you're right: the code isn't there. What should be replaced with what?

I had the same problem. Below is the find and replace code.

Great tool. Thanks!


1. Find
<meta name="keywords" content="<if condition="$threadinfo['taglist']">$threadinfo[taglist], </if>$threadinfo[prefix_plain_html] $threadinfo[title], $vboptions[keywords]" />
<meta name="description" content="<if condition="$pagenumber>1"><phrase 1="$pagenumber">$vbphrase[page_x]</phrase>-</if>$threadinfo[prefix_plain_html] $threadinfo[title] $foruminfo[title_clean]" />

Replace With
<meta name="keywords" content="$foruminfo[forumkeywords],$threadinfo[title],$vboptions[keywords]" />
<meta name="description" content="$foruminfo[forumdescription]. <if condition="$pagenumber>1"><phrase 1="$pagenumber">$vbphrase[page_x]</phrase>-</if>$threadinfo[title] $foruminfo[title_clean]" />


2. Find
<meta name="keywords" content="$foruminfo[title_clean], $vboptions[keywords]" />
<meta name="description" content="<if condition="$pagenumber>1"><phrase 1="$pagenumber">$vbphrase[page_x]</phrase>-</if>$foruminfo[description_clean]" />

Replace With
<meta name="keywords" content="$foruminfo[forumkeywords],$threadinfo[title],$vboptions[keywords]" />
<meta name="description" content="$foruminfo[forumdescription]. <if condition="$pagenumber>1"><phrase 1="$pagenumber">$vbphrase[page_x]</phrase>-</if>$foruminfo[description_clean]" />

uzeyir
22 Aug 2008, 20:23
caps please

jamesww
21 Sep 2008, 16:54
Can a few people give a review on how well this works.

jamesww
21 Sep 2008, 16:59
The Sikh rock! I was wondering if you could add a modification for the title tag as well for individual forums. And also possible something for threads as well.

imedic
07 Nov 2008, 21:05
Installed. Very good mod.
Hope it has impact in SEO and wait for possible improvements . I still get in google webmaster tools 6000+ duplicate title tags and meta descriptions (same number as threads in forum) and short meta descriptions as well.

Jon_Simmonds
28 Dec 2008, 11:12
I personally went for the following edits

<meta name="keywords" content="<if condition="$threadinfo['taglist']">$threadinfo[taglist], </if>$threadinfo[prefix_plain_html] $threadinfo[title], <if condition="$foruminfo['forumkeywords']">$foruminfo[forumkeywords]<else />$vboptions[keywords]</if>" />
<meta name="description" content="<if condition="$pagenumber>1"><phrase 1="$pagenumber">$vbphrase[page_x]</phrase>-</if>$threadinfo[prefix_plain_html] $threadinfo[title] $foruminfo[title_clean]" />

<meta name="keywords" content="$foruminfo[title_clean],<if condition="$foruminfo['forumkeywords']">$foruminfo[forumkeywords]<else />$vboptions[keywords]</if>" />
<meta name="description" content="<if condition="$pagenumber>1"><phrase 1="$pagenumber">$vbphrase[page_x]</phrase>-</if><if condition="$foruminfo['forumdescription']">$foruminfo[forumdescription]<else />$foruminfo[description_clean]</if>" />


I use vbseo so it automatically uses the thread first post content to create the description, hence no edit there, and for the keywords I used the conditional to replace the defult keywords with specific keywords for particular forums - I have a generic set across the board and plan to goto some indepth ones on a per forum basis

Wondered what peoples thoughts were towards this angle?

Alfa1
28 Dec 2008, 17:31
That is an excellent approach.

cionfs
13 Feb 2009, 12:02
Thank you. :) It works fine on vBulletin 3.8.1. :)

abdobasha2004
29 Jul 2009, 11:53
just add $foruminfo[forumkeywords], in any place you wantr the key words to appear
most probably in : <meta name="keywords" content=

LilPimp
31 Jul 2009, 17:23
does this work on vb 3.8.3

crouzmind
31 Jul 2009, 17:27
can i use this mod with vbulletin 3.8.1 if yes then i cant find this in headerinclude template . where can i find it or fix it .

<meta name="keywords" content="$threadinfo[title], $vboptions[keywords]" />
<meta name="description" content="<if condition="$pagenumber>1"><phrase 1="$pagenumber">$vbphrase[page_x]</phrase>-</if>$threadinfo[title] $foruminfo[title_clean]" />

abdobasha2004
31 Jul 2009, 17:55
you can add :
$foruminfo[forumkeywords]

where you like the keywords to appear

BrotherX
19 Aug 2009, 20:01
does this work on vb 3.8.3This is terrible, it not working at all. I was not seen any changes after I installed this, plus added keywords and desc for specific forum. It just not added any keywords or meta.

Xtrigit
09 May 2010, 19:40
Does this work for FORUMS only? will it work for SHOWTHREAD pages?

I would like to fetch the showthread message body to the Meta description tag. Just like the text in the TITLE box is added to the Title tag.

VB 4 has this by default. I'm running 3.8

Thanks