PDA

View Full Version : Show Thread Enhancements - Show latest threads on showthread


ThorstenA
24 Jan 2008, 21:57
Do you ever wanted to show latest threads on showthread ? You can do that without products. All you need is to use build-in RSS feed. Here you will be presented all topics within actual forum and all subforums. It's working great!


admincp > vbulletin options > External Data Provider > set yes all
Place this code into template ad_showthread_beforeqr

<!-- show latest active threads -->
<br />
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%"
align="center">
<tbody><tr><td class="tcat">
<a style="float:$stylevar[right]" href="#top" onclick="return toggle_collapse('forumhome_external')"><img
id="collapseimg_forumhome_external"
src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/collapse_tcat$vbcollapse[collapseimg_forumhome_external].gif" alt="" border="0" /></a>
<a href="forumdisplay.php?f=$foruminfo[forumid]">New topics in $foruminfo[title]</a>
</td></tr></tbody>

<tbody id="collapseobj_forumhome_external" style="$vbcollapse[collapseobj_forumhome_external]">

<tr><td class="alt1" width="100%" valign="top">

<div class="smallfont">

<script type="text/javascript" src="external.php?forumids=$foruminfo[childlist]&type=js"></script>
<script language="" type="text/javascript">
<!--
for (var x in threads)
{
document.writeln("<a href=\"showthread.php?t="+threads[x].threadid+"&goto=newpost\"><img class=\"inlineimg\" src=\"$stylevar[imgdir_button]/firstnew.gif\" alt=\"\" border=\"0\" /></a> <a href=\"showthread.php?t="+threads[x].threadid+"\">"+threads[x].title+"</a> <br />");
}
//-->
</script>

</div>

</td>

</tr></tbody>
</table>

<!-- / show latest active threads -->

Done :)


Optional
If you want to change time frame of your refreshing threads, go to
AdminCP > vBulletin Settings > External Data Provider
Change the value of Cache Lifespan to for example "1 Minute"

Hope that works great for you, too. I'd be glad to hear from you via pm.


9.2.2008 Fixed an error. Upgrade instruction: Please just copy this new code here into the template. Done.

nyqnzguju
25 Jan 2008, 01:29
Done Or Screen shouts Please. Thanks man.

Forum Lover
25 Jan 2008, 08:25
No screeny? screenshot please.

vwdforum
30 Jan 2008, 06:27
Although it works I get the following error message

The conditional on line 33 appears to be missing its beginning tag (<if>). This may cause unexpected behavior.

I deleted the </if> and it still works and has no errors.

Is it possible to get it vbseo link friendly?

Will the search engines be able to read these posts?

Cheers

Mally

vwdforum
30 Jan 2008, 06:29
Also I don't know what you mean by "all topics within actual forum and all subforums"

It just provided a list of recent posts?

SEOvB
05 Feb 2008, 09:03
Although it works I get the following error message

The conditional on line 33 appears to be missing its beginning tag (<if>). This may cause unexpected behavior.

I deleted the </if> and it still works and has no errors.

Is it possible to get it vbseo link friendly?

Will the search engines be able to read these posts?

Cheers

Mally

It uses javascript to write the codes, so i don't think search engines will pick them up anyway

avsunforum
05 Feb 2008, 15:31
Hmm screenshot please

smooth-c
08 Feb 2008, 14:29
Screen please.

tackebong
09 Feb 2008, 09:19
this is screenshot
note: to active this hack, you must turn on all option in External Data Provider
(vbulletin options > External Data Provider)(set yes all)

http://img174.imageshack.us/img174/5862/1222222222vz3.jpg

ThorstenA
09 Feb 2008, 21:24
Thank you very much for your screenshot! This product helped me to get users attracted to similar topics within same forum.

For all: If you installed this mod, please click "Install" so maybe it will be integrated into feature vbulletin editions (like my "show who's online not for guests" modification, which made it into vbulletin 3.6).

And if you like it, please rate it. If you do not like it, please rate it, too :D

ThorstenA
09 Feb 2008, 21:32
Although it works I get the following error message

The conditional on line 33 appears to be missing its beginning tag (<if>). This may cause unexpected behavior. I deleted the </if> and it still works and has no errors.

Is it possible to get it vbseo link friendly? Will the search engines be able to read these posts?

Unfortunately it's not going to be vbseo friendly as it is working via javascript now, and there is no javascript > vbseo integration possible until now. Search engines will not read javascript, so I think it will not be seen by them. The only workaround to make it vbseo friendly is to write a "real" product using plugins. If I have time, maybe I'll do it. If you or someone else like to do it, I'd be very glad :D

Thank you for mentioning the</if> error, I have updated the code and sent out a message for all members who clicked "installed" for this modification.

jim6763nva
15 Mar 2008, 15:55
Any way to get this to work on top of showthread? I tried copying it to ad_showthread_firstpost but nothing happened.

Thanks for this mod though - it works great as described! :)

Jim

Baldilocks
11 May 2008, 04:57
It also works in the HEADER template. :) I use it on my left side column that is coded into my header.

www.euphoricarythmia.com

Allan
11 May 2008, 06:45
Thanks for this hack, work perfectly on vB 3.7 Gold :)

Click Install *

ThorstenA
11 May 2008, 07:04
Thank you all. Please rate this mod, if you like ;)

Baldilocks
11 May 2008, 09:26
You think you can make a mod like this, but for NEWEST POSTS instead?? :)

Super Jinni
12 May 2008, 11:59
I just noticed something

it doesn't work with [you] hack..

it shows the name of member which is supposed to be the member's name [you]

I mean instead of showing the member's name as if you calling him, it shows the word [you]

so I had to remove the code till you fix this issue if you can

BTW, it's a great one, and I like it.. and I replace it as soon as the issue with [you] hack gone

thank...

:)

Super Jinni
12 May 2008, 12:05
I have two more suggestions if possible

if you can limit the number of new threads which be shown as new topic because it shows more than the desired number

and if you can make it show all the new topics of all forum instead of only in one part of the forum

thanks for the nice job

Super Jinni
16 May 2008, 14:11
not supported or what?

Allan
16 May 2008, 20:41
not supported or what?
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/external/2011/01/24.gif Not Supported

on the top ^^

Super Jinni
16 May 2008, 21:24
yup

missed that ^-^

this is good one but it will be better if it is not javascript

if anyone can make it as a blog-in or product, I think it will be such a great thing

and after all, be supported

anyway, thanks Allan...

:)

outiv
27 May 2008, 13:15
Is there anyway to use this method to show latest posts (not threads, I mean individual posts).

IvyKeepMommy
09 Jun 2008, 22:41
Can you direct me in what changes I would need to make to pull the threads from a sister vbulletin site?

basketmen
24 Jul 2008, 07:23
i had try but i cant use this with vbulletin 3.6.8


do you think this mod can be using with vbulletin 3.6?

ThorstenA
24 Jul 2008, 07:28
Yes, just put this code into template showthread where you want.

Artes_Marciales
27 Jul 2008, 09:31
Thanks!
**install**

ThorstenA
27 Jul 2008, 09:34
Is there anyway to use this method to show latest posts (not threads, I mean individual posts).
This modification only shows what javascript can get out of official vbulletin external feed. And this is only thread title, threadid and username.

GrandHolyKing
28 Jul 2008, 04:12
Thanks a lot for this, hope you don't mind but I placed it elsewhere in order to fit the theme of my forum.

ThorstenA
28 Jul 2008, 04:45
Thanks a lot for this, hope you don't mind but I placed it elsewhere in order to fit the theme of my forum.

looks great :D

baghdad4ever
03 Oct 2008, 09:21
thanks

apiasto
03 Oct 2008, 11:29
good job,you know i put this hack on main forum and you can get more out of it.

1.it shows the new threads from different forums on the main forum

2.it shows new threads made in show threads of that forum.

hope its ok with you :D

apiasto
03 Oct 2008, 23:46
for some reason its not updating the info

ThorstenA
04 Oct 2008, 08:50
for some reason its not updating the info

Sorry I do not understand completely. Could you tell me which information are not updated? Thank you.

punjabi.king
05 Oct 2008, 12:23
threads are not being updated can u help???

apiasto
05 Oct 2008, 12:55
when user makes a thread,it does not show in the panel,even after refresh

ThorstenA
05 Oct 2008, 13:04
threads are not being updated can u help???
Please let me some time to answer within this thread. You wrote me a pm less than one hour after you wrote your post. It usually takes some days until I response.

This modification fetches vbulletin RSS for showing threads. RSS is updated every 15 minutes or every hour. This is built into vbulletin. It maybe possible to change that in vbulletin admincp > change schedules, but I do not know how to do this.
when user makes a thread,it does not show in the panel,even after refresh

This modification fetches vbulletin RSS for showing threads. RSS is updated every 15 minutes or every hour. This is built into vbulletin. It maybe possible to change that in vbulletin admincp > change schedules, but I do not know how to do this.

punjabi.king
05 Oct 2008, 14:53
^^ thanks for that bro and sorry for the pm, only reason i pm'ed you is because it was urgent!!
i first replied to the thread and then i thought that you could be busy so i sent you the pm...

anywayz here is the solution for you apiasto

AdminCP---->vBulletin Settings---->External Data Proider

Change the value of Cache Lifespan to 1

^ by doing this vBulletin will fetch the threads data in a minute and latest threads will be updated soon....:)

ThorstenA
05 Oct 2008, 15:10
Thanks, I will put these information in #1 post.

apiasto
05 Oct 2008, 23:31
^^ thanks for that bro and sorry for the pm, only reason i pm'ed you is because it was urgent!!
i first replied to the thread and then i thought that you could be busy so i sent you the pm...

anywayz here is the solution for you apiasto

AdminCP---->vBulletin Settings---->External Data Proider

Change the value of Cache Lifespan to 1

^ by doing this vBulletin will fetch the threads data in a minute and latest threads will be updated soon....:)

thnx punjabi i appreciate it.i will try later :up:

molleeb
04 Jun 2009, 14:37
Works really neatly, I have it here: http://www.pregnancy.org/bulletinboards/index_original.php check it out :) Now, is there a way to modify this so that it can be between the breadcrumb header and the listing of posts?

webnsn
07 Nov 2015, 16:50
This is Super Super

Can i show Threads with Photos (if any pic is in the thread?

Demo @ http://wikinewforum.com/showthread.php?p=998451