PDA

View Full Version : Mini Mods - Double navigation buttons bar


Dream
07 Mar 2008, 00:00
This was the best solution to have more navbar links I saw so far.

Edit "navbar" template, find

<!-- breadcrumb, login, pm info -->

add before

<!-- top nav buttons bar -->
<div class="tborder" style="padding:1px; border-bottom-width:0px">
<table cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr align="center">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="index.php?$session[sessionurl]">Home</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getdaily">$vbphrase[todays_posts]</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]do=markread">$vbphrase[mark_forums_read]</a></td>
<if condition="$show['member']">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=process&showposts=0&starteronly=1&exactname=1&searchuser=$bbuserinfo[username]">My Threads</a> / <a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=process&showposts=0&exactname=1&searchuser=$bbuserinfo[username]">Replies</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="#" onclick="window.open('misc.php?$session[sessionurl]do=buddylist&amp;focus=1','buddylist','statusbar=no,menubar=no,toolbar=no,scrollbars =yes,resizable=yes,width=250,height=300'); return false;">Contacts</a></td>
</if>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="group.php?$session[sessionurl]">Social Groups</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="online.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[whos_online]</a></td>
<if condition="$bbuserinfo[usergroupid] == 6">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$admincpdir/index.php$session[sessionurl_q]">AdminCP</a></td>
</if>
</tr>
</table>
</div>
<!-- / top nav buttons bar -->

and change the links as you like :P

iogames
07 Mar 2008, 02:09
Great work as always ;)

logicuk
07 Mar 2008, 07:46
Thanks alot i will find some use for this :)

princeedward
07 Mar 2008, 08:12
great...need this one...thanks a lot... ;)

KURTZ
07 Mar 2008, 09:00
tagged! :P

SuperDave71
07 Mar 2008, 17:45
Just what I was looking for!


Thank you!



-Dave

IRANCITY
08 Mar 2008, 09:21
thank you my friends
installed

iogames
11 Mar 2008, 06:53
Hi Dreaminho I returned to ask u...
It's possible to have a 3rd NavBar with just links related to that SubForum? [i.e. Phones, Games, etc]

Boofo
11 Mar 2008, 07:32
You know you can do this as a plug-in and automatic template replace, right? I have already done this if you would like to see the plug-in.

tctransporter
11 Mar 2008, 09:02
Cool, I've been looking for a double nav bar my version. BTW: I only have version 3.6.8 :s Is there a 3.7 version I'm missing?

shawon025
11 Mar 2008, 16:15
very very thanx ..... i already applied into my forum

choccyclaire
11 Mar 2008, 20:50
This is just what I need, and so simple! Thanks. :)

iogames
11 Mar 2008, 21:49
You know you can do this as a plug-in and automatic template replace, right? I have already done this if you would like to see the plug-in.

Can I see it please?

Boofo
11 Mar 2008, 22:17
iogames, PM me so we don't clutter up his thread.

Mike-D
11 Mar 2008, 22:52
You know you can do this as a plug-in and automatic template replace, right? I have already done this if you would like to see the plug-in.Bob,
no doubt: Plugins are in most ways the best solution and it's really no big deal to write an Plugin as you already did. But in this case I'd recommend to use TMS! In most Codes (esp in HTML Codes) always the best solution ;)

Boofo
11 Mar 2008, 23:04
Yes, the plug-in was a big deal as getting it to work in the arcade was a nightmare.
TMS is great if you have it installed and are using it. Alot of people aren't yet.

jwhale
12 Mar 2008, 05:15
hi there, Firstly, this is a great peice of code for a simple partial coder like me, thanks.

What i want to do is display a link on the navbar based upon what page a user is currently looking at. So, for example, a user who is logged in (ie <if condition="$show['member']">) gets to see a bunch of links in menu, then say for example the main forums page (I am using vbadvanced cmps) has a link to the home index page, and the home index page has a link to the main forums page?

anyone can answer this simple condition test?

iogames
14 Mar 2008, 19:34
Yes, the plug-in was a big deal as getting it to work in the arcade was a nightmare.
TMS is great if you have it installed and are using it. Alot of people aren't yet.

What's TMS? :rolleyes:

DarkSorrowz
14 Mar 2008, 20:26
How do I make it so I can make it go to another link and not take you to

www.forumhome.com/www.redirectedlink.com

I want it just to take you to

www.redirectedlink.com

when you click it

(Note: Those are not the actual links)

4number8
15 Mar 2008, 00:25
How would I add another usergroup to the AdminCP part here.....

<if condition="$bbuserinfo[usergroupid] == 6">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$admincpdir/index.php$session[sessionurl_q]">AdminCP</a></td>
</if>

I added after the 6 using a comma, and it did't work, any help would be appreciated and thanks for a nice hack.

Mike-D
15 Mar 2008, 13:58
What's TMS? :rolleyes:The Template Modificatn System is one of the best vB Hacks ever and has been released by Andreas. You can find it here (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=152931) :)

Please note: Probably you'll need a lil bit time to understand what TMS can do and it's a lil bit complex too. But once you know how it works you'll never miss it ;) It's simply the best :up:

Boofo
15 Mar 2008, 14:06
The Template Modificatn System is one of the best vB Hacks ever and has been released by Andreas. You can find it here (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=152931) :)

Please note: Probably you'll need a lil bit time to understand what TMS can do and it's a lil bit complex too. But once you know how it works you'll never miss it ;) It's simply the best :up:

I got lazy and started doing automatic template edits for my hacks.

Mike-D
15 Mar 2008, 14:09
How would I add another usergroup to the AdminCP part here.....I went another way in doing that job. To add a Top Menu in the Top navbar is always the same. I've changed mine completely through TMS and here's the result of the Top Menu... :)


<!-- ******************************* -->
<!-- * 1. TOP-NAVBAR 'LINKS' -->
<!-- ******************************* -->
<templateedits product="vbulletin" version="3.6.8">
<templateedit template="navbar" varname="top_navbar_links" username="MikeD" version="3.6.8">
<title>Top Navbar 'Links'</title>
<searchstr><![CDATA[<!-- breadcrumb, login, pm info -->]]></searchstr> <!-- Spot where the Top navbar starting at! -->
<replacestr><![CDATA[<!-- breadcrumb, login, pm info -->
<!-- Top Navbar -->
<if condition="$show['member']">
<div align="center">
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center" style="border-bottom-width:0px">
<tr align="center">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="/vbulletin/upload/index.php">$vbphrase[forum]</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="/vbulletin/upload/portal.php">$vbphrase[portal]</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="/vbulletin/upload/photoplog/index.php">$vbphrase[gallery]</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="/vbulletin/upload/arcade.php">$vbphrase[arcade]</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="/vbulletin/upload/chat/flashchat.php">$vbphrase[chat]</a></td>
<!-- <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$vboptions[contactuslink]" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[contact_us]</a></td> -->
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="impressum.php">Impressum</a></td>

<!-- Administrators & Super Moderators Only -->
<if condition="in_array($bbuserinfo['usergroupid'], array(5,6))"> <!-- Primary Usergroups! -->
<td id="admin_links" class="vbmenu_control"><a href="#">Admin/Mod</a><script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("admin_links"); </script></td>
</if>
</tr>
</table>
</div>
</if>
<!-- / Top Navbar -->]]></replacestr>
</templateedit>

Boofo
15 Mar 2008, 14:36
I'd like to see how you did the drop down for that. Can you PM me the code you used for it, sir? ;)

KURTZ
15 Mar 2008, 16:16
I got lazy and started doing automatic template edits for my hacks.

i love you Bobby :D

Mike-D
15 Mar 2008, 16:27
I'd like to see how you did the drop down for that. Can you PM me the code you used for it, sir? ;)Do you mean me, Sir Bobby ? :D

i love you Bobby :DYep, love him too :)

Dream
15 Mar 2008, 21:50
iogames, PM me so we don't clutter up his thread.

If you guys want to use this thread to share codes I don't mind. If you want to release your automatic template version I don't mind either, as I'm not changing this one to automatic template.

DarkSorrowz
15 Mar 2008, 23:56
How do I make it so I can make it go to another link and not take you to

www.forumhome.com/www.redirectedlink.com

I want it just to take you to

www.redirectedlink.com

when you click it

(Note: Those are not the actual links)

Can anyone tell me?

R1lover
16 Mar 2008, 00:21
Been there done that for years...

Dream
16 Mar 2008, 05:15
Can anyone tell me?
use the full address, with http:// in front
Been there done that for years...

thanks for sharing

Boofo
16 Mar 2008, 19:21
Do you mean me, Sir Bobby ? :D

Yep, love him too :)

Yes, Mike, I mean you, sir. ;)

Gosef
26 Mar 2008, 12:30
thank you my friends
installed

LorraineMc
07 May 2008, 21:10
thanks works great....

dancue
09 May 2008, 05:14
I'd like to see how you did the drop down for that. Can you PM me the code you used for it, sir? ;)

Same here. Please?

Baldilocks
14 May 2008, 08:22
Awesome!! Installed!!

Scout24
21 Jun 2008, 00:17
Thx and installed

t.uzuner
13 Jul 2008, 10:30
thanks friends :)
installed

steve1966
13 Jul 2008, 21:32
great thanks

steve1966
14 Jul 2008, 08:11
i dont know if someone can help me here i have a vBadvanc on my forum and want to put a link on the forum navbar saying portal i want to change this

<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="index1.php?$session[sessionurl]">Home</a></td>

to

<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="index1.php?$session[sessionurl]">Portal</a></td>

the portal addy is www.myforum.com andthe forum addy is www.myforum.com/forums

what do i need to do to edit the code so it takes me to the portal from the forum

thanks

R1lover
14 Jul 2008, 08:22
i dont know if someone can help me here i have a vBadvanc on my forum and want to put a link on the forum navbar saying portal i want to change this

<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="index1.php?$session[sessionurl]">Home</a></td>

to

<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="index1.php?$session[sessionurl]">Portal</a></td>

the portal addy is www.myforum.com andthe forum addy is www.myforum.com/forums

what do i need to do to edit the code so it takes me to the portal from the forum

thanks

Where is your forum located? in the root or in the /forum or /forums directory?

steve1966
14 Jul 2008, 16:07
thanks for your reply i managed to fix the code

Rideharder
15 Jul 2008, 07:07
Thank you!

Betablocker
24 Jul 2008, 04:16
Thank you very much.

Very useful for a nub like me.

Thanks again :up:

PHILLYFAN
24 Jul 2008, 13:51
thanks!

Hostboard
24 Jul 2008, 15:08
You know you can do this as a plug-in and automatic template replace, right? I have already done this if you would like to see the plug-in.

I too would like to see your plugin but ALL your modifications (at least for 3.7) are in the graveyard and unaccessable :confused:

Keesa
28 Jul 2008, 08:36
Installed and rated. It works like a charm!

I love template edits like this one. I feel like I have more control.:D

Keesa
29 Jul 2008, 06:43
How could someone add a drop-down menu to this bar?

Ohiosweetheart
29 Jul 2008, 08:20
Another easy-to-use mod from Dream. You're the best! ;)

blind-eddie
29 Jul 2008, 08:43
How could someone add a drop-down menu to this bar?

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=122523&highlight=quicklinks

polgara_j
01 Aug 2008, 09:12
How would I add unanswered threads to this? Thanks!

Dream
01 Aug 2008, 13:42
Another easy-to-use mod from Dream. You're the best! ;)
Thanks! And you are welcome ^_^

djrapid.com
29 Sep 2008, 02:06
Thanks, installed.

I had to edit this to:

<!-- top nav buttons bar -->
<div class="tborder" style="padding:1px; border-bottom-width:0px">
<table cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr align="center">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="index.php?$session[sessionurl]">Home</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getdaily">$vbphrase[todays_posts]</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]do=markread">$vbphrase[mark_forums_read]</a></td>
<if condition="$show['member']">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=process&showposts=0&starteronly=1&exactname=1&searchuser=$bbuserinfo[username]">My Threads</a> / <a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=process&showposts=0&exactname=1&searchuser=$bbuserinfo[username]">Replies</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="album.php?$session[sessionurl]">My Pictures</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="profile.php?do=editavatar$session[sessionurl]">Avatar Options</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="online.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[whos_online]</a></td>
</if>
</tr>
</table>
</div>
<!-- / top nav buttons bar -->

Removed three
Added these instead:

- My Pictures
- Avatar Options
- Who's Online

john102774
01 Oct 2008, 22:10
Excellent Mod, Thank you! :)

RedDevil
04 Oct 2008, 15:46
thanks like this

GSeybold
30 Nov 2008, 19:20
Great mod.... Just one question. Is there any one to return all thread and post instead of just the last 50? Thanks a million. Again, great item.

Dream
01 Dec 2008, 22:47
not sure, thought it was paginated

Keesa
15 Dec 2008, 06:05
Used this again for a new template I am working on. Thank you again. I love simple modifications like this.

csoroner
19 Dec 2008, 03:59
Outstanding mod!

Installed easy, looks great and blended in nicely with the custom style I'm using.

Have a look-----> RippersPlace (http://rippersplace.com/forum/index1.php)

Thank you very much!

Dream
19 Dec 2008, 05:00
glad you like it :) very nice looking forum you have there.

Manic Mechanic
30 Jan 2009, 15:56
How can I change the color of individual buttons/tabs in the navbar?

Armyqt
31 Jan 2009, 07:14
Installed. I have some duplicates on the to bar and the bottom bar has run beyond the borders? How do I re-map the links. For example, I have a quick links tab that has items that were default on the top navbar when I added this. Please help. My board looks a mess.

Armyqt
31 Jan 2009, 15:26
I really need an answer, my navbar is jacked up. Yeah it added the extra navbar, but how do i edit so I don't have duplicate inks? Please, I am no good at editing templates.

Dream
31 Jan 2009, 20:24
Armyqt you need someone who knows HTML to help you, its really simple when you know basic HTML (which is an easy language to learn; if you are interested check www.w3schools.com)

GSeybold
08 Mar 2009, 06:15
ok now that I have to reinstall everything due to a revert. I just wanted to say this mod is very helpful for my forum and my members love the addition.

Thanks so much for this.

Gabby

Sworm
19 Mar 2011, 21:12
Simply the best one double navigation bar ^^ - Installed - Tagged - Nominated :D

Perfect in 3.8.7

PS
Should be correct (i'm not a programmer) if i add a "<a href>" like this for add in the navigationbar some category or forums link?

For example, the default href is:
<!-- top nav buttons bar -->
<div class="tborder" style="padding:1px; border-bottom-width:0px">
<table cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr align="center">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="index.php?$session[sessionurl]">Home</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control">I want to add some of similar:
<!-- top nav buttons bar -->
<div class="tborder" style="padding:1px; border-bottom-width:0px">
<table cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr align="center">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://www.myforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4">Home</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control">I don't know what is the correct sintax to add href like your :
a href="index.php?$session[sessionurl]this is not correct i think :S
<!-- top nav buttons bar -->
<div class="tborder" style="padding:1px; border-bottom-width:0px">
<table cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr align="center">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="forumdisplay.php?f=4$session[sessionurl]">Home</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control">....Can you help me?

bruneiguru
26 Mar 2011, 07:20
Does this work in 4.12 or is there an alternative for a second navbar?

webnsn
07 Nov 2015, 16:59
Here the example,

I have replaced the Text and Links

www.wikinewforum.com