PDA

View Full Version : Miscellaneous Hacks - Emulate IE7 on IE8


PitchouneN64ngc
07 Mar 2008, 10:08
As Internet Explorer 8 Beta 1 is public beta, using the standard mode breaks the layout and functionnalities of vBulletin.

To avoid this and to force your users to use the "Emulate IE7" button without to click on it, you can do this:

In the 'headinclude' template, at the top, add this:
<if condition="is_browser('ie', '8')"><meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=7" /></if>And save ;)

You can have more information in this page (http://www.microsoft.com/windows/products/winfamily/ie/ie8/readiness/DevelopersNew.htm) at the "Versioning and Cross-document Interaction" section.

Edit : this modification isn't more necessary since vBulletin 3.7.0 Release Candidate 1, an option have been added to vBulletin Options by default.

SwollenCranium
07 Mar 2008, 13:49
Umm ?

There's an "Emaulte IE7" button in vbulletin ?

Wayne Luke
07 Mar 2008, 14:53
The Emulate IE7 buttone is in the toolbar of IE8 because it forces developers to comply to the latest standards (HTML 5 and CSS 2.1) whereas as IE7 does not.

Please post this in the Quick Tips and Customizations on vBulletin.com and I will approve it for public viewing.

PitchouneN64ngc
07 Mar 2008, 16:50
Ok Wayne ;)

Edit: sent: http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=262618

Discussions
08 Mar 2008, 01:00
It doesn't work.

At least not for vBulletin. IE8 seems to be breaking every website that I go to.

echo2kk5
08 Mar 2008, 06:39
It works for me, all my styles are fine when viewing with IE8 after applying this, Thanks.

aj8690
08 Mar 2008, 21:03
It doesn't work.

At least not for vBulletin. IE8 seems to be breaking every website that I go to.
Didn't work for me at first, either, but it works now. Make sure you add it to the very top.

smooth-c
11 Mar 2008, 14:08
Thank you soo much! marked as installed.

Andyucs
11 Mar 2008, 20:12
works a treat ta

Barakat
16 Mar 2008, 17:27
Works ... In s t a ll

NeuroLancer
17 Mar 2008, 05:49
Thanks works good. :D

On my site I was getting a display problem with some css and ie 8, this has helped fix it. Looks like ie 8 is going to have its own unique css issues :mad:

Installed. :up:

Jase2
25 Mar 2008, 16:09
Thanks!

Regards Jason :)

Boofo
25 Mar 2008, 16:54
This is now a default setting in 3.7 RC1. ;)

Jase2
25 Mar 2008, 17:04
I never knew that, Boofo. So, it's included in the 'headinclude' template by default?

Regards Jason :)

Boofo
25 Mar 2008, 17:13
Nope, it is a setting in the vbulletin settings. ;)

Jase2
25 Mar 2008, 17:22
Oh yes, thanks Boofo!

Regards Jason :)

ddwgoose
18 Aug 2008, 08:00
this fixed the errors i was having on the forum page but how can i get it to fix the errors on the cmps page.