PDA

View Full Version : Forum Home Enhancements - Tag Cloud - Forum Home


Atakan KOC
26 Mar 2008, 21:56
Tag Cloud - Forum Home

install

Go to your admin cp, then:
Plugin System -> Manage Products -> [Add/Import Product] -> Select 'product-tag_cloud.xml' from your computer then press 'Import'

Modifications Info

Plugin : 2
Phrases : 11
Template : 1
Setting : 2

Latest Posts Setting

Go to your admin cp, then:
vBulletin Options -> Tag Cloud - Forum Home ->

Versions:
v1.0 - 26 March 2008
-First release

kaptanblack
26 Mar 2008, 22:04
Thanks..

rizelim
26 Mar 2008, 22:15
thank you very much Atakan

projectego
26 Mar 2008, 22:27
Thank you very much!! :D

Playa82
26 Mar 2008, 22:52
Nice Hack, Thanks

RvG2
27 Mar 2008, 03:33
gosh... are you reading my mind??? I am looking for this since last week.

Thanks so much :)

Boofo
27 Mar 2008, 03:41
How many queries does this add to the forumhome?

RvG2
27 Mar 2008, 03:57
it shows I've got 1 query only.

Atakan... how about an option to set the number of tags that will be shown ?

RvG2
27 Mar 2008, 04:22
request: font size for popularity of the tags.

Barakat
27 Mar 2008, 04:26
installed .. usefull

rooban12
27 Mar 2008, 07:17
thanks a lot

bugzy
27 Mar 2008, 08:57
would be nice to set the total # of tags, but pretty nice hack

Teknik4
27 Mar 2008, 14:48
Zoint's tag sisteminde her kategorinin içinde kendi tagları vardı. Bunun için birşeyler yapabilirseniz sevinirim.
iyi çalışmalar.

Phalynx
27 Mar 2008, 15:11
Missed that already, thanks.

Zaiaku
27 Mar 2008, 15:54
Great mod!

Atakan... how about an option to set the number of tags that will be shown ?

I definitely concur on this one.

1Turk
27 Mar 2008, 17:34
thanks Atakan KOC

AbercrombieAron
27 Mar 2008, 19:18
Very useful. Installed :)

turbosatan
28 Mar 2008, 00:12
being able to have some control ovber the tags i agree would be an excellent addition to this and possibly making a vbadvanced module ready for install so we can use it that way.

gwerzal
28 Mar 2008, 02:21
Nice. Be installing this later.

Hornstar
28 Mar 2008, 09:29
Good one! will tag this for when I upgrade. Thanks.

crkgb
12 Apr 2008, 00:48
IFor the below forum setting I get tag cloud module in two places at the same time - below the navbar and above the stats block. Might be conflicting with random pictures mod...??

NeverBored
14 Apr 2008, 01:01
Just installed and like the above poster when I set it to below the forums it appears at the top and bottom of the forums, and then if I select above forums it doesn't appear at all. Below navbar and below WOL works correctly.

IRCMedya
14 Apr 2008, 18:47
Thank you Atakan KOÇ :)

Vehbi KOC
18 Apr 2008, 20:21
Thanks. Atakan:)

fahl
20 Apr 2008, 11:03
Cant get this to show anywhere.

joopss
20 Apr 2008, 20:39
Thank you very much!

Derek_Trotter
23 Apr 2008, 19:45
Is it possible to have tag clouds where links are putted manually?

PaylaX
25 Apr 2008, 21:59
thank you Atakan!
Installed

TheBlackPoet
26 Apr 2008, 16:33
it shows 2 queries on my forum home.... that's weird... i select it to go to the bottom of the page, and it does, but it remains at the top also..

swa
27 Apr 2008, 06:08
does not work with 3.7 rc4 had to disable plugin

i'm getting the following error message:
Your submission could not be processed because a security token was missing or mismatched.

If this occurred unexpectedly, please inform the administrator and describe the action you performed before you received this error.

thanks

Turbe
30 Apr 2008, 21:01
wait for for update for Gold...

Lea Verou
30 Apr 2008, 22:57
Does this show most searched tags or most used tags?

Bounce
30 Apr 2008, 23:10
Does this show most searched tags or most used tags?

On mine it says : These are the 50 most used thread tags so I'm guessing its that :up:

Mondi
01 May 2008, 22:25
Very, very nice!

Thanks for this and - Installed!

Few questions:


How to get the cloud onto my CMPS homepage;
How to decrease all font sizes [to better match the layout of my site]; and,
How to change the title "Tag Cloud" to something like "What Are You Looking For?"


May all be completely simple to achieve but a bit of expert guidance never goes astray..

Cheers!

crkgb
01 May 2008, 22:43
How to get the cloud onto my CMPS homepage;

This block is already included with CMPS - just activate and position it

Lea Verou
01 May 2008, 22:53
On mine it says : These are the 50 most used thread tags so I'm guessing its that :up:
Thanks!

I'll probably install this mod later :)

KHALIK
02 May 2008, 13:53
Cant get this to show anywhere.

I am getting the same problem on vb 3.7.0 gold.
http://www.fragmasters.co.uk/forum/ -- no clouds displayed :(

any solutions ? ideas

Traxdata
02 May 2008, 19:20
Make sure you have enabled Tag Clouds in your ACP!

vB Options
Tagging Options
Tag Cloud: Number of Tags
The maximum number of tags to display in the tag cloud: (more than zero)

ldma
03 May 2008, 18:17
Integration into ultimate side columns (USC) would be nice!!

safakuygur
03 May 2008, 18:28
atakan thanks nice hack

demo: http://www.sanalda1numara.com/forums/forum.php

very good ;)

KHALIK
03 May 2008, 20:44
Make sure you have enabled Tag Clouds in your ACP!

vB Options
Tagging Options
Tag Cloud: Number of Tags
The maximum number of tags to display in the tag cloud: (more than zero)


I already have this enabled, still not displaying any tags :(

AdrianH
04 May 2008, 21:36
I have tried this on an unmodified default template as well as my custom skins, nothing appears at all and having looked in the Forum home templates there is nothing new added.

ogameclub
04 May 2008, 21:41
Useful....

Jase2
04 May 2008, 22:30
Atakan KOC, this says supported, but you haven't replied so far....

m2006
05 May 2008, 07:53
thanks you verymuch Atakan KOC (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/member.php?u=130169)

DawnsWebDesigns
05 May 2008, 21:00
so far so good...thanks. :)

DawnsWebDesigns
05 May 2008, 21:45
ok I do have one question. Now that I've added dups of some tags some tags on the home page are small (text) & those with double or more tags are huge. How can I fix the range of text sizes?

Ex: http://x.dawnswebdesigns.com/forum.php - all albums, ibproarcade, & 2 more that I've mentioned in a couple of threads are huge. Whereas all those I mention only once are tiny.

Thanks for any help. :)

MeMySelfNi
05 May 2008, 23:22
thanks.....installed

rc1320
06 May 2008, 02:25
I am getting a lot os spammers targeting the thread cloud and once I remove them from the tags, they are still in the tag cloud. Is there a cleanup task I need to run to dump them from the forum home tag cloud?

TravelSite
07 May 2008, 14:56
Installed it and works great! Very simple instalation!

http://www.koshertravelinfo.com/forums/

Thank you very much!:)

dfiedler
07 May 2008, 19:16
This works great!

the only problem is that I quickly found out that some of my users have been putting porn in all the tags, so I immediately had to turn the whole tag system off :mad:

smirkley
10 May 2008, 00:15
IFor the below forum setting I get tag cloud module in two places at the same time - below the navbar and above the stats block. Might be conflicting with random pictures mod...??


Fixed with this...

Find in xml for product
case 3: $vbulletin->templatecache['FORUMHOME'] = str_replace('<!-- what\'s going on box -->', '<!-- end what\'s going on box -->'.$vbulletin->templatecache['tag_cloud_forum_home'], $vbulletin->templatecache['FORUMHOME']); break;
case 4: $vbulletin->templatecache['FORUMHOME'] = str_replace('<!-- end what\'s going on box -->', '<!-- end what\'s going on box -->'.$vbulletin->templatecache['tag_cloud_forum_home'], $vbulletin->templatecache['FORUMHOME']); break;

Replace with this...
case 3: $vbulletin->templatecache['FORUMHOME'] = str_replace('<!-- tag cloud below forums -->', '<!-- tag cloud below forums -->'.$vbulletin->templatecache['tag_cloud_forum_home'], $vbulletin->templatecache['FORUMHOME']); break;
case 4: $vbulletin->templatecache['FORUMHOME'] = str_replace('<!-- tag cloud below going on box -->', '<!-- tag cloud below going on box -->'.$vbulletin->templatecache['tag_cloud_forum_home'], $vbulletin->templatecache['FORUMHOME']); break;

Upload product xml and overwrite



Now edit FORUMHOME template and find this....
<!-- /main -->

<br />

and replace with this....
<br />
<!-- /main -->

<!-- tag cloud below forums -->

and also find in same template....
<!-- end what's going on box -->


and add below that this...
<!-- tag cloud below going on box -->



I could have taken it further and done the same for the first two settings, but I will leave that up to the owner of this code.

:cool:

pericolosogr
10 May 2008, 07:10
I also have random pictures module and when i set to show up below whats going on box...it appears over the random picture display and below whats going on box...can somebody fix this, and upload the correct xml file? Without template edits please(just to avoid editing:))
Thanxx

smirkley
10 May 2008, 10:14
I also have random pictures module and when i set to show up below whats going on box...it appears over the random picture display and below whats going on box...can somebody fix this, and upload the correct xml file? Without template edits please(just to avoid editing:))
Thanxx


The post right above the one you just made, fixes this problem you described.

I dont think the problem has anything to do with the random picture hack but I didnt try to prove it as I use that hack also.

The only way I could make it work properly was to edit the templates, as the original xml called for pre-existing comments in the templates, and it wouldnt work doing it that way (as far as I could find out)

And then editing the xml to seek the comments added into the templates.

But I assure you that it will fix the problem I, you, and others, had.

:cool:

pericolosogr
10 May 2008, 22:02
Thanx a lot then:)

I think i'll just uninstal, edit the xml file and reinstall the fixed one!

glennybee
13 May 2008, 02:21
I would like to integrate this into a vBadvanced CMPS module. Does anyone have any idea how I can do this please? Thanks. :)

Charlie98902
13 May 2008, 02:23
Can this be at the bottom of the forum home? If so I would use it if not yet I am waiting.

Chadi
13 May 2008, 03:01
Is there a way to place it in a custom location? I wish to add it on the right side column, forum home.

TimberFloorAu
16 May 2008, 06:07
Just Installed. Works a dream.
Would like to assign tag number, at the moment we have 70 tags,... looked thru code could not see where to set this lower, apart from remove one line of tags.

Any help appreciated.

sinucello
17 May 2008, 11:45
Hi,
Just Installed. Works a dream.
Would like to assign tag number, at the moment we have 70 tags,... looked thru code could not see where to set this lower, apart from remove one line of tags.
you can control the number of tags in your normal vB settings. This add on uses a hook to place the normal tag cloud on the start page so all tag-settings also apply for the cloud that this add-on creates.

hth,
Sacha

Smitty
20 May 2008, 02:07
I propose it be collapsable with options for collapsed by default.

HansMuenchen
20 May 2008, 22:26
Hello,

today I installed and see that when I delete a Thread that the words into the Clouds (in my case Test) don't will be deleted also. Because that, if you click on one word into the cloud you become a error message because the Thread of course don't exist anymore.

The error message is that the Keyword is not correct (of course because deleted).

Can you have a look for that? I also can give you the link to my clouds by PM.

Greetings
Hans

NeverBored
20 May 2008, 23:39
The tag cloud is created by vbulletin, not this mod, so the tags not being deleted is a function of vbulletin. Also note the tag cloud is cached, so it's only updated every X minutes, whatever you have set in the main options. So I'd guess once it's regenerated the unused tags are removed.

HansMuenchen
21 May 2008, 01:10
The tag cloud is created by vbulletin, not this mod, so the tags not being deleted is a function of vbulletin. Also note the tag cloud is cached, so it's only updated every X minutes, whatever you have set in the main options. So I'd guess once it's regenerated the unused tags are removed.

Yes but I delete the Threads and also set the cache to 0.
I found at Vbulletin the solution for the error message I postet before.
It was only wrong translated. When I search in my forum for the Word "TEST" the rusult is : not found!

So the word is deleted. Any other idea?

Thank you for take time for me! Maybe it's a bug into VB 3.7!

Greetings
Hans

iceytdot
23 May 2008, 09:10
simple an nice cant ask for more nice hack! installed.

tei727
31 May 2008, 04:47
no one has permissions when they click a tag in the cloud. where do i fix this?

ionian
31 May 2008, 10:34
Thank you very much... :)

Artes_Marciales
02 Jun 2008, 17:18
Thanks!
**Reserved**

saotome
02 Jun 2008, 17:42
would be nice if have advance permission usergroup tag clouds. run smooth installed! thanks atakan

Mrdby
04 Jun 2008, 13:10
hmmmm interesting

Mrdby
04 Jun 2008, 13:15
BELLOW should be BELOW. :)

sebsta
05 Jun 2008, 14:41
Great mod!



I definitely concur on this one.

My bad.

phiber
07 Jun 2008, 20:18
thanks installed!

MotMann
08 Jun 2008, 01:26
Please make the mod .w3.org valid ;)

And i have more Displays from the Cloud in the Footer.

What shell i do?

CP,
11 Jun 2008, 03:05
Hi the cloud is so basic and all the text are the same size.. i was expecting some to be bigger etc and also SEO'ed well.... is this hack really worth it.. i cannot see the text of different tags at different sizes.

VIPER-MAN
11 Jun 2008, 03:30
Marked installed and working perfectly. (3.7.1)

ghoscik
11 Jun 2008, 14:28
how to change it to display tag cloud on the bottom instead of below the navbar?

edit: mhyhyhyhyhyh didint see that new options available in vbsettings;)

zmickzalois3
11 Jun 2008, 19:27
Good evening, I just put it on my forum, but nothing appears ...

I rule since pca, I have beautiful select the various choices display, but it ca does not work, I'm on vb3.7.1 a little help please thank you ..:(

popular
16 Jun 2008, 00:33
is there a way to hide this for certain usergroups?

KURTZ
21 Jun 2008, 16:02
i need an option that can give me the possibility to decide myself how many tags will be showed onto my index ...

however 2 queries onto forumhome ... :(

MrNase
26 Jun 2008, 00:11
Great, thank you! :)

In the next version it would be nice to have the layout of the tag cloud to look the same as the 'who is online' table. :)

NeverBored
26 Jun 2008, 06:08
The tag cloud is part of vbulletin not this mod, edit it in the templates.

Antonio Pereira
26 Jun 2008, 09:19
is there a way to hide this for certain usergroups?


Same here this kind of MODS only have interested for spiders [SEO] (Guest Member).

All users dont have to see this, any idea to have a condition ?

Best Regards

mariannet
26 Jun 2008, 09:24
Hi the cloud is so basic and all the text are the same size.. i was expecting some to be bigger etc and also SEO'ed well.... is this hack really worth it.. i cannot see the text of different tags at different sizes.

I have the same problem, but it's not only on the Forum home, where this hack is working, the only place that the Tag Cloud is working in showing different font sizes, is on advanced search, any other place, including tags.pgp all words are same size?

MrNase
26 Jun 2008, 10:54
The tag cloud is part of vbulletin not this mod, edit it in the templates.

Ah you mean the whole template is already done by vBulletin, this Add-on just prints it out?
My bad! :)

NeverBored
26 Jun 2008, 21:08
Ah you mean the whole template is already done by vBulletin, this Add-on just prints it out?
My bad! :)
Correct. I think a lot of people viewing this mod don't realize this. This mod simply takes the thread cloud from the tag page in vbulletin and displays it on the forum home page. Edit how the tag cloud looks in, tag templates >> tag cloud

aphnea
01 Jul 2008, 12:34
I have installed the plugin, unfortunately it is not visible. I use vbulletin version 3.7.2

Mrdby
01 Jul 2008, 20:42
it works fine for me on 3.7.2

RvG2
04 Jul 2008, 12:37
works fine on 3.7.2

R1D1
04 Jul 2008, 16:18
why aren't the tags sizes ok on forumhome?

on search they are.

any idea?

Tulsa
04 Jul 2008, 17:30
For those who do not prefer to have the difference in font sizes, it's controlled in the template: Tag Templates > tag_cloud_headinclude

<style type="text/css">
a.tagcloudlink:link, a.tagcloudlink:visited { text-decoration:none; }
a.tagcloudlink:hover, a.tagcloudlink:active { text-decoration:underline; }
a.level1 { font-size: xx-small; }
a.level2 { font-size: small; }
a.level3 { font-size: medium; }
a.level4 { font-size: large; }
a.level5 { font-size: xx-large; }
</style>

Just change the font size, "xx-small", "small", "medium", "large", "xx-large" to whatever size you would like.

The levels and how many you use are controlled in vBulletin Options > Tagging Options > Tag Cloud: Number of Levels

R1D1
05 Jul 2008, 11:01
thx a lot! ;)

Charlie98902
16 Jul 2008, 17:47
Any chance of this: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=185447

If what's said indeed true?

yahoooh
16 Jul 2008, 19:29
i look for recent search tags as tag cloud appears in:
forumdisplay
archive
and others area

also can the tag cloude be as normal or as recent added , recent searched , or random
also can be exlude some forum or threads or users tags from appearing in the tags

needaltuna
23 Jul 2008, 04:09
The major flaw with this mod, as with another search cloud add-on, is that there is no way to remove unwanted search terms from the cloud. And once you've had a search cloud on your forum for a while, you'll definitely want to remove certain terms.

hotpursuite
06 Aug 2008, 07:21
Addition will become atakan very beautifully if you do colour and an cast iron adjustment very beautifully.

Teşekkürler ;)

newguy
16 Aug 2008, 11:44
Google Spider is always viewing a error message when viewing tag list in WOL. Any one else having this happen?

Alien
10 Sep 2008, 02:24
Does this have to use 2 queries on forumhome, or is there any way around that? :)

By_AbbA
10 Sep 2008, 03:48
Thanks Atakan,
Greats mod..

redlabour
13 Sep 2008, 08:29
Clicked uninstall and switched to: Tag Cloud in Forum Related & vbAdvanced Pages (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=190759)

Konstantinos
25 Sep 2008, 15:06
thats nice but it conflicts with another hack of yours when both are running "forums below"

[AJAX] Top X - ALP Pro (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=150766)
:D

Alien
25 Sep 2008, 15:29
Is there no way to get any of these tag clouds to just use 1 query? I get two every time.

Emmmmrz
06 Oct 2008, 08:37
Clicked uninstall and switched to: Tag Cloud in Forum Related & vbAdvanced Pages (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=190759)Ditto =/

nymyth
10 Oct 2008, 17:29
Is it possible to switch this so that it works on another php page rather than forumhome?

I have a 404 Error Page that i would really like to get my tags on...

LAKELURKER001
12 Oct 2008, 04:17
thank you very much Atakan,you have great products to add

natecoupons
22 Oct 2008, 16:12
i'm getting TWO tag clouds...on directly below who's online...and one below forums...they are identical...thoughts?

frankybme
25 Oct 2008, 20:15
Does this add any kind of SEO benefits?

Graphictr
19 Jan 2009, 17:17
Thanks

jluerken
28 Jan 2009, 16:45
Nice Addon but is there a way to exlude forums from the tag cloud?
The tag cloud is showing words from internal boards and I don't want this

tommydamic68
14 Feb 2009, 10:58
hi, my tags are real small.any fix for this? check it out. www.sphynxlair.com

murano
19 Mar 2009, 16:13
Awesome mod. Thanks!

DiLSuZ
12 Apr 2009, 13:14
Thanks..

flankie
14 May 2009, 11:20
tengkyu. nice...

goc-forum.de
16 May 2009, 15:17
I have a portal system installed (vBCMS from vbdesigns.de) and i want to put the tag cloud addon in one modul at the left or right frame! At AdminCP i can only choose to out the tag cloud above forums, under forums and so on. But how can i show the tag cloud at any other position?

How can i do that?

Info:
It is possible to insert html code into modules!

Afterglow86
25 May 2009, 07:28
Thanks for this. It's a great addition. :)

marshal_ramdev
31 May 2009, 09:59
awesome m8

NThomas
07 Jun 2009, 18:41
Perfect! Way2Go!

Mateusz0307zk
19 Dec 2009, 20:41
I would like to add more tags, and do for guests only display tags?

Kranio MC
04 May 2011, 22:56
Thanks a lot Brow...

matto123
07 May 2011, 12:08
How would I add the tag cloud to Block Manager?