PDA

View Full Version : Profile Enhancements - PS - Ads In Profile (Right Side Block)


PaulSonny
31 Mar 2008, 02:16
vBulletin 3.7 Version
Demo: Click Here (http://www.tech-talk.co.uk/forum/members/paul.html).

About This Hack: This will add a right side block to your profile and display your Google Ads.

Features:
Google Ads in Profile (As Shown in Screenshots)
Usergroup Permissions
Ability to turn modification ON/OFF
Ability to turn ATCS ON/OFF
Ability to Edit ATCS Settings
Ability to enter your own Google Adsense Code

Installation Information: 3 Plugins, 1 Additional Template.

To install just unzip the download below and import into vBulletin using the ACP Product Manager, further and full instructions are included.

After Installation Instructions: THIS MUST BE DONE

Please update your Settings via the via the Admin CP >> vBulletin Options >> Google Ads in Profile.

Please post your comments or suggestions for this hack. I read ALL posts.

Please remember to click Mark As Installed (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/vborg_miscactions.php?do=installhack&threadid=174640) if you use this modification.
If you use this plug-in, and find it useful, please support us by nominating us for Mod Of The Month (MOTM) in the top right corner of this thread, or feel free to donate.
You will get an email when a new version is released.

History:

Version 1.00:
Initial version for vBulletin 3.7.
Version 2.00:
Usergroup Option
Usergroup Permissions Added
Plugins Updated

snunhuck
31 Mar 2008, 02:38
Very Useful ,Thanks :)

bigtime
31 Mar 2008, 06:38
Works great! Thanks!

www.Defend.net/deluxeforums/

Hasann
31 Mar 2008, 08:22
Does every user can add his/her own google adsense to own profiles?

bam-met
31 Mar 2008, 08:51
This is a really great idea. I have a blank block show up - not sure what I'm doing wrong. :eek:

PaulSonny
31 Mar 2008, 09:45
Very Useful ,Thanks :)

Thanks, please remember to click install.

Works great! Thanks!

www.Defend.net/deluxeforums/

Thanks for your comments.

Does every user can add his/her own google adsense to own profiles?

No, you need to update the Settings via the Admin CP >> vBulletin Options >> Google Ads in Profile.

This is a really great idea. I have a blank block show up - not sure what I'm doing wrong. :eek:

Again please make sure you have updated the settings via the Admin CP >> vBulletin Options >> Google Ads in Profile. Once you have updated the settings, it will take a little while for the Ads to show while Google Adsense Spider scans your forum.

Thanks, Paul.

Jase2
31 Mar 2008, 16:44
Thanks for this Paul, much appreciated.

Regards Jason :)

cosy
31 Mar 2008, 20:24
will be nice if user can add own code :)

PaulSonny
31 Mar 2008, 21:30
The User can add their own code, via the Admin CP under:

Admin CP >> vBulletin Options >> Google Ads in Profile.

As shown in the screenshot.

Thanks, Paul.

Edit: After reading Jase2 comment below I understand what you mean now and I agree with Jase2, why would you want to allow users to enter their own code?

Thanks, Paul.

Jase2
31 Mar 2008, 22:28
I wouldn't like to give me users the ability to add their own code :p ....

Paul, did you get that PM I sent you?

Regards Jason :)

cosy
31 Mar 2008, 23:43
easy i got almost 40% of user whit firefox and most of them got adb/noscript and my ads get blocked if a user wanna show hes ad he have to allow adsense/or what u use scripts

PaulSonny
31 Mar 2008, 23:48
will be nice if user can add own code :)

easy i got almost 40% of user whit firefox and most of them got adb/noscript and my ads get blocked if a user wanna show hes ad he have to allow adsense/or what u use scripts

Yes but does that not then defeat the object of placing advertisements on your website, you will gain no Ad revenue from this.

I can probably create a variation if you would like were members can enter their own Google Adsense code?

Thanks, Paul.

cosy
01 Apr 2008, 01:31
got a idea a random ad showed on profile
lets say 50% show ads that webmaster put and the other 50% random show from members
and if that 50% can be variable = win

PaulSonny
01 Apr 2008, 02:34
got a idea a random ad showed on profile
lets say 50% show ads that webmaster put and the other 50% random show from members
and if that 50% can be variable = win

I am sorry but I am unable to do this. Sounds lik you are trying to make something simple complicated.

Thanks, Paul.

Zaiaku
01 Apr 2008, 17:17
I like this. Thanks!

Jase2
01 Apr 2008, 17:34
Working fine on RC2!

Regards Jason :)

farah
06 Apr 2008, 01:08
think

http://www.mtjre.com/vb/member.php?u=1

Jase2
06 Apr 2008, 13:12
Why you posting a link to your forums? SPAM!

Chris-777
06 Apr 2008, 15:40
I think he's trying to ask a question, because he's linking a profile page that we can't see w/o a login.

Anyhow, usergroup permissions would be great for this.

bilgicc
07 Apr 2008, 00:11
Thanks a lot. I'm using this block ;)

crkgb
09 Apr 2008, 10:14
Hello

What should the manual install look like, cause I can't get it to work. ATCS works fine but I need a different order.

I tried 2 settongs

<div id="sidebar_container">
<!-- sidebar -->
$template_hook[profile_right_first]
$blocks[stats_mini]
$blocks[ads]
$template_hook[profile_right_mini]
$blocks[friends_mini]
$blocks[youtube]
$blocks[albums]
$template_hook[profile_right_album]
$blocks[groups]
$blocks[visitors]
$template_hook[profile_right_last]
<!-- / sidebar -->
</div>

and

<div id="sidebar_container">
<!-- sidebar -->
$template_hook[profile_right_first]
$blocks[stats_mini]
$blocks_ads
$template_hook[profile_right_mini]
$blocks[friends_mini]
$blocks[youtube]
$blocks[albums]
$template_hook[profile_right_album]
$blocks[groups]
$blocks[visitors]
$template_hook[profile_right_last]
<!-- / sidebar -->
</div>

PaulSonny
09 Apr 2008, 11:30
For a manual template edit you need to use $blocks_ads, as per the instructions.

Will work on implementing some Usergroup controls.

Thanks, Paul.

rapidphim
17 Apr 2008, 05:10
how about working on RC3?

GoTTi
02 May 2008, 01:15
installed. waiting for the ads to load...
we can put any advertising code in this correct? doesnt have to be google adsense right?

Awjvail
03 May 2008, 08:11
It doesn't seem to work for me.

I've put in my publisher number thing, and it seems as though it is a large ad (wide and short), and not the square you show in the screenshot. "/* 728x90, created 2/22/08 */"

TheBlackPoet
04 May 2008, 02:52
maybe its just me..., but google adsense makes a site looks less reputable.... I mean really.., who ever clicks on that shit anyway??? while i love google analytics... and praise its "free-ness" the only real winner of google adsense is google.... are the pennies you MIGHT get, worth the quality of your site???

imo..

Mum
09 May 2008, 20:27
Can you use an ad code that isn't google in that spot, or does it have to be google?

Tom_S
12 May 2008, 02:17
Thanks Paul. Another nice mod. ;)

redraider
13 May 2008, 22:02
pardon my ignorance. ... but what is ATCS :(

what am i missing

PaulSonny
18 May 2008, 09:42
Firstly I'd like to apologise for taking so long to reply, I have been tide up in developing other modifications.

It doesn't seem to work for me.

I've put in my publisher number thing, and it seems as though it is a large ad (wide and short), and not the square you show in the screenshot. "/* 728x90, created 2/22/08 */"

It sounds to me like you have created the wrong size ad. I think you need to go back to your Google account and create a new ad with the correct dimensions.

maybe its just me..., but google adsense makes a site looks less reputable.... I mean really.., who ever clicks on that shit anyway??? while i love google analytics... and praise its "free-ness" the only real winner of google adsense is google.... are the pennies you MIGHT get, worth the quality of your site???

imo..

That is your opinion. I think if Ads are placed in the right place then they can be quite useful, but Ads placed everywhere on the site I agree makes it look messy and unprofessional.

Can you use an ad code that isn't google in that spot, or does it have to be google?

I believe you can put any Ad code in, not just restricted to Google Ads.

Thanks Paul. Another nice mod. ;)

Thanks Tom, much appreciated.

pardon my ignorance. ... but what is ATCS :(

what am i missing

ATCS - this means that all the template edits are automatic, there is no need to do manual template edits.

Thanks, Paul.

netzrate
18 May 2008, 11:45
Nice Hack!
Thank you!!

dancue
18 May 2008, 15:31
Installed. Great so far.

would like to have certain usergroups not see the ads.

dancue
18 May 2008, 15:43
Would this work? I edited the plugin "Google Ads for Member Profile".

if ($vbulletin->options['ads'] == '1')
if (is_member_of($vbulletin->userinfo,1 ,2 ,3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10))
{
$google_code = $vbulletin->options['google_ad_code'];
}

PaulSonny
18 May 2008, 18:02
I will upgrade later today with usergroup permissions.

Apart from not displaying ads in profile, what other Usergroup Options would you like? I cant really think of any but you might be able to?

Would you prefer a bitfield so it appears in the Usergroup Edit Otions menu or under vbulletin options?

Thanks, Paul.

kether1
19 May 2008, 02:04
Paul, this looks great. I am waiting on the upgrade with the usergroup permissions. That will be fantastic. Thanks so much for sharing this with everyone.

Thanks
K.

dancue
19 May 2008, 06:02
So far everything else looks good. I don't think I would need any more options out of this.

I mean, I could go into asking for ajax refresh ads, or rotate ads...but I won't. ;)

PaulSonny
19 May 2008, 12:33
Version 2 Released.

I have released Version 2 which allows you to specify which usergroups should see the Ads in the Profiles.

Thanks, Paul.

John Stone
19 May 2008, 13:10
Extremely well done, thank you! :)

Shaliza
23 May 2008, 04:54
Genius idea. I didn't want to install it until you added the usergroup feature. Fantastic.

PaulSonny
23 May 2008, 17:41
Extremely well done, thank you! :)

Genius idea. I didn't want to install it until you added the usergroup feature. Fantastic.

Thanks for comments.

Dont forgot to post any suggestions, no matter how small, if I can do it, ill implement it.

Thanks, Paul.

piloto-43
23 May 2008, 21:41
nice idea! is great this mod, easy and nice .. again.

thanks!

jscieza
24 May 2008, 04:11
Hi Paul,

What happen if I left blank the Allowed Usergroups field? This means that no any user will be able to add their own AdSense and only will be displayed the AdSense that I define in Google Ad Code?

Another question: you have said that a user can add their own AdSense by going to the AdminCP... I don't understand, it means that users need to have access privileges to the ACP if they wants to add their own Google AdSense code?

Thank you!

Jonathan.

PaulSonny
24 May 2008, 08:49
Hi Paul,

What happen if I left blank the Allowed Usergroups field? This means that no any user will be able to add their own AdSense and only will be displayed the AdSense that I define in Google Ad Code?

Another question: you have said that a user can add their own AdSense by going to the AdminCP... I don't understand, it means that users need to have access privileges to the ACP if they wants to add their own Google AdSense code?

Thank you!

Jonathan.

Hi Jonathan,

I believe that if you leave the allowed usergroups field blank then it wouldnt display the Ads Block in the profile at all.

The allowed usergroups is only to define which usergroups see the Ads, for example if you have a VIP Ad Free group, you can set it so it doesnt display to that usergroup.

Users are not able to add their own Google Ads code, I think I should re-word the original post, you have the ability to add your Google Ads code.

Sorry for any confusion.

Thanks, Paul.

Jhonnyf
24 May 2008, 14:31
Interesting, but for that, we can put the member info as public.......

PaulSonny
24 May 2008, 14:42
Interesting, but for that, we can put the member info as public.......

Im confused, what do you mean?

Thanks, Paul.

Jhonnyf
24 May 2008, 18:07
Im confused, what do you mean?

Thanks, Paul.
so that guests can see the page, especially spiders and thus create relevant advertising

jscieza
24 May 2008, 23:26
Hi Jonathan,

I believe that if you leave the allowed usergroups field blank then it wouldnt display the Ads Block in the profile at all.

The allowed usergroups is only to define which usergroups see the Ads, for example if you have a VIP Ad Free group, you can set it so it doesnt display to that usergroup.

Users are not able to add their own Google Ads code, I think I should re-word the original post, you have the ability to add your Google Ads code.

Sorry for any confusion.

Thanks, Paul.

Now it's much clear. Thank you for your clarification :)

Greek76
27 May 2008, 17:10
So how long is it suppose to take to show google adsense? Its been almost 20 minutes and nothing is showing. I have the permissions set so that only guests and administrators can see but no add is showing. I entered code for 200 x 200.

Mum
27 May 2008, 21:49
Installed :)

Is there any way to exclude one group from seeing them (secondary group)

PaulSonny
28 May 2008, 20:10
So how long is it suppose to take to show google adsense? Its been almost 20 minutes and nothing is showing. I have the permissions set so that only guests and administrators can see but no add is showing. I entered code for 200 x 200.

Can you see a Profile Sponsors Block?

Installed :)

Is there any way to exclude one group from seeing them (secondary group)

I believe you should be able to hide it by not entering their usergroup ID.

Thanks, Paul.

Mum
28 May 2008, 20:22
That doesn't work, it only seems to work for primary groups, but i need to hide it from supporters who are a secondary group.

bada_bing
16 Jun 2008, 21:31
Anyone know how I can get this to work for vb 3.5.x ?

PaulSonny
28 Jun 2008, 17:28
I'm afraid this will not work with 3.5.X because it uses the new 3.7 Profile Templates.

Thanks, Paul.

bada_bing
28 Jun 2008, 17:41
Awe that stinks:(

YuOr
16 Jul 2008, 14:20
great mode! installed!
Can you please tell me how i can move this block below friends and recent visitor blocks?
thanks

BucWiLd
17 Jul 2008, 04:45
ty, installed just waiting for my adsense response...so let me get this straight im the only one who can add an ad right?

YuOr
18 Jul 2008, 06:18
by the way it works great with amazon widget

jambo_1969
10 Sep 2008, 06:59
Awesome - Just what I needed for my new Amazon Aff code :)

PaulSonny
10 Sep 2008, 07:29
I'm glad you like it.

Thanks, Paul.

Goomzee
12 Sep 2008, 10:06
nice great

mholtum
13 Sep 2008, 13:05
Odd, The add box shows up great, but the actual add does not.

PaulSonny
13 Sep 2008, 22:25
nice great

Thanks for the comments.

Odd, The add box shows up great, but the actual add does not.

Have you added your Ad Code via the AdminCP under vBulletin Options?

Thanks, Paul.

mholtum
14 Sep 2008, 01:26
I did, it actually works great.. Just took longer than usual for the add content to display.


Thanks

PaulSonny
14 Sep 2008, 08:39
Ah right ok, glad you managed to get it working.

Thanks, Paul.

Brandon Sheley
14 Sep 2008, 09:14
nice mod, might be adding this one to the forums :)

shlomot
16 Sep 2008, 14:05
Thank you for providing us for such a easy to administer container on user profile.

I would like to use your MOD as a container for applications other than ad display. However, the block title "Profile Sponsor" is not phrased.

Can you phrase it please on your next release? My use of your friendly block will be to set links to member's personality reports as you can see here (http://www.topsynergy.net/members/topsynergy.html).

Thanks again and a lot :)

P.S. I'd really appreciate your advice on how to send a dynamic query parameter from your block with username or userID of the member whose profile is being visited.

bada_bing
16 Sep 2008, 17:03
Has anyone figured out how to get this to work with vb 3.5.x.. The creator of this mod initially said he would look into this but never got any results.

Thank You...

karlm
16 Sep 2008, 19:50
Suggestion, if I may...

The ACP option should be for 'excluded groups'.

On my forum, I have some 30 usergroups and I now have to add every group to the ACP except the one single group.

shlomot
17 Sep 2008, 12:04
Not necessarily , because most likely your 23 newest groups are secondary groups to the primary ones: admin, moderator, registered, etc.

Suggestion, if I may...

The ACP option should be for 'excluded groups'.

On my forum, I have some 30 usergroups and I now have to add every group to the ACP except the one single group.

PaulSonny
17 Sep 2008, 14:22
Thank you for providing us for such a easy to administer container on user profile.

I would like to use your MOD as a container for applications other than ad display. However, the block title "Profile Sponsor" is not phrased.

Can you phrase it please on your next release? My use of your friendly block will be to set links to member's personality reports as you can see here (http://www.topsynergy.net/members/topsynergy.html).

Thanks again and a lot :)

P.S. I'd really appreciate your advice on how to send a dynamic query parameter from your block with username or userID of the member whose profile is being visited.

I will release an updated version when I get home from work which will have the word "Profile Sponsor" phrased.

With regards to your other query, I would try to use a plugin. If you wish to add me to MSN I will talk with you more about this - also will be available to help.

Has anyone figured out how to get this to work with vb 3.5.x.. The creator of this mod initially said he would look into this but never got any results.

Thank You...

I asked you to send me account details for your forum so I could develop a solution as I do not have a vBulletin 3.5.X installation set up. I never received any details.

Suggestion, if I may...

The ACP option should be for 'excluded groups'.

On my forum, I have some 30 usergroups and I now have to add every group to the ACP except the one single group.

I will attempt to create a replica of this modification but instead of entering usergroups to show the Profile Sponsor block to, I will change it so you excluse groups.

I hope this helps.

Thanks, Paul.

shadowdancer36
29 Sep 2008, 17:02
Great job! *INSTALLED*

bada_bing
29 Sep 2008, 19:36
I will release an updated version when I get home from work which will have the word "Profile Sponsor" phrased.

With regards to your other query, I would try to use a plugin. If you wish to add me to MSN I will talk with you more about this - also will be available to help.



I asked you to send me account details for your forum so I could develop a solution as I do not have a vBulletin 3.5.X installation set up. I never received any details.



I will attempt to create a replica of this modification but instead of entering usergroups to show the Profile Sponsor block to, I will change it so you excluse groups.

I hope this helps.

Thanks, Paul.



Paul,

I understand you needed access but I just dont normally give full admin access to my site and I did explain via PM that I can send you what ever files you want to look at.... is this accesptible?

PaulSonny
30 Sep 2008, 10:16
Paul,

I understand you needed access but I just dont normally give full admin access to my site and I did explain via PM that I can send you what ever files you want to look at.... is this accesptible?

Im afraid not as I would need access to templates.

Thanks, Paul.

raj_singh
07 Oct 2008, 11:41
I like this. Thanks!

bongwater
20 Oct 2008, 14:39
installed, works great on 3.8.0 beta 1

soner
21 Oct 2008, 10:12
yeah thanks paul

spiegelj
23 Oct 2008, 02:12
nice mod but i notice the block was collapsable wich isn't good if you want users to have to look at the add so i removed this section of code from the memberinfo_block_ads Template

<a href="#top" class="collapse_gadget" onclick="return toggle_collapse('google_ads')"><img id="collapseimg_google_ads" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/collapse_generic.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a>

PaulSonny
29 Oct 2008, 13:44
I will update the mod to make this an option - thanks for pointing it out :)

THanks, Paul.

realmr
30 Oct 2008, 10:59
does this add the default ads or members can display their google ads ? i.e members publisher ids where the revenue is shared by user and admin ?

PaulSonny
30 Oct 2008, 15:32
This modification allows the administrator to add their own google ads or any other ads code to display ads to their members.

It does not allow users to submit their own google code.

Thanks, Paul.

KeyTraderz
30 Oct 2008, 18:16
i have 2 problems wen i install please check!!

I do not have the google ads block in Admin panel:
http://img401.imageshack.us/img401/4562/untitled2tm1.png

and I am not able to remove this either:
http://img183.imageshack.us/img183/655/untitledjq9.png

please reply ASAP

ArnyVee
11 Nov 2008, 04:05
I've added this one. Works nicely on my test board using a non-Google affiliate program. Thanks! :D

GlamRockTalk
20 Nov 2008, 15:30
This mod ROCKS! :D

Thanks PaulSonny

C138 Kaysone
19 Dec 2008, 00:49
Its not working for me at all

luket79
17 Jan 2009, 23:27
Works fine in 3.8, also thanks for the drop down removal hack.

giorgioarmani
19 Oct 2009, 17:32
Just installed.

Glad to see this working smoothly in 3.8.4!

Ideal advert size is 200x200...

jaderollie
20 Oct 2009, 15:48
great mod, and well knocked bandie thanks ;)

masterweb
03 Nov 2009, 21:11
yeah thanks paul

Thanks a million dude, installed :D

MagicThemeParks
31 Dec 2009, 22:19
If I want to display Google and other ads in the spot, is there a way to rotate them?

bada_bing
24 Aug 2010, 03:10
will this be updated for vb 4.x

Xexiu
09 Apr 2013, 18:40
Not working on 3.8.7.

I tried it too on localhost on a fresh install, and its not showing the block. I would love having this mod installed!