PDA

View Full Version : How to manage attachments on a 2nd server ?


reverse1312
09 Apr 2008, 16:12
Hello

We have a community on the video subject which could have the use of big files uploaded (for example high definition video samples)

For attachments, we use a special directory instead of the database integration option.

To preserve the bandwidth of the vbulletin/joomla server, I wish to redirect the this directory on another server with another domain name.

How could it be possible ? Is there a code hack to make ?

Thanks

Yogesh Sarkar
09 Apr 2008, 16:41
I have seen this being implimented on a forum with use of sub domains, so it is possible.

reverse1312
09 Apr 2008, 17:00
I have seen this being implimented on a forum with use of sub domains, so it is possible.

Thank you,

You don't remember which domain it was ?,
maybe I could ask the webmaster how he made it...

SEOvB
09 Apr 2008, 21:18
You'll need to edit your DNS zone settings for the subdomain to point to your attachment server

Yogesh Sarkar
09 Apr 2008, 21:22
Thank you,

You don't remember which domain it was ?,
maybe I could ask the webmaster how he made it...
pajilleros[dot]com, its an adult forum so not work safe.

reverse1312
11 Apr 2008, 13:50
You'll need to edit your DNS zone settings for the subdomain to point to your attachment server

Thank you

Is it to say that

1 - I have my domain (mydomain.com) on one physical server with 1 IP adress lets say in New York
2 - I have a subdomain (attach.mydomain.com) on another physical server let's say in Los Angeles
3 - It would then just be a matter of one file to edit on the first server ?

Is it correct ?

pajilleros[dot]com, its an adult forum so not work safe.

Thank you !

Lizard King
11 Apr 2008, 14:07
1 - I have my domain (mydomain.com) on one physical server with 1 IP adress lets say in New York
2 - I have a subdomain (attach.mydomain.com) on another physical server let's say in Los Angeles
3 - It would then just be a matter of one file to edit on the first server ?

This will not be that greate and you may face slowness because of this. You shall place both servers on the same network.

reverse1312
11 Apr 2008, 14:33
This will not be that greate and you may face slowness because of this. You shall place both servers on the same network.

Ok I understand that.
Let's say that I have my main server (the expensive one, on which are the vB and joomla databases) Allowed bandwidth about 2 Mbit/s (peak).
I have also (in reality in the same town but not with the same provider) a very low cost one with a guaranteed bandwidth of 100 Mbit/s.
If I intend to accept big files as attachments (videos) and don't want to pay twice the price of the main server, it appears like a possible solution....But if the slowing would be severe, then it could be bad also...

ping from home to the main server : about 44 ns
ping from home to the second server : about 42 ns

What do you think ? Faisible ?

royo
11 Apr 2008, 18:59
Ping doesn't count much here, but having 100mbps guaranteed will cost you quite a bit of money (~2000$ for some premium bw, probably 1500$ for cheaper, lower quality bw).

reverse1312
11 Apr 2008, 19:15
for where I am (in Europe actually), we have that for less than 110€ (about 150$ or so) (I mean pro month)
And 100 megabits per second are guarantied.

I'm aware of commercial offers being somekind different in the US.

royo
11 Apr 2008, 19:52
If that's being offered on a home connection good luck getting those speeds outside of your country, as ISPs are mostly able to provide it because of multiple peering agreements with other ISPs inside the country.

reverse1312
11 Apr 2008, 20:13
Ping doesn't count much here.
When we are talking about slowing down the server efficiency, it should be somehow important should'nt it ? Or did I miss something ?

COBRAws
12 Apr 2008, 00:21
How the hell this thread ended up discussing US vs EU 100mbit offers?

As per the main subject of this thread, yeah, you can do it.

Lets say your DB server is 100.0.0.1 and your attachments server is 100.0.0.2

You just need a small file edit at the DB server (100.0.0.1) and point to the attach server (100.0.0.2). If both servers are on a good and reliable network, your visitors wont notice any problems.

good luck!

reverse1312
12 Apr 2008, 17:25
How the hell this thread ended up discussing US vs EU 100mbit offers?

As per the main subject of this thread, yeah, you can do it.

Lets say your DB server is 100.0.0.1 and your attachments server is 100.0.0.2

You just need a small file edit at the DB server (100.0.0.1) and point to the attach server (100.0.0.2). If both servers are on a good and reliable network, your visitors wont notice any problems.

good luck!


It seems to be then a good way to explore...
Thank you for encouraging me ! ;-)

Hornstar
15 Apr 2008, 09:59
anyone know what the exact file edit would be?

Jim O
18 Jul 2008, 18:41
Any help on this? I'd actually like to move them to a server that resides at my house using Dynamic DNS.