PDA

View Full Version : Administrative and Maintenance Tools - Enable/Disable Debug Mode


Jase2
20 Apr 2008, 16:00
Enable/Disable Debug Mode for vBulletin version 3.6 and 3.7.
version: 1.0.0

Please remember to click Mark as Installed if you use this modification. Support questions from members who have not marked this as installed will be considered low priority.

What is this?
With this product, you can enable/disable Debug Mode on your forums, ACP, and MCP. You can input your IP address, so that Debug Mode will only show for you, or you can enter a user id, for either your forums, or the ACP, so that it will only show for that specific user or users.

No more editing your config.php file!

Installation
Simply import the attached .xml product via your vB Product manager, in your ACP.

Configuration
ACP --> vBulletin Options --> vBulletin Debug Mode

What doesn't work?
The explain query. Will try to implement in a future version.

Please report any bugs or feature requests into this thread.

Thanks and enjoy!

History:

Version1.0.0 : Initial version for vB 3.7.

M-Tuning
20 Apr 2008, 17:59
Very nice!

jwaany
20 Apr 2008, 20:15
nice..

PaulSonny
20 Apr 2008, 20:35
Very nice modification I have to say. The amount of times I have to go into the vBulletin config file its unbelievable.

This will save me loads of time.

Thanks Jason.

Jase2
20 Apr 2008, 21:04
No problems, Paul. And thanks for the comment :)

valdet
20 Apr 2008, 23:01
Haven't tested with vBulletin 3.6, but it should work. If someone could report back and let me know, that would be great!

I tested it on 3.6.7 and it works great.
Thanks so much. You saved us a LOT of time.

Jase2
20 Apr 2008, 23:05
Thanks for letting me know valdet. :)

Hornstar
21 Apr 2008, 07:30
Yeah I might actually use it a bit more now. thanks.

KURTZ
21 Apr 2008, 11:33
another great job Jason ;)

Jase2
21 Apr 2008, 18:33
Thanks guys!

macc
21 Apr 2008, 19:49
great ... thanks


regards

macc

Big Boss
23 Apr 2008, 01:23
Thanks for this! Gonna install this once I've finally upgraded to 3.7. :)

Mike-D
23 Apr 2008, 15:30
On a side note: Surviver's Debug Mode (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=130212) Hack is more comfortable and also includes more Options ;)

Jase2
23 Apr 2008, 15:33
That's fine, Mike. But why come here promoting another hack? This is a simple enable/disable debug mode. I am not going to be spending vast amounts of time on this hack. Although I may add more options soon.

Lynne
23 Apr 2008, 16:57
On a side note: Surviver's Debug Mode (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=130212) Hack is more comfortable and also includes more Options ;)
That looks like a nice mod, but sometimes simple is better if that is all you need. :)

Boofo
28 Apr 2008, 09:39
Any luck on the explain query yet?

Jase2
28 Apr 2008, 14:46
I haven't had the time yet, Boofo. I will however try to implement this week. :)

Boofo
28 Apr 2008, 14:51
Looking forward to it.

Kaycee123
29 Apr 2008, 03:11
Thanks for this! Great mod, saves a lot of time fiddling with the config file!!!











www.iwillfollowu2.com

Icy
03 May 2008, 09:07
Installed :D

dartho
05 Jul 2008, 02:46
I haven't had the time yet, Boofo. I will however try to implement this week. :)

Yet?

sockwater
05 Jul 2008, 06:46
Any luck on the explain query yet?

The *only* way to get the explain query to work right is to set debug mode in your config.php file. This is because vBulletin either loads the regular database class or the "explain" database class based on your config.php file settings, and this of course happens before you have access to the database to call a plugin to set debug mode. For reference this happens at about line 100 of includes/init.php

Jase2
21 Jul 2008, 17:03
I'll check it over this week! :)

pattycake
12 Feb 2009, 05:13
How do I uninstall this thing?? I've removed it from the products, deleted the XML, yet it still comes back after I enable debug mode.

pattycake
12 Feb 2009, 06:28
How do I uninstall this thing?? I've removed it from the products, deleted the XML, yet it still comes back after I enable debug mode.

never mind... I saw the debug code at the bottom and I thought it was the XML that I had installed when in fact, its the debug code displayed from vbulletin. Sorry.

TWTCommish
18 Feb 2009, 23:56
Any update on the explain issue? :) Would love to have it; it would really cap this off (still works on 3.8, by the way).

anthonym16
21 Apr 2009, 19:11
Anyone have this working w/ 3.8.2? I guess the best I can say is that is sort of works for me. It seems like something is switched because I can see debug info in the forums normally, then the debug info is hidden once I log in. I don't think I have the settings wrong...

Alfa1
10 Jun 2009, 17:24
Yes, it works for me on 3.8.2. (except the explain query function :( )

Is there a guide somewhere that discusses how to interpret the data?

sockwater
10 Jun 2009, 18:32
Any update on the explain issue? :) Would love to have it; it would really cap this off (still works on 3.8, by the way).

Let me reiterate.

The *only* way to get the explain query to work right is to set debug mode in your config.php file. This is because vBulletin either loads the regular database class or the "explain" database class based on your config.php file settings, and this of course happens before you have access to the database to call a plugin to set debug mode. For reference this happens at about line 100 of includes/init.php

muratcan25
12 May 2011, 08:54
Thank you

How do I add this manually to the config I
How do I add just a member id?

diades
20 Sep 2012, 15:35
Golden question: does this work with v4+ suite?