PDA

View Full Version : New Posting Features - RSS items as posts


zCarot
24 Apr 2008, 14:48
NAME: RSS items as posts v0.6
DESCRIPTION: RSS items are added as the posts of the choosen topic.
AUTHOR and IDEA: zCarot (www.zcarot.com (http://www.zcarot.com))
INSTALLATION TIME: 2-5 minutes
DIFFICULTY: average

YOU CAN DOWNLOAD IT HERE: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=261003

--------------------------------- DESCRIPTION ---------------------------------

By default vBulletin 3.6, 3.7, 3.8, 4.0 and 4.1 can import RSS elements as threads and announcements.
This mod allows you to import them as messages as well!
It can be convenient for RSS with the important information which doesn't required to be discussed.

----------------------------------- REMARKS -----------------------------------

If the thread ID does not set, than the name of RSS feed will be the used as title of the topic.
If the topic still does not exist in the specified forum, it will be created with first item of RSS.
Practically all adjustments for display of RSS items as topics will influence on their display as posts.

---------------------------- INSTALL & UPGRADE ----------------------------

See at readme.txt

------------------------------------ HISTORY -----------------------------------

0.6 (2011/03/27)
- Small fix for full support of vBulletin 4.0.x and 4.1.x
- NEW: Support for reversing order of RSS feed
- FIXED: DB error with merging posts

YOU CAN DOWNLOAD IT HERE: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=261003

gwerzal
24 Apr 2008, 14:51
Very useful. Will have a play with it later

KURTZ
24 Apr 2008, 15:09
demo, shots? nothing? :)

atrljoe
24 Apr 2008, 15:39
Thanks Been Waiting For This :)

zCarot
24 Apr 2008, 15:43
KURTZ
Ok. Screenshots in first post

atrljoe
24 Apr 2008, 15:57
Is there any way to make it so that all the RSS feed info is published into one Post? Then it just creates a new post the next time it gets the RSS Feed? Is this possible?
Thanks I luv the hack!!!

zCarot
24 Apr 2008, 16:04
atrljoe
Good idea. I will add this function in next version.

iogames
24 Apr 2008, 17:10
I'm PMing you :)

bugzy
24 Apr 2008, 17:29
wonder if RSS could turn into new threads

then you can setup a forum for CMPS VB Advanced as news articles on the front page

furst
24 Apr 2008, 18:00
I've been waiting for something like this forever. Thanks a bunch.

Jasem
25 Apr 2008, 09:37
useful. Thanx

kollam003
30 Apr 2008, 11:05
can we get the full messgaes from the Feeds other than quoting Read for More.....

zCarot
01 May 2008, 12:12
kollam003
If you are using RSS feed from vBulletin forums then try to add "&fulldesc=1" to the end of the link.
For example:
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/external.php?type=RSS2&forumids=1&fulldesc=1

thompson
01 May 2008, 14:08
i think it doesnt work with vbseo. it dont accept the thread id.

peterska2
07 May 2008, 01:49
Nice idea. It doesn't work properly on my site though. :(

I want to specify thread id's starting from 2722286 but the max that can be specified is 65535 so it is posting everything from all my feeds into one thread. Looking into the possibility of fixing this now though, if I get a fix I'll post it up in case anyone else has similar issues.

[edit 1]
I've changed the threadid field in the rssfeed table added by this product to an INT(11). I'll report back if this gets it working.

[edit 2]
Yup - that worked. I suggest you update the installation query in the XML to make the field an INT(11) instead so that it will work for people with larger forums/more threads than 65535

dcw
08 May 2008, 06:33
Hmm some reason it is missing the admincp\rssposter.php or atleast in what I just downloaded there isn't one in it, I downloaded 3tiems and stilll nothing. I just get the include folder.

TheInsaneManiac
08 May 2008, 23:17
Anyway to make the More thing go away and just post the whole topic instead of a More link?

jerrygad
09 May 2008, 14:09
Hmm some reason it is missing the admincp\rssposter.php or atleast in what I just downloaded there isn't one in it, I downloaded 3tiems and stilll nothing. I just get the include folder.
It is not in his zip file, but you can find it in your admincp\rssposter.php, I think.

netzrate
18 May 2008, 10:23
Works fine!
Thank you :)

peterska2
18 May 2008, 14:12
One request that would make this perfect:

- Start a new thread after x replies

Also, a bug:

- If the threadid is set to 0 and the RSS bot runs two or more feeds at the same time it jumbles the replies with the other feeds running at the same time. It doesn't set a threadid in these cases and continues for ever jumbling the posts with other threads created by other feeds. In these cases the forum settings for the feeds are also ignored.

zCarot
18 May 2008, 14:32
Kerry-Anne
Thanks. The new version will be not earlier than in 10 days (examinations :( )

peterska2
18 May 2008, 14:42
Cheers zCarot :D

I'm looking forward to it - you would not believe how much of a godsend this is for me.

vmacedonia
24 May 2008, 00:47
Very, very useful.
Thanks, installed.

zCarot
24 May 2008, 14:16
0.5.1 (2008/05/24)
- FIXED: another bug when thread ID was not set up, or thread ID = 0 (thx. Kerry-Anne (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/member.php?u=43427))

0.5 (2008/05/24)
- NEW: now you have an option to merge many RSS items to one post (atrljoe (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/member.php?u=74278)'s idea)
- NEW: now you have an option to close old thread after X posts (Kerry-Anne (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/member.php?u=43427)'s idea)
- FIXED: if you choose "preview" or you have some errors in settings then your thread ID is set up to 0
- FIXED: if thread ID was not set up, or thread ID = 0, then mod will not work sometimes
- FIXED: bug then thread ID > 65535 (thx. Kerry-Anne (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/member.php?u=43427))

TheInsaneManiac
24 May 2008, 17:51
Anyway to make the More thing go away and just post the whole topic instead of a More link?

zCarot
24 May 2008, 18:23
TheInsaneManiac
Script take all content from RSS feed. Link "more" is just a link from RSS feed from field named 'link'. If you want to take more, then you need a RSS feed with more info.

peterska2
31 May 2008, 02:37
Perfect! It's running a dream for me now.

I'm one very happy bunny right now :)

luckid
31 May 2008, 10:28
Little answer... how to add ( parametr ) rss on vb :-(

tnx in advance... luckid

Roi Danton
02 Jun 2008, 22:27
Works excellent! :up:

red-dna
13 Jun 2008, 22:37
Great Mod !
I will install it soon

Chicken Racer
14 Jun 2008, 00:25
Ive been using a similar feed and unable to find full feeds.
Any one know of full feeds sites?

Please do not start the partial vs full feed debate..lol

hobbybox
17 Jun 2008, 15:43
I just cant see what this does that the regular RSS feed doesnt do...can anyone clarify?

slabuda
18 Jun 2008, 17:09
I am receivin this error after installing this MOD.

Fatal error: Cannot pass parameter 2 by reference in /home/consili/public_html/home/forums/includes/cron/rssposter.php(311) : eval()'d code on line 95

Aden
18 Jun 2008, 19:00
Not working.. apparently i dont have a ffrss.php file?

intrigue
18 Jun 2008, 19:38
Although i have this set to threads it still posts the RSS feeds as i item per post in 1 thread labelled with the label that i set the feed to.

Please can you tell me how i set it to threads other then simply setting it on the radio control button as this has me confused

Thanks

matt

intrigue
18 Jun 2008, 19:39
cant remember it asking for ffrss.php aden?

jipjip
19 Jun 2008, 21:20
http://freeastroempires.co.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=31

dosnt seem to work

deneme2
20 Jun 2008, 17:19
thanks

pcoskat
21 Jun 2008, 20:20
I just want to make sure I understand this mod...

If I have it installed, and do NOT set a thread # for a particular feed, then posts from that feed will always start a new thread - is that correct?

I'm asking because I have one forum that I want each post to be a new thread, and another where the feed items should post to the same thread - this is possible, yes?

eta

From the OP:

----------------------------------- REMARKS -----------------------------------

If the thread ID does not set, than the name of RSS feed will be the used as title of the topic.


On my site, I do not have this mod installed, however, the "name of the rss feed" is not used at the title topic. Instead the name of the 'feed item' is used. How are you getting the actual 'feed name' to be used as the topic title?

I posted about this here, and on vBulletin.com: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=183141

zCarot
22 Jun 2008, 16:48
If I have it installed, and do NOT set a thread # for a particular feed, then posts from that feed will always start a new thread - is that correct?
Nope. In this case the forum will check up, whether there is a thread with the specified name in this forum. If is not present, he will create it.
I'm asking because I have one forum that I want each post to be a new thread, and another where the feed items should post to the same thread - this is possible, yes?
Yes, it is possible. By default the forum gives two variants: to post as the announcement and as themes. The given module simply adds the third variant - to post as the post of the thread.

On my site, I do not have this mod installed, however, the "name of the rss feed" is not used at the title topic. Instead the name of the 'feed item' is used. How are you getting the actual 'feed name' to be used as the topic title?
This function extends only on this module.

pcoskat
22 Jun 2008, 18:06
Thank you, zCarot! I'm looking forward to adding this mod to my forum :)

BiZiMDiYaR
22 Jun 2008, 18:41
Hi,

I just installed this but the problem is that different karakters are not shown correctly.. How can we help this.. ? See the Turkish karakters are shown with a ?. Somehow we can prevent this.

Example:

?talya'n?n önde gelen gazetelerinden Corriere dello Sport, Milli oyuncu Arda Turan'?n ?talyan ekibi Juventus'un da transfer listesine girdi?ini iddia etti.

h?rs?zlardan biri gürültü yapt??? gerekçesiyle arkada??na tokat att?,

grc
26 Jun 2008, 03:56
I've been using this excellent mod, but when I upgraded to vBulletin 3.7.2 yesterday it went away, not even appearing in the products list. I downloaded the mod again, made the template edits, and tried to import the xml file.

When I try to import it I get a SQL error:
Database error in vBulletin 3.7.2:

Invalid SQL:
ALTER TABLE rssfeed ADD threadid INT(11) UNSIGNED NOT NULL;

MySQL Error : Duplicate column name 'threadid'
Error Number : 1060
Request Date : Wednesday, June 25th 2008 @ 09:28:48 PM
Error Date : Wednesday, June 25th 2008 @ 09:28:49 PM
Script : http://www.website.com/admincp/plugin.php?do=productimport
Referrer : http://www.website.com/admincp/plugin.php?do=productadd

I am at a loss as to how to get it going again and any help would be appreciated.

dakar
26 Jun 2008, 05:19
just started testing v3.7.2 on my dev server, first mod installed from the base install... works flawlessly!

Many Thanks!

zCarot
27 Jun 2008, 16:27
Hi,

I just installed this but the problem is that different karakters are not shown correctly.. How can we help this.. ? See the Turkish karakters are shown with a ?. Somehow we can prevent this.

Example:

?talya'n?n önde gelen gazetelerinden Corriere dello Sport, Milli oyuncu Arda Turan'?n ?talyan ekibi Juventus'un da transfer listesine girdi?ini iddia etti.

h?rs?zlardan biri gürültü yapt??? gerekçesiyle arkada??na tokat att?,
I don't think that this problem have arisen because of this module.
Speak with technical support on vbulletin.com
I've been using this excellent mod, but when I upgraded to vBulletin 3.7.2 yesterday it went away, not even appearing in the products list. I downloaded the mod again, made the template edits, and tried to import the xml file.

When I try to import it I get a SQL error:

I am at a loss as to how to get it going again and any help would be appreciated.
Open .xml file and find:
<installcode><![CDATA[$vbulletin->db->query_write("ALTER TABLE " . TABLE_PREFIX . "rssfeed ADD threadid INT(11) UNSIGNED NOT NULL");]]></installcode>
replace to
<installcode />

zCarot
28 Jun 2008, 12:59
v0.5.2 (2008/06/28)
- FIXED: "Cannot pass parameter 2 by reference" if you choose "Update dateline of old post"

TheInsaneManiac
28 Jun 2008, 13:43
I will install this when you get an option to disable the "More" button and include EVERYTHING in the post.

zCarot
28 Jun 2008, 19:20
TheInsaneManiac
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showpost.php?p=1530167&postcount=26
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showpost.php?p=1504354&postcount=13

grc
28 Jun 2008, 23:46
Open .xml file and find:
<installcode><![CDATA[$vbulletin->db->query_write("ALTER TABLE " . TABLE_PREFIX . "rssfeed ADD threadid INT(11) UNSIGNED NOT NULL");]]></installcode>
replace to
<installcode />

Thanks so much! I had to to the same thing with "tu_maxtime" but that was easy to figure out based on your reply.

I appreciate the mod and I appreciate the helpful response.

pcoskat
29 Jun 2008, 04:02
This is a great mod!

Goomzee
30 Jun 2008, 06:27
it will work on 3.7.2?

zCarot
30 Jun 2008, 08:15
Goomzee
I have not tested, but why not?

Kagemaru
05 Jul 2008, 12:36
Great idea for a hack!

/me installs

Edit: some problems I've encountered:

Then FIND:

print_description_row('<label for="rb_itemtype_thread"><input type="radio" name="itemtype" value="thread" id="rb_itemtype_thread"' . $checked['itemtype']['thread'] . " />$vbphrase[post_items_as_threads]</label>", false, 2, 'thead', 'left', 'itemtype');

Add this AFTER:

($hook = vBulletinHook::fetch_hook('zrssposts_admincp')) ? eval($hook) : false;

should actually be "Add BEFORE:" or you get very weird results. =P (at least on 3.7.2)

and in the AdminCP, you have the option:
Unstick old thread
but no option to sticky the thread.

Also it seems that the first title in the post is cut off (only the description shows). I don't know if that's only in the very first post or if it happens with every new post yet though.

wouta
06 Jul 2008, 13:24
Maybe a stupid qeustion. But where can i find the settings in the admincp for this mod ?

Nevermind i had some cach problems...

stuartn
10 Aug 2008, 18:05
It ran once then even though it say's itss running its doing nothing....no threads updating !! or new ones being created so I'm lost here

stuartn
10 Aug 2008, 18:29
I've found in the task log that even though I keep telling it to run its not actually running the cron. !!

daddel80
28 Aug 2008, 10:44
Is there a way of getting the WHOLE list of the RSS Feed. VB only passes the new or changed topics. As i want to read a complete Top Ten list i'm getting always gaps in the numeration.

Is it possible to implement this in this hack as an additional function?

birdie
04 Sep 2008, 01:10
I love this mod! use it to bring RSS feed from eBay with my affiliate code. It works find on one site (vB 3.6 still); but just installed it on another site (3.7) and work fine, except the content of each message is posted to the right! (see attached).

I not sure if the problem is
1. Could be the nature of the feed from eBay (I can change what options is provided by eBay - but that is a lot of leg work and would rather get some quick input before going through that process)

2. Could be a problem with the skin? (other posts on the forum that come via RSS and are posted as new thread are not a problem - but they also not from eBay)

3. Did I do something wrong with this mod?

Anyone with an idea would be much appreciated.

birdie
04 Sep 2008, 01:35
I probably should ask that the above message be deleted to avoid making a fool of myself, but then others might have the same problem....

I set the posts to moderate first as there is some rubbish on ebay. The posts look normal after I approved them!. .... talk about a duh! moment.

TalkPhotography
04 Sep 2008, 12:28
zCarot, thanks for this, duly installed.

However, in the AdminCP / RSS Feed Manager, I select "Post items as posts", enter all the details, click save..

All the details are still there, except it reverts to the option "Post items as threads" instead., and just wont save my choice there.

Any ideas?

TalkPhotography
12 Sep 2008, 14:11
Ignore that, I've just found the answer, I missed one of the edits. (Adding the case 'post': line )

Artes_Marciales
13 Sep 2008, 16:19
Great idea!! : )

hobsdv
13 Sep 2008, 22:23
great mod. Installed

ikki83
09 Oct 2008, 22:36
in vBulletin 3.7.0 the option voice in Vbulletin Option doesn't appear.
why?

ogameclub
11 Oct 2008, 13:43
I found not 'threadid' includes\class_dm_rssfeed.php in Version 3.8.0 Beta 1.

LeatherNeck
15 Oct 2008, 00:16
how did I miss this one???? excellent, will be installing, Thanks.

Mr. Baws
23 Nov 2008, 15:26
doesnt work on 3.8.0 b3

Roi Danton
29 Nov 2008, 12:59
I found not 'threadid' includes\class_dm_rssfeed.php in Version 3.8.0 Beta 1.You are not expect to found it there since the installation for 0.5.x is:
3. In file includes\class_dm_rssfeed.php
FIND:

'forumid' => array(TYPE_UINT, REQ_YES, VF_METHOD),

Add this BEFORE:

'threadid' => array(TYPE_UINT, REQ_NO),
'tu_maxtime' => array(TYPE_UINT, REQ_NO),
'tu_reason' => array(TYPE_STR, REQ_NO),
'tu_hs' => array(TYPE_NOHTML, REQ_NO),
'tu_he' => array(TYPE_NOHTML, REQ_NO),
'snta_x_p' => array(TYPE_UINT, REQ_NO),

Then FIND:

case 'thread':

Add this AFTER:

case 'post':

pow6713
20 Dec 2008, 20:48
When I run the tast I get that error


XML Error: Mismatched tag at Line 17

Lynne
20 Dec 2008, 20:51
doesnt work on 3.8.0 b3
Works just fine in 3.8.0 RC1.

christicehurst
21 Dec 2008, 02:29
For the Thread ID:

What do I put in there? Just the number or the whole url link?

christicehurst
21 Dec 2008, 03:55
For the Thread ID:

What do I put in there? Just the number or the whole url link?

I have tried all three options and it hasn't worked :(

DocOf Dan
23 Dec 2008, 22:03
nice work zcarot

I've just installed it and it appears to be working on the tests I've done so far!

I wonder if you could just clarify something for me. I'm hoping that this mod may facilitate me on a project I'm just about to start on.

Is it possible to route the input to different threads, or posts within the same threads, depending on information within the RSS feed itself (security isn't an issue, I'll be in control of the RSS feed myself ;-) )

For example the RSS feed might have sports news:
Item 1: English Football
Item 2: Darts
Item 3: Cricket
Item 4: American Football

would it be possible so that the feeds would be routed as follows:

1) Post in thread on English Football
2) Post in thread on Other Sports
3) Post in thread on Other Sports
4) Post in thread on American Sports

Not sure if that is clear - basically I'd like to be able to use information in the feed itself to determine which thread the post is made to?

If it isn't possible at present and it isn't a major task, could you give me a pointer as to where I'd need to start looking to modify the code?

Many thanks

lovechandigarh
06 Jan 2009, 20:59
nice, but when I tryo to import in 3.8.0 RC2, I get the following message and I can't go ahead with installing the product:
The following dependencies were not met:

1. This product is not compatible with version 3.8.0 Release Candidate 2 of vBulletin. (Compatible starting with 3.5.999 / Incompatible with 3.7.999 and greater)

lovechandigarh
07 Jan 2009, 04:04
I was able to get it to work by changing dependencies in the xml file :D

thompson
13 Jan 2009, 18:19
thanks, i did it too.

zCarot
14 Jan 2009, 15:13
0.5.3 (2009/01/14)
- Small fix for full support of vBulletin 3.8.x

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=201742

Sorry for so long inactive time. If somebody still have some problems or questions - post them on the new thread. I will not answer in this thread anymore.

P.S. Click "Mark as Installed" in the new thread, if you want to recieve emails about future updates