PDA

View Full Version : How do I move vbulletin


dschips
26 Apr 2008, 23:55
We just upgraded to a new server. I moved over all the vbulletin files and the database, but I can't get the forum to work. I can see the first screen ok when I bring up index.php, but I get a 404 error when I click on any of the links. What do I need to do to fix this?

King Kovifor
27 Apr 2008, 01:23
Have you removed the files from your old server? As it the domain may still be pointing to the old server.

dschips
27 Apr 2008, 02:08
Yes, the old server is gone. The domain hasn't changed though. The IP address has. Is the IP address used in the code anywhere do you know? That would cause a problem.

Dismounted
27 Apr 2008, 06:58
The domain's new DNS information has to propagate around the world. This can take up to 72 hours.

dschips
27 Apr 2008, 14:07
It's been a week. There aren't any problems accessing the rest of the site. Besides, I can pull up the first page. It's when I click on any of the links that I get the 404 error.

It looks like the site uses a url rewrite system (I do this on another site) where http://www.domain.com/vbforum/f21/ is converted to http://www.domain.com/vbforum/forumdisplay.php?f=21. I tested this. Replacing 'f' + topic number (f21/) with 'forumdisplay.php?f=' + topic number (forumdisplay.php?f=21) does pull up the page.

There are other redirects, and none of them seem to be working. So there's a problem with the redirects. Where do I find that code? Any idea why the move would break this part of the code?

royo
27 Apr 2008, 14:10
That looks like vBSEO. Is it functioning properly?

WEBDosser
27 Apr 2008, 14:11
have you loaded your database with the backup you made from the other host?.

dschips
27 Apr 2008, 16:54
royo, I think you're right. I just spent the past couple of hours looking through the code, and found numerous references to vbseo and redirects. I went to the site and there's a forum for redirect issues. I'm registered there, but not as an owner, so I'll have to wait until I can reach my customer before I can post there.

I don't know why there should be a problem though, unless they use IP addresses in their code. But I'll continue this with vbseo. Thank you.