PDA

View Full Version : Private Messages Enhancements - Quote Post in PM


Makc666
29 Apr 2008, 15:27
Quote Post in PM

=================
Info:
=================

This product adds a new option in user's popup menu "Quote this post in PM to ..."
This option passes to the PM: the username of the post, post id, as well as the post title (if there is one) or thread title (if there is no post title).

Futures of this hack:
- There is option to enable/disable hack.
- The hack is fully translatable.
- The hack updates popup menu automatically using hook $template_hook[postbit_user_popup]. You can disable this one.
- The hack uses its own template "qpipm_quote". You can change it as you like. The variables: "$originalposterandpostid", "$originalposter", "$originalpostid" and "$pagetext" are used in that template.
- There is option "Automatically Quote Post / Thread Title". Setting this to "Yes" will automatically fill the title of new PM with either the thread or the parent post title, prefixed by 'Re: '.
- You can change 'Re: ' for both thread and post PMs. Search for phrases 'qpipm_re_thread' and 'qpipm_re_post'.
- You can insert the template of this hack manually anywhere you want in user's popup menu by using "$qpipm". Read "Notes:" below.
- You can translate this hack into your native language. Search for Phrases Containing "qpipm_".

From version 3.7.104 this product doesn't use some Boofo's copyrighted code from his hack "Quote Post in PM" (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=115315). without his permission.

- Use version 3.7.104 only with 3.6.8 or greater.

Enjoy!

=================
Installation:
=================

Install the product :)

=================
Administration:
=================

To set up the products options go to: AdminCP > vBulletin Options > Quote Post in PM
Make translation of phrases containing "qpipm_"

=================
Greetings:
=================
A special thanks goes out to Dismounted (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/member.php?u=86103) for helping me with hook $template_hook[postbit_user_popup] problems.
(http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=150769)
Thanks go to Abe1 (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/member.php?u=49809) for his comments.
(http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=150769)
Thanks goes to Boofo for his original hack "Quote Post in PM" (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=115315)

=================
Notes:
=================

If you want to insert this hack in templates manually:

1.
Go to AdminCP > vBulletin Options > Quote Post in PM
Set "Update popup menu automatically" to "No".

2.
Open Templates: (Note: there are two different templates to open!)
postbit
postbit_legacy


Find:
<if condition="$show['pmlink']">
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="private.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newpm&amp;u=$post[userid]" rel="nofollow"><phrase 1="$post[username]">$vbphrase[send_private_message_to_x]</phrase></a></td></tr>
</if>


Add After:
$qpipm


=================
History:
=================

v3.7.100 - 02.07.2007
- First release

v3.7.101 - 01.08.2007
- Just removed the code which is not needed any more if you have vBulletin 3.6.8 or greater

v3.7.102 - 17.09.2007
- Made phrase "qpipm_quote_post_in_pm" more comfortable for translation
- Fixed template "qpipm_menu"

v3.7.103 - 29.04.2008
- Compatible with vBulletin 3.7 Gold (may not work with Beta/RC releases)
- New options "USERGROUPS can use quote", "USERGROUPS not allowed to use quote", "USERS not allowed to use quote"
- New variable "$originalposterandpostid" introduced - it is returned with post number in it
- vBulletin function fetch_quote_username() is used now in generating user's name in variable "$originalposterandpostid"
- vBulletin function fetch_quote_username() is used now in generating user's name in variable "$originalposter"
- Variables "$originalposter" and "$originalpostid" was removed from template "qpipm_quote" but you can still use them there if you want

v3.7.104 - 01.05.2008
- New option "Automatically Add Title" allowes you to switch quoted PM's title at all
- New option "Always Use Thread's Title"
- Option "Automatically Add Prefix To Title" was separated
- Template "qpipm_menu" is more orderly nore without any changes in it's code
- From this version the product doesn't use some Boofo's copyrighted code without his permission

=================
Mark as Installed:
=================

Click Mark as Installed (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/vborg_miscactions.php?do=installhack&threadid=177502) to get an email when an update is released! :D

=================
Other versions of modification:
=================


[4.0.x] Quote Post in PM (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=237291)
[3.8.x] Quote Post in PM (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=207751)
[3.6.x] Quote Post in PM (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=151163)

codershark
29 Apr 2008, 15:39
Screenshots ?

Makc666
29 Apr 2008, 20:53
Screenshots ?
Screenshots were there from beginning :)

Hornstar
29 Apr 2008, 21:03
Part of me wants to use it and part of me doest still. I just dont want too much private convo going on, id prefer most of the discussion to happen in the forums, but it is a good hack.. thanks.

Makc666
29 Apr 2008, 21:10
Part of me wants to use it and part of me doest still. I just dont want too much private convo going on, id prefer most of the discussion to happen in the forums, but it is a good hack.. thanks.

This hack sometimes is very usefull for forum administrators when they want to point some user to his/her "mistakes" in some post.
You will have to make two click and you will be writing a PM to that user with your notes.

Makc666
30 Apr 2008, 23:47
New version:
v3.7.104 - 01.05.2008
- New option "Automatically Add Title" allowes you to switch quoted PM's title at all
- New option "Always Use Thread's Title"
- Option "Automatically Add Prefix To Title" was separated
- Template "qpipm_menu" is more orderly nore without any changes in it's code
- From this version the product doesn't use some Boofo's copyrighted code without his permission

SaltyOnionBalls
01 May 2008, 00:18
The following dependencies were not met:

1. This product is not compatible with version 3.7.0 Release Candidate 4 of vBulletin. (Compatible starting with 3.7.0 / Incompatible with 3.7.99 and greater)

? :(

Makc666
01 May 2008, 00:44
? :(
SaltyOnionBalls, why not to upgrade to 3.7.0 Gold?

But in any way if you want it on "3.7.0 Release Candidate 4" version then
open file "quote_post_in_pm_v3-7-104.xml" in Notepad and change:
<dependency dependencytype="vbulletin" minversion="3.7.0" maxversion="3.7.99" />
to
<dependency dependencytype="vbulletin" minversion="3.6.8" maxversion="3.7.99" />

Tom_S
02 May 2008, 00:23
Umm..didn't you kind of snag someone elses code? http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=169308

Makc666
02 May 2008, 19:34
Umm..didn't you kind of snag someone elses code? http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=169308
No.
My product no longer has anything to do with that product either on the part of the code, much less on the part of the functionality and convenience.

You can read the list of futures of this hack in the first post.
None of them are in the product you point to.

I hope you have to understand that most of the product on this forum has some intersects code. Sorry, but vBulletin uses unique variables that all Coders are using in their products.

Tom_S
02 May 2008, 22:58
If you say so. The code speaks for itself.

Makc666
03 May 2008, 08:38
If you say so. The code speaks for itself.
I don't know what your code speaks for itself. I know that my code no longer has anything to do with that product either on the part of the code, much less on the part of the functionality and convenience.

Big Boss
05 May 2008, 11:27
Thanks for the upgrade! :)

ArnyVee
12 Jun 2008, 16:57
This doesn't overwrite the 'old' version. Should we disable the old one after installing this one?

Makc666
15 Jun 2008, 21:10
This doesn't overwrite the 'old' version. Should we disable the old one after installing this one?

ArnyVee, if 'old' version is 3.6.* version, then you have to uninstall 3.6.* version and then install 3.7.* version.
If you already have 3.6.* and 3.7.* version, then uninstall both of them and install 3.7.* version one again. It is the best variant :)
But you canm also uninstall 3.6.* version and then re-install 3.7.* version.

newtsys
18 Jun 2008, 16:54
nice hack thanks clicked install

PoetJA-1975
07 Jul 2008, 23:55
Installed = Thanx ;)

Jacquii.

TheInsaneManiac
13 Jul 2008, 19:38
I like this, but it interferer's with ZH's modification "Default PM Title". I would REALLY love this modification if you could get it to work with that mod.

blind-eddie
13 Jul 2008, 20:50
I am trying to add this option to my postbit & postbit_legacy templates.
Next to the https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/external/2008/07/14.gif https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/external/2008/07/15.gif https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/external/2008/07/16.gif buttons.

I tried a couple of things, but cant get it to show, Any suggestions?

harlita
13 Jul 2008, 22:35
I installed it, it works and I do like it.

It would be cool if you could set it to postbit/postbit_legacy so that you can select a button next to "multi-quote" and have it just open up the quote in a "send new message" box.

PoetJA-1975
14 Jul 2008, 01:42
Hey Makc666 - you may wanna add the following into your plugin as per THIS THREAD (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=173660) so the qpipm_menu template is cached.

Thanx again for sharing ;)

Jacquii.

<plugin active="1">
<title>Quote Post in PM (3)</title>
<hookname>cache_templates</hookname>
<phpcode><![CDATA[$globaltemplates[] = 'qpipm_menu';]]></phpcode>
</plugin>

PoetJA-1975
14 Jul 2008, 01:57
I am trying to add this option to my postbit & postbit_legacy templates.
Next to the https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/external/2008/07/14.gif https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/external/2008/07/15.gif https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/external/2008/07/16.gif buttons.

I tried a couple of things, but cant get it to show, Any suggestions?

I installed it, it works and I do like it.

It would be cool if you could set it to postbit/postbit_legacy so that you can select a button next to "multi-quote" and have it just open up the quote in a "send new message" box.


Um - You should be able to simply find in your postbit and/or postbit_legacy template(s):
$template_hook[postbit_controls]

And input directly after it the following from the newly-created qpipm_menu template:
<a href="private.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newpm&amp;u=$post[userid]&amp;postid=$post[postid]"><phrase 1="$post[username]">$vbphrase[qpipm_quote_post_in_pm]</phrase></a>

To use your sendpm.gif button - the code will look more like:
<a href="private.php?$session[sessionurl]do=newpm&amp;u=$post[userid]&amp;postid=$post[postid]"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/sendpm.gif"></a>

HTH,

Jacquii.

blind-eddie
14 Jul 2008, 08:38
Thanks Jacquii, That worked like a charm.

PoetJA-1975
14 Jul 2008, 18:17
Glad to help ;)

Jacquii.

MissKalunji
15 Jul 2008, 23:13
I like this, but it interferer's with ZH's modification "Default PM Title". I would REALLY love this modification if you could get it to work with that mod.

I'm having the same problem anyone?

Brandon Sheley
15 Jul 2008, 23:52
oh, I was looking for this some time ago

I'll get it installed soon :) Thanks!

Artes_Marciales
16 Jul 2008, 06:15
Thanks!!!

**Installed**

Makc666
16 Jul 2008, 20:35
I like this, but it interferer's with ZH's modification "Default PM Title". I would REALLY love this modification if you could get it to work with that mod.

I'm having the same problem anyone?

I think I will go in another way.
In the next version you will be able to set (turn on) any default title for quoated PMs :)

Hey Makc666 - you may wanna add the following into your plugin as per THIS THREAD (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=173660) so the qpipm_menu template is cached.
Thanks for the his PoetJA-1975!
I will make so in next version!

I installed it, it works and I do like it.

It would be cool if you could set it to postbit/postbit_legacy so that you can select a button next to "multi-quote" and have it just open up the quote in a "send new message" box.
harlita, saying the truth I really didn't want to add such option in the past.
But...
As there is really not hard to code I will think for this one!
And I think I will use some default vBulletin's button.

MissKalunji
16 Jul 2008, 22:43
I think I will go in another way.
In the next version you will be able to set (turn on) any default title for quoated PMs :)


Thanks for the his PoetJA-1975!
I will make so in next version!


harlita, saying the truth I really didn't want to add such option in the past.
But...
As there is really not hard to code I will think for this one!
And I think I will use some default vBulletin's button.

Thanks :)

TheInsaneManiac
18 Jul 2008, 16:12
I think I will go in another way.
In the next version you will be able to set (turn on) any default title for quoated PMs :)

Awesome can't wait!

BucWiLd
21 Jul 2008, 13:00
installed thank you

MissKalunji
11 Aug 2008, 04:53
I think I will go in another way.
In the next version you will be able to set (turn on) any default title for quoated PMs :)


Thanks for the his PoetJA-1975!
I will make so in next version!


harlita, saying the truth I really didn't want to add such option in the past.
But...
As there is really not hard to code I will think for this one!
And I think I will use some default vBulletin's button.

ne news:)

gag girl
30 Aug 2008, 14:10
I installed it, but it doesn't show up...

Makc666
31 Aug 2008, 23:14
ne news:)
I remember about you.

I installed it, but it doesn't show up...
If you have a custom templates with out hooks from the lates versions of vBulletin you will have to make template changes manually.
There is a note in ReadMe about how to do so.

smirkley
01 Sep 2008, 04:39
A great addition and in my testing, I find I like the purpose of this hack.

Can I ask if the mod only apply to the username popup when viewing a thread or a post?

Right now it shows up wherever the username popup shows up, and its kinda pointless to have that clickable feature while you are currently viewing a PM or something other than a thread or post.

Great mod and appreciate it.

Makc666
02 Sep 2008, 06:15
Can I ask if the mod only apply to the username popup when viewing a thread or a post?

Right now it shows up wherever the username popup shows up, and its kinda pointless to have that clickable feature while you are currently viewing a PM or something other than a thread or post.
Thanks, smirkley for this note. This is not a right behaviour.
I think I will find an easy way to fix this one.

vithorius
20 Oct 2008, 10:50
Dear Makc,

I find this Hack SUPER-useful!!!

However, I need it to be available only on some sections of my board (I want to use it only on the Classifieds sub-forums)

Would you be willing to do some hacking around the code so that we could have some way to define in which sub-forums (IDs) this hack would be available?


(sorry my poor english, as my native language is portuguese...)


Thank you so very much!

vithorius
24 Oct 2008, 09:51
I need it to be available only on some sections of my board (I want to use it only on the Classifieds sub-forums)

Would you be willing to do some hacking around the code so that we could have some way to define in which sub-forums (IDs) this hack would be available?

Any news on this...? :confused:

vithorius
28 Oct 2008, 12:17
Dear Makc,


How could I make this hack available only on some sections of my board?
(I would like to use it only on the Classifieds sub-forums) :confused:


Thank you so very much! :up: :up: :up:

Sworm
02 Nov 2008, 21:56
Hi mack, great mod :D .

Is possible to add your code in the posts bar?

Will be more immediately!

http://img514.imageshack.us/img514/7677/catturaxt0.jpg

If no, is good too.

DieselMinded
13 Nov 2008, 01:31
qpipm_menu is uncached

Howell
13 Nov 2008, 19:00
qpipm_menu is uncached

Go to....

AdminCP -> Plugins & Products -> Plugin Manager -> Product : Quote Post in PM ->

Quote Post in PM (3) -> Edit

Add the following under $globaltemplates[] = 'qpipm_menu';

$globaltemplates[] = 'qpipm_quote';

;)

DieselMinded
13 Nov 2008, 19:06
I dont have Quote Post in PM (3) just (1) and (2)

Howell
13 Nov 2008, 19:25
I dont have Quote Post in PM (3) just (1) and (2)

Ahh sorry my mistake as I added it before I installed this modification.

You need to go to the bottom of the Plugin manager and click Add New Plugin

Then enter the following into each field....

Product - Quote post in PM

Hook Location - cache templates

Title - Quote Post in PM (3)

Execution Order - 5

Plugin PHP Code -

$globaltemplates[] = 'qpipm_menu';
$globaltemplates[] = 'qpipm_quote';

Plugin is Active - Yes

Then click save and all should be done. ;)

murekhalir
13 Nov 2008, 19:26
is there a way to make this on a button of the post instead of going through 'view profile?'

DieselMinded
17 Nov 2008, 15:39
Ahh sorry my mistake as I added it before I installed this modification.

You need to go to the bottom of the Plugin manager and click Add New Plugin

Then enter the following into each field....

Product - Quote post in PM

Hook Location - cache templates

Title - Quote Post in PM (3)

Execution Order - 5

Plugin PHP Code -

$globaltemplates[] = 'qpipm_menu';
$globaltemplates[] = 'qpipm_quote';

Plugin is Active - Yes

Then click save and all should be done. ;)

That worked great THANKS !!!

Makc666
09 Mar 2009, 02:04
Quote Post in PM Version: 3.8.105 has been released for vBulletin 3.8.x
You can find update by these links:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/misc.php?do=producthelp&pid=qpipm
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=207751

=================
History:
=================

v3.8.105 - 08.03.2009
- Compatible with vBulletin 3.8 Gold (may not work with Beta/RC releases)
- All Templates are cached now
- The image-link can be inserted in postbit and postbit_legacy templates automatically
- You can use your own titles for threads' and posts' PMs
- You can set your own PM's title for both threads' and posts' PMs
- New option "Use Post's Number in PM's Title"
- New option "Use Thread's Title even if there is Post's Title"

Sworm
09 Mar 2009, 09:47
Quote Post in PM Version: 3.8.105 has been released for vBulletin 3.8.x
You can find update by these links:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/misc.php?do=producthelp&pid=qpipm
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=207751

=================
History:
=================

v3.8.105 - 08.03.2009
- Compatible with vBulletin 3.8 Gold (may not work with Beta/RC releases)
- All Templates are cached now
- The image-link can be inserted in postbit and postbit_legacy templates automatically
- You can use your own titles for threads' and posts' PMs
- You can set your own PM's title for both threads' and posts' PMs
- New option "Use Post's Number in PM's Title"
- New option "Use Thread's Title even if there is Post's Title"

Hi Makc,
i have installed this post version on my vb 3.81 , i've need to uninstall this version before upgrade to the newone?

Thanks for the help.

Makc666
09 Mar 2009, 11:40
Hi Makc,
i have installed this post version on my vb 3.81 , i've need to uninstall this version before upgrade to the newone?

Thanks for the help.

Sworm, yes, just read the note below and uninstall old one, but don't forget to write down you settings for this product.

=================
How to Update:
=================

Any version -> v3.8.105

Write down your settings for this product in "AdminCP > vBulletin Options > Quote Post in PM"
Uninstall old version
Import the product
Set your settings back