PDA

View Full Version : noWhine! [vB_Dark] 3.7.2 HATTRICK!


KURTZ
05 May 2008, 17:45
First of all i wanna say that i've tried to contact the original creator of this style but unfortunately i haven't any feed-back about a new release of this wonderful style ... so i've only updated some icons that in the old style were missing, also i've put vmacedonia's (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/member.php?u=195070) new editor buttons (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=169714) and changed the main fonts of this style from verdana to tahoma ...

however ALL the credits about this style goes to weapon-x (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/member.php?u=75610) and like he said to Shelley_c (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/member.php?u=125355) for her superb images ...

you can find the (original) 3.6.x version HERE (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=165575)

Also i just tested this skin with the Validator (http://validator.w3.org/) with this result:
This Page Is Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional!



INSTALLATION:
Simply upload the 'styles' folder that you can find in the package in your forum root, then go into your ACP and upload the product 'noWhine!.xml' with your styles management.


LIVE DEMO:
FNIV - Federazione Italiana Videogiocatori (http://www.fniv.it/board/index.php)


USEFUL IMAGES:
Princeton's Post Icons for Darker Skins (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=148994)

understyle
05 May 2008, 19:53
Nice skin! Thanks! Mark as Installed

theOZer
05 May 2008, 21:04
Thank you kindly indeed, KURTZ. Very nice, very clean, very vB3.7 compatible.
~OZ
Installed.

theOZer
05 May 2008, 22:29
FYI: expand/collapse button is missing
In UserCP > Your Profile the expand/collapse button is missing in, for example, Mini Statistics, Friends, etc.
~OZ

TheInsaneManiac
05 May 2008, 22:31
Where is the banner lol?

theOZer
05 May 2008, 22:41
Do you mean your forum logo? I needed to copy things like that into the vB Dark /images/misc then change the style to use my forum logo.

Magnumutz
06 May 2008, 03:34
Why do people always have to copy something?
Titles, images, skins, everything?

KURTZ
06 May 2008, 05:59
FYI: expand/collapse button is missing
In UserCP > Your Profile the expand/collapse button is missing in, for example, Mini Statistics, Friends, etc.
~OZ

i've just updated the .zip file, i've already added 2 missing images ... check if all is correct now :)

Why do people always have to copy something?
Titles, images, skins, everything?

what do you mean? :confused:

Where is the banner lol?

you must set your personal banner url in the image paths in the stylevars options, obviously first you must upload your banner onto your FTP ... :)
(ACP ---> styles & templates ---> vB_dark ---> Stylevars ---> title image)

LagGuy
06 May 2008, 09:21
Great! My favorite color. love it, installed. Thanks :X

theOZer
06 May 2008, 15:33
FYI: expand/collapse button is STILL missing EVEN after using your updated .zip file.
In UserCP > Your Profile the expand/collapse button is missing in, for example, Mini Statistics, Friends, etc.
http://www.ozmad.net/forums/images/misc/vb_dark_missing_gif.gif
(That's the smallest I can get it using only MS paint.)

vB Blog owners FYI:
You will need to copy /images/misc/blog into styles/vB_Dark/images/misc.
~OZ

KURTZ
06 May 2008, 16:38
now i understand 'Ozzy' :p it's an IE trouble ... if you check that page with FF you should view all correctly (as i see)

theOZer
06 May 2008, 18:27
You're right, sort of. WhyTF is this a glitch in IE (IE7). I don't get it. I don't know how to fix/correct it, either. Smolly.
BUT, in FF, the expand/collapse button does NOT even show up. What?

KURTZ
06 May 2008, 18:29
i dunno mate, i only know that this isn't the only style that have this trouble with IE7 ....

theOZer
06 May 2008, 19:26
KURTZ,
You missed 2 /images/buttons/ collapse_generic.gif and collapse_generic_collapsed.gif.
I copied these 2 GIFs from images/buttons to /vb_dark/images/buttons and I now do NOT have an IE problem; the buttons now are displayed. Voilą!

And, the expand/collapse buttons NOW show up in FF.

Mrdby
06 May 2008, 21:48
so will this inherit all the hacks i have installed on my default?

theOZer
06 May 2008, 22:16
No. You will need to add hack template changes you made to your default to the vB_Dark templates.

Glovebox
06 May 2008, 23:39
Ok, how the heck do you center the title image?

theOZer
06 May 2008, 23:55
In your header template try align="$stylevar[center]" for your <img src="$stylevar[titleimage]"

Is that what you're asking?

Mrdby
07 May 2008, 00:52
can't we upload this under the image folder too?

KURTZ
07 May 2008, 07:09
KURTZ,
You missed 2 /images/buttons/ collapse_generic.gif and collapse_generic_collapsed.gif.
I copied these 2 GIFs from images/buttons to /vb_dark/images/buttons and I now do NOT have an IE problem; the buttons now are displayed. Voilą!

And, the expand/collapse buttons NOW show up in FF.

give me those imgs so i can upgrade the package ... thx :)

Glovebox
07 May 2008, 11:26
In your header template try align="$stylevar[center]" for your <img src="$stylevar[titleimage]"

Is that what you're asking?

Yeah mate, but it didnt work. :(

theOZer
07 May 2008, 13:52
KURTZ,
The "missing" GIFs are in the vB /images/buttons folder. You need to copy collapse_generic.gif and collapse_generic_collapsed.gif from the vB forum's /images/buttons folder to /vB_Dark/images/buttons. Ok?

And, reiterating...

vB Blog owners FYI:

You need to copy the current forum's /images/misc/blog folder into /styles/vB_Dark/images/misc folder.

~OZ

KURTZ
07 May 2008, 14:21
OK thx Ozzy, just updated :)

axg
07 May 2008, 23:15
Guys, this is an awesome skin. Something i have been looking for. I love it!

I have one question. How, and where do i edit the NAVBAR? I looked in the NAVBAR template, and i cannot find any of the links that are currently on the navbar. Are they located somewhere else now?

Any help is appreciated.

EDIT: Looks like i missed them, they are in the NAVBAR template. I hope i am right.. lol

Edit #2: Well, i incerted one link, and it won't come up. Any ideas? or can someone share their code to add the links please?

Looking to add a HOME link on the navbar. should point to http://www.site.com/index.php

thalador
08 May 2008, 02:35
It doesnt seem to be fluid. I am using 1900x1200 resolution and it does not fill the browser

axg
08 May 2008, 02:47
It doesnt seem to be fluid. I am using 1900x1200 resolution and it does not fill the browser

Yep, i noticed that too. How ever, it is wider than those fixed width ones i have seen.

KURTZ
08 May 2008, 09:04
Guys, this is an awesome skin. Something i have been looking for. I love it!

I have one question. How, and where do i edit the NAVBAR? I looked in the NAVBAR template, and i cannot find any of the links that are currently on the navbar. Are they located somewhere else now?

Any help is appreciated.

EDIT: Looks like i missed them, they are in the NAVBAR template. I hope i am right.. lol

Edit #2: Well, i incerted one link, and it won't come up. Any ideas? or can someone share their code to add the links please?

Looking to add a HOME link on the navbar. should point to http://www.site.com/index.php

CHECK HERE (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=172679) maybe this can help you ;)

It doesnt seem to be fluid. I am using 1900x1200 resolution and it does not fill the browser

Yep, i noticed that too. How ever, it is wider than those fixed width ones i have seen.

onto my demo board i've fixed this at 90%, but you can change this value by yourself ... anyway i've a 22'' wide screen and i see this totally fluid ... (1680*1050)

strotter
09 May 2008, 05:34
I am getting missing images http://www.gofastnews.com/board/styles/vB_Dark/iconimages/games_ltr.gif in all of my boards.

KURTZ
09 May 2008, 09:52
I am getting missing images http://www.gofastnews.com/board/styles/vB_Dark/iconimages/games_ltr.gif in all of my boards.

games?

Capslockman
09 May 2008, 10:56
Hello !

Great Style !! But can we have a Thanks Button Icon for it ??

THX in advance ...

theOZer
09 May 2008, 12:47
Capslockman,
You need to copy the Post Thanks mod's post_thanks.gif from /images/buttons to /styles/vb_dark/images/buttons.

KURTZ
09 May 2008, 12:50
also check THIS (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=163870) by Joe ... unfortunately i'm not a graphic so i can't release any button for this style ... i only released a 3.7.0 version but the credits are gone to weapon-x, shelley_c and vmacedonia ...

Glovebox
09 May 2008, 23:34
Anyone know yet how to center the title image? (the main banner)

theOZer
10 May 2008, 00:30
Glovebox,
I AM NO AUTHORITY ON HOW TO TWEAK vB TEMPLATES, but, from just dinkin' around in Style Manager, which you, too, are empowered to do, in the header template if I pop entirely the $stylevar[right] td, then change the $stylevar[titleimage] to $stylevar["center"] that puts the logo in the middle. This is just a how-I-did-it and may be totally unrecommended by anyone knowledgeable in vB. There is an extensive, well-put-together write up on Styles & Templates in the vB Manual.

strotter
10 May 2008, 01:26
games?

Not just games it is the image that goes before the individual message board title.

take a look gofastnews.com/board and then click on any of the forums.

Sean

theOZer
10 May 2008, 01:50
Your style is looking for: gofastnews.com/board/styles/vB_Dark/iconimages/say-what-you-want-shake-up/race-picks-opened-up-all_ltr.gif.
You need to 1) create the new folder iconimages in /styles/vB_Dark, 2) then copy that GIF into it.
That's my guess.

strotter
10 May 2008, 03:21
that is the weird thing, there is not suspossed to be a gif for that. it is simply the tree image.

theOZer
10 May 2008, 03:52
Where in your current style template is this GIF? It "works" in your current style, yes? Your current style expects /iconimages to be a folder in the vB_Dark style, I suspect.

ShadyMDUK
10 May 2008, 11:37
Silly question (well, I AM a n00b, lol) but what is the difference between 'fixed' and 'fluid'?

KURTZ
10 May 2008, 15:40
Silly question (well, I AM a n00b, lol) but what is the difference between 'fixed' and 'fluid'?

fixed means a skin that has the width 'blocked' to specific dimensions (most of the cases 1024*768), fluid instead changes its width by your screen resolution (if you have a 19'' with 1280*1024 resolution you can see the forum large like your screen) ...

ShadyMDUK
10 May 2008, 18:44
Got it. Thanks Kurtz :)

-=Leb=-
12 May 2008, 14:51
Very nice style :)

Mrdby
13 May 2008, 02:18
any fixes?

KURTZ
13 May 2008, 10:02
any fixes?

fixes for what?

-=Leb=-
13 May 2008, 15:19
I have a question.How do i put the logo in the right place?
The logo is on the right side and i still see the missing image

KURTZ
13 May 2008, 15:21
you must set your personal banner url in the image paths in the stylevars options, obviously first you must upload your banner onto your FTP ... :)
(ACP ---> styles & templates ---> vB_dark ---> Stylevars ---> title image)

like i said :)

-=Leb=-
13 May 2008, 15:45
Fixed, thx for your patience <3

Mrdby
13 May 2008, 19:32
fixes for what?
i thought people had problems with the files or something

KURTZ
14 May 2008, 09:04
i thought people had problems with the files or something

i don't think so ... i've released a new package ... i think that there are all the img that this skin needs ... ;)

Lyapko
14 May 2008, 11:50
very nice, good job

KURTZ
14 May 2008, 12:03
very nice, good job

thx dude, pls mark installed if you use this style ;)

Mrdby
14 May 2008, 18:54
i don't think so ... i've released a new package ... i think that there are all the img that this skin needs ... ;)

when?

KURTZ
14 May 2008, 20:00
when?

may, 7 ;)

thalador
15 May 2008, 03:39
onto my demo board i've fixed this at 90%, but you can change this value by yourself ... anyway i've a 22'' wide screen and i see this totally fluid ... (1680*1050)

How would I change the value to set it to be fluid?

KURTZ
15 May 2008, 09:40
just change the value in the 'main table width' ... ;)

PS. pls click installed :)

Mrdby
15 May 2008, 20:22
do you have the psd file of the banner?

thalador
15 May 2008, 23:07
just change the value in the 'main table width' ... ;)

PS. pls click installed :)

Thanks!

Mrdby
16 May 2008, 00:51
do you have the psd file of the banner?

:confused::confused::confused::confused:

KURTZ
16 May 2008, 10:51
do you have the psd file of the banner?

:confused::confused::confused::confused:

unfortunately not, mate :)

dadoc
17 May 2008, 00:33
Great looking skin thanks for the work

*Installed* Thanks

KURTZ
17 May 2008, 15:38
Great looking skin thanks for the work

*Installed* Thanks

thx mate, i saw that you use the 2.00, maybe is better if you download the 2.01, cause it has all the icons ...

vbengland
18 May 2008, 08:52
Thanks :)

KURTZ
20 May 2008, 07:58
Thanks :)

thx to you mate ;)

axg
22 May 2008, 15:32
Anyone know how to make the RSS FEED icons show up on the forums and threads? I have it enabled, but they are not showing up. Any help on this is appreciated. Thx...

KURTZ
22 May 2008, 19:07
check-out (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=176156)

Mrdby
26 May 2008, 12:34
Kurtz how can i add the banner to my vBadvanced CMPS v3.0 RC2 it's not showing up.

KURTZ
27 May 2008, 11:45
i think just upload your banner in the correct directory of your FTP ...

Mrdby
27 May 2008, 12:36
i think just upload your banner in the correct directory of your FTP ...

they have to be uploaded in the vBadvanced CMPS ?

axg
27 May 2008, 16:11
check-out (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=176156)

Yep, thanks Kurtz, after searching around i found that this was the only way.

KURTZ
28 May 2008, 10:14
they have to be uploaded in the vBadvanced CMPS ?

CHECK-HERE (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showpost.php?p=1518334&postcount=46)

NB. updated the thread title ... :cool:

Mrdby
28 May 2008, 11:07
like i said :)

its already set to this

styles/vB_Dark/dby.gif and still not showing on my portal page.

Mrdby
28 May 2008, 11:11
and when i add the path forum/styles/vB_Dark/dby.gif it shows up but isn't showing on forums..lol I'm not sure whats going on.

KURTZ
28 May 2008, 11:30
I'm not sure whats going on.

me too buddy :) maybe you haven't configured correctly the cmps ...

KURTZ
30 May 2008, 11:14
i've found a little glitch:

go to your:

Styles Manager --> vB_dark --> All styles options --> GO --> Table Border --> change the font color in whatever you want (i selected white)

CHEROKYE
31 May 2008, 11:45
Thanks great vB_Dark

KURTZ
31 May 2008, 12:01
Thanks great vB_Dark

mark as installed pls :)

KURTZ
04 Jun 2008, 20:10
just updated live demo link :)

DanceGavinDance
11 Jun 2008, 20:00
I fail to see the 3.7.1 version

KURTZ
15 Jun 2008, 20:48
I fail to see the 3.7.1 version

just updated the package ... ;)

KURTZ
24 Jun 2008, 16:32
06/24/08: package updated.

KURTZ
26 Jun 2008, 10:47
06/06/08: added blue & green versions

MjrNuT
26 Jun 2008, 15:58
These are installed. Thanks for making them work for v3.7.2!

KURTZ
26 Jun 2008, 17:18
you're welcome! ;)

CardMafia
26 Jun 2008, 22:39
excellent design, installed!

KURTZ
27 Jun 2008, 09:05
i'm glad about this :p thx

MjrNuT
30 Jun 2008, 21:23
KURTZ,

I ran into a glitch or something. I'm using noWhine! as the default style. Works good for the most part, however, I found that some of the button images are not working and I'm racking my head as to why.

Example//

NewThread icon image works fine:

http://www.flamesandash.com/styles/vB_Dark/images/buttons/newthread.gif

ClosedThread icon image is broke:

http://www.flamesandash.com/styles/vB_Dark/images/buttons/threadclosed.gif

I reuploaded the images files too.

All other images seem to work fine!! My buttons path within Style Manager --> Style Vars --> for noWhine! is

styles/vB_Dark/images/buttons

THe problem exists with your Green and Blue styles. The default vBulletin style is fine.

What do you suggest?

KURTZ
01 Jul 2008, 10:38
i think that for the green style the buttons path should be:

styles/vB_Dark_G/images/buttons

and for the blue should be:

styles/vB_Dark_B/images/buttons

anyway, i don't know what means that error that you had ... i never saw a similar thing ... now runs or not?

Mrdby
21 Jul 2008, 01:54
how can i tell what version i'm using?

KURTZ
01 Aug 2008, 13:54
i think you're using the 2.01 version of this style ... ;)

Mrdby
01 Aug 2008, 14:29
I Think i'm going to use all three of these styles. PERFECT!!!

KURTZ
01 Aug 2008, 14:40
I Think i'm going to use all three of these styles. PERFECT!!!

i'm glad about that dude ... ;)

giraffesyo
03 Aug 2008, 01:58
Reminds me of haste-network....

KURTZ
12 Aug 2008, 14:41
Reminds me of haste-network....

what? :confused:

stapler2025
23 Aug 2008, 21:53
Thanks Button customized for this style please??

KURTZ
24 Aug 2008, 07:37
Thanks Button customized for this style please??

unfortunately not, mate ... :(

stapler2025
24 Aug 2008, 13:52
PSD of the buttons then? or a blank button at least?

KURTZ
24 Aug 2008, 14:08
PSD of the buttons then? or a blank button at least?

dude, the buttons was made by shelley_c ... try to ask her for these things ... :)

axg
25 Aug 2008, 18:55
Kurtz,

Thanks for a great update of this skin. I am in need of a little help. Maybe you can shed some light into the problem i am having.

When a user is not logged in they see the following error, plus as you can see what happens to the boxes where you put the USER ID and PASSWORD into, plus the submit button just goes away. I do not know if this is in relation to the skin or not. But i have turned all my mods off and i still got the same error. So i am guessing it might be. Any help is appreciated.

https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/

TF-TM
30 Aug 2008, 12:07
nice skin =)

KURTZ
30 Aug 2008, 14:21
nice skin =)

Kurtz,

Thanks for a great update of this skin. I am in need of a little help. Maybe you can shed some light into the problem i am having.

When a user is not logged in they see the following error, plus as you can see what happens to the boxes where you put the USER ID and PASSWORD into, plus the submit button just goes away. I do not know if this is in relation to the skin or not. But i have turned all my mods off and i still got the same error. So i am guessing it might be. Any help is appreciated.

http://fortanelli.com/pub2/error_002.jpg

thx guys, pls click install if you use these skins ... ;)

@axg: i don't know anything about your error ... but i'm almost sure that this isn't a trouble with my skins ... cause you're the only with this ... try to check your hacks ... ;)

al2thero
02 Sep 2008, 18:49
nice

:)

Mrdby
16 Sep 2008, 23:51
3.7.3?

KURTZ
17 Sep 2008, 09:25
3.7.3?

yes ;)

nbaphenom
18 Sep 2008, 06:01
Nice skin ill be sure to download .

KURTZ
18 Sep 2008, 11:56
Nice skin ill be sure to download .

mark installed pls ;)

setishock
18 Sep 2008, 18:39
Hi Kurtz. Well I'm looking around for some new themes for my little anime site again. I'm going to take these for a test drive. If I keep them active I'll come back and mark them as installed.

KURTZ
18 Sep 2008, 19:18
Hi Kurtz. Well I'm looking around for some new themes for my little anime site again. I'm going to take these for a test drive. If I keep them active I'll come back and mark them as installed.

ok thx mate :)

nbaphenom
18 Sep 2008, 19:27
Okay i marked as installed is there a psd for the banner where do i find it also will my banner be in flash when i upload the skin please say no =)

setishock
19 Sep 2008, 21:56
The green and blue were installed and got a very good response from the members.
So as promised I came back and marked them as installed.
Thank you for making these available.
Now all I need is a red and silver or red and chrome and I'll be all set. VB ver 3.7.0

They both function well with vBadvanced CMPS 3.0.1

nbaphenom
20 Sep 2008, 16:53
Where do i get the fluid version like on your site mines is fixed i downloaded the blue one . Also how do i add a banner .

nbaphenom
20 Sep 2008, 16:55
Also what color code is it in the background so i can make the banner match? Since there is no psd .

KURTZ
23 Sep 2008, 14:13
@ seti: thx
@ phenom: just check the styles options ;)

Mrdby
28 Sep 2008, 11:51
so do we create new style? I can't update the one i'm using for 3.7.0

Mrdby
28 Sep 2008, 11:56
Ignore Style Version Use style file even if it was created by a different version of vBulletin i clicked Yes. Still showing 3.7.0

Mrdby
28 Sep 2008, 11:57
This file was created using a different version of vBulletin from the one you are running.

Your version: 3.7.3
File version: 3.7.2

KURTZ
30 Sep 2008, 16:48
i don't understand, i use this style without any trouble onto my site ... :)

Mrdby
30 Sep 2008, 17:42
so why when its selected it still shows 3.7.0 instead of the current version?

KURTZ
03 Oct 2008, 10:52
probably cause i haven't updated the xml ... but this isn't a trouble ... ;)

Mrdby
26 Oct 2008, 14:00
Where is the banner image located? I want to add my own banner :)

Mrdby
09 Nov 2008, 13:34
time to update playa

KURTZ
19 Nov 2008, 11:08
right now i'm really busy, maybe next week i'll release a new version for the 3.8.x ... :)

Mrdby
23 Nov 2008, 13:21
thanks

midweststreets
08 Dec 2008, 04:02
love the style, but i was wondering does anyone know how to change the regular members colors back to default? i imagine its in the style templates somewhere? i know about changing them in usergroup options but i have it set to a color so it looks good on all the other styles...

i mainly want to change the colors where it say Last Post By is.

axg
08 Jan 2009, 19:11
Any news on the update for 3.8.0? I am waiting for an update before i upgrade my VB to it.

KURTZ
23 Jan 2009, 06:58
just updated for the 3.8.x here: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=202790

setishock
15 Feb 2009, 16:23
Kurtz,
One of my crew asked for a red theme. As we had voted to trim off some of the less used themes no whine green was slated to go. But I just had to make a stab at making a red theme and I used no whine green as a starting point. If you want a copy of the style sheet from it just drop me a line.
http://animeappeal.com/forums/index.php?styleid=19

Prettyeyes4you
17 Feb 2009, 23:20
downloaded

Prettyeyes4you
18 Feb 2009, 00:06
this style is very nice