PDA

View Full Version : Forum Home Enhancements - Remove index.php from logo link


Golzarion
16 May 2008, 15:37
Remove index.php from logo link :

For better SEO we redirect all the similar addresses to one standard address . For example in my forum, all similar addresses like :

http*://forum.golzarion.com/ index.php
http*//www.forum.golzarion.com/index.php
...
all redirect to : http://forum.golzarion.com

but the link of logo still was :www. my site.com/index.php

What does this mode do ?

It removes " index.php" from logo link . Now when users click on logo the logo links them to the address of "www*.your site.com " with out any "index.php" on the link.

To remove " logo index.php " link :

go to header template ( admin cp =>Styles&Templates=>style manager=>all style option+>> header )

in header find :

$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]

and replace it with :

$vboptions$session[sessionurl_q]

then save the changes. and refresh your forum pages and see logo link without " index.php "

Please click installed (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/vborg_miscactions.php?do=installhack&threadid=179444) if you use this mode . thanks

[B]For more information see Post#4 (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showpost.php?p=1521916&postcount=4) .

Golzarion
16 May 2008, 15:46
First post . I hope it would be useful .
Special thanks to my best friend Shahed. (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/member.php?u=158832)

Magnumutz
16 May 2008, 17:44
And... this is better for SEO?

Golzarion
16 May 2008, 20:04
And... this is better for SEO?

Yes,I believe it !
As you know vBulletin has the addresses as :
"yoursite.com "& "yoursite.com/index.php" .

That's theoretically bad .That's bad because it dilutes your incoming links. some people link to " yoursite.com" others link to " yoursite.com/index.php"

You can fix it by using .htaccess codes and redirect 301. but it is better to correct all the internal links too. and prevent duplication addresses.

Golzarion
05 Jun 2008, 15:52
It works fine with all versions : 3.6.8 / 3.7.0 / 3.7.1 or higher .
And it is xhtml valid.

RHWiRED
07 Jul 2008, 02:43
Cheers!

mesdar
15 Jul 2008, 15:18
thanx

dadoc
20 Jul 2008, 07:17
Does it effect any links that I now have with the index.php already listed?

Brandon Sheley
20 Jul 2008, 08:23
it should be default ;)

and to dadoc's question.. you and everyone should 301 redirect the index.php to the root/ ;)

actually,, if you just add a redirect in your htaccess, you don't even need this template edit :D

Golzarion
21 Jul 2008, 16:45
Does it effect any links that I now have with the index.php already listed?

It just affect logo link ! but you can use the idea for other links too , ... and as said you can use redirect 301 for all links ....



....
actually,, if you just add a redirect in your htaccess, you don't even need this template edit :D

I'm Not agree ! Although it is completely correct that .htaccess redirects all the links, but it is more better that you improve and correct your internal links too !
why should we have an internal link to " index.php " ?? in logo or else where ?
I think it is an improvement but you can uninstall / never install if you think it is something useless !!!
but as I believe :

You can fix it by using .htaccess codes and redirect 301. but it is better to correct all the internal links too. and prevent duplication addresses.
and all said on post #4 (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showpost.php?p=1521916&postcount=4)


:)

Jase2
21 Jul 2008, 16:50
Loco, how should it be default? No offense, but you say everything should be "default". ;)

Golzarion
21 Jul 2008, 16:58
thanx

It would be appreciated if :
click installed (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/vborg_miscactions.php?do=installhack&threadid=179444) if you use this mode . thanks

Tidal Wave
23 Jul 2008, 13:36
I'm going to use this mod. Thank you :) I can't click install though yet because my website is still setting up and I can't install my vBulletin.

cheat-master30
23 Jul 2008, 16:57
Thanks, and installed.

Brandon Sheley
23 Jul 2008, 17:07
Loco, how should it be default? No offense, but you say everything should be "default". ;)

That all links that have /index.php on them, should just be to the root/
I don't know how to explain it any clearer ;)

btw.. I've maybe said 3 hacks/threads on the org, should be implemented as default.. I'm not sure what your talking about :rolleyes:

cheat-master30
23 Jul 2008, 18:34
What's wrong with asking for stuff to be default? There's a lot of mods here that should be, and those are just the small, practical mods.

Golzarion
29 Aug 2008, 09:14
Thanks all:up:
. I suggested here : http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=283314

.

roflwaffle
01 Sep 2008, 23:59
Thanks a ton. Been looking for this for a while. :)

Golzarion
02 Sep 2008, 09:58
Thanks a ton. Been looking for this for a while. :)
Please click installed (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/vborg_miscactions.php?do=installhack&threadid=179444) if you use this mode . thanks:)

appsfinder
20 Nov 2008, 20:15
please can you tell were the height of the default logo is stored i have looked in header

not there?

Pirat3
21 Nov 2008, 00:25
I have a custom theme and have this line:

<form action="$vboptions[forumhome].php" method="get" onsubmit="return this.gotopage()" id="pagenav_form">


in header, how can i edit this to do your hack?

Golzarion
21 Nov 2008, 14:42
please can you tell were the height of the default logo is stored i have looked in header

not there?

Sorry , but this question doesn't relate to this topic.You can ask on community forum....
But the logo picture stored on "images/misc" directory by default ... you can change the logo and upload with the custom size. Although you can write the custom code on header template and Determine the logo size exactly .

for example :

<a href="http://forum.golzarion.com/">
<img border="1" src="http://forum.golzarion.com/images/Naghsh/misc/logo1.jpg" width="935" height="110">
</a>

Of course change the links with your own site .

Golzarion
21 Nov 2008, 14:47
I have a custom theme and have this line:
.....
in header, how can i edit this to do your hack?

So it is not vBulletin default template ... Would you please put your complete "header template" codes here ?

momo2
23 Nov 2008, 01:25
very useful i never knew how to

Loki12
30 Nov 2008, 03:34
This "index.php" in the logo also annoyed the crap out of me. Thanks, installed! It should be standard, I agree.

Golzarion
01 Dec 2008, 16:45
This "index.php" in the logo also annoyed the crap out of me. Thanks, installed! It should be standard, I agree.

Yes. Thank you, but Please click installed (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/vborg_miscactions.php?do=installhack&threadid=179444) if you use this mode . thanks:D

cptrek
16 Dec 2008, 19:20
This is a good thing to implement.

Thanks for the walk through!

khurtsiya
19 Feb 2009, 16:59
This is good for SEO because Google gives PR separately to forum.example.com and forum.example.com/index.php:

http://www.skyscrapercity.com/ - PR6

http://www.skyscrapercity.com/index.php - PR5

But how should I change this if I have vBAdvanced on my homepage and vBSEO installed?

TIA

Michael

Alun Hughes
11 Mar 2009, 12:31
Hi,

I'm using v3.8.1. I made the change but I still need to link including the 'index.php' suffix. Any ideas? I get the default Appache Test page without it.

Many thanks,

Alun

Golzarion
15 Aug 2009, 15:38
I'm using v3.8.1. I made the change but I still need to link including the 'index.php' suffix. Any ideas? I get the default Appache Test page without it.
It surly relate to your server config... And do not forget to restart appache if you change the settings.
But no other idea. It works perfect on 2 of my forums.

farazfaraz
15 Aug 2009, 18:53
آقا خیلی سالاری
دست مریزاد
دستت درد نکنهو
سربلند باشی ایرانی

Golzarion
16 Aug 2009, 10:44
آقا خیلی سالاری
دست مریزاد
دستت درد نکنهو
سربلند باشی ایرانی

Thank you .

ممنون از لطف شما
:)