PDA

View Full Version : Moving Databases


OcR Envy
21 May 2008, 11:38
I want to move just certain tables(user, forums, threads, posts) of the DB to another DB, is anyone aware of a tool that will do this for me?

royo
21 May 2008, 11:41
PHPMyAdmin, or do it from SSH if you know your way around.

Dismounted
21 May 2008, 11:51
You should not copy over individual tables, doing so will most likely break your board! If you want to transfer users/thread/posts/etc., use ImpEx.

Marco van Herwaarden
21 May 2008, 11:51
You can not just move/copy tables, this will break vBulletin.

If you are trying to merge 2 boards, then use ImpEx.

OcR Envy
21 May 2008, 13:03
I suppose I just assumed it would transfer the whole table, I want to transfer users, forums, threads and posts. I'll give impex a shot, it shouldn't cause any dire problems with the original database right?

Dismounted
21 May 2008, 13:18
Just transferring the "user" table would break your board. Other tables also contain user info, which you would have lost if you don't use ImpEx.

hoopsta
21 May 2008, 16:10
Just transferring the "user" table would break your board. Other tables also contain user info, which you would have lost if you don't use ImpEx.

so I can't move my existing website with vb to a new server?

I'm getting a "runaway" ERROR on my current server. I don't know how to fix it and they are threatening to shut down my site.

royo
21 May 2008, 16:17
You can move your whole website to a new server, you just have to export the whole database, the OP is trying to do something a bit different than you.

You are probably going to get kicked out because you are using too much resources on your current server.