PDA

View Full Version : Little help: Rebuild Post Cache


raywjohnson
27 Jun 2008, 07:00
Greetings!

The board that I admin has nearly 5 million posts.

I suspect that I need to AdminCP->Maintenance->Update Counters->Rebuild Post Cache.

Should I disable the board before doing this?

Is this a processor intensive operation? (will it put a heavy load on the server?).

Thanks for any info or insight.

--RayJ

Marco van Herwaarden
27 Jun 2008, 08:21
Yes this is processor intensive.

But why do you need to do this?

raywjohnson
27 Jun 2008, 22:33
Yes this is processor intensive.

But why do you need to do this?Actually, I am not sure that it is needed.

I problem is with a modification that displays an icon based on there being info contained in a field:

<if condition="($post['fieldname'] == '')">
ICON_A
<else />
ICON_B
</if>

I was not working (due to a bug!). After I fixed the bug, the ICON does not change in older posts. (the newest ones work as expected). So I suspected that the older posts were being drawn from the cache.

--RayJ

ssslippy
27 Jun 2008, 22:38
If you give it time it should automatically update the cache. If it doesnt then run that.

raywjohnson
27 Jun 2008, 22:59
Thanks! I thought that might be the case.

I will just wait for it to update itself. (I would rather not force it!)

--RayJ

Marco van Herwaarden
28 Jun 2008, 12:18
Just clear out the postparsed table:

TRUNCATE postparsed;

Cache will be rebuild while posts are viewed for the first time.

raywjohnson
01 Jul 2008, 04:24
Thank you!

--RayJ