PDA

View Full Version : CPU Usage?


ALil'Hope
27 Jun 2008, 21:02
I think my host has a 10% CPU usage limit, but how exactly is it calculated? By how many people are on at one time? How much usage would a site with let's say 15,000 members, and 100-300 members online at once with a clean install and no modifications use?

Dismounted
28 Jun 2008, 05:52
Open up the Windows "Task Manager" and goto the "Processes" tab. You will see a column with "CPU", this is how much CPU a process (or "program", although one program may spawn many processes) is using.

It is (nearly) exactly the same on Unix-based servers. A process (such as your web server) will consume CPU cycles. You cannot calculate CPU usage simply by the amount of members/etc..

Videx
29 Jun 2008, 03:27
Of course, the total members is irrelevant. It's the users online at once that count.

Of more concern to you may be your host's limits on mysql connections.

You should be able to do 100 with no cpu trouble. Look in your admin cp at the load values and compare that to number of users online.

Marco van Herwaarden
29 Jun 2008, 09:16
You should be able to do 100 with no cpu trouble. This will depend on the server/processor/memory/other use of the server/etc..

You can not just name a number.

KURTZ
29 Jun 2008, 09:30
just wondering, but under windows it's possible see the server parameters? if i remember correctly this is allowed only under linux ...

Dismounted
29 Jun 2008, 13:51
Server parameters?

jstep
29 Jun 2008, 17:11
just wondering, but under windows it's possible see the server parameters? if i remember correctly this is allowed only under linux ...

should be easy enough if you have cpanel, I think most other hosting control panels show it as well