PDA

View Full Version : Shine - Professional style in black/yellow


Ohiosweetheart
02 Jul 2008, 17:09
Shine, one of my more popular themes, has been upgraded, and re-designed a bit, for 3.7.2. Shine offers you -
A built-in left side column
separated forum categories
Valid XHTML 1.0 TransitionalLIVE DEMO (http://www.themesbydesign.net/forums/index.php?styleid=90)


Installation Instructions -
Click on the "Install" button on the right of this post, then download the zip file to your computer and extract it (I put it on my desktop, it's easier to remember where I put it!).
Open your ftp client to your server. Go to your forum's images folder, open it, and create a styles folder.
Next, upload the Shine folder via FTP to your server, into the styles folder, so that your image path is images/styles/shine/buttons, for example.
After you've uploaded the folder, open your admin control panel on your forum, and import the xml file, by going to Styles & Templates > Download / Upload styles > Import Style XML File.
Click on the Browse button, locate the xml file for shine, and double-click it, so it loads in that box, then hit the Import button.The left-side column is located in the forumhome template. Scroll down to $navbar, and just under that you'll see the commenting for the side column. The title goes in the title block, of course, and your code goes where you see Enter your code, text, image here. NOTE, this side column is for forumhome only. It will not work on every page, and I don't plan to make one that does.

You'll find a blank logo in PNG format, for easy customizing.


Enjoy!

NAZIA
02 Jul 2008, 17:50
ONline demo

Please

Bad Bunny
02 Jul 2008, 19:25
Under "Similar Mod", I checked out the same exact design for 3.6, and it had a live demo. Ironically, the demo board was upgraded to 3.7
Here you go. (http://www.themesbydesign.net/forums/index.php?styleid=90)

James Argo
02 Jul 2008, 19:28
Thanks alot Peggy!!!

Installed on my testing server... soon to be in production server :)

Ohiosweetheart
02 Jul 2008, 19:38
crap sorry, I forgot. Thanks Bunny for supplying the link.
It's fixed in the OP.

Ohiosweetheart
02 Jul 2008, 19:38
Thanks alot Peggy!!!

Installed on my testing server... soon to be in production server :)

Thanks James, I'm glad you like it :D

ShawneyJ
03 Jul 2008, 01:27
Excellent

prince1111
03 Jul 2008, 18:44
is this working in 3.7.0?

noppid
03 Jul 2008, 18:45
Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional


I'm so proud! WTG!

Ohiosweetheart
03 Jul 2008, 21:43
rofl! Thank you! All of my 3.7 themes are valid xhtml :D

prince1111
04 Jul 2008, 15:32
Thanks....i install this skin..but in navbar serach & qucik links are not working...just only title
can u tell me what can i do?
Thanks agian.........very nice skin

My chatbox smile button,
post new thread-font,size ,color button no working....only title..if i click that then no working...........
sub forum button is not show...

can u tell me all answer!!

chennairam
05 Jul 2008, 05:44
I Install This Theme

I had More Error

Forum listing option is Not Good

Compare To Demo of you site my site is More Difference

https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/external/2008/07/87.jpg


Lines is Not Shows

Screen Shot Direct link:-

http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o301/chen_ram87/theme.jpg

PLs Help me How to Slove This Errors


Theme is Good

Regards
Ram

Ohiosweetheart
05 Jul 2008, 14:43
Good grief! You both need to uninstall the xml and re-import it. See of that works.
What versions of vB are you using?

prince1111
05 Jul 2008, 15:08
i am using 3.7.0

my opition button no working...i mean in post new thread bold,center,...working...but font,color,size button no working...........

chennairam
05 Jul 2008, 16:39
I am Using version 3.7.2

I done Uninstall and install Again

same problem for me

regards
Ram

prince1111
05 Jul 2008, 19:26
i did reinstall...now working fine...
but only suforum image is not show

i put some text in left side colum.now my header & forum width is different..how can i fix same width

Ohiosweetheart
05 Jul 2008, 20:36
Can you please post a link to your forum?

Ohiosweetheart
05 Jul 2008, 20:38
I am Using version 3.7.2

I done Uninstall and install Again

same problem for me

regards
Ram
sorry ram, I have no idea what the problem could be. Be sure that you are importing the xml file from the style manager, not by ftp. The way it's screwed up on your forum, it has to be a xml issue. But I've not heard of any problems with this style until now.

After you've re-imported the xml file, if you'd like for me to take a look, you can pm me with your forum url and admin access.

prince1111
05 Jul 2008, 23:19
look this

chennairam
06 Jul 2008, 05:52
sorry ram, I have no idea what the problem could be. Be sure that you are importing the xml file from the style manager, not by ftp. The way it's screwed up on your forum, it has to be a xml issue. But I've not heard of any problems with this style until now.

After you've re-imported the xml file, if you'd like for me to take a look, you can pm me with your forum url and admin access.
Hi

I Didnt Import From Ftp

I import Form Admincp only


just know i send you pm you my url


regards
Ram

Ohiosweetheart
06 Jul 2008, 06:18
look this

ah I think I know what happened. Darn variable replacement. Try renaming them to subforum_new.png, subforum_old.png, etc.
That should fix the problem.

Ohiosweetheart
06 Jul 2008, 06:20
Hi

I Didnt Import From Ftp

I import Form Admincp only


just know i send you pm you my url


regards
RamIt should be fixed now.

chennairam
06 Jul 2008, 06:38
Thanks Sir

Now Okey

But navbar is Small

But you Dome Url is ok


any way thanks

Regards
Ram

prince1111
06 Jul 2008, 14:14
Now working fine..............
Thanks

Ohiosweetheart
07 Jul 2008, 04:52
Thanks Sir

Now Okey

But navbar is Small

But you Dome Url is ok


any way thanks

Regards
RamThe navbar is the same size that it is on my forum. :)

Now working fine..............
Thanks great! Sorry about that.

verino
07 Jul 2008, 07:36
hello :D

I like the skin, but the problem is with the forumhome alignment.

See attachment

I tried to fix this by manually edit, from here http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=180937 but can't find what i'm looking for.

Any suggestions please ? :confused:

mrahul
07 Jul 2008, 11:07
Is this a fluid version or fixed one demo link gives forbidden error

Ohiosweetheart
08 Jul 2008, 04:11
hello :D

I like the skin, but the problem is with the forumhome alignment.

See attachment

I tried to fix this by manually edit, from here http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=180937 but can't find what i'm looking for.

Any suggestions please ? :confused:My apologies! This is something that I usually fix in my themes, and didn't with this one.

I've done so, and uploaded a new zip file here. If you will download the zip again and import the new xml, overwriting the old one, your theme will be fine.




Is this a fluid version or fixed one demo link gives forbidden errorIt is a fluid theme.

verino
08 Jul 2008, 10:41
My apologies! This is something that I usually fix in my themes, and didn't with this one.

I've done so, and uploaded a new zip file here. If you will download the zip again and import the new xml, overwriting the old one, your theme will be fine.




It is a fluid theme.

Ok, i will try the update :D

Many thank's !

verino
08 Jul 2008, 11:13
sorry, but the alignment problem in forumhome still occur, how to fix the width ? :D

Ohiosweetheart
08 Jul 2008, 17:20
sorry, but the alignment problem in forumhome still occur, how to fix the width ? :D

Very strange. I looked at it on both my forums after re-importing the xml, and it works fine.


Check your forumdisplay template and forumhome_forumbit_level1_nopost templates and be sure that this code is there. It is there in the xml, I just looked.

<td class="thead" width="3%">&nbsp;</td>
<td class="thead" width="65%" align="$stylevar[left]">$vbphrase[forum]</td>
<td class="thead" width="20%">$vbphrase[last_post]</td>
<td class="thead" width="5%">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
<td class="thead" width="5%">$vbphrase[posts]</td>
<if condition="$vboptions['showmoderatorcolumn']">
<td class="thead" width="0%">$vbphrase[moderator]</td>
</if>
If this is correct in both templates, try clearing your browser cache, and emptying your temp files.

Shazz
08 Jul 2008, 17:43
Your styles are so very nice, 5 Stars+++++++++

Ohiosweetheart
08 Jul 2008, 18:47
Thank ya sweetie :D

verino
09 Jul 2008, 05:09
Very strange. I looked at it on both my forums after re-importing the xml, and it works fine.


Check your forumdisplay template and forumhome_forumbit_level1_nopost templates and be sure that this code is there. It is there in the xml, I just looked.

<td class="thead" width="3%">&nbsp;</td>
<td class="thead" width="65%" align="$stylevar[left]">$vbphrase[forum]</td>
<td class="thead" width="20%">$vbphrase[last_post]</td>
<td class="thead" width="5%">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
<td class="thead" width="5%">$vbphrase[posts]</td>
<if condition="$vboptions['showmoderatorcolumn']">
<td class="thead" width="0%">$vbphrase[moderator]</td>
</if>
If this is correct in both templates, try clearing your browser cache, and emptying your temp files.

Hi

Here's the code in the template :

Forumdisplay :

<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<thead>
<tr align="center">
<td class="thead">&nbsp;</td>
<td class="thead" width="100%" align="$stylevar[left]">$vbphrase[forum]</td>
<td class="thead" width="175">$vbphrase[last_post]</td>
<td class="thead">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
<td class="thead">$vbphrase[posts]</td>
<if condition="$vboptions[showmoderatorcolumn]">
<td class="thead">$vbphrase[moderator]</td>
</if>
</tr>
</thead>
$forumbits
</table>

Forumhome_forumbit_level1_nopost :

<tbody id="collapseobj_forumbit_$forumid" style="{$collapseobj_forumid}">
<tr align="center">
<td class="thead" width="35">&nbsp;</td>
<td class="thead" align="$stylevar[left]">$vbphrase[forum]</td>
<td class="thead" width="175">$vbphrase[last_post]</td>
<td class="thead" width="65">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
<td class="thead" width="65">$vbphrase[posts]</td>
<if condition="$vboptions['showmoderatorcolumn']">
<td class="thead" width="120">$vbphrase[moderator]</td>
</if>
</tr>

Should I replace that with the one you give above ?

Thank's

Ohiosweetheart
09 Jul 2008, 17:54
Yes definitely replace it, in both templates.

replace this part only (it is identical in both templates) -

<td class="thead">&nbsp;</td>
<td class="thead" width="100%" align="$stylevar[left]">$vbphrase[forum]</td>
<td class="thead" width="175">$vbphrase[last_post]</td>
<td class="thead">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
<td class="thead">$vbphrase[posts]</td>
<if condition="$vboptions[showmoderatorcolumn]">
<td class="thead">$vbphrase[moderator]</td>
</if>


with this -

<td class="thead" width="3%">&nbsp;</td>
<td class="thead" width="65%" align="$stylevar[left]">$vbphrase[forum]</td>
<td class="thead" width="20%">$vbphrase[last_post]</td>
<td class="thead" width="5%">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
<td class="thead" width="5%">$vbphrase[posts]</td>
<if condition="$vboptions['showmoderatorcolumn']">
<td class="thead" width="0%">$vbphrase[moderator]</td>
</if>

Ohiosweetheart
09 Jul 2008, 17:56
I checked the xml in this download zip and the correct code is there.

yaoren
09 Jul 2008, 18:19
Nice skin, downloaded to try out on my forum, thanks!

Plan to use it since I really love it although I have a quick simple question. For some reason the whos_online gif isn't showing up for a couple hacks that would normally use it. I know this is most likely a really easy fix and I've done it before but right this second I can't figure out how to fix the issue. Any help?

verino
10 Jul 2008, 06:06
I checked the xml in this download zip and the correct code is there.

yes but the error still there.

strange .......... for now i uninstall this, until further checking :confused:

nice skin though ;)

just a thought, is it possible to make it fixed rather than fluid ?

Ohiosweetheart
12 Jul 2008, 04:54
Sorry it's not working for you. I've tried to duplicate the problem and can't, so I don't know what else to do.

You would have to make it fixed.

Ohiosweetheart
12 Jul 2008, 04:57
Nice skin, downloaded to try out on my forum, thanks!

Plan to use it since I really love it although I have a quick simple question. For some reason the whos_online gif isn't showing up for a couple hacks that would normally use it. I know this is most likely a really easy fix and I've done it before but right this second I can't figure out how to fix the issue. Any help?

I believe that the whos_online image for this theme is saved in .png format, rather than gif. Just looked better.

I know which hacks you're talking about. I've had to open the xml file, locate the image, and change it from .gif to .png. for it to show up. You'll need to do the same.

chennairam
03 Aug 2008, 16:00
Hello sir

How To edit Home Button Backlink

When i Click Home IN nav bar its Redirect to index.php

i want to change index.php To portal.php


pls help me

regards
Ram

Ohiosweetheart
03 Aug 2008, 19:33
Open the header template, find the nav buttons bar, then the home link, and change the address for the link.

setishock
19 Sep 2008, 23:26
I've got it installed but have a couple of issues.
First one is why the use of png files? I can't click the logo and get back to the index page when it's a png.
Other one is how do you code the side boxes to accept a picture? I'd like to show off a pic in the top box and some affiliate url's in the other two boxes.

Other than that the members like it.

Ohiosweetheart
20 Sep 2008, 14:39
I use png's alot because they look better on all monitor resolutions. But the reason you can't get back to the index page is that the image either isn't linked, or isn't linked properly. It has nothing to do with the image being a png, jpg, gif, or any other extension.

You need to know basic html or xhtml in order to put info, pics, etc in the side columns. If you want to place a pic there, upload the pic to your server, and use this code -

<img src="path/to/image.jpg (or gif or png)" alt="">

setishock
21 Sep 2008, 16:24
Ok luv, got it. Thank you.

Ohiosweetheart
21 Sep 2008, 17:19
You're welcome, glad I could help :)

Ohiosweetheart
05 Oct 2008, 15:25
upgraded to 3.7.3

bond010007
07 Oct 2008, 00:26
thank you so much i really like it and i hope you happy cos i mark it as installed ;)
this is my frst post here i hope you accept it my friend thank you

Ohiosweetheart
09 Oct 2008, 07:20
Thanks, I'm glad you like it.

maxie
29 Oct 2008, 12:47
i got problem in installing please see

http://img243.imageshack.us/img243/1739/snap1mp9.jpg

Ohiosweetheart
30 Oct 2008, 04:46
It doesn't look like your forums are separated into categories? I couldn't tell much from that screenshot.
If you want me to take a look, please PM me a link to your site.