PDA

View Full Version : End-User Options - My Links


blind-eddie
12 Jul 2008, 04:01
My Links

This will work with any version of vbulletin up to 3.8.7

Huge Thanks goes to Hasann (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/member.php?u=110224) for pointing me in the right direction. Also hats off to all members here for helping me in the past. You guys are great.

I have wanted to give my members a way to add their own links within the navbar. I tried many times to make this happen, but never could.
I searched for it everywhere. I have seen members here request it.
I used lines codes from Templates & Products to make this one.

Members Custom Links




Description: This Template edit add's user specified links in the QuickLinks Dropdown, that can be edited via usercp, in the Settings & Options Section, edit options.


Demo: Installed on my site. See screen shots

First, go to your admincp/User Profile Fields/User Profile Field Categories/AddNewProfile Field Category.

Title: My Links
Description: Here you can display links you go to on a regular basis
Location on Profile Page: Where ever you wish.
Click Save.

Now, you will need to add at least Two New User Profile Fields, You will need to duplicate these steps for each "My Links" link's you wish to display.
I made 6 links for my members, but this number can be any number you wish.
But, you will need to make twice as many User Profile Fields as the number of links you wish to display.

In the User Profile Fields Section in your admincp, click Add New User Profile Field

Profile Field Type: Single-Line Text Box

( All New User Profile Field Profile Fields are Single-Line Text Box )

Title: Link One URL

Description: Add link you wish to go to.

Profile Field Category: My Links

Max length of allowed user input: 100

Field Length: 25

Field Required: No

Field Editable by User: Yes

Private Field: No

Field Searchable on Members List: No

Show on Members List: No

Which page displays this option? : Options : Other
Remember this number each time you make a new user profile field.
Click Save


Example, each link you wish to show in your My Links section in your navbar takes two User Profile Fields to create.
One for url, and one for the name you wish to display in the link.

After you have completed all the User Profile Fields open your Styles & Templates dropdown in your admincp, Search in Templates, search for navbar.

To get this info, click installed & download the My Links text doc. :up:

The two xx must be the same number as the profile field you made for the URL Link.
The other xx must be the same number as the profile field you made for the link name you want displayed in your My Links section in the Quicklinks Dropdown.
Use that code above for each Link you wish to display, changing the profile field numbers as you go. ENJOY!!!



-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

blind-eddie
12 Jul 2008, 18:52
This is only a template edit & can be used on any version of vb. I will be cleaning up a few things on this (Learning everyday) and make improvements. Click installed to receive updates.

In the edit options Image above, you see I made mine With all Link to URL on top & All Link Names Below that.
To have example Link One URL & Link One Name With each other, Just make the URL Profile field first, Then the URL name
next, repeat these steps when adding more links.

Rideharder
12 Jul 2008, 21:08
This is only a template edit & can be used on any version of vb. I will be cleaning up a few things on this (Learning everyday) and make improvements. Click installed to receive updates.

In the edit options Image above, you see I made mine With all Link to URL on top & All Link Names Below that.
To have example Link One URL & Link One Name With each other, Just make the URL Profile field first, Then the URL name
next, repeat these steps when adding more links.


Sweet. thanks!

ahmedeldeep
12 Jul 2008, 22:43
nice mod

blind-eddie
12 Jul 2008, 22:47
I am glad you can use it. My members love it.

topspeeforum
12 Jul 2008, 23:55
Its not working right for me. It only displays My Links and doesnt show the info i put into the profile fields

blind-eddie
13 Jul 2008, 00:19
<tr><td class="thead">My Links</td></tr>
<if condition="$bbuserinfo['fieldxx']"><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="$bbuserinfo[fieldxx]$session[sessionurl_q]" TARGET="_blank">$bbuserinfo[fieldxx]</td></tr> </if>

Remember:
The two xx must be the same number as the profile field you made for the URL Link.
The other xx must be the same number as the profile field you made for the link name you want displayed in your My Links section in the Quicklinks Dropdown.
Use that code above for each Link you wish to display, changing the profile field numbers as you go.

topspeeforum, please click installed, Thanks

Mobo
13 Aug 2009, 17:13
This mod is exactly what I needed. Thanks for pointing me to it in the other thread. I do have one question though, how can I get this mod to work with this one... Additional navbar with dropdowns (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=166136).

I've used that mod to add the navbar2 above my site's breadcrumb/welcome block (http://www.wingsofwar.org/forums/index.php). I would like your mod to be in the far right of navbar2 (right about the welcome block).

If it helps, here is my current navbar2 template:

<!-- nav buttons bar -->
<div class="tborder" style="padding:$stylevar[cellspacing]px; border-top-width:0px; border-bottom-width:0px">
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr align="center">

<!-- Home link in navbar non drop down menu -->
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="/index.php?$session[sessionurl]">Home</a></td>
<!-- / Home link in navbar non drop down menu -->

<!-- Forum link in navbar non drop down menu -->
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="/forum/index.php?$session[sessionurl]">Forums</a></td>
<!-- / Forum link in navbar non drop down menu -->

<!-- Member List link navbar non drop down menu -->
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="memberlist.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[members_list]</a></td>

<!-- / Setup for down menu #1 in navbar-->

<!-- Setup for drop down menu #2 in navbar -->
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a id="navbar_search" href="search.php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="4" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[search]</a> <if condition="$show['quicksearch']"><script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("navbar_search"); </script></if></td>

<!-- / Setup for drop down menu #2 in navbar -->

<!-- Non drop down menu's in navbar -->
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a rel="help" href="faq.php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="5">$vbphrase[faq]</a></td>
<!-- / Non drop down menu's in navbar -->




</tr>
</table>
</div>

<!-- / nav buttons bar -->

<!-- NAVBAR POPUP MENUS -->






<!-- / NAVBAR POPUP MENUS -->
<!--####### end of navbar2 #######-->

I've not cleaned up some the comment lines at the bottom in case I need them back in there.

Thanks again!

blind-eddie
13 Aug 2009, 17:41
Look here (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=192565), this will help you to add My Links to your top navbar.

I will add the option to add this to top navbar with proper edits later tonight.

Happy editing.

blind-eddie
13 Aug 2009, 18:35
I have made edits for this to show a My Links Dropdown in the top Navbar on one of my sites with info from my last post.

I will post results after I return home this evening. Late for work now, gotta go.

ACiD619
13 Aug 2009, 20:59
Hey,

I don't know what to say I've been looking for this everywhere. Also, is it possible if it could show one Link One URL and one Link One Name and if members would like to add more links they can click ''Add more links''. I hope thats possible!

Thank you.

Mobo
14 Aug 2009, 05:59
I've tried playing around with the info from the link you posted and still not able to get it to work right. It breaks my navbar2 layout and does not add the dropdowns or any links.

Thanks for looking into this.

blind-eddie
14 Aug 2009, 14:36
I've tried playing around with the info from the link you posted and still not able to get it to work right. It breaks my navbar2 layout and does not add the dropdowns or any links.

Thanks for looking into this.

I used to use Additional navbar with drop downs, long ago. I prefer hard coding a additional navbar.
Like I stated in earlier post, I added this to my second, top navbar without issue.
I will re-install Additional navbar with drop downs to see if I can get this to work with it, but I don't think it will.
I like hard coding over plug ins for simple things like additional navbars.
Have you thought about hard coding a second navbar & get rid of Additional navbar with drop downs.

blind-eddie
14 Aug 2009, 14:55
Hey,

I don't know what to say I've been looking for this everywhere. Also, is it possible if it could show one Link One URL and one Link One Name and if members would like to add more links they can click ''Add more links''. I hope thats possible!

Thank you.

That would require a plugin.

You can add as many My Links, links for members to use, it will only show, in drop down, the ones they are using.
Lets say you have 10 spaces to add links & a member only uses 2, they will only show in drop down, the other 8 not being used will not show in drop down.

Mobo
14 Aug 2009, 15:12
I used to use Additional navbar with drop downs, long ago. I prefer hard coding a additional navbar.
Like I stated in earlier post, I added this to my second, top navbar without issue.
I will re-install Additional navbar with drop downs to see if I can get this to work with it, but I don't think it will.
I like hard coding over plug ins for simple things like additional navbars.
Have you thought about hard coding a second navbar & get rid of Additional navbar with drop downs.

Eddie, I saw you signed up on the site to have a look around, thanks. I would not mind hard coding a second navbar, but I'm afraid I really don't know enough about coding to really do that. I'm alright at hacking code and poking around with it until I figure some thing out, but that's about it.

blind-eddie
16 Aug 2009, 03:33
I will help you out as much as I can.

LorinPotter
27 Jan 2010, 16:16
Downloaded and installed, excellent addition.

Only one problem, it works as stated, however, it adds onto the existing link, see next line.

http://vulcanriders.us/forum/www.vulcanriders.us/chat%5Bsessionurl_q%5D

I want it to go from http://vulcanriders.us/forum to http://vulcanriders.us/chat and not just add the /chat to the end-behind /forum

Any ideas on this?
TIA

blind-eddie
11 Feb 2010, 06:24
I registered to your site, went to my usercp...You did not completely and correctly add edits.
Re-read instructions. I moved mine to my top navbar as stated in earlier post, but, it can be placed anywhere.
I will help you add it correctly if you would like me to, just pm me on your site.

LorinPotter
11 Feb 2010, 12:08
Just got back from a mini-vacation myself. I have no issue with setting you up as admin, but dislike having others do my work. Since you've pointed out the error, I'll give it a try and post back here with the results.

Thanks.

LorinPotter
13 Feb 2010, 15:57
I'd like to thank Blind-eddie for not only posting this, but his help and offer of more help when I had difficulty and entered in the incorrect information.

Working just fine on the test forum, which I'll transfer to the working forum soon.

blind-eddie
21 Mar 2014, 17:17
Updated to 4.2

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=309768

webnsn
29 Oct 2015, 18:50
Sorry i did not understood this ?