PDA

View Full Version : Show Thread Enhancements - Google search from profile keyword in postbit


NetRover
21 Jul 2008, 10:50
First step is to get the profile field you want search results for:-

To do use this log into you admin CP. Go to User Profile Fields | User Profile Manager and make note of the field name ie: field1

Second Step is to get your google search box code:-
Login to your adsense and generate the usual google search box with your adsense ads how you want them. If you already have adsense for search box I would generate a new one so you can track results separetly for this postbit mod. Copy the google search code.

Third Step
You need the url of your search results. All I did was create a new page in my html editor and pasted the code between the body tags and preview the page throught my browser. Peform a search with any keyword at this stage as you will replace this with your profile field. Copy the search url from the browser.

eg: http://www.yourdomain.co.uk/my-search-results?cx=partner-pub-your-id-number-will-be-here=FORID%3A10&ie=ISO-8859-1&q=yourkeyword&sa=Search#1123

Note:- The url I have shown is for my domain because I am having the results showing in my own web site. If you create your adsense code the normal way it will be google as the domain name.

Fourth Step
Replace yourkeyword in the url with $post[the field number you made note of earlier] as like field 1 below.
http://www.yourdomain.co.uk/my-search-results?cx=partner-pub-your-id-number-will-be-here=FORID%3A10&ie=ISO-8859-1&q=$post[field1]&sa=Search#1123


Fith Step
Place your final url with the field number as in step 4 into the code below replacing and including *** until ***

<div><if condition="$post['field1']">Search: <a href="***http://www.yourdomain.co.uk/my-search-results?cx=partner-pub-your-id-number-will-be-here=FORID%3A10&ie=ISO-8859-1&q=$post[field1]&sa=Search#1123***">Google $post[field1] Info</a></if></div>

and your final task:-

In your admin cp go to Styles and Templates | Style Manager and select edit templates from your used style.

Open up Postbit templates and edit postbit

Look for <if condition="$post['age']"><div>$vbphrase[age]: $post[age]</div></if>

and just place your completed code from step five below.

Searching two words:-

You could also combine two words from the profile fields with eg:-

$post[field1]+$post[field2] in the url

Alfa1
28 Jul 2008, 23:15
What does this do and for what purpose?

dreads
30 Jul 2008, 01:29
simple, it would help bring up your $$$ if u have a strong site.

I personally would redo it so that it would tag search it :D

NetRover
30 Jul 2008, 16:48
What does this do and for what purpose?

Hi there, it has helped increase my site revenue. If your users have useful profile fields then you have a great resource of paid adsense searches.

Depends if your users have some good profile fields that would make useful google searches.

NetRover
30 Jul 2008, 16:49
simple, it would help bring up your $$$ if u have a strong site.

I personally would redo it so that it would tag search it :D

I have not really used tags on my site and I don't think my members do yet.

Maybe something I should explore.

TimberFloorAu
30 Jul 2008, 21:54
Can this be tweaked so that a user can enter a search/keyword into their profile, which is then auto added to their postbit.

Or is this already done, didnt seem to be.. by what I have read thus far...

Perhaps I missed the ghist of it.

webnsn
07 Nov 2015, 20:17
Please tell me how it works?
For guests also work?