PDA

View Full Version : Forum Home Enhancements - Custom Forum Status Icon


spaziopc
02 Sep 2008, 09:39
Do you want to add a custom icon insead of boring status icon ?


Modify forumhome_forumbit_level1_post :

Search:
<img src="$stylevar/forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]" />
Replace with this:
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[forumid].png" alt="" border="0" />

Modify [I]forumhome_forumbit_level2_post :

Search:
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[statusicon].png" alt="" border="0" id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]" />
Replace with this:
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[forumid].png" alt="" border="0" />

Now UPLOAD your images in your /statusicon/ folder.
You have to name your image as: forum_FORUMID.png

The forum id is i.e. --> *** Link Removed ***

So i called the icon for this forum --> *** Link Removed ***

*** Link Removed *** (http://www.warez-bay.com/)

RobbieZ
02 Sep 2008, 10:03
Neat job..

Im using thread prefix's so my forumhome_forumbit_level1_post is this:

<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/$forum[imageprefix]forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]" />

What do i need to change so as not to upset it ?

macc
02 Sep 2008, 10:53
i do not see anything on demo page

macc

spaziopc
02 Sep 2008, 11:31
I'm going to install :P

OcR Envy
02 Sep 2008, 12:18
Demo page is Warez? tsk..tsk..

Magnumutz
02 Sep 2008, 13:49
The demo is already gone...

ssslippy
02 Sep 2008, 14:32
It is already possible to do this with vb 3.7

wwolf27
02 Sep 2008, 14:55
It is already possible to do this with vb 3.7

It says Version 3.7.x at the top, I believe that means that it is for it.

Digital Jedi
02 Sep 2008, 14:57
It says Version 3.7.x at the top, I believe that means that it is for it.
He said "It is", not "is it". Meaning, 3.7 already has the ability to use custom forum icons using the prefix option. Unless, I'm not understanding what this is.

wwolf27
02 Sep 2008, 15:03
He said "It is", not "is it". Meaning, 3.7 already has the ability to use custom forum icons using the prefix option. Unless, I'm not understanding what this is.
oo you are correct but I apologize for 1. not reading it correctly and 2. I was asking a question and left out my "?"......I wasn't trying to be rude or disrepectful. :o

Digital Jedi
02 Sep 2008, 15:05
I didn't believe you were. We're just terse sometimes. Easier to type that way first thing in the morning.

KrU$ty
02 Sep 2008, 18:38
this idea is great and easy to implement, but i can't see anywhere for new/locked forum icons?

Missing out on the new thread indicator is what's stopping me installing this one, as its the only real indicator of a new thread that my users use.

TonySkullz
02 Sep 2008, 19:41
As was said, 3.7 natively supports custom status images per forum with the prefix option in individual forum's style settings.

GSeybold
01 Mar 2009, 22:22
thanks tony
We're trying this now via 3.7 can you show me how the prefix path is supposed to look? I see the allowed examplecontent right below this option in 3.7 we have the right things correct we think but its not showing up.

Thanks a million