PDA

View Full Version : Forum Home Enhancements - ForumHome Category Spacing [3.8]


DaPro
03 Feb 2009, 01:35
This is a small port from what Floris and Zachery have written on Forum Category Spacing. I hope that some of you will find this bit of information useful.

Demo: http://forums.allurehost.com/

[HOW-TO] Fix Random "Last Post By" Widths:
Login to your vBulletin AdminCP
GOTO: vBulletin Options > "Forum Listing Display Options"
Fine "Last Thread Title Maximum Displayed Characters", change value to 15 or lessOR

In the instructions on Step 3 & 4 - Change the following:

width="175"Change this value to something higher to make sure it fits the varying size of your titles.Don't forget to click INSTALL (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/vborg_miscactions.php?do=installhack&threadid=166248)

Credits:
Floris - http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=110590
Zachery - http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=88983

Changelog:

v3.0 (January 24 2009)
========================
- Updated to Support vBulletin 3.8.x

View the 3.7 Version: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=166248
View the 3.6 Version: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?p=1048565

Ohiosweetheart
03 Feb 2009, 02:35
Fantastic. I was hoping you were going to update this mod. I use it will almost all of my styles.

Thanks!

RvG2
03 Feb 2009, 03:58
can you make for a TMS version...

redlabour
04 Feb 2009, 13:29
Any Screenshots or Demo?

AzzX
04 Feb 2009, 13:48
Works Great. I followed the instructions for the same features on vbulletin.com though it caused other documented issues.

A Great modification and a big THANKYOU DaPro. Working here: http://www.ozsource.org/forums/

killerkraft
04 Feb 2009, 14:22
Greetings,

If you noticed, you last post separator varies in width on your foruns.

That's one of the problems that make me not to put this to work.

Tagged in any case, until this problem solved.

KK

DaPro
04 Feb 2009, 14:40
Greetings,

If you noticed, you last post separator varies in width on your foruns.

That's one of the problems that make me not to put this to work.

Tagged in any case, until this problem solved.

KK

This is not a modification issue. I will make a post above on how to fix/address this.

Ohiosweetheart
04 Feb 2009, 15:08
Any Screenshots or Demo?

With this mod, rather than the default layout -

http://www.themesbydesign.net/forums/screenies/Image1.jpg


You get this -

http://www.themesbydesign.net/forums/screenies/Image3.jpg



and this -


http://www.themesbydesign.net/forums/screenies/Image4.jpg



MUCH better ;)

killerkraft
04 Feb 2009, 18:51
This is not a modification issue. I will make a post above on how to fix/address this.

Thanks, i will try the fix and the mod all togheter.

Then, if i like the result, i will clik install.

KK

Welshy2008
07 Feb 2009, 19:44
I tried this in 3.8.1 and it didn't work for me. all it did was to take away the table/border on my my main forum.

If someone with knowledge of this mod (as it is not supported) would like to take a look inside my template for me, I would be grateful.

Many Thanks.

Welshy2008
07 Feb 2009, 19:47
** ADDITION **

I clicked on the " Don't forget to click INSTALL and it took me to the 3.70 Beta version of this and put me down and "Installed on that one".

WEBDosser
07 Feb 2009, 20:35
I tried this in 3.8.1 and it didn't work for me. all it did was to take away the table/border on my my main forum.

If someone with knowledge of this mod (as it is not supported) would like to take a look inside my template for me, I would be grateful.

Many Thanks.

go take a look at the test forum on your site.. :)

Nantrox
09 Feb 2009, 10:03
this is pretty simple but has a huge effect !! I love it, thanks for sharing..

vBDesignerz
19 Feb 2009, 21:43
thanks alot!

Ohiosweetheart
22 Feb 2009, 22:23
Works fine for me on 3.8.1

TimberFloorAu
23 Feb 2009, 22:46
Mate tried this but , what I am after is , as per your demo, you have collapsible forumbits on forumhome page. ( each forum category is collapsible )

I am desperate for this feature on our forum, but cant seem to find the code. Can you help please.

vBDesignerz
23 Feb 2009, 23:53
^^i was confused at first, but download the attachment, thats the codes you require
good luck

Ohiosweetheart
02 Mar 2009, 01:00
DaPro, your demo link doesn't show the side column. :)

JohnBee
05 Mar 2009, 09:22
Big fan of your MOD!

1Q. Is it possible to make the bottom table surround thin like at vb.org?

UberDoober
13 Mar 2009, 16:18
INSTALLED!

With things switched around, the gradients on my category strips needed to be revised a little to look good above the Forum-Last Posts-Threads bar but otherwise, I love this mod. My board cries out now for rounded t-cats! :rolleyes:

Still not quite happy with my gradients yet but have a look: www.dooberville.com/forums (http://www.dooberville.com/forums;)

Thanks!

bennzy
21 Mar 2009, 10:05
i justed edited the templates and turned out like this, what am i doing wrong?

WEBDosser
21 Mar 2009, 10:32
still has the uneven tables in i see.

flussmitteldj
22 Mar 2009, 14:59
Hello,

I have a problem:

With firefox great and with I-Net explorer Bad


what is that?

UberDoober
11 Apr 2009, 19:00
I've got some strangeness I didn't notice up until yesterday. My Last Post column is a different width in different categories. Two are the same but the other two are unique. I can't find why they would be different?

www.dooberville.com/forums (http://www.dooberville.com/forums)

forumsonsuz
16 Apr 2009, 17:09
arkadaşlar biri türkçe çevirebilirmi bunu

Vinyljunky
18 Apr 2009, 10:26
can you make for a TMS version...

I'd like that too :)

Thanks

VJ

napy8gen
21 Apr 2009, 17:37
Hi Dapro. Have you solved the sub-forum issue/bug: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=166248&page=3

Black Tiger
26 Apr 2009, 01:41
Seens great to me but:
Fine "Last Thread Title Maximum Displayed Characters", change value to 15 or less

I want this to be minimum 20 or 25. Is that possible?

napy8gen
26 Apr 2009, 21:14
i justed edited the templates and turned out like this, what am i doing wrong?

you must have a forum that act as category and child forums under it. So you must check back you forum setting.

trotskid
11 May 2009, 23:25
Awesome hack :up:, and looks prety nice on my forum´s default style.

http://www.titanesdc.com/foros/index.php?styleid=1

In order to align the "last posts" column I've used these parameters:

on forumhome_forumbit_level1_nopost and forumhome_forumbit_level2_post:

<td class="thead" width="260">$vbphrase[last_post]</td>
<td class="thead" width="40">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
<td class="thead" width="40">$vbphrase[posts]</td>

<td class="alt2" width="260">$forum[lastpostinfo]</td>
<td class="alt1" width="40">$forum[threadcount]</td>
<td class="alt2" width="40">$forum[replycount]</td>

And in the Last Thread Title Maximum Displayed Characters the value of 30

DJ29Joesph
19 May 2009, 18:14
Have a question. You want me to replace all of Main section with just two lines.
<!-- main -->
$forumbits
$forumhome_markread_script
<!-- /main -->

If not you need to clearify that.

Aarmin
29 May 2009, 17:43
Just reliezd that I goofed! :D

Works great, thanks!

rtyagis
31 May 2009, 07:28
Works fine for me in 3.8.2
Thanks!! :up:

Jubei
03 Jun 2009, 15:00
Big fan of your MOD!

1Q. Is it possible to make the bottom table surround thin like at vb.org?

^^ What this guy said. How would we do that??

RedHotChili
05 Jun 2009, 23:19
This seems to work okay for me in FF 3.0 and Google Chrome, with the exception of the Last Post column being wider than usual.

But it doesn't seem to work very well at all with IE7. The first column of the tables that shows post status (new/old posts) in forum is all over the place. Seems like there's nothing controlling the first cell width. Similar problem here too with the Last Post column width, it's wider than usual.

Anybody have any idea what might be going on?

Raug
06 Jun 2009, 08:18
I was wondering if there was a way to fix this issue when dealing with subforums.

100205

Where there's an extra forums, last post, etc. row above the subforum.

This seems to work okay for me in FF 3.0 and Google Chrome, with the exception of the Last Post column being wider than usual.

But it doesn't seem to work very well at all with IE7. The first column of the tables that shows post status (new/old posts) in forum is all over the place. Seems like there's nothing controlling the first cell width. Similar problem here too with the Last Post column width, it's wider than usual.

Anybody have any idea what might be going on?

You can try something like this in forumhome_forumbit_level1_nopost and adjust the %'s as you like.

<td class="thead" width="5%">&nbsp;</td>
<td class="thead" width="56%" align="$stylevar[left]">$vbphrase[forum]</td>
<td class="thead" width="25%">$vbphrase[last_post]</td>
<td class="thead" width="7%">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
<td class="thead" width="7%">$vbphrase[posts]</td>
<if condition="$vboptions['showmoderatorcolumn']">
<td class="thead" width="0%">$vbphrase[moderator]</td>

RedHotChili
06 Jun 2009, 17:20
I was wondering if there was a way to fix this issue when dealing with subforums.

100205

Where there's an extra forums, last post, etc. row above the subforum.



You can try something like this in forumhome_forumbit_level1_nopost and adjust the %'s as you like.

<td class="thead" width="5%">&nbsp;</td>
<td class="thead" width="56%" align="$stylevar[left]">$vbphrase[forum]</td>
<td class="thead" width="25%">$vbphrase[last_post]</td>
<td class="thead" width="7%">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
<td class="thead" width="7%">$vbphrase[posts]</td>
<if condition="$vboptions['showmoderatorcolumn']">
<td class="thead" width="0%">$vbphrase[moderator]</td>

Thanks so much. I really appreciate the help. :up:

MonCher
12 Jun 2009, 08:35
I am just so new to this and I was really afraid to try installing this. I actually closed my eyes when I had to look at the results. I thought my entire home page would be gone. I actually just followed your instructions and was so please with the results... thank you! I noticed my side tables have re-adjusted a little and I'm not sure how to fix them. But, I'll have the person who installed them adjust them for me. I'm so glad I tried this for myself. Thanks again. Hopefully, it will be the same in the morning. :D

sicSRT8
15 Jun 2009, 23:35
Great mod Thank you!

Samish
17 Aug 2009, 17:43
it has made my thread and posts column wider... how do i make smaller?

willy888
17 Aug 2009, 19:20
works fine in 3.8.4
Thanks for this better look

Bolosh
11 Sep 2009, 20:42
N/m... someone answered my question in another thread...

I was able to get this mod to work in 3.8.4, works great thanks!

dieselpowered
16 Oct 2009, 02:20
Works like a champ on 3.8.4! Thanks.

BrotherX
19 Oct 2009, 18:10
This mod don't work like it must be, it have one issue which is unfixible, so please stop writing it work, when it don't. After you install this mod, all columns will be different size, depends from forum category to forum category, including for those who posts links here for last posts column, even one give us width sizes, when I clicked on his forum, last posts columns are different sizes (IE 7 and IE8) depend on which cats we are talking about.

So main advice, do not install this mod, and do not write is OK, when is not near to be OK. It is disaster.

dieselpowered
20 Oct 2009, 04:32
This mod don't work like it must be, it have one issue which is unfixible, so please stop writing it work, when it don't. After you install this mod, all columns will be different size, depends from forum category to forum category, including for those who posts links here for last posts column, even one give us width sizes, when I clicked on his forum, last posts columns are different sizes (IE 7 and IE8) depend on which cats we are talking about.

So main advice, do not install this mod, and do not write is OK, when is not near to be OK. It is disaster.
Don't know what to tell you...I made some edits to the field widths and it works just fine.

COL NIL SATIS
21 Oct 2009, 16:42
reserved !!!! looks like theres quite a few having probs with this so i for now will not touch it!!

COL NIL SATIS
22 Oct 2009, 21:58
WOW WOW WOW..just done that as it said in the book and also closed my eyes cos that was tough!! looks amazing..thanks for this guys spot on

BioX
31 Oct 2009, 17:11
Im sorry for asking but, is there a way to change the spacing size ?? If so what must you edit ?

Nightridr
05 Nov 2009, 11:49
thanks

testbot
08 Dec 2009, 13:14
there's no way to make an xml for this? it would be huge if so.

jankoalek
10 Jan 2010, 18:04
Best spacing for now, and html validation passed...
Good work!

mradlin
11 Jan 2010, 14:04
I was wondering if there was a way to fix this issue when dealing with subforums.

100205

Where there's an extra forums, last post, etc. row above the subforum.



You can try something like this in forumhome_forumbit_level1_nopost and adjust the %'s as you like.

<td class="thead" width="5%">&nbsp;</td>
<td class="thead" width="56%" align="$stylevar[left]">$vbphrase[forum]</td>
<td class="thead" width="25%">$vbphrase[last_post]</td>
<td class="thead" width="7%">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
<td class="thead" width="7%">$vbphrase[posts]</td>
<if condition="$vboptions['showmoderatorcolumn']">
<td class="thead" width="0%">$vbphrase[moderator]</td>

This worked for me.

Thanks

tommyxv
12 Mar 2010, 21:04
Just thought I would post this for anyone who updates to 3.8.5....you will get an error when you click on the Mark Forums Read link..... here is the fix:



STEP 2A should now be:

<tbody>
<tr>
<td class="tfoot" align="center" colspan="<if condition="$vboptions['showmoderatorcolumn']">6<else />5</if>"><div class="smallfont"><strong>
<a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]do=markread&amp;markreadhash=$bbuserinfo[securitytoken]" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[mark_forums_read]</a>
<if condition="$vboptions['forumleaders']">&nbsp; &nbsp;
<a href="showgroups.php$session[sessionurl_q]" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[view_forum_leaders]</a></if>
</strong></div></td>
</tr>
</tbody>
</table>
<br />
<!-- end what's going on box -->

yamahapaul
13 Mar 2010, 12:53
Just thought I would post this for anyone who updates to 3.8.5....you will get an error when you click on the Mark Forums Read link..... here is the fix:


Thanks for the fix to this Tommy, I've just modified mine now :up: even tho I originally did mine off VB.com but it was all over the place, ie if you get this you then need to change so and so etc but I followed it throughto the end.

To make it easy for anyone who wants to do this here's an easy way and how mine is (sorry for not explaining the whys and wherefors etc but this is a simple fix for people who aren't bothered about how it was achieved etc)

In forum home template, replace everything with this-

$stylevar[htmldoctype]
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" dir="$stylevar[textdirection]" lang="$stylevar[languagecode]">
<head>
<!-- no cache headers -->
<meta http-equiv="Pragma" content="no-cache" />
<meta http-equiv="Expires" content="-1" />
<meta http-equiv="Cache-Control" content="no-cache" />
<!-- end no cache headers -->
$headinclude
<title><phrase 1="$vboptions[bbtitle]">$vbphrase[x_powered_by_vbulletin]</phrase></title>
</head>
<body>
$header
$navbar

<if condition="$show['guest']">
<!-- guest welcome message -->
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr>
<td class="tcat"><phrase 1="$vboptions[bbtitle]">$vbphrase[welcome_to_the_x]</phrase></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="alt1">
<phrase 1="faq.php$session[sessionurl_q]" 2="register.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[first_visit_message]</phrase>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
<!-- / guest welcome message -->
<br />
</if>

<!-- main -->
$forumbits
$forumhome_markread_script
<!-- /main -->

$ad_location[ad_forumhome_afterforums]
<br />
<!-- what's going on box -->
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<thead>
<tr>
<td class="tcat" colspan="2">$vbphrase[whats_going_on]</td>
</tr>
</thead>
$template_hook[forumhome_wgo_pos1]
<if condition="$show['loggedinusers']">
<!-- logged-in users -->
<tbody>
<tr>
<td class="thead" colspan="2">
<a style="float:$stylevar[right]" href="#top" onclick="return toggle_collapse('forumhome_activeusers')"><img id="collapseimg_forumhome_activeusers" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/collapse_thead$vbcollapse[collapseimg_forumhome_activeusers].gif" alt="" border="0" /></a>
<a href="online.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[currently_active_users]</a>: $totalonline (<phrase 1="$numberregistered" 2="$numberguest">$vbphrase[x_members_and_y_guests]</phrase>)
</td>
</tr>
</tbody>
<tbody id="collapseobj_forumhome_activeusers" style="$vbcollapse[collapseobj_forumhome_activeusers]">
<tr>
<td class="alt2"><a href="online.php$session[sessionurl_q]"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/whos_online.gif" alt="$vbphrase[view_whos_online]" border="0" /></a></td>
<td class="alt1" width="100%">
<div class="smallfont">
<div style="white-space: nowrap"><phrase 1="$recordusers" 2="$recorddate" 3="$recordtime">$vbphrase[most_users_ever_online_was_x_y_at_z]</phrase></div>
<div>$activeusers</div>
</div>
</td>
</tr>
</tbody>
<!-- end logged-in users -->
</if>
$template_hook[forumhome_wgo_pos2]
<tbody>
<tr>
<td class="thead" colspan="2">
<a style="float:$stylevar[right]" href="#top" onclick="return toggle_collapse('forumhome_stats')"><img id="collapseimg_forumhome_stats" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/collapse_thead$vbcollapse[collapseimg_forumhome_stats].gif" alt="" border="0" /></a>
<phrase 1="$vboptions[bbtitle]">$vbphrase[x_statistics]</phrase>
</td>
</tr>
</tbody>
<tbody id="collapseobj_forumhome_stats" style="$vbcollapse[collapseobj_forumhome_stats]">
<tr>
<td class="alt2"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/stats.gif" alt="<phrase 1="$vboptions[bbtitle]">$vbphrase[x_statistics]</phrase>" border="0" /></td>
<td class="alt1" width="100%">
<div class="smallfont">
<div>
$vbphrase[threads]: $totalthreads,
$vbphrase[posts]: $totalposts,
$vbphrase[members]: $numbermembers<if condition="$show['activemembers']">,
<span title="<phrase 1="$vboptions[activememberdays]">$vbphrase[within_the_last_x_days]</phrase>">$vbphrase[active_members]: $activemembers</span>
</if>
</div>
<div><phrase 1="member.php?$session[sessionurl]u=$newuserid" 2="$newusername">$vbphrase[welcome_to_our_newest_member_x]</phrase></div>
$template_hook[forumhome_wgo_stats]
</div>
</td>
</tr>
</tbody>
$template_hook[forumhome_wgo_pos3]
<if condition="$show['birthdays']">
<!-- today's birthdays -->
<tbody>
<tr>
<td class="thead" colspan="2">
<a style="float:$stylevar[right]" href="#top" onclick="return toggle_collapse('forumhome_birthdays')"><img id="collapseimg_forumhome_birthdays" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/collapse_thead$vbcollapse[collapseimg_forumhome_birthdays].gif" alt="" border="0" /></a>
$vbphrase[todays_birthdays]
</td>
</tr>
</tbody>
<tbody id="collapseobj_forumhome_birthdays" style="$vbcollapse[collapseobj_forumhome_birthdays]">
<tr>
<td class="alt2"><a href="calendar.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getday&amp;day=$today&amp;sb=1"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/birthday.gif" alt="$vbphrase[view_birthdays]" border="0" /></a></td>
<td class="alt1" width="100%"><div class="smallfont">$birthdays</div></td>
</tr>
</tbody>
<!-- end today's birthdays -->
</if>
$template_hook[forumhome_wgo_pos4]
<if condition="$show['upcomingevents']">
<tbody>
<tr>
<td class="thead" colspan="2">
<a style="float:$stylevar[right]" href="#top" onclick="return toggle_collapse('forumhome_events')"><img id="collapseimg_forumhome_events" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/collapse_thead$vbcollapse[collapseimg_forumhome_events].gif" alt="" border="0" /></a>
<if condition="$show['todaysevents']">$vbphrase[todays_events]<else /><phrase 1="$vboptions[showevents]">$vbphrase[upcoming_events_for_the_next_x_days]</phrase></if>
</td>
</tr>
</tbody>
<tbody id="collapseobj_forumhome_events" style="$vbcollapse[collapseobj_forumhome_events]">
<tr>
<td class="alt2"><a href="calendar.php$session[sessionurl_q]"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/calendar.gif" alt="$vbphrase[calendar]" border="0" /></a></td>
<td class="alt1" width="100%"><div class="smallfont">$upcomingevents</div></td>
</tr>
</tbody>
</if>
$template_hook[forumhome_wgo_pos5]
<tbody>
<tr>
<td class="tfoot" align="center" colspan="<if condition="$vboptions['showmoderatorcolumn']">6<else />5</if>"><div class="smallfont"><strong>
<a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]do=markread&amp;markreadhash=$bbuserinfo[securitytoken]" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[mark_forums_read]</a>
<if condition="$vboptions['forumleaders']">&nbsp; &nbsp;
<a href="showgroups.php$session[sessionurl_q]" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[view_forum_leaders]</a></if>
</strong></div></td>
</tr>
</tbody>
</table>
<br />
<!-- end what's going on box -->

<!-- icons and login code -->
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="2" border="0" width="100%">
<tr valign="bottom">
<td>
<table cellpadding="2" cellspacing="0" border="0">
<tr>
<td><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_new.gif" alt="$vbphrase[contains_new_posts]" border="0" /></td>
<td class="smallfont">&nbsp; $vbphrase[forum_contains_new_posts]</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_old.gif" alt="$vbphrase[contains_no_new_posts]" border="0" /></td>
<td class="smallfont">&nbsp; $vbphrase[forum_contains_no_new_posts]</td>
</tr>
<if condition="$vboptions['showlocks']">
<tr>
<td><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_old_lock.gif" alt="$vbphrase[a_closed_forum]" border="0" /></td>
<td class="smallfont">&nbsp; $vbphrase[forum_is_closed_for_posting]</td>
</tr>
</if>
</table>
</td>
<if condition="!$show['guest']">
<!-- member logout -->
<td align="$stylevar[right]"><a href="login.php?$session[sessionurl]do=logout&amp;logouthash=$bbuserinfo[logouthash]" onclick="return log_out('$vbphrase[sure_you_want_to_log_out]')"><phrase 1="$bbuserinfo[username]">$vbphrase[log_out_x]</phrase></a></td>
<!-- end member logout -->
</if>
</tr>
</table>
<!-- / icons and login code -->

$footer
</body>
</html>

and in Forumhome forumbit level 1 no post, replace everything with this-

<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<if condition="!$show['collapsable_forums']">
<tbody>
</if>
<tr>
<td class="tcat" colspan="<if condition="$vboptions[showmoderatorcolumn]">6<else />5</if>">
<if condition="$childforumbits">
<a style="float:$stylevar[right]" href="#top" onclick="return toggle_collapse('forumbit_$forumid')"><img id="collapseimg_forumbit_$forumid" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/collapse_tcat{$collapseimg_forumid}.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a>
</if>
<a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]f=$forum[forumid]">$forum[title]</a>
<if condition="$show['forumdescription']"><div class="smallfont">$forum[description]</div></if>
<if condition="$show['subforums']"><div class="smallfont"><strong>$vbphrase[subforums]</strong>: $forum[subforums]</div></if>
</td>
</tr>
<if condition="!$show['collapsable_forums']">
</tbody>
</if>
<if condition="$childforumbits">
<if condition="!$show['collapsable_forums']">
<tbody id="collapseobj_forumbit_$forumid" style="{$collapseobj_forumid}">
</if>
<tr align="center">
<td class="thead" width="5%">&nbsp;</td>
<td class="thead" width="50%" align="$stylevar[left]">$vbphrase[forum]</td>
<td class="thead" width="25%">$vbphrase[last_post]</td>
<td class="thead" width="10%">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
<td class="thead" width="10%">$vbphrase[posts]</td>
<if condition="$vboptions['showmoderatorcolumn']">
<td class="thead" width="0%">$vbphrase[moderator]</td>
</if>
</tr>
$childforumbits
<tr><td class="thead" style="line-height: 0; padding: 0; margin: 0;" colspan="<if condition="$vboptions[showmoderatorcolumn]">6<else />5</if>"><img src="$vboptions[cleargifurl]" alt=" " width="1" height="8" /></td></tr>
<if condition="!$show['collapsable_forums']">
</tbody>
</if>
</if>
</table>
<div style="padding: 0 0 16px 0;"></div>

all being well this should give you this-

http://www.midlandsheritage.co.uk/index.php

for info, this doesnt take into account the moderator column showing and I set my last thread maximum displayed characters to 50

Cricistan
28 Mar 2010, 20:49
http://www.cricistan.com/forums/index.php?styleid=5

I have done this, all works well except for that blue strip that is shown at the end of each category. Any idea how to get rid of that?

yamahapaul
29 Mar 2010, 16:12
http://www.cricistan.com/forums/index.php?styleid=5

I have done this, all works well except for that blue strip that is shown at the end of each category. Any idea how to get rid of that?

That looks more like a style issue to me, but to be quite honest, I wouldn't have noticed if you hadn't put the arrows on lol

Make yourself a test style using the standard VB one, apply the mod to that and if its ok then its something to do with the customised style that you are using

mikey1991
23 May 2010, 22:51
no-one has noticed how this goof's up any orphan forums you may have? Go on, go ahead, with this edit in place, make a forum which is not a category, and has no parent category, aka, an orphan forum, it will show the forum, but with no table around it.

Hell Bomb
26 Jun 2010, 11:40
----------------------------UPDATE----------------------------

For anyone who wants to remove the extra space on the bottom of each category go to FORUMHOME_FORUMBIT_LEVEL1_NOPOST are remove the following code.

<tr><td class="thead" style="line-height: 0; padding: 0; margin: 0;" colspan="<if condition="$vboptions[showmoderatorcolumn]">6<else />5</if>"><img src="$vboptions[cleargifurl]" alt=" " width="1" height="8" /></td></tr>
<if condition="!$show['collapsable_forums']">


no-one has noticed how this goof's up any orphan forums you may have? Go on, go ahead, with this edit in place, make a forum which is not a category, and has no parent category, aka, an orphan forum, it will show the forum, but with no table around it.
Yea thank you for posting that, I'll see if i can find some kind of work around of some sort.

greenlinenshirt
18 Feb 2014, 03:58
This is almost exactly what I am looking for, but I was wondering if it would be possible to remove the spacing?

Image 1 is what I have, and image 2 is what I want.

Any ideas?