PDA

View Full Version : Mini Mods - A gif near text in forum description.


CapitanoN6
18 Mar 2009, 12:36
Hi Friend.

this hack serves to put a picture near the text description in a forum. To understand better look at the picture.

PLEASE CLICK INSTALL


Use this code in Forum Description
<table border="0" bordercolor="darkblue" cellpadding="1">
<tr>
<td>
<img src="http://......">
</td><td>Bla Bla Bla I love dogs....
</td>
</tr>
</table>

<table border="0" bordercolor="darkblue" cellpadding="1">
<tr>
<td>Bla Bla Bla I love dogs....
</td>
<td>
<img src="http://......">
</td>
</tr>
</table>



http://...... --> write the link of your image
Bla Bla Bla I love dogs....--> Write the text you want

PLEASE CLICK INSTALL


http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=85364&d=1218530565

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=85363&d=1218530565

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=85180&d=1218212616

ahmed-samara
18 Mar 2009, 14:05
woow .... it's nice thanks :)

installed

Jasem
18 Mar 2009, 16:49
very nice, keep up the good work

Installed

sensimilla
19 Mar 2009, 09:49
Exactly what I was in need of, great job.

valdet
19 Mar 2009, 15:55
Simple but very useful.
Thanks

D_light
19 Mar 2009, 21:16
or simple...

<img src="image..........." border="" alt="" />

abouahmed
20 Mar 2009, 22:20
nice work,
installed

ArnyVee
21 Mar 2009, 21:07
Nice...using it now :up:

powersilie
22 Mar 2009, 16:28
I love it!
But is it possible to put the pic to the left side of forum's name? Somethig like this?

https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/external/2009/03/58.jpg


The pic should be where the red line is.

greetings
Karin

ArnyVee
22 Mar 2009, 16:51
Karin, I was going to ask the same thing since it might look even better that way. :up:

TheLastSuperman
22 Mar 2009, 17:15
or simple...

<img src="image..........." border="" alt="" />

OR... if you wanted several small images w/ one line of text behind each image...

<img src="http://www.yoursitename.com/folder/Image.gif" width="880" height="200" style="vertical-align:middle;"/>

I was about to do this myself manually on a new forum I'm working on but ohh hello I'll mark as installed and thanks for showing some inexperienced user a simple way to accomplish some good results!

TheLastSuperman
22 Mar 2009, 17:17
I love it!
But is it possible to put the pic to the left side of forum's name? Somethig like this?

https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/external/2009/03/58.jpg


The pic should be where the red line is.

greetings
Karin

Use the bottom code CapitanoN6 posted ;)

powersilie
22 Mar 2009, 17:36
Use the bottom code CapitanoN6 posted ;)

Didn't look like the example of mine!

But thanks for your code because I put the following code in front of the name of the forum and NOT in description - and it works:

<img src="images/fb/fleisch.JPG" border="0" style="vertical-align:middle;"/>Fleisch


And now it looks this way ;) The only thing is, the word is too close to the pic, but I'll manage it.

https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/external/2009/03/11.png


greetings
Karin

ArnyVee
22 Mar 2009, 17:55
Sheesh....didn't even think about that Karin. Such simple things :)

By the way, can't you just place a &nbsp behind the pic and make a space? That way, your image is spaced away from the title.

TheLastSuperman
22 Mar 2009, 18:14
Didn't look like the example of mine!

But thanks for your code because I put the following code in front of the name of the forum and NOT in description - and it works:




And now it looks this way ;) The only thing is, the word is too close to the pic, but I'll manage it.

https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/external/2009/03/11.png


greetings
Karin

Well add a spacer ;)

i.e. &nbsp;

<img src="images/fb/fleisch.JPG" border="0" style="vertical-align:middle;"/>&nbsp;Fleisch

OR Two :D

<img src="images/fb/fleisch.JPG" border="0" style="vertical-align:middle;"/>&nbsp;&nbsp;Fleisch

Take an hour or two and simply find a site w/ good code references... a few simple code enhancements takes you along way :D

S-MAN

powersilie
22 Mar 2009, 18:35
Hi!

I already added two spacers ;) - the distance of the word is now OK, but the line under the link "Fleisch" doesn't move, it's only longer.

Here's a screenshot:

https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/external/2009/03/10.png

(Sorry for my bad descriptions, but English isn't my mothertongue)

greetings
Karin

P.S.: A user told me now, that in this Forum "Fleisch" all postings are in alphabetic order ! Why that? But if someone posts a new theme, it is on top.

TheLastSuperman
23 Mar 2009, 00:12
Hi!

I already added two spacers ;) - the distance of the word is now OK, but the line under the link "Fleisch" doesn't move, it's only longer.

Here's a screenshot:

https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/external/2009/03/10.png

(Sorry for my bad descriptions, but English isn't my mothertongue)

greetings
Karin

P.S.: A user told me now, that in this Forum "Fleisch" all postings are in alphabetic order ! Why that? But if someone posts a new theme, it is on top.ll actually I'm blind as a bat so credit for ArnyVee for the &nbsp and sorry ARNY :D

Well then do this...

<table border="0" bordercolor="darkblue" cellpadding="1">
<tr>
<td>
<img src="http://......">&nbsp;&nbsp;
</td><td>Bla Bla Bla I love dogs....
</td>
</tr>
</table>

It should not do the line if the spacers are not within the a href tags so what I mean is it looks like the text to the right is a link so if you put the spacers within the code where the Description of the link goes it WILL do that.

So if your link is this...

<a href="http://www.yoursitename.com">&nbsp;&nbsp;Fleisch</a>

then you have the spaces underlined whereas you do NOT want that so...

<img src="images/fb/fleisch.JPG" border="0" style="vertical-align:middle;"/>&nbsp;&nbsp;<a href="http://www.yoursitename.com">Fleisch</a>

And that should give you what you were looking for, always remember coding is kind of like math sometimes and has an order of operations per say when you want to get exactly what your looking for ;)

Again, sorry for seeing your post ArnyVee as I'm not a credit stealer :D

Sheesh....didn't even think about that Karin. Such simple things :)

By the way, can't you just place a &nbsp behind the pic and make a space? That way, your image is spaced away from the title.

OHH and never apologize for bad english as us americans slang it to hello and back :D besides if there are grammar police here on vb.org they are doing a horrible job @ it.

S-MAN

ArnyVee
23 Mar 2009, 00:21
S-MAN, I don't care who gets credit as long as we help a fellow webmaster/admin! :up:

It's all about helping out and strengthening the community, right? ;)

powersilie
23 Mar 2009, 08:46
Hallo S-MAN!

Thanks a lot for trying to help me!!!

But I do not use this link:

<a href="http://www.yoursitename.com">&nbsp;&nbsp;Fleisch</a>

because the word "Fleisch" is already a link. (made by vB)

My code is this one:

<img src="images/fb/fleisch.JPG" border="0" style="vertical-align:middle;"/>Fleisch


I also tried this code:

<img src="images/fb/fleisch.JPG" border="0" style="vertical-align:middle;"/>&nbsp;&nbsp;<a href="http://www.yoursitename.com">Fleisch</a>

It's logical to separate the pic from the link, then only the word is underlined. The only thing is I can't use this code because
the forum name disappeared, the link of the first posting appeared and in admin panel this forum was "gone" :o


In the admin panel it looks like this:

https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/external/2009/03/8.png

And if you fill in the name of the forum (here "Fleisch") the link is created automatically.


Now I tried this code:

<img src="images/fb/fleisch.JPG" border="0" style="vertical-align:middle;"/></a>&nbsp;&nbsp;Fleisch

and it gives me exactly what I'm looking for, but now the pic is linked and not the word.

https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/external/2009/03/53.jpg

greetings
Karin

TheLastSuperman
23 Mar 2009, 22:03
S-MAN, I don't care who gets credit as long as we help a fellow webmaster/admin! :up:

It's all about helping out and strengthening the community, right? ;)

EXACTLY although some attitudes and tactless wit used by some members around here gets me down sometimes but if most of us do what we can the rest can benefit :D !!!!

Hallo S-MAN!

Thanks a lot for trying to help me!!!

But I do not use this link:

<a href="http://www.yoursitename.com">&nbsp;&nbsp;Fleisch</a>

because the word "Fleisch" is already a link. (made by vB)

My code is this one:

<img src="images/fb/fleisch.JPG" border="0" style="vertical-align:middle;"/>Fleisch


I also tried this code:

<img src="images/fb/fleisch.JPG" border="0" style="vertical-align:middle;"/>&nbsp;&nbsp;<a href="http://www.yoursitename.com">Fleisch</a>

It's logical to separate the pic from the link, then only the word is underlined. The only thing is I can't use this code because
the forum name disappeared, the link of the first posting appeared and in admin panel this forum was "gone" :o


In the admin panel it looks like this:

https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/external/2009/03/8.png

And if you fill in the name of the forum (here "Fleisch") the link is created automatically.


Now I tried this code:

<img src="images/fb/fleisch.JPG" border="0" style="vertical-align:middle;"/></a>&nbsp;&nbsp;Fleisch

and it gives me exactly what I'm looking for, but now the pic is linked and not the word.

https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/external/2009/03/53.jpg

greetings
Karin

So you have it how you wanted it but not 100% and I see what you meant now... let me tinker on my forums later and see what I can trick it into doing unless your fine with it as-is. I have to run out for a few hours so I'll check back when I return :D. Ohh but real quick lol... you could try CSS in there and see what it can achieve, perhaps exactly what your looking for just place the CSS code for the layout above the actual html it defines in each forum description or use it in the header template then each sub forum can use the same layout specified by the css eh?! :D

Let me tinker a bit, ok time to run :p

powersilie
23 Mar 2009, 22:46
So you have it how you wanted it but not 100% and I see what you meant now... let me tinker on my forums later and see what I can trick it into doing unless your fine with it as-is. I have to run out for a few hours so I'll check back when I return :D. Ohh but real quick lol... you could try CSS in there and see what it can achieve, perhaps exactly what your looking for just place the CSS code for the layout above the actual html it defines in each forum description or use it in the header template then each sub forum can use the same layout specified by the css eh?! :D

Let me tinker a bit, ok time to run :p

Don't hurry, I'm patient ;)

Well, the CSS.... you mean, I could place it in the header template, not bad! :up:
I'm using the standard layout (I made some changes) but I think I'll go on tomorrow, because it's midnight.

Thank You in advance and bye
Karin

powersilie
24 Mar 2009, 19:50
Hi Superman!

Do You have any idea which part of CSS is used for this part in the template?

greetings
Karin

TheLastSuperman
24 Mar 2009, 21:47
Hi Superman!

Do You have any idea which part of CSS is used for this part in the template?

greetings
Karin

I meant code up your own ;)

You can get an idea from another mod using css, then change the variables and names to suit and badda-bing :D

powersilie
24 Mar 2009, 22:05
Ok, well I'll try it ;)

Thanks and bye

Karin

TheLastSuperman
24 Mar 2009, 23:12
Ok, well I'll try it ;)

Thanks and bye

Karin

If you have troubles get w/ me in about a week... I'm working on newly installed vB 3.8 and that is on my list just not on the top you see ;) however once I get around to doing mine I will be more than happy to provide details as to how I accomplished it :D

S-MAN

powersilie
25 Mar 2009, 09:20
I'll train my brain :D
I'm not a coder but perhaps I can do it (it only takes time )

greetings
Karin

CapitanoN6
17 Aug 2009, 15:51
good!