PDA

View Full Version : Forum Home Enhancements - UKBL ~ Rotation Iframe adverts


UKBusinessLive
21 Mar 2009, 14:11
UKBL ~ Rotation Iframe adverts

Now you can add timed rotational adverts 468 x 60 Banners or any other size you want, anywhere on your forums, You can add it in more than one template and have as many different rotating ads as you want.

DEMO SITE: http://hearts4horses.net/member_forum/upload/index.php


https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/external/2009/03/15.png

This hack works in two parts, some of the code is written by Dyamic Drive so please keep the credits intact if you use. ;)

Installation

1. Download the iframeads.zip

2. Firstly open the advertiser.txt file in notepad and find the following

<iframe id="tickermain" src="http://ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/adverts.htm" width=486 height=60 marginwidth=0 marginheight=0 hspace=0 vspace=0 frameborder=0 scrolling=no></iframe>

Then change My forum url for yours and also the size of the ads that you'll be showing (I've shown it in red)

Thats all you need to do on that file so now save your edits and open the adverts.htm file in notepad.

You'll see the first part of the code is like this

<script language="JavaScript1.2">

//IFRAME Advertiser by UKBL2009

//Rotation code by Dynamic Drive, please leave intact if you use.

//configure delay between changing adverts (5000=5 seconds)
var delay=5000

var ie4=document.all

var curindex=0
var totalcontent=0

function get_total(){
if (ie4){
while (eval("document.all.content"+totalcontent))
totalcontent++
}
else{
while (document.getElementById("content"+totalcontent))
totalcontent++
}
}

function contract_all(){
for (y=0;y<totalcontent;y++){
if (ie4)
eval("document.all.content"+y).style.display="none"
else
document.getElementById("content"+y).style.display="none"
}
}

function expand_one(which){
contract_all()
if (ie4)
eval("document.all.content"+which).style.display=""
else
document.getElementById("content"+which).style.display=""
}

function rotate_content(){
get_total()
contract_all()
expand_one(curindex)
curindex=(curindex<totalcontent-1)? curindex+1: 0
setTimeout("rotate_content()",delay)
}

window.onload=rotate_content

</script>

<BODY bgColor=#FFFFFF>

The only bit you need to change is the very begining

//configure delay between changing adverts (5000=5 seconds)
var delay=5000

This is the delay for each ad, if you want to change the time that each add shows edit the Var delay, so if you wanted each ad to show for 3 seconds, you'd change this value to 3000

now we come to the addition of the Advertising banners.

First you need to do a little bit of work, making each banner clickable and pointing to an url, so for this we'll use a simple bit of code below

<a href="URL GOES HERE"><img src="picture.jpg"></a>

Its really easy, You just add the url to the front of the code and the Image url goes in the second part, Do that for all your adverts and you should get something like this...

<a href="http://ukbl.co.uk" target="_blank"><img src="http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/rr114/ukbusinesslive/topHeader.gif" border=0></a>

Notice two additions to the code also, First is the target="_blank" this makes sure that the ad opens up in a new window, otherwise we'll have the url opening in a 468x60 window, Not good at all, so make sure this remains, after each url

Secondly, we have added border=0 to the end of the Image url, This prevents a url border from showing, so make sure this is added to each advert code.

Once you've made all your ads clickable then ad them to the end of the adverts.htm code like my example below

<!--ADD YOUR ADVERTISEMENT CONTENT BELOW, by wrapping each one inside a <DIV> as shown below.-->
<!--For each DIV, increment its ID attribute for each additional content (ie: "content1", "content2" etc)-->


<div id="content0" style="display:''">

<!-- ADD clickable banner code ADVERT #1 HERE--------------------->

<a href="http://ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum" target="_blank"><img src="http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/rr114/ukbusinesslive/UKBLForumpic.jpg" border=0></a>

<!-- END ADVERT #1----------------->

</div>

<div id="content1" style="display:none">

<!-- ADD clickable banner code ADVERT #2 HERE--------------------->

<a href="http://ukbl.co.uk" target="_blank"><img src="http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/rr114/ukbusinesslive/topHeader.gif" border=0></a>

<!-- END ADVERT #2----------------->

</div>

<div id="content2" style="display:none">

<!-- ADD clickable banner code ADVERT #3 HERE--------------------->

<a href="http://ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum" target="_blank"><img src="http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/rr114/ukbusinesslive/30dollarmenus.png" border=0></a>

<!-- END ADVERT #3----------------->

</div>

<div id="content3" style="display:none">

<!-- ADD clickable banner code ADVERT #4 HERE--------------------->

<a href="http://ukbusinesslive.co.uk" target="_blank"><img src="http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/rr114/ukbusinesslive/banner11.jpg" border=0></a>

<!-- END ADVERT #4----------------->

</div>

I've only shown 4 adverts but if you add another block befor the end </div> like below, you'll be able to add unlimited ads

<!-- ADD clickable banner code ADVERT #1 HERE--------------------->

<a href="http://ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum" target="_blank"><img src="http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/rr114/ukbusinesslive/UKBLForumpic.jpg" border=0></a>

<!-- END ADVERT #1----------------->

Thats its, just save the file and we're ready to upload.

A quick tip to see if your adverts.htm file is working, just click on it in your desktop and you'll see your ads rotating :D

Now, for the uploads

Firstly, The adverts.htm file which you've just added your ads to, need to go into the forum root directory, once uploaded you can test it by going to http://yourforum.com/adverts.htm

You should see your banners rotating, if so then alls well ;)

Next we need to go to our admin cp and in your styles header, we need to add the small call up file which we saved as advertiser.txt. So open up this file again in notepad and copy and paste to the end of your styles Header.

Now when you go to your forum you should see your ads rotating nicely.

You can be more adventurous and add the call up code to any template you want, each time your adds will show anywhere in your forums, You can of course duplicate the code and with an additional .htm code on your forums root, you'll be able to have more banners showing, different sizes etc..

Hope you enjoy this simple addition

If you click Install then i'll support you 100%
:D

If you've installed this on your site, drop me a PM and i'll add it to the Live Demo at the begining of this post ;)

UKBusinessLive
21 Mar 2009, 14:15
:D reserved :rolleyes:

Jasem
21 Mar 2009, 22:45
Good work, thank you......

Installed

maidos
13 Jul 2009, 17:50
your mod is not working at all if i use js script code from adsense

pleasehelp

maidos
15 Jul 2009, 15:15
itmessup the firefox and disable every forum threads :(

bmckinley
02 Aug 2009, 07:36
Another UKBL winner. Installed and used in the vb Side Column mod. Works great!

frankabrahams
02 Aug 2009, 16:36
doesn't works for me on 3.8 i could've done something wrong. The url works fine but when i add it, it makes a mess of the whole header.

UKBusinessLive
03 Aug 2009, 16:13
Another UKBL winner. Installed and used in the vb Side Column mod. Works great!

Thanks, Your site is great and i'll add it as a demo ;)

http://hearts4horses.net/member_forum/upload/index.php

Great work, with such a simple hack, well done ;)

UKBusinessLive
03 Aug 2009, 16:19
doesn't works for me on 3.8 i could've done something wrong. The url works fine but when i add it, it makes a mess of the whole header.

Did you add the ads to a new file in your Forum root called adverts.html ?? basically all we're doing is adding an i-frame to our forums which reads the adverts.html file where you add the ads.

SaTaNaSsO
07 Aug 2009, 22:00
i've got the same problem as maidos...
chrome and explorer visualize all correctly but firefox show only the advertising and then the footer, all forum is cutted away...
any solution?

River_rush
07 Aug 2009, 23:57
just a small non important related thing but your forum Horse Rescue Organzation of the Month (http://hearts4horses.net/member_forum/upload/forumdisplay.php?f=52) is missing an "i"

bmckinley
08 Aug 2009, 01:42
Thanks River Rush for the eye on my "i". Updated.

yeku
08 Aug 2009, 17:07
Hello friend UKBusinessLive, you know if works with TradeDoubler to insert link?

thank

UKBusinessLive
08 Aug 2009, 19:05
Hello friend UKBusinessLive, you know if works with TradeDoubler to insert link?

thank

Hiya Buddy,

Not tried with TradeDoubler, But why don't you give it a go and let us know. The beauty of these mods is the fun we have adapting them to our sites.

Try it and let us know, and perhaps i'll add it to the first post as an extra ;) (credits to you!!)

Don't forget to click installed!! :o

Have fun

Gerry :D

yeku
08 Aug 2009, 23:53
Well, I must say that it works with TradeDoubler links.

I completely replaced by this line:

<div id="content0" style="display:''">

<!-- ADD clickable banner code ADVERT #1 HERE--------------------->

<a href="http://ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum" target="_blank"><img src="http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/rr114/ukbusinesslive/UKBLForumpic.jpg" border=0></a>

<!-- END ADVERT #1----------------->

</div>

And put the link and TradeDoubler:

<div id="content0" style="display:''">

<!-- ADD clickable banner code ADVERT #1 HERE--------------------->

<script type="text/javascript">
var uri = 'h**p://impes.tradedoubler.com/imp?type(iframe)g(*******)a(*******)' + new String (Math.random()).substring (2, 11);
document.write('<iframe src="'+uri +'" width="468" height="60" frameborder="0" border="0" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0" scrolling="no"></iframe>');
</script>

<!-- END ADVERT #1----------------->

</div>

and works perfect, I have changed var delay=5000 a 7000, seems more appropriate ..


greetings

bmckinley
12 Aug 2009, 05:57
Quick note:

We installed 3.8.4 WITHOUT a TMS and the UKBL mod has no problems. I think 3.8.4 will be OK with most mods because 3.8.4 has no template edits.

(or it could be Gerry's uncanny ability to build in forward compatibility...:))

UKBusinessLive
12 Aug 2009, 06:44
(or it could be Gerry's uncanny ability to build in forward compatibility...:))

I'm thinking Years in advance buddy, :eek:

DZaidle
01 Nov 2009, 19:53
it does not work in Firefox due to the JavaScript window.onload event not working properly in Firefox. All other browsers okay.

This is a major bug and I cannot use this mod until it is fixed.

imsick
18 Dec 2009, 18:39
i'm in the same boat.....
firefox users can not see anything below the banner.

Stefanus
28 Jan 2010, 19:44
it does not work in Firefox due to the JavaScript window.onload event not working properly in Firefox. All other browsers okay.

This is a major bug and I cannot use this mod until it is fixed.

i'm in the same boat.....
firefox users can not see anything below the banner.

Hmm, works ok in Firefox.

To correct the Firefox problem edit the "advertiser.txt" to the following:
I use this on vB 4.0.1 (SevenSkins TwinColumn).

<!-- Contents -->
<iframe id="tickermain" src="http://www.yourforum.com/forum/adverts.htm" width="150" height="252" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0" hspace="0" vspace="0" frameborder="0" scrolling="no"></iframe>
<!-- Contents -->

bmckinley
29 Jan 2010, 04:27
Hmm, works ok in Firefox.

To correct the Firefox problem edit the "advertiser.txt" to the following:
I use this on vB 4.0.1 (SevenSkins TwinColumn).

<!-- Contents -->
<iframe id="tickermain" src="http://www.yourforum.com/forum/adverts.htm" width="150" height="252" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0" hspace="0" vspace="0" frameborder="0" scrolling="no"></iframe>
<!-- Contents -->


He 'da man!!!

bmckinley
31 Jan 2010, 15:19
I too had the issue with Firefox. I discovered a workaround that can allow your rotational frames to still work in either IE or Firefox.

In an ideal situation, your site should appear the same on either browser. Using the workaround, I think we got ours to be identical on both IE and Firefox. Check it out using both different browsers here: http://forums.hearts4horses.com.

I was able to do this by simply changing to animated gif files. This is not hard, but it does take a little time. No issues so far...