PDA

View Full Version : Forum Home Enhancements - Seperate Categories (without plugin & product)


Allan
31 Mar 2009, 15:35
Seperate Categories (without plugin & product)
______________________



Description: Seperate the categories on forumhome

Installation:
In the "forumhome_forumbit_level1_nopost" template, find (first on the top):
<tbody>

Add above:
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<br />

In the same template, find:
<if condition="!$show['collapsable_forums']">
<tbody id="collapseobj_forumbit_$forumid" style="{$collapseobj_forumid}">

Add after:
<tr align="center">
<td class="thead">&nbsp;</td>
<td class="thead" width="100%" align="$stylevar[left]">$vbphrase[forum]</td>
<td class="thead" width="175">$vbphrase[last_post]</td>
<td class="thead">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
<td class="thead">$vbphrase[posts]</td>
<if condition="$vboptions['showmoderatorcolumn']">
<td class="thead">$vbphrase[moderator]</td>
</if>
</tr>

In the "forumhome" template, find et delete: <thead> <tr align="center">
<td class="thead">&nbsp;</td>
<td class="thead" width="100%" align="$stylevar[left]">$vbphrase[forum]</td>
<td class="thead" width="175">$vbphrase[last_post]</td>
<td class="thead">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
<td class="thead">$vbphrase[posts]</td>
<if condition="$vboptions['showmoderatorcolumn']">
<td class="thead">$vbphrase[moderator]</td>
</if>
</tr>
</thead>

Kolbi
31 Mar 2009, 17:42
Only worked in 1 of 5 categories?
Iīm using 3.8.1pl1, do you think thatīs the reason?

Jasem
01 Apr 2009, 05:17
Nice work, thank you!

Installed

Magnumutz
02 Apr 2009, 09:47
Only worked in 1 of 5 categories?
Iīm using 3.8.1pl1, do you think thatīs the reason?
Same here, just 1 category.

Allan
02 Apr 2009, 14:46
Updated.

Kolbi
02 Apr 2009, 20:17
What has changed? :)

Allan
02 Apr 2009, 21:17
<br /> deplaced :p

check second quote.

Kolbi
03 Apr 2009, 18:52
Working now :)
But there is a bug!
Now i canīt minimize the categories anymore!

ftaunlimited
22 Apr 2009, 17:59
Works perfectly thank you, with one exception....... The last post column's are all different sizes so the forum is not uniform anymore.

jolinary
24 Apr 2009, 21:50
Works perfectly thank you, with one exception....... The last post column's are all different sizes so the forum is not uniform anymore.

Hi,

It's normal change this template"forumhome_lastpostby"

search this code: <div class="smallfont" align="$stylevar[left]">

And replace for this: <div class="smallfont" align="$stylevar[left]" style="width:200px;">

change the valeur in red, for your width :)

Sorry i am not english.

ftaunlimited
10 May 2009, 16:30
Hi,

It's normal change this template"forumhome_lastpostby"

search this code: <div class="smallfont" align="$stylevar[left]">

And replace for this: <div class="smallfont" align="$stylevar[left]" style="width:200px;">

change the valeur in red, for your width :)

Sorry i am not english.




Worked perfectly, thanks so much:D

Silver Knight
20 May 2009, 00:58
Is this optional like, can you select it in the forum management part of acp?

Been Told
10 Jan 2010, 15:08
This doesn't seem to work properly on Chrome and Safari. It leaves a thin line above the first category.
See the attached image.

Been Told
12 Jan 2010, 20:39
Any word on this? Does nobody experience this issue?

final kaoss
15 Jan 2010, 00:58
If your going to post an image don't blur the text...

Been Told
22 Jan 2010, 14:22
Why? I'm working on something for a client that I don't want to let out of the bag. It's their choice when to announce something and not for me to blurt out.

Karm4
24 Mar 2010, 09:59
Does anyone know if theres a way to only seperate some categories?

killa seven
25 Jun 2010, 02:39
Is there a way to put a footer on every forum after it is seperated? You know what i mean? Have the category strip, then the header....then the forum subjects then a footer to end it off? Kinda close the box. IMO this would make this cleaner. i really enjoyed this, and it worked wonderfully for me, thank you.

vat0r
25 Jun 2010, 15:15
This doesn't seem to work properly on Chrome and Safari. It leaves a thin line above the first category.
See the attached image.

Same issue here. Any way to resolve this?

EDIT: This hack works correctly. (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=200782)

Clydesdale
10 May 2011, 04:56
Worked like a charm and simple enough for a novice like me!

Thanks for all of your efforts!!!

SPARKS MAN
12 Oct 2011, 17:29
thankx but after modification is applied i get an 62 error on http://validator.w3.org/
without it i get zero error

i don't no why this happen?

Project Boredom
29 Sep 2012, 19:34
To fix the safari/chrome problem:

In the first add, you should do this instead:

<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" style="border-bottom:15px; width="100%" align="center">