PDA

View Full Version : Administrative and Maintenance Tools - [phd] -- Mod / Admin CP Browser


Jaiibee
10 Apr 2009, 08:29
Pre-Amble
This modification will allow the forums Administration and Moderation teams to browse the forum, or the web, from the comfort of their Moderation / Administration Control Panel.

Why would you want this? Not only will this keep your moderators and administrators in their control panel more, but it makes using the control panel a much less time consuming task. They're able to simply and quickly hit a button to perform their tasks, as opposed to logging into the control panel to do each thing.
Admin CP
Upload the files inside the attached .ZIP, and that's it.

The files should look like this...

/forums/cpb_browse.php
/forums/includes/xml/cpnav_cpb.xml

The /forums/ is very important!
Feel free to edit the files if you don't want to put it in a /forums/ directory, just edit out the /forums/ inside the XML using Notepad

Code based on this modification (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=198837)
Mod CP
This is a simple coding edit, and I owe Ragtek the respect he deserves for his thread on this [His Thread (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=200889)]

Simply go to Plugins & Products -> Add New Plugin in your Admincp, and enter in the following values.

Product: vBulletin
Hook: mod_index_navigation
Title: Moderation Control Panel Browser
Execution Order: 5
Plugin PHP Code :
construct_nav_option('Forum Home', '/forums/');
construct_nav_option('Enter URL', '/forums/cpb_browse.php');
construct_nav_group('ModCP Browser');
construct_nav_spacer();Plug is Active: Yes

This is all you need to add the required links to the ModCP.
Lets get into some customizations though, as you can see that my cpb_browse.php is located inside a /forums/ folder (something I dont like, but the person I did this for does).

Simply change the /forums/ part to whatever you like,
/ for the servers root
/forums/ for the forums directory off the forums root
You get the picture.

mrtroybaker
10 Apr 2009, 09:29
Screen shot? Mod sounds great.

Jasem
10 Apr 2009, 10:28
Good work, thank you

Installed

Alexey™
10 Apr 2009, 11:06
Sounds nice.
do you have any screenshot?

Jaiibee
10 Apr 2009, 13:43
Screenshots have been added.

mrtroybaker
10 Apr 2009, 22:27
Maybe its just me but "phd_browse.php" isnt in the folder I downloaded. I am assuming "cpb_browse" is the file being refered to. Also, where does this go?

"construct_nav_option('Forum Home', '/forums/');
construct_nav_option('Enter URL', '/forums/cpb_browse.php');
construct_nav_group('ModCP Browser');
construct_nav_spacer();

Jaiibee
10 Apr 2009, 23:33
Please put that into code tags.
Yes, I did mean cpb, however I made a mistake and said phd. Sorry about that, I've editted my original post.

That code is what is put into the plugins PHP code.
Go to Plugins & Products -> Add New Plugin
and add it in there.

mrtroybaker
11 Apr 2009, 20:24
Thank you very much

Riceman
12 Apr 2009, 12:02
Sounds like a great mod, thank you. Good luck with any of your future mods.

TheLastSuperman
12 Apr 2009, 16:25
I've done this w/ less edits, no file uploads and the extra links too... I would have to track down how I did it.. been so long but HATS OFF for making the mod ;)

S-MAN

mattportner
15 Apr 2009, 01:18
Is there anyway I could change the URL to display my vBadvanced portal instead of my forums?

GeorgeB85
01 Jun 2009, 02:44
everything uploadings good, but I keep getting errors in admincp when trying to access it?

X_FiLeS
20 Apr 2010, 18:29
I have added the files and edited the xml to my settings, but when i click on cpb home i just get a white screen, no errors tho. Anyone know why this is happening?