PDA

View Full Version : Miscellaneous Hacks - Have a Forum Favicon


smartkidbk5
21 Jun 2009, 06:52
This hack is very simple. And creates a forum favicon on your site. A favicon is the small image that appears next to your site title in your browser's tabs.

To create a favicon:
First you need to create an image that is 16x16. It must be saved as "favicon.ico" You must save it as an ICO file, you cannot save it as another file type & just change it to a ".ico"

To Save an Image as an ICO file:
For Adobe Photoshop: Download the Plugin (Attached) & Move it to (In your Adobe Photoshop Folder)- Plug-Ins>File Formats
Now you need to create an image that is 16x16. Also remember, if you want your image to be transparent, make sure you delete the background layer. Once you are done creating your image, Click "File>Save As". Now you will see the option to save it as an ICO file, make sure you save it as an ICO file. Then save the file as "favicon.ico".

For GIMP (To Download GIMP, go to: http://www.gimp.org):
Create a 16x16 Image. If you want your image to be transparent: Click Layer>New Layer, then delete the background layer. Once you are done creating the image, click "File>Save As". Click the "+" that is next to "Select File Type (By Extension)", a dropdown will appear. Scroll down to "Microsoft Windows icon". Then save the file as "favicon.ico".

Now to put it on your forum:
First, upload the "favicon.ico" file into your directory. (You may upload it to any place you wish in your directory)
For Firefox:
In your AdminCP, go to: Styles & Templates>Style Manager
Select the style, and click the dropdown and go to: Edit Templates
Find the template named "headinclude" and click on it
At the very top of the template insert this text:
<link rel="icon" href="http://yoursite.com/images/favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon" />
<link rel="shortcut icon" href="http://yoursite.com/images/favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon" />
Insert the link to where you previously uploaded your "favicon.ico" file instead of both of the: "http://yoursite.com/images/favicon.ico"

For IE:
Upload the "favicon.ico" file to the root of your directory.
(Ex. If your site domain is "http://exngaming.com", then upload it right into that directory,
so the link would be "http://exngaming.com/favicon.ico")

smartkidbk5
21 Jun 2009, 07:17
Reserved*

raja811
21 Jun 2009, 12:36
thanks

80's
21 Jun 2009, 21:28
Is it necessary? I think you should only change favicon file in forum's froot directory.

smartkidbk5
21 Jun 2009, 22:26
Is it necessary? I think you should only change favicon file in forum's froot directory.

That only works for IE, it doesnt work for Firefox.

Extreme24
21 Jun 2009, 22:51
That only works for IE, it doesnt work for Firefox.

Really? It works just fine for me... :confused:

Takes a while to update (cache) but it changes just fine for me (I'm on the newest Firefox version.)

smartkidbk5
21 Jun 2009, 23:45
Really? It works just fine for me... :confused:

Takes a while to update (cache) but it changes just fine for me (I'm on the newest Firefox version.)

I even tried removing the code from the template, & it doesnt appear in firefox. also even if it works for your firefox it might not for others.

Also im not sure which way does it, but it also makes it work in Google Chrome and Opera.
Also its better to do both ways just incase, because there are always some people who are on older browser versions...

Extreme24
22 Jun 2009, 04:25
Yeah I guess you're right. No harm I guess in adding it in to make sure it shows up instead of wondering if it is or not. :)

Xeyn
01 Jul 2009, 11:42
Works on Firefox & Opera for me too.

MattZ DSLR
10 Jul 2009, 04:51
thank you this worked great :)

armthehomeless1
14 Jul 2009, 07:23
I've just got a favicon.ico in my domain root and it works for me in all browsers. It just doesn't appear straight away - takes a day or so to refresh.

knucklenitz
05 Aug 2009, 06:19
I made the custom icon and added to my forum root. It hasn't 'refreshed' yet but I also don't recall seeing the 'V' there either. Is there some other setting in IE or VB that needs to change?

I have visited others sites that say they have the icon and all that I see is the 'e' in front of a page for internet explorer. I tried Firefox and it does show up. Strange.

Thanks!

R1lover
05 Aug 2009, 06:56
There isn't any reason for a mod for this... all you do (as mentioned above) is place a favicon.ico file in your root directory. This works for IE, Opera, FF, and just about every browser.

If it's not working for you them clear your browser cache and try it again.

R1lover
05 Aug 2009, 06:57
I made the custom icon and added to my forum root. It hasn't 'refreshed' yet but I also don't recall seeing the 'V' there either. Is there some other setting in IE or VB that needs to change?

I have visited others sites that say they have the icon and all that I see is the 'e' in front of a page for internet explorer. I tried Firefox and it does show up. Strange.

Thanks!

What version of IE are you running?

The latest versions of IE work as well with just the favicon file in the root directory, both on the address bar and the tabs as well.

ry215
05 Aug 2009, 09:22
This is not a Modification.

and have a tut for favicon:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=131191

Slugger00001
05 Aug 2009, 12:05
Theres no reason for this mod.. just replace the current favicon..

apiasto
05 Aug 2009, 15:50
was looking for this but its only working on FF not on ie. i did tried just by changing favicon in root directory before but it didn't work.it worked after adding code in temp

mabersoft
06 Aug 2009, 14:18
Thanks for this.

PS: Every 1 make sure the file is a .ico or it will not work. (I think)

knucklenitz
11 Aug 2009, 19:03
IE 6.0 SP2 for me.

Like others have said, it works in FF but not IE. Strange.

yamahapaul
16 Aug 2009, 14:35
There isn't any reason for a mod for this... all you do (as mentioned above) is place a favicon.ico file in your root directory. This works for IE, Opera, FF, and just about every browser.

If it's not working for you them clear your browser cache and try it again.

Can anyone tell me where to add it on this pic please :o

103296

H22A
02 Dec 2009, 21:38
thanks

necie_r
08 Mar 2010, 05:29
Thanks so much! I thought I was going crazy - I updated my new favicon, cleared the cache and the darn thing just wouldn't update. But now all is well. Thanks!

BirdOPrey5
17 May 2010, 16:04
Can anyone tell me where to add it on this pic please :o

103296

Exactly where you are, web root.

HondaStreetCult
19 May 2010, 15:20
what program are you guys using to create your on .ICO files?

I cant do it on CS4...

yamahapaul
19 May 2010, 15:31
what program are you guys using to create your on .ICO files?

I cant do it on CS4...

I changed the file extension of mine using Gimp and its free too!

BirdOPrey5
20 May 2010, 21:47
what program are you guys using to create your on .ICO files?

I cant do it on CS4...

A program called "Microangelo" is kind of the photoshop of icon files, been around since as long as photoshop itself almost. I know they offer a free trial but you do have to eventually pay for it. Might be overkill for a favicon but consider it if you think you have a need for other icon files.

sarasotarepub
27 Sep 2011, 14:30
Question...

I have my Favicon working for FireFox and Chrome users but I and other users have IE. I'm using IE 9 and the Favicon is still not showing. Any suggestions??? Thanks!

sarasotarepub
28 Sep 2011, 12:45
OK I have had the ICO file in the right place for over 2 days now and I even did a server reboot yesterday but my Microsoft IE useres (including me) still can't see the the new Favicon. My Chrome and FireFox people can see it.

Followed the directions, any ideas as to why the thing is still AWOL??? Thanks!!!

sarasotarepub
28 Sep 2011, 19:57
Oops! Nevermind.:o

It finally showed!