PDA

View Full Version : What is the code for this?


MarkFoster
17 Nov 2009, 06:30
I want to know the code to get the box like this one: http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/1516/forumba.png

What I want to do is where the forum content is I should be able to put my own text into it.
Any code for a box like that?

Lynne
17 Nov 2009, 16:03
I don't understand what you want. The code for that is just in the page source, so you can just grab it from there.

MarkFoster
18 Nov 2009, 03:11
I don't understand what you want. The code for that is just in the page source, so you can just grab it from there.

Then I suppose the source doesn't like me, whenever I copy it to my custom page it doesn't work.

I'm talking about this part:
<!-- main -->
<ol id="forums" class="floatcontainer">
<li class="forumbit_nopost L1" id="cat1">
<div class="forumhead foruminfo L1 collapse">
<h2>
<span class="forumtitle"><a href="forumdisplay.php?1-Main-Category">Main Category</a></span>

<span class="forumlastpost">Last Post</span>

<a class="collapse" id="collapse_c_cat1" href="forum.php#top"><img src="images/buttons/collapse_40b.png" alt="" title="Collapse this Category" /></a>

</h2>


<div class="forumrowdata">
<p class="subforumdescription">Main Category Description</p>


</div>

</div>


<ol id="c_cat1" class="childforum">
<li id="forum2" class="forumbit_post L2">
<div class="forumrow table">
<div class="foruminfo td">
<img src="images/statusicon/forum_old-48.png" class="forumicon" id="forum_statusicon_2" alt="" />
<div class="forumdata">
<div class="datacontainer">
<div class="titleline">
<h2 class="forumtitle"><a href="forumdisplay.php?2-Main-Forum">Main Forum</a></h2>


</div>
<p class="forumdescription">Main Forum Description</p>






</div>
</div>
</div>
<h4 class="nocss_label">Forum Actions:</h4>
<ul class="forumactionlinks td">

<li class="forumactionlink subslink"> <a href="subscription.php?do=addsubscription&amp;f=2" title="Subscribe to This Forum">Subscribe to This Forum</a></li>

</ul>
<h4 class="nocss_label">Forum Statistics:</h4>
<ul class="forumstats td">
<li>Threads: 1</li>
<li>Posts: 1</li>
</ul>
<div class="forumlastpost td">

<h4 class="lastpostlabel">Last Post:</h4>
<div>

<p class="lastposttitle">
<img src="images/icons/icon1.gif" alt="" border="0" />

<a href="showthread.php?1-tyjtyjjty&amp;goto=newpost#post1" class="threadtitle" title="Go to first unread post in thread 'tyjtyjjty'">tyjtyjjty</a>
<a href="showthread.php?1-tyjtyjjty&amp;goto=newpost#post1"><img src="images/buttons/lastpost_40b.png" alt="Go to last post in this thread" /></a>
</p>
<p class="lastpostby">


by <a href="member.php?1-Torrentstorm">Torrentstorm</a>

</p>
<p class="lastpostdate">11-15-2009 04:51 AM</p>

</div>
</div>

</div>

</li>
</ol>


</li>
</ol>
<!-- /main -->

Lynne
18 Nov 2009, 03:19
I can't think of why that isn't OK. Well, except you may be missing the css to go with it and perhaps that is causing the problems you are seeing?

MarkFoster
18 Nov 2009, 03:35
I can't think of why that isn't OK. Well, except you may be missing the css to go with it and perhaps that is causing the problems you are seeing?

That's probably it. Since all I can see when using the code is the forum and the text, nothing else. Any way I can include the CSS in the template?

Lynne
18 Nov 2009, 03:55
You would just include it in the <head> part of the page (example from this page):
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="clientscript/blue.css" id="blue" />

MarkFoster
18 Nov 2009, 04:11
You would just include it in the <head> part of the page (example from this page):
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="clientscript/blue.css" id="blue" />

Crap, that didn't help. The new vBulletin is pretty mean. This is what I end up with: http://img29.imageshack.us/img29/4208/resuylt.png

Lynne
18 Nov 2009, 04:14
There are several different css files. You need to make sure you include all the ones you need.

MarkFoster
18 Nov 2009, 04:36
There are several different css files. You need to make sure you include all the ones you need.

I've been messing around with it for 20 minutes now. Still no result.
All I want is a proper custom page with a proper box for content. Not just the simple:
<h2 class="blockhead">Title</h2>
<div class="blockbody">
<div class="blockrow">
Text
</div>
</div>

For that code only leaves the blue top bar and nothing else. There should be someway to get it all.

cellarius
18 Nov 2009, 09:54
At the moment, the classes blockbody and blockrow etc. are largely without visible definitions. The styling of the boxes atm largely depends on id's. This was brought up during testing and might still change, so I would advise to just wait.
Paul_M and I resorted to double-using an id to display boxes on forumhome for two of our modifications. That's not the proper way to do it, but hopefully this will be fixed.