PDA

View Full Version : Miscellaneous Hacks - Back To Top Button


Shadow
14 Oct 2012, 20:43
Description:
This modification adds a 'Back to Top' button powered by jQuery. It fades in and out beautifully and is fully customization from the AdminCP. You are able to easily change the colors of both normal and upon mouse hover, text and turn it off completely from the Settings menu.

This modification is an improved version of a template edit for vBulletin 4.x which can be found here (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=286106). Credits to xixxon for the code.

Installation:

Download the product XML and import it through the 'Manage Products' page in the AdminCP.
Configure settings at: Admin CP -> Settings -> Options -> Back to Top Settings.
Done.


Changelog:
14/10/2012 - Version 1.00:
- Initial release.

Notes:
I'm always looking to improve my work for the people that enjoy using it. If you have any suggestions on how I can improve this hack then please leave a comment and I'll see what I'm able to do. Don't forget to 'Mark As Installed' if you've got it installed!

Wayne Luke
16 Oct 2012, 18:54
A lot of options for one little link. Wouldn't it be better to use stylevars and a CSS template to control the look and feel of the button?

Shadow
16 Oct 2012, 20:13
A lot of options for one little link. Wouldn't it be better to use stylevars and a CSS template to control the look and feel of the button?

Ideally, it's meant for users who are less tech savvy and just want a simple layout of options where they can adjust settings which are clearly marked instead of going through template code just to edit the color. It's much simpler this way in my opinion.

Phineas Flynn
17 Oct 2012, 21:55
While that may hold some water, stylevars is the way to go, if you have different skins and need the button to match, the way you are doing it can't be done. With stylevars you can set those options to different colors for each skin.

Shadow
17 Oct 2012, 23:15
In that sense, yeah I guess you're right. I'll put that in to an upgrade. Thanks :)

WhiskeyOSS
20 Jan 2013, 09:00
When I installed this It stopped me from being able to edit the Modules on my vb5 site it works fine but to be able to edit I had to remove it / disable it to get the site editor to work otherwise it would go to the login page of my forums.. when I clicked a link in my site editor.

ndut
23 Jan 2014, 15:02
nice, works on vb 5.05, thank you

DemOnstar
27 Aug 2015, 13:55
Also works on 5.1.9.

Good stuff.
How to change the point at which the button begins to fade in could have also been a optional setting but no problems with this one.

Thanks.
Installed.

indiansnz
02 Oct 2015, 03:06
Works on 5.1.9, thanks and installed

teddyvgt
29 Feb 2016, 09:38
5.2.1 work

Wayne Luke
08 Apr 2016, 19:20
This isn't really needed anymore as the footer should have this link by default.

Madekozu
09 Apr 2016, 06:57
this one you have all the time - not only in the footer. fine on long pages.

panoramia
03 Oct 2016, 10:51
Great job, it works perfect on 5.2.4 as well. Keep it up! You are the best!

Brasilien
09 Feb 2018, 15:53
Hi,
just one small recommendation.
You should load jQuery with "https" instead of "http"

For a https Site this is important for a http site it doesn't matter

Christian

delicjous
10 Feb 2018, 08:27
Hi,
just one small recommendation.
You should load jQuery with "https" instead of "http"

For a https Site this is important for a http site it doesn't matter

Christian
I think you could delete this line because jQuery is loading automatically by vB5.

Here is another example of a back to top button! (https://vbulletin-forum.de/forum/anpassungen-module-und-erweiterungen/individuelle-module/550-back-to-top-button-mit-fontawesome-icon)

Drucifer
03 Jun 2018, 23:13
Works in v5.4.1

rjh
30 Jan 2019, 20:50
Not working for me in 5.4.3. FYI