PDA

View Full Version : Making Mods for vb5


micheal332001
27 Oct 2012, 12:36
I have looked and looked for info about say converting a mod over to vb5,
but there is no info on this and no info on where to start for a developer like my self.

As far as i see when you make an add-on now you have to make the pages for that add-on within the xml file,
but vb5 has no way of doing this in the xml file, so i have had to come up with a way to do this my self.

To learn this new vb5 is a pain in the A*S and it will not be easy for anyone making or converting a mod over to this version of vb5.

To add a tab to the menu is not that hard you just have to get the array and add to that array.

First part sorted but as to making the pages and the routes to these pages is a pain as you have to use a template.php file to get the templates needed for your add-on.

VB5 has not made this simple or user friendly for developers.

I will be releasing my demo mod very soon so some developers might be able to use this to start converting there mods over,
But vb needs to make this easyer for add-on developers so that the can get there mods converted or made easyer.

Making such a system like this should have thought about this before even thinking on releasing the beta versions so that add-on developers could have a standered way to start from instead of having to make there own way round the system and making things up as they go.

nhawk
27 Oct 2012, 16:26
There are JIRA reports about creating pages in the product XML here VBV-3667 (http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-3667) and here VBV-4876 (http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-4876).

While I do agree there should be a better way to do it, and that is the point of the JIRA reports, I find it amusing that you complain about how to create pages and routes when both mods I've released for vB5 have them without using template.php.

And I have to say, the more I work with vB5 the more I like it. ;)

But like anything that's new, it takes time and patience to understand what's going on and how to use it. And we're all learning as we go.

Lynne
27 Oct 2012, 16:59
To the OP... download some of the existing mods and take a look at how they have gone about creating their mod. The best way to learn is to view existing mods and how it is done.

micheal332001
28 Oct 2012, 12:34
There are JIRA reports about creating pages in the product XML here VBV-3667 (http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-3667) and here VBV-4876 (http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBV-4876).

While I do agree there should be a better way to do it, and that is the point of the JIRA reports, I find it amusing that you complain about how to create pages and routes when both mods I've released for vB5 have them without using template.php.

And I have to say, the more I work with vB5 the more I like it. ;)

But like anything that's new, it takes time and patience to understand what's going on and how to use it. And we're all learning as we go.

Your raffles add-on does use the template.php file located here
Raffles5_504\upload\core\packages\raffles5\api

this template.php file is whats getting the widget and page routes to output.
This will only for 1 widget and one route what needs to be in place is a way to do multipull routes not just the one.

you are using this code
$widgetinstance = $assertor->getRow('Raffles5:getRaffleEntryWidget');
to get your page and route and only outputs the 1 i need to be able to output for multi pages and routes and i have got this working on my demo that i will release soon so others will be able to use this.

nhawk
28 Oct 2012, 13:56
Actually, in the next release I've dropped the template.php file. I forgot I haven't released it yet.