PDA

View Full Version : Site Down After Upgrade


Wirral.Talk
07 Mar 2013, 13:26
Hi everyone, last night i upgraded to version 5 and to my amazement everything went fine with no problems and at the end it shown a button to go to admin control panel so i clicked on it and it went to a blank page.

I then tried to go to my main page wirraltalk.co.uk and again nothing but this time there was a server error message http 500.

I have contacted vbulletin and its coming up to 24 hours now with only one reply asking for my ftp details but since then i have heard nothing. I have requested help on the main forum and again nothing apart from a message from team member Trever asking what the error log was showing.

My host has also taken a look and cannot find a problem.
Can anyone please help me at all?

Lynne
07 Mar 2013, 15:38
And what is in the error_log? It's a server error, so something should be in there.

Also, this is an upgrade from what version? And did you upload the required. htaccess file? And have you tried reloading all your files (perhaps they didn't all get uploaded correctly). And did you modify both config.php files?

Wirral.Talk
07 Mar 2013, 16:05
Hi Lynne, thank you for your reply.
Lots of the errors are showing as this type of thing...

[07-Mar-2013 07:11:20 America/Chicago] PHP Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 536870912 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 4096 bytes) in /home/wirralta/public_html/core/vb/datastore.php on line 156

I upgraded from the last version 4.2 (i think it is) i uploaded the htaccess file that came with version 5 i have to admit i haven't uploaded all the files again yet. And yes i changed the two config.php files.

Its really crazy because the upgrade went perfect with no errors ect until it had completed.

Lynne
07 Mar 2013, 16:10
If you try to go to your site, and then immediately check your error_logs and see something like this:
[07-Mar-2013 07:11:20 America/Chicago] PHP Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 536870912 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 4096 bytes) in /home/wirralta/public_html/core/vb/datastore.php on line 156

then you've got a server issue that needs to be resolved. You will need to show that error to your host in order for them to fix the issue.

Wirral.Talk
07 Mar 2013, 16:38
My host did see the error above and said...

If you check the error_log file in the same directory, you will see that there is some memory issue:
[06-Mar-2013 22:27:45 America/Chicago] PHP Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 536870912 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 4096 bytes) in /home/wirralta/public_html/core/vb/datastore.php on line 156

Normally the limit is 128mb, we have increased to 256mb and finally 512mb but yours still crash. It could be a compatibility issue with the version of vbulletin and php

Amaury
07 Mar 2013, 16:55
My host did see the error above and said...

What PHP version do you have?

Wirral.Talk
07 Mar 2013, 17:03
What PHP version do you have?

Hi Amaury, version 5.3.20 it says on my hosting control panel.

Amaury
07 Mar 2013, 17:11
Hi Amaury, version 5.3.20 it says on my hosting control panel.

That shouldn't be the problem, then.

vBulletin is currently only incompatible with PHP 5.4.x.

Lynne
07 Mar 2013, 17:22
In your core config.php file, did you select to use any of the caching options?

Wirral.Talk
07 Mar 2013, 17:27
In your core config.php file, did you select to use any of the caching options?

No just changed the database and username and password didn't get to involved in the rest really. :s

--------------- Added 1362684063 at 1362684063 ---------------

Just really don't know what to do because the vbulletin staff member who is dealing with this seems lost and only replied twice in the last 24 hours and both times is about logging into ftp not to do with the actual problem.

Does anyone else have any tips please? It would be very much appreciated...

--------------- Added 1362689567 at 1362689567 ---------------

I am noticing when i refresh sometimes its saying "Couldn't read config file config.php" but other times its saying server error.

Lynne
07 Mar 2013, 21:15
Actually, logging into ftp is very important - they will want to view your error_logs, so you should make sure they are available via ftp.

And if it can't read the config.php file, then you have to wonder if it's a php error that is happening. If so, that would be in those error_logs I just mentioned. So, if I were you, I'd make sure your host has enabled error_logging and that the error_logs are right there in the directory or you'll be hearing back with the person asking them where they are. :)

Wirral.Talk
07 Mar 2013, 21:23
Actually, logging into ftp is very important - they will want to view your error_logs, so you should make sure they are available via ftp.

And if it can't read the config.php file, then you have to wonder if it's a php error that is happening. If so, that would be in those error_logs I just mentioned. So, if I were you, I'd make sure your host has enabled error_logging and that the error_logs are right there in the directory or you'll be hearing back with the person asking them where they are. :)

Yes error_log is listed in my ftp client but myself i cannot see anything about config.php its very strange, like now i am getting server error all the time instead. wirraltalk.co.uk

TheLastSuperman
07 Mar 2013, 21:41
I've located your ticket, I see it's being looked into now. I want to stress something though to all of you who happen across this thread.

Trying to fix something yourself is fine, in fact we encourage it if you feel it's not something that is over your head. One of the few times though when you should not try fixing it yourself and where this may hinder you and your site is when for example we start working on a ticket... yes sometimes we work any and all hours and may not often be on the times you are but repeatedly attempting to fix the issue i.e. two cooks in the kitchen is not good! Once a support staff member starts working on a ticket, please allow them time to either solve the issue or to do enough testing to formulate a proper response. Many times I myself start working on a ticket even in the late hours to wake up and return to said ticket w/ no reply yet when I go to perform more work I clearly see changes that were made which again, now hindered the progress since I must backtrack to review your changes and compare to the overall issue, what should be changed now if anything and more factors now come into play.

Basically I'm trying to convey that, if you have a ticket up then clearly it was something you felt was "over your head" so please don't simply "tinker" and try anything that you run across while searching, leave it to the professionals and allow them proper time to work on said issue.