PDA

View Full Version : Mobile Layout


newbie2007
02 Jul 2013, 09:05
Hello, is it possible to change the mobile layout on vB5 to look like the desktop layout.

I have a alot of traffic coming in to my site via mobile, but noone seems to be using the forums, because they find it more difficult to use. The mobile layout require alot of scrolling to view pages and I have had feedback from a number of users who would like the "older version" back (I was running vB3 previously).

Also, The view latest threads the current mobile layout require scrolling all the way to the bottom. It would be good if members can click a single button from the top and view latest posts!

newbie2007
05 Jul 2013, 22:39
Anybody?

tbworld
05 Jul 2013, 23:55
You are not receiving an answer because it is not an easy thing to answer. VB5 was designed to handle this such problem. All that is required there is to change the viewport and the widths. The easiest solution is just to provide another URL for your mobile ( ex: http://yoursite.com/mobile/ ) which runs your mobile script. Then you would shut down the auto-detection script from detecting mobile on your main URL.

You can also just add this to the menu on you mobile script. It might even be there already. Sorry, I do not know, we use our own kludge.

Customizing the vb4 code can of course can be done, but it is a bigger project then you would expect. vb4 was just not designed with adaptable code in mind.

I know most of my friends with their iphones just view the entire site and zoom when needed. They need a good connection and a good data plan for that. I think the difference is from 200-300k for normal vbulletin and 25-35k for the mobile style. So be aware of this.

My company has mostly succeeded in rewriting vbulletin4 for mobile applications, but it was a huge job over time and looking back I can say it wasn't worth it. We would have spent better time building our own mobile app. VB4's mobile app unforunately was too limiting for us.

If you can wait for vb5, this might be your answer.
I am around if you have any other questions. :)

newbie2007
07 Jul 2013, 14:42
Hello, thank you for your answer, but I am already running vB5. Hence the reason it was posted in the vB5 Forums.

tbworld
07 Jul 2013, 23:28
Hello, thank you for your answer, but I am already running vB5. Hence the reason it was posted in the vB5 Forums.

My bad. I didn't even see that.


I do not run vb5 as of yet, but the answer is yes it can be done and it is not hard to do. It is not clear to me what exactly you are looking for. Do you want all mobiles to use the default desktop layout? The way vbulletin is handling the adaptable layout is very typical for this kind of application. A mobile app will handle things differently and I am guessing that is what you are really looking for?

Anyway, if you are just want to force a viewport to your mobile that can easily be done. Sorry about the confusion before. Unfortunately, I do not have too much time to help people so sometimes I do not read thoroughly enough. I guess you get what you pay for :)

newbie2007
08 Jul 2013, 01:50
My bad. I didn't even see that.


I do not run vb5 as of yet, but the answer is yes it can be done and it is not hard to do. It is not clear to me what exactly you are looking for. Do you want all mobiles to use the default desktop layout? The way vbulletin is handling the adaptable layout is very typical for this kind of application. A mobile app will handle things differently and I am guessing that is what you are really looking for?

Anyway, if you are just want to force a viewpoint to your mobile that can easily be done. Sorry about the confusion before. Unfortunately, I do not have too much time to help people so sometimes I do not read thoroughly enough. I guess you get what you pay for :)

Its fine thank you very much for taking you time and answering my question.

I would like the option to set all mobile devices to display the desktop layout. It worked pretty will before I upgraded from vb3 to vb5, and it seems as though after the upgrade, I have lost alot of members signing up again, and the activity on the forums is really low. I have used social media to increase the traffic onto my site, but it doesnt seem as effective as it was with the vb3 layout.

tbworld
08 Jul 2013, 02:30
I don't have vb5 loaded onto my development system so it will take a bit of time to do that. In the mean time if you want to fool around with somewhat of a fix for now: look for something called "viewport" it should be a meta tag in vb5 head. Then research that on the web; apple introduced the standard. It is simple to understand and you will partially solve your problem.

newbie2007
19 Jul 2013, 11:33
Thank you I'll take a look at the viewport as you suggested.

I've asked at vbulletin.com and they say its not a function you can change on this version, which is stupid really.

But will try as you suggested, thank you.