PDA

View Full Version : Wow... Nice Support!


RickyH
05 Aug 2013, 20:30
So, after finally finding out that the version of vBulletin i was using was "Illegal" even though we had a fully legal license, i opted to purchase my own license, as the previous was a friend's who let us use it.

Upon doing this i began downloading and uploading vb 3.8.7 (The previous version we used) to the host. Upon doing this, various "Strict" PHP Errors occurred, and i was unable to install. Quote from vBulletin's Support Suite: "3.8.7 is not supported with later PHP versions". Okay! So then i begin downloading vb 4.x.x Once again, PHP Errors occurred and again i was unable install. I notified vb support and nothing was physically done to fix it. Taking matters into my own hands, i began to look for the best solution, which was to install vb 5. Once again, the long process of downloading and uploading began. Once uploaded, i was greeted with a rather bland looking page called "makenewconfig.php" with some red text saying "Warning: Frontend already exists". Disregarding this as just a notification, i began to fill out each field accordingly. Once i click submit, i get MORE errors. Seems to be a bit of a rhythm this! I deleted the whole forum and began uploading a fresh copy, to see if it was an issue with that particular copy. This was not so, as the same thing happened a further 3 times.

Now, bearing in mind this license costs a stupid 201, advertised at 160 on the website with no visible "Ex VAT" text AT ALL, i was rather annoyed at the failures i received. I have no resorted to purchasing a seperate hosting solution, and have uploaded once again to this particular directory. After a few tries, i am greeted with a physical "Uploading" screen. All seems well, upload goes fine, which then redirects me to the most amazing PHP Error page yet!


Warning: Division by zero in /home/craveha2/public_html/config.php on line 54

Warning: Division by zero in /home/craveha2/public_html/config.php on line 54

Warning: Division by zero in /home/craveha2/public_html/config.php on line 54

Warning: Division by zero in /home/craveha2/public_html/config.php on line 54

Fatal error: Class 'vB' not found in /home/craveha2/public_html/includes/vb5/template.php on line 129

WOOP! And again i contact vBulletin support 3 times, and no reply as yet.

I've resorted to this particular forum because i have had many a reply on problems before, hopefully someone has some form of information as to how to fix, and why this error is occurring so much. Current host uses the latest PHP version.

I have also had to ask my host to specifically try and install it for me, just in case i'm doing it slightly wrong, they also seem to have problems doing this.

Thanks,
Ricky.

Lynne
05 Aug 2013, 20:40
I'm not sure why you posted in the vb5 section when you are only mentioning 3.8 and 4.x. Anyway....

if you have PHP5.4, then your options are 3.8.8 or vB5.

if you have PHP5.3, then your options are 3.8.5 and above (includes vB4 and vB5).

So, what version of PHP are you running?

(Also, I do not see three tickets from the same person sitting in our ticket queue. Did you get the email confirmation that says your ticket reached our system? If you didn't, and you didn't click on the link, then we will not get the ticket.)

RickyH
05 Aug 2013, 21:08
Because i've resorted to trying to get VB5 working :)

Our host uses 5.4 if im right in thinking.

Also it was on the vBulletin.com support suite, not .org :) I replied via the Support Ticket area, so i should imagine it registered!

ForceHSS
05 Aug 2013, 23:47
Edit config with notepad ++ (http://notepad-plus-plus.org/download/v6.4.3.html) will stop the errors. Make sure you edit a new one.

RickyH
06 Aug 2013, 07:23
Edit config with notepad ++ (http://notepad-plus-plus.org/download/v6.4.3.html) will stop the errors. Make sure you edit a new one.

Tried this. Still no fix. Even my host has tried it

ForceHSS
06 Aug 2013, 14:43
Tried this. Still no fix. Even my host has tried it
If you are still getting the error about the config like you posted above then you are editing something in it that you don't need to

Lynne
06 Aug 2013, 18:04
^^ Yep. It sounds like you have edited it incorrectly.

In 5.0.4, you should not edit the presentation config.php file at all. You only need to edit the core config.php file. Here is an example of how to do that - http://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html/install_legacy_config_php_example?manualversion=50004500