PDA

View Full Version : Ezboard forum stealing my bandwidth


Erwin
21 Sep 2002, 00:18
I just want to ventilate.

One of my staff members informed me that a new forums site on ezboard is directly linking to my forum logo on his site. He also copied the name of my site, and thus is using our logo as well (well, why not if you are too lazy to come up with your own).

So I emailed the admin, telling him to remove the logo.

This is his polite reply:


Dr. Loh,

I jst want you to know that you are a huge loser! You are such a stupid,
conceited jerk! Don't f**k with me anymore


* sigh *

Anyway, he is still hotlinking to my logo, but I have .htaccess blocked his IP, so he is getting a big red X.

Just wanted to let this out because I am feeling a bit peeved. Thanks for listening.

proxyMX
21 Sep 2002, 00:23
booloo

ManagerJosh
21 Sep 2002, 00:47
You should contact EZBoard and forward them that email.

Nhat Nguyen, of EZBoard Dot COM,
nhat@EZBOARD.COM

He might be Vanchau Nguyen, Founder and Chief Executive Officer of EZBOARD dot com. I can't confirm that but a good 75% of me believes it is him.

filburt1
21 Sep 2002, 00:57
Instead of .htaccess'ing him you can send him a nasty image back. :)

proxyMX
21 Sep 2002, 01:01
lol, i hate it when people give you attitude when theyr in the wrong, I get MSN messages from complete strangers who get all pissed and swear at me because i politely ask them to leave me alone when ive established if i know them or not.

assassingod
21 Sep 2002, 01:09
Can I have his I.P address?:)

Michael2
21 Sep 2002, 07:20
I agree, replace it with something nasty. :D

Erwin
21 Sep 2002, 09:35
I'd rather just block it with a big red X rather than send him an image which would just leech bandwidth from my server. :) Thanks for the suggestions. The logo is still there. I've already reported his forum to ezboard.

Chris M
21 Sep 2002, 09:58
I really hate when people steal stuff from your site...

I mean...I know the buttons I am using were not made by me (bbaddons.com - gotta love it:D), but they are using them from my site all the while...

I'd love to know how to .htaccess it, so they cant!!!

Anyone care to share how?:)

Satan

DarkDraco07
21 Sep 2002, 14:29
do what steak and cheese does, when u try to make a link to a pic on thier site, it shows a pic of steak and cheese. do and and put a big nasty d*** or just a naked fat lady

DrkFusion
21 Sep 2002, 20:39
Its happend to me, even with clients, I show them a prview, they copy the preview, and cut it and do the html or something and not pay me.

Thats why I tagg all my images now.

Chris M
22 Sep 2002, 18:38
@Drk - I need to talk to you about that very idea of payment;)

Anyone care to share the code? Please!:)

Satan

Diva
22 Sep 2002, 19:24
Hi. This is what I use on my site. I use it for all my files. The key is to place it above the files with images in them. I keep images that I want to link to other sites in another folder. Just for your FYI.

I have others, but haven't gotten around to putting them up. Just remember to change the "your site" twice. One has "www" and ther other... well, you get the idea. ;)


Options FollowSymLinks

RewriteEngine on
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^$
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http://yoursite.com/.*$ [NC]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http://www.yoursite.com/.*$ [NC]
RewriteRule .*\.jpg$ - [G]

RewriteEngine on
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^$
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http://yoursite.com/.*$ [NC]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http://www.yoursite.com/.*$ [NC]
RewriteRule .*\.gif$ - [G]

Dean C
22 Sep 2002, 19:53
do u use that in a php file ^?

- miSt

Diva
22 Sep 2002, 19:57
No. You just save it as text. I suggest htaccess.txt. Then you upload it to the server. Once on the server, rename it to: .htaccess There is NOTHING before the "."

You should email your host and ask if mod re-writes are set up. It's very easy for them to do. Most hosts have it. If you want, you can send me a link and I'll try and see if it works.

[PS: I emailed/PM'd you, Mist... earlier]

ManagerJosh
26 Sep 2002, 00:08
Wouldn't it be better to place it in the base directory of FTP?

I just dump one .htaccess file to /httpdocs and it works for my entire site..(helpful when I need to set Options All)

Erwin
26 Sep 2002, 00:32
I put mine in my image directory.

Diva
26 Sep 2002, 22:05
If you don't want to link any pictures outside, then sure. But I also post on other sites and have linked avatars and pictures. If my htaccess was at the root, then I wouldn't be able to do that.

Merjawy
27 Sep 2002, 03:08
I have a page that people upload images/audio files and post links on others sites of their choice

my problem is I started this free service to be used on few sites less thant 5 sites.. but some of them link to as many as they feel like..

can I use this .htaccess to manage that directory to allow only these sites to link?

need I to put in their URLs/IPs to allow them and block the rest of the world?

Thanks

Diva
27 Sep 2002, 12:53
Hi. Yes, just put right below yours with 'www' and without.