PDA

View Full Version : i need help.


BladesM3
22 Sep 2002, 18:53
ok this is what im working with... i have a site running phpnunke and phpbb... phpbb sucks... my old site ran just sinple html with vbull and it ran great until my bandwidth went over (besides the fact).

i want my site www.cthreeracing.com to run the best web prtal with vbull. my question is whats the best web portal to use. ive read everything through the search options and i still dont know which to use. i checked out:

http://www.macfora.com/index.php?s=

and i loved how that site was setup.

i just want to be able to have the site setup the way it is now and have my users able to use vbull with their same login as the main site. i would also like it so when i submit a story or someone else does users can comment on the article by using vbull.. i dont know if thats possible. php nuke was a b!tch to setup and now i have the hang of it so i dont want to get rid of it.

BladesM3
22 Sep 2002, 18:54
also if someone can help me out.. my icq# is 2541353

BladesM3
22 Sep 2002, 18:58
also... i used vbull on the old site, could i import the old db somehow, use the same old members list when i redo the site with phpnuke and vbull.... i need to get this running tonight before next week because my new site will be advirtised in a magazine next week.. Import Tuner for those who care.

Steve Machol
22 Sep 2002, 19:30
BladesM3, since you say you have vB on the old site please go to this (http://www.vbulletin.com/members/vbulletin.org.php) page and enter your username, to show you are licensed. (you will need to use your customer number and password to access that page)
Thank you.

TECK
22 Sep 2002, 23:24
hehe... you know why i smile steve, right?

BladesM3
23 Sep 2002, 02:47
ill be honest when i say this that when i first ran my site i didnt have the vb liscence and i was contacted by vbullentin the comapny and removed it simple as that. i tried to run the site on a low budjet but that didnt work and now i am in the place where i am key strokes away from purchasing the newest verson of vbull. i had the old 1.16 version..

so like i said i just want to make sure before i spend the $160 that i can have my site running like

http://www.macfora.com/index.php?s=

wih help from the peopel on this board... thats all.. i love his interface and since ive used bull in the past i know its worth every cent.

BladesM3
23 Sep 2002, 02:53
ohh well i just bought it.. now what... heh.. i also went to the site you told me entered the license and entered this screen name as one to use the community.

Steve Machol
23 Sep 2002, 05:30
Thanks for purchasing vB! If anyone can any his questions, please feel free to do so.

BladesM3
23 Sep 2002, 06:22
yeah i need help.. actually after many hours working on this.. i decided i just want to have vbull and phpnuke's user database the same... all i want to do now is make it so al the users i have on phpnuke dont have to re-register to use the board. and all new comming members to the board only have to register once to use both the message board and the regular phnuke site... how do i do that. it would be nice to have it so when i post a story on the main site, the comments directed to the story or posting on vbull.. meaning when i post a story, it posts it on phnuke and on vbull.. and the comments sections are simply peoples reply on vbull

Brad
23 Sep 2002, 07:22
http://www.samstech.net/forums

That vBulletin is running has part of a postnuke install. you might wanna email them for more info, and i think someone made a phpnuke -> vB db hack awhile back, try searching the full release forum.

Neo
23 Sep 2002, 11:26
We all need help. Thats why we come to this forum for theropy. :)

BladesM3
01 Oct 2002, 00:11
how do i make the forums link on the main menu of phpnuke point to vbull..